$70 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 9, 2014 Check-out: May 10, 2014

Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites ALBUQUERQUE AIRPORT-UNIV AREA

3 stars
1501 SUNPORT PLACE, ALBUQUERQUE, NM 87106
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
86 reviews
impressed.

First time staying at a holiday Inn and suites.. had a very positive experience and would recommend... See full review

  • sunshine Annie
  • Apr 14, 2014
A very nice and decent hotel to stay

I arrived early to ABQ at 10 am and asked if they would check me in because I was exhausted after a... See full review

  • Dr Be
  • Apr 10, 2014
Albuquerque airport hotel with on-site dining, an indoor pool and sauna
Contemporary spaces set the stage for a comfortable stay at the Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Albuquerque Airport-Univ Area. A free airport shuttle makes the hotel a great one-night stopover, while an on-site bar and restaurant and cozy guest rooms make the hotel a good option for a longer Albuquerque visit. The adjacent Interstate puts every corner of Albuquerque within easy reach, from Old Town to Balloon Fiesta Park. The Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Albuquerque Airport-Univ Area offers free Wi-Fi Internet access and a 24-hour fitness center.
Highlights
  • All guest rooms non-smoking
  • Two-room suites available
  • Kids 12 and under eat free at the on-site Sunport Grille restaurant
  • 24-hour fitness center with elliptical trainers, treadmills, recumbent bike and weight machine
  • Indoor swimming pool and Jacuzzi
Rooms
Light, airy guest rooms at the Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Albuquerque Airport-Univ Area feature one king or two queen beds and modern details such as framed bathroom mirrors and neutral tones. Each room includes cable TV with in-room movies, work space with an executive chair, voicemail, free local phone calls, hairdryer, coffee maker, microwave and refrigerator. Free Wi-Fi Internet access is included.
Features
New Mexico sunlight spills into a two-story atrium lobby, where colorful stained glass panels frame the reception desk. Ample seating provides conversation areas for families or informal business meetings. The Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Albuquerque Airport-Univ Area indoor pool and Jacuzzi feature mosaic tile details. A sauna also is available.Workout 24 hours a day at the fitness center. Kids 12 and under eat free at the Sunport Grille.
Dining
Kids 12 and under eat free at the Sunport Grille at the Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Albuquerque Airport-Univ Area, serving breakfast and dinner. Coffee lovers order their favorite Starbucks beverage. In the evening, the spotlight is on Southwestern and American cuisine and daily specials. For a pre-drink dinner or a nightcap, unwind in the Vertigo Lounge.
Transportation
  • Albuquerque International Sunport (1 mi/1.5 km)
  • Interstate 25 (0.2 mi/0.4 km)
  • Free airport and local area shuttle service
Attractions
  • Central New Mexico Community College (1.6 mi/2.6 km)
  • University of New Mexico (2.6 mi/4.2 km)
  • Albuquerque Convention Center (2.7 mi/4.4 km)
  • Old Town Albuquerque (3.9 mi/6.2 km)
  • Balloon Fiesta Park (9.7 mi/15.7 km)
  • Sandia Peak Tramway (13.1 mi/21.1 km)
Business
  • Business center with two computer work stations
  • 1,600 square feet of function space
  • Catering services available

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Activities
Indoor pool
Golf
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Room service
Services
Business center
Maid service
Guest laundromat
Shops/Commercial services
Car rental desk
Porters
FAX
Overhead projector
White board
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
DVD player
Phone with speaker
Desk with lamp
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Cribs available
Sofa bed
Temperature control
Ironing board

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites ALBUQUERQUE AIRPORT-UNIV AREA also booked these hotels.

