$54 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 23, 2014 Check-out: Nov 26, 2014

Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Albuquerque

3 stars
1511 Gibson Blvd. S.E., Albuquerque, NM 87106
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.3
out of 5
144 reviews
Clean & Great Location

I enjoyed that the hotel was nearby to the interstate on ramp and made it very convenient for us to... See full review

  • MRFG
  • Apr 22, 2014
Great!

We took a chance, the reviews were good, but sometimes you never know. Boy were happy! Staff very... See full review

  • ok granny
  • Feb 12, 2014
Albuquerque hotel offers an airport shuttle, fitness center and pool

Spacious accommodation at the Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Albuquerque hotel provides comfort and convenience for both short and long visits to the Land of Enchantment. Visit nearby attractions such as the National Museum of Nuclear Science & History and National Hispanic Cultural Center of New Mexico. Business travelers take advantage of spacious work desks, voicemail, free Wi-Fi Internet access and a free daily newspaper. Everyone visiting the Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Albuquerque enjoys free hot breakfast and the outdoor pool.

Highlights
  • On-site Desert Bistro hosts a weekly social hour
  • Fitness center and outdoor pool
  • Free hot breakfast buffet
  • Airport shuttle
Location

Minutes from the Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Albuquerque, the 600-acre University of New Mexico campus is worth a stop on any Albuquerque itinerary. A walking tour - including numerous museums with free admission - provides a great overview of Southwest culture and history.

Rooms

Pets are welcome at the Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Albuquerque (fees apply). Spacious suites feature satellite channels, work space, sofa and wet bar with microwave and refrigerator. Fix a light meal for private in-room dining, or order room service. High-speed Internet access is complimentary. Rollaway beds available (fees apply).

Features

The Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Albuquerque fitness center is equipped with a treadmill, elliptical trainer, recumbent bike, weight machine and wall-mounted TV. During seasonal weather, swim a few laps in the heated outdoor pool.

 

Each morning, wake up to the free hot breakfast buffet at the Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Albuquerque. Eggs, biscuits and gravy, bagels, pastries, sausage and beverages are served. On Wednesday nights, guests gather at the Desert Bistro in the hotel lobby for a weekly social hour.

Transportation
  • ABQ Ride bus stop (Across the street)
  • I-25 (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • Albuquerque International Sunport (1.1 mi/1.8 km)
  • Free airport shuttle from 6am – 10pm
  • Baggage handling provided (fees apply)
Attractions
  • Central New Mexico Community College (0.9 mi/1.5 km)
  • Albuquerque Convention Center (2.1 mi/3.4 km)
  • Old Town Albuquerque (3.3 mi/5.4 km)
  • Balloon Fiesta Park (9 mi/14.5 km)
  • Sandia Peak Tramway (12.5 mi/20.2 km)
Business
  • Free use of computer with high-speed Internet access
  • Complimentary copy, fax and printing services
  • 700-square-foot meeting room

Hotel Map

35.0593 -106.632
Area description
Business district

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Albuquerque also booked these hotels.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free airport shuttle
  • Heated pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Heated pool
Exercise gym
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Guest laundromat
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
FAX
Conference facilities
Overhead projector
Audio visual equipment
Internet
High-speed internet
Transportation
Free airport shuttle
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
RV or truck parking
Bus parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Accessible parking
Room
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Microwave
Over sized rooms
Cribs available
In room movies
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • University Stadium: 0.6 mi
  • Albuquerque Isotopes Baseball: 0.9 mi
  • National Hispanic Cultural Center: 1.4 mi
  • University of New Mexico: 1.8 mi
  • KiMO theatre: 2.1 mi
  • Rio Grande Zoo: 2.2 mi
  • Albuquerque Little Theatre: 3 mi
  • New Mexico Museum of Natural History and Science: 3.3 mi
  • New Mexico Steam Locomotive and Railroad Historical Society: 3.3 mi
  • Explora Science Center and Children's Museum of Albuquerque: 3.3 mi
  • San Felipe de Neri Church: 3.3 mi
  • Albuquerque Museum: 3.4 mi
  • Old Town Albuquerque: 3.4 mi
  • Turquoise Museum: 3.4 mi
  • Albuquerque Aquarium: 3.6 mi
  • University Stadium: 0.6 mi
  • Albuquerque Isotopes Baseball: 0.9 mi
  • National Hispanic Cultural Center: 1.4 mi
  • University of New Mexico: 1.8 mi
  • KiMO theatre: 2.1 mi
  • Rio Grande Zoo: 2.2 mi
  • Albuquerque Little Theatre: 3 mi
  • New Mexico Museum of Natural History and Science: 3.3 mi
  • New Mexico Steam Locomotive and Railroad Historical Society: 3.3 mi
  • Explora Science Center and Children's Museum of Albuquerque: 3.3 mi
  • San Felipe de Neri Church: 3.3 mi
  • Albuquerque Museum: 3.4 mi
  • Old Town Albuquerque: 3.4 mi
  • Turquoise Museum: 3.4 mi
  • Albuquerque Aquarium: 3.6 mi
  • Tingley Coliseum: 3.7 mi
  • American International Rattlesnake Museum: 3.8 mi
  • Indian Pueblo Cultural Center: 3.8 mi
  • The National Museum of Nuclear Science and History: 5.6 mi
  • Rio Grande Nature Center State Park: 5.7 mi
  • Unser Racing Museum: 5.9 mi
  • Petroglyph National Monument: 8.1 mi
  • Anderson - Abruzzo International Balloon Museum: 9.2 mi
  • Rainbow Ryders: 9.3 mi
  • Corrales Bosque: 9.5 mi
  • Elena Gallegos Park: 11.8 mi
  • Sandia Peak Tramway: 12.5 mi
  • La Luz Trail: 13.4 mi
  • Volcano Park: 13.8 mi
  • Jemez State Monument: 49.8 mi
  • Cibola National Forest: 72 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (144)

