$73 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 23, 2014 Check-out: Sep 25, 2014

The Hotel Blue

3 stars
717 Central Ave. NW, Albuquerque, NM 87102
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.3
out of 5
141 reviews
Road tripping pair

The hotel was very nice. I loved that they had gated parking and the breakfast was pretty good. The... See full review

  • LadyDeadpool
  • Aug 19, 2014
my Albuquerque hotel if come again

great room with ample size refrigerator for frozen entrees for longer stays. wide variety of... See full review

  • LynneDS
  • Nov 10, 2013
Downtown Albuquerque hotel offers a restful sleep with specialty beds

Soothing Tempur-Pedic beds, Starbucks coffee and free continental breakfast are special touches provided by The Hotel Blue for a comfortable stay in downtown Albuquerque. Guests are welcomed with a freshly baked cookie at check-in and enjoy at-home amenities like a microwave and a refrigerator in each guest room. The Hotel Blue is located midway between the Albuquerque Convention Center and ABQ BioPark Zoo. Take advantage of The Hotel Blue swimming pool, or go across the street for a stroll through Robinson Park.

Highlights
  • Free in-room bottled water
  • Located in the downtown business district of Albuquerque on historic Route 66
  • Free Wi-Fi in the lobby and free high-speed Internet access in guest rooms
  • Complimentary airport and local area shuttle
Rooms

At The Hotel Blue in downtown Albuquerque, get a great night of sleep on king or queen-sized Tempur-Pedic beds that conform to each individual body to minimize pressure points. Microwaves, refrigerators, coffee-makers, 40-inch HDTVs, cable channels, irons, ironing boards, and hair-dryers are some of the comforts of home. Free local phone calls, free high-speed Internet access and voice mail help guests keep in touch.


Families or individuals who prefer a little extra space take advantage of The Hotel Blue suite, featuring separate living and sleeping spaces with an additional television, as well as a full kitchen with hardwood floors.

Features

The Hotel Blue complimentary breakfast bar includes cereal, fruit, muffins, yogurt and beverages. Stop by the lobby any time for fresh-brewed Starbucks coffee, cookies and complimentary USA Today. Enjoy a refreshing swim in The Hotel Blue outdoor pool, or spend a quiet afternoon the courtyard with a good book. Free parking -- available on a first-come, first-served basis -- is accessible only by guest room key.

Transportation
  • Amtrak station (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Greyhound station (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Interstate 25 (1.1 mi/1.8 km)
  • Interstate 40 (1.5 mi/2.4 km)
  • Albuquerque International Sunport (3.5 mi/5.6 km)
  • Free shuttle to the airport, convention center and Old Town, 7 a.m. – 10 p.m.
Attractions
  • Robinson Park (Across the street)
  • Albuquerque Convention Center (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • ABQ BioPark Zoo (0.7 mi/1.1. km)
  • Old Town Albuquerque (1.1 mi/1.7 km)
  • University of New Mexico (2 mi/3.3 km)
  • Balloon Fiesta Park (7.7 mi/12.5 km)
  • Sandia Peak Tramway (12.4 mi/19.9 km)
Business
  • Two meeting rooms available

Hotel Map

35.0852 -106.6563
Area served
Albuquerque.
Nearby airports
Albuquerque International Airport.
Area description
The Hotel Blue is located in the heart of the Albuquerque downtown district. The hotel is surrounded by many shopping, dining and entertainment venues and is within walking distance to the Albuquerque Convention Center and the Historic Old Town area.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Hotel Blue also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5

The Hotel Blue Rooms

Non-smoking King
One king size Tempur-Pedic bed; microwave and refrigerator; iron and ironing board; coffee maker, voice messaging and data ports, hairdryers, high-speed internet access, 40-inch HDTV, free local phone calls.
Non-smoking Double
Two queen size Tempur-Pedic beds; microwave and refrigerator; iron and ironing board; coffee maker, voice messaging and data ports, hairdryers, high-speed internet access, 40-inch HDTV, free local phone calls.

