$70 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 3, 2015 Check-out: Aug 6, 2015

The Hotel Blue

3 stars
View map of 717 Central Ave. NW, Albuquerque, NM 87102

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Hotel Blue

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
145 out of 145
Amenities:
3.4
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.8

74% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Hotel Blue

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Santa Barbara, CA
Jul 14, 2010

Nice place

At first the surrounding area threw me off a little because it looked kind of shady but I liked that in order to get into the hotel parking you need a key. So parking is secure. The beds were the most comfy beds I've sleep in and they were big too. The continental breakfast was really good, they had hot waffles to choose from. If you visit Albuquerque, NM go see "Old Town" and see the many shops. Have dinner or lunch at La Hacienda restaurant. You'll get "Sopa pias" which is a warm bread. So yummy!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Old Town

Review of The Hotel Blue

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
four corners, NM
Jun 21, 2010

inside and out

They have just redone the inside and were getting ready to give the outside a face lift. The rooms were spotless. the new air conditioner in the first room we had did not work, but they changed our room quickly. The staff was very courteous, friendly and helpful. The pool was nice in the courtyard setting. The only problem we really had was the noisy next door people. the tempurpedic beds were awesome. Over all we had a pleasant stay. One other drawback was the fact that the hotel charged a $30 deposit for I'm not sure what. I did not like that little surprise at all. We were told that we would get it back after checkout.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

We were doing business downtown and the location was very good. We left our car in the parking lot and was able to walk to every place we needed to get to.We really liked the fact that the parking lot was only accessible to patrons.

Review of The Hotel Blue

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Providence, RI
Jun 15, 2010

Good Heading to Very Good

A little frayed around the edges but they appear to be upgrading the whole place. Mattress was nice memory foam. Bathroom was small but with nice granite counter. Room had a new microwave and frig/freezer combo. TV's are huge plasma with Direct TV including HBO. They operate their own free shuttle to and from the airport. Free wired internet in room. Free computer with a printer in the lobby (so printing boarding passes was a breeze). Free big breakfast spread. Staff was very professional and helpful. Everything was clean. The frayed part is the furniture in room was dated, elevator was a little dingy and building is old.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

At the edge of the downtown business district so you can walk to anywhere downtown.

Review of The Hotel Blue

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
phacops rana
Business
Rapid River, MI
Jun 15, 2010

Great location, price and service

Excellent, professional staff who were very knowledgable of special events going on around town. We walked the neighborhood at all times of the day and we did not feel threatened at any time during the week we stayed here. Noise level was minimal at night. Sun rise and sun set can be seen from one of the 6th floor balconies. Continental breakfast was very well stocked and clean. I rate it 10 of 10.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Lots of options for entertainment within walking distance of hotel.

Review of The Hotel Blue

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Turf Valley
Business
Vista, CA
May 17, 2010

It was OK.. NOT the best

There is NO hot tub and the exercise room is not BIG at all!!!!!! You have to pay $6 to walk to another exercise hotel. It's downtown but about 5 blocks away from everything you need.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

There's movie theater on 1st street and you're on 8th street. It's not bad of a walk

Review of The Hotel Blue

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago
May 14, 2010

Run down & Old

OLd run down hotel. Breakfast NOT!! Dirty on outside and inside. Nest time I will spend a few extra bucks and stay in the burbs.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Hotel Blue

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
White eski
Business
Alaska
May 8, 2010

Good hotel

Great helpful friendly staff.Good breakfast

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Hotel Blue

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ogden Utah
May 4, 2010

Front row for weekend cruise

The location was great being right downtown. The room was well appointed and comfortable; unfortunatly the weekend cruise was in full gear. Our room on the sixth floor was no protection from the constant throttle revs from the parade of Harleys and hot rods idling by at 2 miles an hour till the wee hours in the morning. Bring your ear plugs. Two stars relates to "Needs that special something" That special something is sound proofing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Right downtown.

Review of The Hotel Blue

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
LA
Apr 28, 2010

so-so

You definitely get what you pay for. My hotel room was clean, but quite outdated...the tv armoire didn't fit the flat screen (had to be placed high above), the carpet was old, the exterior made me question the hotel in general. it was quite noisy....the only positive was the great tempur pedic bed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

close to downtown

Review of The Hotel Blue

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
National Conference Attended
Apr 24, 2010

Hotel Blue, Downtown location

Accosted by intoxicated persons when trying to get into car outside front lobby. SCARY. Need security for front door area. There are cameras over parking lot. A Drug use park across street from hotel. Drug and transient location. Good that parking is gated and locked. Long walk from parking to lobby and room. Online reservation, handicap request resulted in last room farthest from lobby. Looks like they do not have handicap policy. CAll and ask first. Good location, good potential, good first step in restoration of building, good for hostelers and confident independent travelers. Being older I look for a little more distance from drug users and possible threats to my person and property. But these are the same problems as any american urban setting, in our times safety is important.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

Great views from 5th floor. Nice bed, Great Mattress. Large TV. Will return. If walking, head east on Central, downtown Rt 66. Do not walk west of North, South. Be aware of personal safety in streets and where you park when checking in. Hotel has been fixed up partial rehab and is clean and comfortable. Towels are usable. Sheets clean. Good for price.

Back to menu Return to top