Ratings and reviews for Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Albuquerque

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
144 out of 144
Amenities:
3.4
Room cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
4
Value:
3.8

79% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Albuquerque

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
lastminuteroom
Business
Grants, NM
Apr 3, 2012

Good place to stay

We have had consistantly positive experience with this hotel. However, the fee we had to pay for our small dog was a little high at $25/night this time around. We have stayed at other places with lower fees. Otherwise, everything was fine.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Waffle HOuse, definately

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Albuquerque

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
huggybear
Business
Wichita, KS, USA
Jan 29, 2012

No Hot Breakfarst

We stayed there two nights. As expected the cheap price, was followed by some repair being needed, but was clean and acceptable. They make a big deal about the full Hot Breakfast. The breakfast might have been hot when it was prepared, but no effort was made to keep it that way. It was put into a steam table, with no steam. It was sitting there the whole three hours breakfast was served.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Plenty of good eating places.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Albuquerque

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
lastminuteroom
Business
Grants, NM
Jan 20, 2012

consistent value

I have stayed at the Hawthorne several times now and have recommended it to family and friends as well. It is my usual place for the past year due to comfortable clean rooms, quiet, great staff good location. I like the breakfast as well. Prices are reasonable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Waffle House, definately!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Albuquerque

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
R R M
Business
Sacramento, CA
Nov 15, 2011

Perfect for our weekend "home base".

The location was great with easy freeway access, close to the airport and just a short hop to the sites we wanted to see in ABQ. The pillows were great! The staff was very helpful with a special request I had. I'd stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Golden Crown Panaderia! Excellent bread, sandwiches, pizza and empanadas. Near the corner of Mountain and 12th.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Albuquerque

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
lastminuteroom
Business
Grants, NM
Nov 7, 2011

Close to the airport

Booked 2 connected rooms for my adult daughters and myself and wife last minute room on Saturday afternoon, convenient/affordable. The staff were very pleasant and helpful. Hotel was comfortable, quiet and good location for our needs. Breakfast was good for me, a little heavy for the women. I will book again in the future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Albuquerque

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Bords
Business
Racine, WI, USA
Nov 7, 2011

Great value

Close to the airport with a free shuttle. Right near the freeway. Close to the University and various dining types. Great value for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Albuquerque

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Peezee
Business
Espanola, NM, USA
Oct 2, 2011

Worked for me

Since I was taking a red eye flight the next morning I decided to stay in Albuquerque overnight and found Hawthorn Suites on the Orbitz site. When I arrived at the Sunport via airport shuttle and called the hotel, they sent a shuttle immediately. The driver was friendly and gave me ideas on where to eat that evening, telling me that free shuttle rides to several restaurants were available and that here were also two restaurants within easy walking distance. Check in was fast and efficient and even though there was a sign that the shuttle to the airport started at 7AM I was given assurances that I would have no problem taking it at 430AM the next morning...and they were absolutely right. The room was clean, very comfortable, and quiet and I had no problem getting to sleep early. I will definitely use them again and recommend them to others.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a Dion's pizza/sub/salad restaurant right next door, but a short walk up the street brings you to an IHOP which really fit the bill. Good food and excellent service.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Albuquerque

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
The San Francisco Treat
Business
Pagosa Springs, CO 81147, USA
Sep 30, 2011

Excellent Value at $56.

Excellent value at $56. Pillows too thick, but that's just me, had to get plates and utensils, etc. from front desk instead of being supplied in room. Very clean, well maintained, lots of parking, quiet. I will stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Garcia's Kitchen on 4th NW, excellent Northern New Mexican style food. Sadie's also on 4th NW, same.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Albuquerque

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Clovis, NM 88101, USA
Sep 29, 2011

Great weekend hotel

The hotel was great for a weekend for my husband and myself. There were only 3 bad things, one of the lamps didn't have a shade, the refrigerator adjustment was broke (but it was cool) and the TV remote may have needed new batteries-worked a little slow. However, the staff at the desk was professional, not real warm and cuddly-but they weren't rude. I would recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Albuquerque

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
MaryO
Business
Denver, CO, USA
Sep 6, 2011

Good Value for the price

We stayed at this hotel for four nights. Didn't spend much time ther other than sleeping. It was conveniently located. Rooms were relatively clean. Didn't like the pillows. Way to big. hard on neck and shoulders. It did offer hot breakfast but did nt look appetizing at all. Kids ate a bit. Coffee was good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top