Hotel Map

35.0496 -106.6329
Nearby airports
Albuquerque International Airport, (ABQ), 1.00, MI, E;
Area description
Airport, airport

Nearby points of interest

  • University Stadium: 1.2 mi
  • Albuquerque Isotopes Baseball: 1.6 mi
  • National Hispanic Cultural Center: 1.7 mi
  • University of New Mexico: 2.5 mi
  • Rio Grande Zoo: 2.6 mi
  • KiMO theatre: 2.7 mi
  • Albuquerque Little Theatre: 3.5 mi
  • New Mexico Museum of Natural History and Science: 3.8 mi
  • San Felipe de Neri Church: 3.9 mi
  • Explora Science Center and Children's Museum of Albuquerque: 3.9 mi
  • Turquoise Museum: 3.9 mi
  • Old Town Albuquerque: 3.9 mi
  • Albuquerque Museum: 3.9 mi
  • New Mexico Steam Locomotive and Railroad Historical Society: 3.9 mi
  • Albuquerque Aquarium: 4 mi
  • University Stadium: 1.2 mi
  • Albuquerque Isotopes Baseball: 1.6 mi
  • National Hispanic Cultural Center: 1.7 mi
  • University of New Mexico: 2.5 mi
  • Rio Grande Zoo: 2.6 mi
  • KiMO theatre: 2.7 mi
  • Albuquerque Little Theatre: 3.5 mi
  • New Mexico Museum of Natural History and Science: 3.8 mi
  • San Felipe de Neri Church: 3.9 mi
  • Explora Science Center and Children's Museum of Albuquerque: 3.9 mi
  • Turquoise Museum: 3.9 mi
  • Old Town Albuquerque: 3.9 mi
  • Albuquerque Museum: 3.9 mi
  • New Mexico Steam Locomotive and Railroad Historical Society: 3.9 mi
  • Albuquerque Aquarium: 4 mi
  • Tingley Coliseum: 4.1 mi
  • American International Rattlesnake Museum: 4.4 mi
  • Indian Pueblo Cultural Center: 4.4 mi
  • The National Museum of Nuclear Science and History: 5.8 mi
  • Rio Grande Nature Center State Park: 6.3 mi
  • Unser Racing Museum: 6.6 mi
  • Petroglyph National Monument: 8.6 mi
  • Anderson - Abruzzo International Balloon Museum: 9.9 mi
  • Rainbow Ryders: 10 mi
  • Corrales Bosque: 10.1 mi
  • Elena Gallegos Park: 12.3 mi
  • Sandia Peak Tramway: 13.1 mi
  • La Luz Trail: 13.9 mi
  • Volcano Park: 14.1 mi
  • Jemez State Monument: 50.5 mi
  • Cibola National Forest: 71.5 mi

Dining

Sunport Grille
Enjoy breakfast at the Sunport Grille or get your favorite coffee drinks and snacks at our Starbucks Espresso Bar. Evenings we feature Southwestern and American favorites and daily specials plus cocktails. Kids 12 and under eat free.
Nob Hill Bar and Grill
Nob Hill Bar and Grill is a beacon for patrons in pursuit of delicious victuals and creative cocktails. The menu, however, has lot of variety to please both masculine and feminine palates.
Vertigo Lounge
After a long day of meetings or sightseeing, why not join us in our Albuquerque airport hotel's casual lounge, Vertigo? It's the perfect spot to enjoy great conversation with good friends, savor the beautiful city view and relax with a favorite beverage.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (86)

Ratings and reviews for Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites ALBUQUERQUE AIRPORT-UNIV AREA

Overall score

3.9 / 5
86 out of 86
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.2
Value:
4

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites ALBUQUERQUE AIRPORT-UNIV AREA

Reviewer score

5
sunshine Annie
new Mexico
Apr 14, 2014

impressed.