Amenities

  • Free full breakfast
  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Pet friendly
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Free full breakfast
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • KiMO theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Rio Grande Zoo: 0.6 mi
  • Albuquerque Little Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • New Mexico Museum of Natural History and Science: 1 mi
  • Explora Science Center and Children's Museum of Albuquerque: 1.1 mi
  • San Felipe de Neri Church: 1.1 mi
  • Albuquerque Museum: 1.1 mi
  • Old Town Albuquerque: 1.1 mi
  • Turquoise Museum: 1.2 mi
  • National Hispanic Cultural Center: 1.2 mi
  • New Mexico Steam Locomotive and Railroad Historical Society: 1.3 mi
  • Albuquerque Aquarium: 1.4 mi
  • Indian Pueblo Cultural Center: 1.7 mi
  • Albuquerque Isotopes Baseball: 1.7 mi
  • University of New Mexico: 2 mi
  • KiMO theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Rio Grande Zoo: 0.6 mi
  • Albuquerque Little Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • New Mexico Museum of Natural History and Science: 1 mi
  • Explora Science Center and Children's Museum of Albuquerque: 1.1 mi
  • San Felipe de Neri Church: 1.1 mi
  • Albuquerque Museum: 1.1 mi
  • Old Town Albuquerque: 1.1 mi
  • Turquoise Museum: 1.2 mi
  • National Hispanic Cultural Center: 1.2 mi
  • New Mexico Steam Locomotive and Railroad Historical Society: 1.3 mi
  • Albuquerque Aquarium: 1.4 mi
  • Indian Pueblo Cultural Center: 1.7 mi
  • Albuquerque Isotopes Baseball: 1.7 mi
  • University of New Mexico: 2 mi
  • University Stadium: 2 mi
  • American International Rattlesnake Museum: 3.2 mi
  • Rio Grande Nature Center State Park: 3.5 mi
  • Unser Racing Museum: 3.9 mi
  • Tingley Coliseum: 4.7 mi
  • Petroglyph National Monument: 5.8 mi
  • The National Museum of Nuclear Science and History: 7.1 mi
  • Corrales Bosque: 7.7 mi
  • Anderson - Abruzzo International Balloon Museum: 8 mi
  • Rainbow Ryders: 8.3 mi
  • Volcano Park: 11.8 mi
  • Elena Gallegos Park: 12 mi
  • Sandia Peak Tramway: 12.4 mi
  • La Luz Trail: 13 mi
  • Jemez State Monument: 48 mi
  • Cibola National Forest: 72.7 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (141)

Ratings and reviews for The Hotel Blue

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
141 out of 141
Amenities:
3.3
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.8

73% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Hotel Blue

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Ogden Utah
May 4, 2010

Front row for weekend cruise

The location was great being right downtown. The room was well appointed and comfortable; unfortunatly the weekend cruise was in full gear. Our room on the sixth floor was no protection from the constant throttle revs from the parade of Harleys and hot rods idling by at 2 miles an hour till the wee hours in the morning. Bring your ear plugs. Two stars relates to "Needs that special something" That special something is sound proofing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Right downtown.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Hotel Blue

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
LA
Apr 28, 2010

so-so

You definitely get what you pay for. My hotel room was clean, but quite outdated...the tv armoire didn't fit the flat screen (had to be placed high above), the carpet was old, the exterior made me question the hotel in general. it was quite noisy....the only positive was the great tempur pedic bed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

close to downtown

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Hotel Blue

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
National Conference Attended
Apr 24, 2010

Hotel Blue, Downtown location

Accosted by intoxicated persons when trying to get into car outside front lobby. SCARY. Need security for front door area. There are cameras over parking lot. A Drug use park across street from hotel. Drug and transient location. Good that parking is gated and locked. Long walk from parking to lobby and room. Online reservation, handicap request resulted in last room farthest from lobby. Looks like they do not have handicap policy. CAll and ask first. Good location, good potential, good first step in restoration of building, good for hostelers and confident independent travelers. Being older I look for a little more distance from drug users and possible threats to my person and property. But these are the same problems as any american urban setting, in our times safety is important.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Entertainment tip: In Hotel

Great views from 5th floor. Nice bed, Great Mattress. Large TV. Will return. If walking, head east on Central, downtown Rt 66. Do not walk west of North, South. Be aware of personal safety in streets and where you park when checking in. Hotel has been fixed up partial rehab and is clean and comfortable. Towels are usable. Sheets clean. Good for price.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Hotel Blue

