$70 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Mar 29, 2015 Check-out: Mar 30, 2015

The Hotel Blue

3 stars
View map of 717 Central Ave. NW, Albuquerque, NM 87102

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
149 reviews
great

Everything was welcoming and the cleanness of the room See full review

  • shannon b.
  • Mar 9, 2015
perfect for concerting and nightlife

Walking distance to the 2 best personal size music venues in the state of NM. Walking distance to... See full review

  • TheBossTiger
  • Oct 30, 2014
Downtown Albuquerque hotel offers a restful sleep with specialty beds

Soothing Tempur-Pedic beds, Starbucks coffee and free continental breakfast are special touches provided by The Hotel Blue for a comfortable stay in downtown Albuquerque. Guests are welcomed with a freshly baked cookie at check-in and enjoy at-home amenities like a microwave and a refrigerator in each guest room. The Hotel Blue is located midway between the Albuquerque Convention Center and ABQ BioPark Zoo. Take advantage of The Hotel Blue swimming pool, or go across the street for a stroll through Robinson Park.

Highlights
  • Free in-room bottled water
  • Located in the downtown business district of Albuquerque on historic Route 66
  • Free Wi-Fi in the lobby and free high-speed Internet access in guest rooms
  • Complimentary airport and local area shuttle
Rooms

At The Hotel Blue in downtown Albuquerque, get a great night of sleep on king or queen-sized Tempur-Pedic beds that conform to each individual body to minimize pressure points. Microwaves, refrigerators, coffee-makers, 40-inch HDTVs, cable channels, irons, ironing boards, and hair-dryers are some of the comforts of home. Free local phone calls, free high-speed Internet access and voice mail help guests keep in touch.


Families or individuals who prefer a little extra space take advantage of The Hotel Blue suite, featuring separate living and sleeping spaces with an additional television, as well as a full kitchen with hardwood floors.

Features

The Hotel Blue complimentary breakfast bar includes cereal, fruit, muffins, yogurt and beverages. Stop by the lobby any time for fresh-brewed Starbucks coffee, cookies and complimentary USA Today. Enjoy a refreshing swim in The Hotel Blue outdoor pool, or spend a quiet afternoon the courtyard with a good book. Free parking -- available on a first-come, first-served basis -- is accessible only by guest room key.

Transportation
  • Amtrak station (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Greyhound station (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Interstate 25 (1.1 mi/1.8 km)
  • Interstate 40 (1.5 mi/2.4 km)
  • Albuquerque International Sunport (3.5 mi/5.6 km)
  • Free shuttle to the airport, convention center and Old Town, 7 a.m. – 10 p.m.
Attractions
  • Robinson Park (Across the street)
  • Albuquerque Convention Center (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • ABQ BioPark Zoo (0.7 mi/1.1. km)
  • Old Town Albuquerque (1.1 mi/1.7 km)
  • University of New Mexico (2 mi/3.3 km)
  • Balloon Fiesta Park (7.7 mi/12.5 km)
  • Sandia Peak Tramway (12.4 mi/19.9 km)
Business
  • Two meeting rooms available

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Hotel Blue also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.7 out of 5

The Hotel Blue Rooms

Non-smoking King
One king size Tempur-Pedic bed; microwave and refrigerator; iron and ironing board; coffee maker, voice messaging and data ports, hairdryers, high-speed internet access, 40-inch HDTV, free local phone calls.
Non-smoking Double
Two queen size Tempur-Pedic beds; microwave and refrigerator; iron and ironing board; coffee maker, voice messaging and data ports, hairdryers, high-speed internet access, 40-inch HDTV, free local phone calls.

