$64 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 20, 2014 Check-out: Jul 21, 2014

Econo Lodge Old Town

2 stars
2321 Central Ave NW, Albuquerque, NM 87104
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
31 reviews
Very conveniently located near the old town.

Very friendly staff at check-in. Hotel is very adequate and comfortable for a short stay. It's... See full review

  • Dalei
  • Jul 3, 2014
great location near Old town

Front desk girl great. Room was very clean, carpet had just been shampooed, room was very quiet to... See full review

  • kickin it on Rte 66
  • Jun 28, 2014
The Econo Lodge Old Town is centrally located two blocks from historic Old Town Albuquerque, is within walking distance to shops and restaurants. Downtown Albuquerque is just a step away. The Econo Lodge Old Town offers an Indoor Pool and Spa,FREE high speed Internet in all rooms and public areas, a Free Hot Breakfast and Pets are welcome for a 10.00 USD per night fee.

Amenities

  • Free breakfast
  • High-speed internet
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Ice machine
Activities
Indoor pool
Dining
Free breakfast
Coffee maker in room
Services
FAX
News stand
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
Bus parking
Room
Television with cable
Telephone
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Iron

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Econo Lodge Old Town also booked these hotels.

Hotel Map

35.0962 -106.6755
Nearby airports
Albuquerque Int'l Arpt, (ABQ), 7.00, MI, E;
Area description
City Center, Old Town/Dwntown

Nearby points of interest

  • Albuquerque Aquarium: 0.2 mi
  • Turquoise Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Old Town Albuquerque: 0.3 mi
  • San Felipe de Neri Church: 0.3 mi
  • Albuquerque Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Albuquerque Little Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • New Mexico Museum of Natural History and Science: 0.6 mi
  • Explora Science Center and Children's Museum of Albuquerque: 0.6 mi
  • New Mexico Steam Locomotive and Railroad Historical Society: 1.3 mi
  • Indian Pueblo Cultural Center: 1.4 mi
  • Rio Grande Zoo: 1.5 mi
  • KiMO theatre: 1.5 mi
  • National Hispanic Cultural Center: 2.3 mi
  • Rio Grande Nature Center State Park: 2.4 mi
  • Albuquerque Isotopes Baseball: 3 mi
  • Albuquerque Aquarium: 0.2 mi
  • Turquoise Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Old Town Albuquerque: 0.3 mi
  • San Felipe de Neri Church: 0.3 mi
  • Albuquerque Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Albuquerque Little Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • New Mexico Museum of Natural History and Science: 0.6 mi
  • Explora Science Center and Children's Museum of Albuquerque: 0.6 mi
  • New Mexico Steam Locomotive and Railroad Historical Society: 1.3 mi
  • Indian Pueblo Cultural Center: 1.4 mi
  • Rio Grande Zoo: 1.5 mi
  • KiMO theatre: 1.5 mi
  • National Hispanic Cultural Center: 2.3 mi
  • Rio Grande Nature Center State Park: 2.4 mi
  • Albuquerque Isotopes Baseball: 3 mi
  • University of New Mexico: 3.2 mi
  • Unser Racing Museum: 3.2 mi
  • University Stadium: 3.3 mi
  • American International Rattlesnake Museum: 3.8 mi
  • Petroglyph National Monument: 4.6 mi
  • Tingley Coliseum: 5.9 mi
  • Corrales Bosque: 7 mi
  • Anderson - Abruzzo International Balloon Museum: 7.8 mi
  • Rainbow Ryders: 8.2 mi
  • The National Museum of Nuclear Science and History: 8.3 mi
  • Volcano Park: 10.5 mi
  • Elena Gallegos Park: 12.7 mi
  • Sandia Peak Tramway: 12.9 mi
  • La Luz Trail: 13.4 mi
  • Jemez State Monument: 47.2 mi
  • Cibola National Forest: 72.7 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
02:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (31)

Ratings and reviews for Econo Lodge Old Town

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
31 out of 31
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.6
Location:
4
Value:
3.7

71% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Econo Lodge Old Town

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Pampo
San Diego, CA
Sep 15, 2009

Terrible communication with female clerk

Terrible. Reservation had been cancelled because of a communication problem. Had to argue with the clerk about this issue. Waiting for our credit card statement to see if we are charged twice for our stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Near Old Town. Recommend Churches Cafe.

Review of Econo Lodge Old Town

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Pampo
San Diego, CA
Sep 15, 2009

Terrible communication with female clerk

Terrible. Reservation had been cancelled because of a communication problem. Had to argue with the clerk about this issue. Waiting for our credit card statement to see if we are charged twice for our stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Near Old Town. Recommend Churches Cafe.