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Columbia, MO
Apr 23, 2010

A Hotel in a Great Location

We enjoyed the comfortable bed, clean towels, large screen T.V., and refrigerator. While we were there we entertained another couple in our room, had some drinks that were cold right out of the refrigerator, and listened to music on the T.V. while we talked. Probably one additional chair would have made our arrangement with four people more comfortable in the room. This is the first time we have stayed at this hotel and the first time we have stayed in this city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Tucanos Brazilian Grill on 110 Central Avenue,Albuquerque is just a few blocks from The Hotel Blue.It has a large salad bar and a big selection of meat-steak,chicken,ham,on skewers brought around by waiters when you would like to eat it...all for a fixed price of $19.95.A great place for a hungry appetite.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Hotel Blue

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Park City, UT
Apr 19, 2010

Great Value

Room was clean, renovated with all of the nice amenities - granite counter tops, very large flat screen tv, microwave, fridge, comfy bed. Easy walking distance to conference center and downtown bars and restaurants. Location is on Rte 66, and is apparently on the edge of the "good" part of town. I didn't have any issues walking around by myself.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Hotel Blue

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Pittsburgh, PA
Apr 17, 2010

Nice for the Price

You get what you pay for. This hotel has an odd mix of vastly outdated decor and really moderninzed things. The beds were temperpedic, but the pillows were wimpy and flat. The vanity was a gorgeous grantie, but the shower was old and kinda scuzzy. The highlights are the mini fridge, microwave, and free internet. The major downfall is the loud traffic and ROTC marching by early in the morning!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

The Petroglyph Monument is an easily navigatable trip. It's free and it's good exercise!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Hotel Blue

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Salt Lake City
Apr 14, 2010

Best Bed you will find!

The Breakfast was extremely delicious. I loved the complimentary coffees, teas, and cookies. The staff was friendly and helpful. I loved the flat screen television, free internet and the best sleep of my life.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

I really enjoyed visiting Old Town. The shops, old buildings, jewelry, and food were wonderful. You will feel sad if miss it!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Hotel Blue

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Big Joaby
Business
Louisville, KY
Apr 2, 2010

Wonderful once inside

Not much to look at from the outside but friendly staff, many amenities, clean rooms, and great location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

I was told that the best New Mexican restaurants were in Nob Hill and NOT Old Town.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Hotel Blue

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Blaire Speaks
Mid City, CA
Mar 30, 2010

Gave me the Blues

The price was good for the location. The staff was professional and friendly. Appreciated the gated parking. Appreciated breakfast for that price. I would stay here again if in Albequerque on business as the location is right on Central. Loved the neighborhood, though don't go out at night alone of you're a female. Wish the room had ventilation - there was a fan but I couldnt' open the window.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Get a great camera and take photos of the famous neon along Central.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Hotel Blue

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
Mar 29, 2010

False Advertisement

I booked this hotel through [...] because it was listed as 3 stars which is the highest rating you get in Albuquerque and it had a complimentary shuttle to and from the airport and convention center. Good thing the hotel is within walking distance of the convention center because I ended up walking every single day since the one shuttle they have was always going to take at least 30 minutes to pick me up. The bathroom shower curtain had mildew all over it and thank God the air conditioner worked so I could drown out some of the noise from the street. There was a half-inch gap all around the door where you could see daylight and feel the outside air coming in but it did have a deadbolt and latch. Wanted to run off some of my frustration and put to use the workout clothing that I brought along and had occupied 1/3 of my suitcase with but their fitness room is "under construction"....although they never advertised that on their website. Would not recommend this hotel for business. Maybe the only group of people I would recommend it to is college kids but I could think of a million different places to visit other than Albuquerque. Note: all the restaurants within walking distance of the hotel seem to be closed on weekends so most people end up taking a cab to find a place to eat....might as well book a hotel closer to those places and save yourself on cab fare!!! They did have a complimentary breakfast although they ran out of stuff quite a bit and a nice flat screen tv...if you're into that kind of stuff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search