Amenities

  • Free full breakfast
  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Pet friendly
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Free full breakfast
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • KiMO theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Rio Grande Zoo: 0.6 mi
  • Albuquerque Little Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • New Mexico Museum of Natural History and Science: 1 mi
  • Explora Science Center and Children's Museum of Albuquerque: 1.1 mi
  • San Felipe de Neri Church: 1.1 mi
  • Albuquerque Museum: 1.1 mi
  • Old Town Albuquerque: 1.1 mi
  • Turquoise Museum: 1.2 mi
  • National Hispanic Cultural Center: 1.2 mi
  • New Mexico Steam Locomotive and Railroad Historical Society: 1.3 mi
  • Albuquerque Aquarium: 1.4 mi
  • Indian Pueblo Cultural Center: 1.7 mi
  • Albuquerque Isotopes Baseball: 1.7 mi
  • University of New Mexico: 2 mi
  • KiMO theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Rio Grande Zoo: 0.6 mi
  • Albuquerque Little Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • New Mexico Museum of Natural History and Science: 1 mi
  • Explora Science Center and Children's Museum of Albuquerque: 1.1 mi
  • San Felipe de Neri Church: 1.1 mi
  • Albuquerque Museum: 1.1 mi
  • Old Town Albuquerque: 1.1 mi
  • Turquoise Museum: 1.2 mi
  • National Hispanic Cultural Center: 1.2 mi
  • New Mexico Steam Locomotive and Railroad Historical Society: 1.3 mi
  • Albuquerque Aquarium: 1.4 mi
  • Indian Pueblo Cultural Center: 1.7 mi
  • Albuquerque Isotopes Baseball: 1.7 mi
  • University of New Mexico: 2 mi
  • University Stadium: 2 mi
  • American International Rattlesnake Museum: 3.2 mi
  • Rio Grande Nature Center State Park: 3.5 mi
  • Unser Racing Museum: 3.9 mi
  • Tingley Coliseum: 4.7 mi
  • Petroglyph National Monument: 5.8 mi
  • The National Museum of Nuclear Science and History: 7.1 mi
  • Corrales Bosque: 7.7 mi
  • Anderson - Abruzzo International Balloon Museum: 8 mi
  • Rainbow Ryders: 8.3 mi
  • Volcano Park: 11.8 mi
  • Elena Gallegos Park: 12 mi
  • Sandia Peak Tramway: 12.4 mi
  • La Luz Trail: 13 mi
  • Jemez State Monument: 48 mi
  • Cibola National Forest: 72.7 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for The Hotel Blue

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
149 out of 149
Amenities:
3.4
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.8

74% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Hotel Blue

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
balloonfiesta
Business
Tennessee, USA
Oct 4, 2011

Doesn't match up with Trip advisor rating

Hotel blue is way downtown. Room was updated nicely with nice beds and tv and was okay. Location was sketchy at best and outside hotel appearance in great need of updating and cleaning. Shows you can't always trust online room ratings. Stayed because couldn't cancel in time. Will not stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Hotel Blue

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Scottiemom
Business
AZ
Sep 24, 2013

Don't stay here

This hotel's management wrote the book on cutting corners to save money. We got one hand towel for two people. The furnishings were cheap and shabby. One uncomfortable metal chair with a stained seat cushion. The disgusting huge soap and shampoo pumps with products unknown inside. The coffee maker hadn't been cleaned in years. Carpets everywhere stained. No Monday Night Football on the fancy satellite TV because" nobody watches that". I had to pin the meager drapes shut to get any privacy. On and on. I saw hotel desk staff wave an unkempt person from the park across the street in to use the lobby restroom. The young woman who checked us in yawned in our faces. The breakfast was good and the bed was comfortable. This was probably the worst hotel/motel I have ever stayed in.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Hotel Blue

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Nickter
Business
New York, NY
Mar 14, 2010

Don't bother

Poor location and outside balconies were treated like frat houses with people outside screaming, yelling, smoking and drinking until well into the AM hours. Additionally, Central Ave is a cruising street with booming car stereos and hundreds of load motorcycles driving up and down 24/7

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Hotel Blue

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago
May 14, 2010

Run down & Old

OLd run down hotel. Breakfast NOT!! Dirty on outside and inside. Nest time I will spend a few extra bucks and stay in the burbs.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Hotel Blue

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
67Shevy
Business
Los Angeles, CA, USA
Sep 30, 2011

not the greatest night stay

this was simply a motel. shower head was awful, alarm went off randomly at midnight, bedspreads were from 1974...just not great at all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Hotel Blue