Review of Econo Lodge Old Town

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Texas
Nov 22, 2009

Covienient but sparse

First room had bad smell. They moved us promptly to another - but it had no fridge or microwave. OK for a base for exploring Old Town. Nearby Botanical Gardens were really nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Walk to Old Town, short drive to Botanical Gardens, zoo, aquarium.

Review of Econo Lodge Old Town

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
curious2travel
Virginia
Jun 21, 2013

you get what you pay for

I was in Albuquerque for 4 nights. I spent two at this motel, and two at another motel in a different part of Albuquerque. I was really trying to get a sense of the city, and so was only looking for a clean and safe place to sleep at night. The bad: I reserved a non-smoking room with one king bed, but when I arrived I was told that all the non-smoking rooms at the price point I had reserved were sold out. I was shown the smoking room that they were offering me, but it truly smelled like someone had been smoking in there for days and no one had bothered to try to air the room out. I showed them my reservation for a non-smoking room and was offered an "upgraded" non-smoking room for ten dollars extra per night. The hotel staff told me that they were unable to refund me the cost of my reservation, so basically my choices were to eat the late cancellation fee (half the cost of the entire reservation since I was only going to be staying for two nights), or pay the extra money for a nonsmoking room. I think just about every other hotel I've ever stayed at would have offered the upgrade for free in exchange for the inconvenience (really all I was getting was two queen beds instead of one king, which didn't matter for me because I was traveling alone). I really don't feel it is a good point that this hotel prefers to get the extra $20 from me rather than have a happy customer. As for the "upgraded" room, I would say it was nothing special and actually a little less than what I would have expected for the original price point. There were cracks in the bathroom wall, all the mirrors in the room had been vandalized, and the refrigerator did not work (whatever setting I put it on, a thin sheet of ice formed at the very top but the rest of the unit did not get cold at all). The doorknob was a little funky (it only opened if I turned it in a certain way) - I didn't think anything of it until the last day when (as I was checking out) another customer came in to say her doorknob had come off in her hand. The good: The room felt reasonably clean and had the basic amenities (shampoo, soap) included (I would rank it as a standard two or three-star motel). The location is great if you want to visit Old Town - it's about a 5-minute easy walk to Old Town. The hot complimentary breakfast was better than I expected after the fiasco at check-in. My summary: I think it's a good choice if you are vacationing on a budget and plan on spending most of your time in Old Town on foot. If you are really picky about your hotels, I might try elsewhere. If your vacation plans include the rest of Albuquerque or areas surrounding Albuquerque and you have a car, I would say there are better-value options for your money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Review of Econo Lodge Old Town

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Chicago
Feb 26, 2010

Not in a great area - felt unsafe

Hotel was inexpensive, clean. Staff were friendly. However we did not realize when booking the hotel that it is in a fairly unsafe area -- Central Avenue near Old Town. Did not feel safe; heard police cars regularly throughout the night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
2
Value:
4
Review of Econo Lodge Old Town

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Prescott
Jun 21, 2008

Location

This hotel was not in a very safe part of town. Thank goodness there was a McDonald's two buildings down. The downtown area was a distance, and I could tell this wasn't a smart area for a family to walk around. Otherwise, the good thing, my son had left his necklace with them and after sending them a self-addressed/stamped envelope they promply returned it to us.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of Econo Lodge Old Town

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Chicago
Feb 26, 2010

Not in a great area - felt unsafe

Hotel was inexpensive, clean. Staff were friendly. However we did not realize when booking the hotel that it is in a fairly unsafe area -- Central Avenue near Old Town. Did not feel safe; heard police cars regularly throughout the night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
2
Value:
4
Review of Econo Lodge Old Town

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Texas
Nov 22, 2009

Covienient but sparse

First room had bad smell. They moved us promptly to another - but it had no fridge or microwave. OK for a base for exploring Old Town. Nearby Botanical Gardens were really nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Walk to Old Town, short drive to Botanical Gardens, zoo, aquarium.

Review of Econo Lodge Old Town

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Prescott
Jun 21, 2008

Location

This hotel was not in a very safe part of town. Thank goodness there was a McDonald's two buildings down. The downtown area was a distance, and I could tell this wasn't a smart area for a family to walk around. Otherwise, the good thing, my son had left his necklace with them and after sending them a self-addressed/stamped envelope they promply returned it to us.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of Econo Lodge Old Town

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
albuconf
Business
Annapolis, MD
Dec 6, 2010

Great downtown experience

This is really conventiently located. While the WiFi did not work in my room, staff were helpful and provided an alternative that worked well. Rooms was simple, clean and had everything you needed for a short stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Close to everything in downtown.

Back to menu Return to top