First time staying at a holiday Inn and suites.. had a very positive experience and would recommend to others.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites ALBUQUERQUE AIRPORT-UNIV AREA

Reviewer score

5
Dr Be
Midland, Texas
Apr 10, 2014

A very nice and decent hotel to stay

I arrived early to ABQ at 10 am and asked if they would check me in because I was exhausted after a long drive, but they did not even think twice about the rejection and said No check ins before 2pm. On the positive side, it is located at the airport but no loud noises, right off the highway, it was about 10-15 min from downtown, and 20 min to the mall and other areas we visited for dining. Room was very comfortable, nice and clean, nice shower, etc.. I got a good deal for the nightly rate, I would recommend it and may book again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites ALBUQUERQUE AIRPORT-UNIV AREA

Reviewer score

4
Cleengraphics
Business
Anaheim, California
Apr 6, 2014

My stay in ABQ

I had a great stay at this hotel. Its in a great location, very clean and very quiet. I would recommend this hotel to other travelers.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Breaking Bad film locations

Review of Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites ALBUQUERQUE AIRPORT-UNIV AREA

Reviewer score

4
BIG DADDY RICH
DENVER, CO.
Mar 31, 2014

Family Spring Break Trip

Very good experience. Very clean and comfortable. Pool, Sauna and Hot Tub were a great bonus. Wish more Holiday Inn's had all 3. Food and service at the restraunt was solid and staff was very attentive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites ALBUQUERQUE AIRPORT-UNIV AREA

Reviewer score

4
JoJo36
Chinle, Az
Mar 24, 2014

Ladies Weekend

The hotel was nice and comfortable; all 4's above as you can see. However, there was only one entrance; so if you parked in the back, you would have to lug your stuff all the way around. Also, the floors weren't even in the hallway to our room. There was a little dip here and there; eventually I sprained my ankle in one of the dips. Ouch! Other than that, the beds were super comfortable, the restroom was nice and big. as well as the overall room. Great stay!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites ALBUQUERQUE AIRPORT-UNIV AREA

Reviewer score

5
Last Minute Shopper 2013
new mexico
Jan 15, 2014

quick trip

This hotel is fabulous. The staff is very friendly, professional and kind. We never even had to step outside, they had everything available in the hotel for our stay. Great value, we will be staying again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites ALBUQUERQUE AIRPORT-UNIV AREA

Reviewer score

4
Blind Dave
Business
Minneapolis, MN
Nov 12, 2013

Excellent hotel

This was a very nice hotel with excellent facilities, although we were super disappointed the pool and hot tub were out of order.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites ALBUQUERQUE AIRPORT-UNIV AREA

Reviewer score

2
Wide Trip
Alb, New Mexico
Oct 20, 2013

Needs a Remodel!

Looks on the outside are good. Location is great for the airport. The bar/rest was a good feature and convienent. The inside of the building needs updating. In main lobby on the ceiling there is a large spots of black looking mold. ???? The room has a smell like it's be locked up for years, bed sheets had balls all on them. Pillows are very small for a king size bed. Did not feel comfortable in the rooms. Seem like they where clean per smelling the bleach but still something was not making it smell right, plus needing a update. Just my opinion possible I just got one bad room???

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites ALBUQUERQUE AIRPORT-UNIV AREA

Reviewer score

4
stephanie's dad
sf ca
Sep 7, 2013

clean and nice

Very clean and nice hotel but should offer continental breakfast for family.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites ALBUQUERQUE AIRPORT-UNIV AREA

Reviewer score

2
atct
Reading, PA
Sep 3, 2013

Less than happy experience

Very convenient to airport and rental cars. Restaurant in hotel but was usually closed while I was staying there, but area restaurants within 1 to 2 mile drive. I stayed in room 239 at the end of the hallway. The room seemed like an after thought. The bathroom layout was poor- the drain in the shower was at the high end of the shower floor so it didn't drain right. The electric outlet by the sink was not GFCI. The main complaint was the front door which didn't lock!! The front desk was reponsive and sent maintenence right away but when we returned to the room that night the door was not locked!! Maybe it was just this room and the others are okay. Seems like other travelers had a better experience than I did.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

A lot of good restaurants located on Central, just a couple of miles north of the hotel.

Back to menu Return to top