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
Mar 29, 2010

False Advertisement

I booked this hotel through [...] because it was listed as 3 stars which is the highest rating you get in Albuquerque and it had a complimentary shuttle to and from the airport and convention center. Good thing the hotel is within walking distance of the convention center because I ended up walking every single day since the one shuttle they have was always going to take at least 30 minutes to pick me up. The bathroom shower curtain had mildew all over it and thank God the air conditioner worked so I could drown out some of the noise from the street. There was a half-inch gap all around the door where you could see daylight and feel the outside air coming in but it did have a deadbolt and latch. Wanted to run off some of my frustration and put to use the workout clothing that I brought along and had occupied 1/3 of my suitcase with but their fitness room is "under construction"....although they never advertised that on their website. Would not recommend this hotel for business. Maybe the only group of people I would recommend it to is college kids but I could think of a million different places to visit other than Albuquerque. Note: all the restaurants within walking distance of the hotel seem to be closed on weekends so most people end up taking a cab to find a place to eat....might as well book a hotel closer to those places and save yourself on cab fare!!! They did have a complimentary breakfast although they ran out of stuff quite a bit and a nice flat screen tv...if you're into that kind of stuff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Hotel Blue

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Lubbock, TX
Aug 1, 2009

Blue Blues

We knew we were in trouble when we drove up to the property. Its construction and lack of upkeep reminded me of the Soviet-inspired apartments I saw in the former East Germany. But because of the draconian cancellation policy, we were stuck. Trying to make the best of a bad situation, we noted the room had nice beds and a big flat-screen TV. But it also had weird things like a cabinet with its doors bolted shut that contained some kind of electronic equipment we could see through a crack. Spooky. Turned out the Direct TV remote was quirky to use at best, then at about 11:00 p.m., the TV froze on a horror flick we did NOT want to see. NO buttons on the remote would work, including the power-off button. We finally unplugged the TV. So much for the big flat screen. This morning, I put water & the coffee packet in the coffee maker, only to discover it wouldn't work. Tried it in several outlets. No luck. Took the TV remote to the desk clerk who said, "Plug in the machine and operate it with the Channel up & down button." Cool. Tried it. It came on frozen on the same channel as last night, and the remote was as functional as a stone. Called the desk. He told me that when his maintenance man came in he'd come up (which never happened while we were there). Then he told me the TV works; I just don't know how to work the remote. So much for a staff that cares. The much touted "Delux Breakfast" had no eggs or meat. The one selling point—location—was also misleading. Well over a mile to Old Town, and anyone who would walk back from downtown at night through that neighborhood is either braver than me or carries a gun. Cost? There is a first-class hotel we could see from the Blue that turned out to be priced just $10 more than Blue. We were on the road for 2 weeks staying every night in mo/hotels in AZ, CA, & NV. Blue was by far the worst of the lot. My advice: Avoid the Blue and the blues.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Hotel Blue

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
SLVR
Business
Seattle, WA, USA
Nov 15, 2011

OK at best

Staff, shuttle service & internet access all great. Room is in need of overhaul, all looking very worn, though bed was comfy. Heater was really noisy and outdoor access not good, didn't feel safe. Location is bad for outdoor access as DT Albuquerque did not instill a feeling of safety. Overall the hotel was ok...but the location was awful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Cucina Azul on Mountain and 12th

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Hotel Blue

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
One traveling couple
Business
NY
May 20, 2012

2 night stay

no exhaust in bathroom - entire room in steam after one takes shower; same switch to turn light on in bathroom (i.e. behind the door) and sink-area in the room - i.e. one can't to go to bathroom at night without waking other up; A/C so noisy one can't really sleep - turn it off and one can't sleep the room is so stuffy; directTV - out of whatever number of channels - about 8-10 really working, on others get "not subscribed" message; the rest were just small stuff, like: door butterfly got closed on the inside while door was closed on the outside - hotel staff had to cut the butterfly to open the door; bathroom got locked from inside while closed on outside - no problem, hotel staff fixed that in 10-15 min; room key twice stopped opening the garage gate - no problem, hotel staff fixed that in 5-10 min; what else? I forgot ... it was time to checkout

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

don't stay

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Hotel Blue

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
cavecreekcouple
Business
Albuquerque, NM
Aug 2, 2012

Not as shown online

We were very disappointed - not in a good area and really quite run down. The first thing we saw was the peeling paint outside and rust on all the railings. The room was definitely not worth what we paid .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top