$69 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 29, 2015 Check-out: Aug 30, 2015

Econo Lodge Old Town

2 stars
View map of 2321 Central Ave NW, Albuquerque, NM 87104

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
22 reviews
Great Service!!!

This hotel was great! The staff was very friendly and helpful. We wanted to stay walking distance... See full review

  • Yolitzas
  • Oct 3, 2014
national roller skating championship

Great location. It was one block from old town with shops and restaurants. The rooms were a nice... See full review

  • Smiling Gayle
  • Aug 3, 2015
The Econo Lodge Old Town is centrally located two blocks from historic Old Town Albuquerque, is within walking distance to shops and restaurants. Downtown Albuquerque is just a step away. The Econo Lodge Old Town offers an Indoor Pool and Spa,FREE high speed Internet in all rooms and public areas, a Free Hot Breakfast. Pet Accommodation: 10.00 USD per pet, per night, under 20 pounds. 20.00 USD per pet, per night, over 20 pounds.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Econo Lodge Old Town also booked these hotels.

★★★
$132
4.3 / 5 10 reviews
★★★
$98
3.8 / 5 109 reviews
★★★★
$133
3.8 / 5 65 reviews

Amenities

  • Free breakfast
  • High-speed internet
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Ice machine
Activities
Indoor pool
Dining
Free breakfast
Coffee maker in room
Services
FAX
News stand
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
Bus parking
Room
Television with cable
Telephone
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Iron

Nearby points of interest

  • Rio Grande Botanic Garden: 0.2 mi
  • Turquoise Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Old Town Albuquerque: 0.3 mi
  • San Felipe de Neri Church: 0.3 mi
  • Albuquerque Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Albuquerque Little Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • New Mexico Museum of Natural History and Science: 0.6 mi
  • Explora Science Center and Children's Museum of Albuquerque: 0.6 mi
  • New Mexico Steam Locomotive and Railroad Historical Society: 1.3 mi
  • Indian Pueblo Cultural Center: 1.4 mi
  • Rio Grande Zoo: 1.5 mi
  • KiMO theatre: 1.5 mi
  • National Hispanic Cultural Center: 2.3 mi
  • Rio Grande Nature Center State Park: 2.4 mi
  • Albuquerque Isotopes Baseball: 3 mi
  • Rio Grande Botanic Garden: 0.2 mi
  • Turquoise Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Old Town Albuquerque: 0.3 mi
  • San Felipe de Neri Church: 0.3 mi
  • Albuquerque Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Albuquerque Little Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • New Mexico Museum of Natural History and Science: 0.6 mi
  • Explora Science Center and Children's Museum of Albuquerque: 0.6 mi
  • New Mexico Steam Locomotive and Railroad Historical Society: 1.3 mi
  • Indian Pueblo Cultural Center: 1.4 mi
  • Rio Grande Zoo: 1.5 mi
  • KiMO theatre: 1.5 mi
  • National Hispanic Cultural Center: 2.3 mi
  • Rio Grande Nature Center State Park: 2.4 mi
  • Albuquerque Isotopes Baseball: 3 mi
  • University of New Mexico: 3.2 mi
  • Unser Racing Museum: 3.2 mi
  • University Stadium: 3.3 mi
  • American International Rattlesnake Museum: 3.8 mi
  • Petroglyph National Monument: 4.6 mi
  • Tingley Coliseum: 5.9 mi
  • Corrales Bosque: 7 mi
  • Anderson - Abruzzo International Balloon Museum: 7.8 mi
  • Rainbow Ryders: 8.2 mi
  • The National Museum of Nuclear Science and History: 8.3 mi
  • Volcano Park: 10.5 mi
  • Elena Gallegos Park: 12.7 mi
  • Sandia Peak Tramway: 12.9 mi
  • La Luz Trail: 13.4 mi
  • Jemez State Monument: 47.2 mi
  • Cibola National Forest: 72.7 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
02:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for Econo Lodge Old Town

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
22 out of 22
Amenities:
3.2
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.9

77% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Econo Lodge Old Town

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Smiling Gayle
Single
N/A
Aug 3, 2015

national roller skating championship

Great location. It was one block from old town with shops and restaurants. The rooms were a nice size, but my brothers had a soft chair and mine did not. I appreciated the refrigerator and microwave, and table with 2 chairs. My door lock didn't work correctly, I told lady in office at 8pm. She said give he 30 minutes. The next morning when I told manager, then it was fixed. I would defiantly stay their again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Econo Lodge Old Town

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Vlad D
Single
Odessa, Ukraine
Oct 9, 2014

Good stay at Econolodge old town Albuquerque

I have really liked my stay here. People who manage this place really do care. It shows primarily with a breakfast which is great for a hotel of this level, but also in many other little details. Room was spacious and clean, had TV, fridge, microwave, etc. Wi-fi was very reliable. This place is within short walk of Old Town, that is full of restaurants, souvenir shops, etc.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

If you walk/drive away from dowtown you can get to Rio Grande and even before you do that there is an entrance to Botanical garden/Aquarium

Review of Econo Lodge Old Town

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Yolitzas
Family
San Jose, California
Oct 3, 2014

Great Service!!!

This hotel was great! The staff was very friendly and helpful. We wanted to stay walking distance from Old Town and this place ended up being perfect. Our room was simple but clean and included a microwave, mini fridge and coffee maker. Not bad for someone on a tight budget! They also provided free breakfast which was very convenient for us. Considering this place is on the low budget end it's great! You get a lot more than what you pay for! To compare this hotel to a 5 star hotel would be very unfair as that is not what this is. Keeping this in mind when we arrived allowed us to be pleasantly surprised. They even drove us to the train station for half the cost of what the taxi charged us when we first arrived. We will definitely stay here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Econo Lodge Old Town

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dalei
Family
Charlotte, NC
Jul 3, 2014

Very conveniently located near the old town.

Very friendly staff at check-in. Hotel is very adequate and comfortable for a short stay. It's within walking distance to old town Albuquerque and restaurants.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Econo Lodge Old Town

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
kickin it on Rte 66
Single
Tucson, AZ
Jun 28, 2014

great location near Old town

Front desk girl great. Room was very clean, carpet had just been shampooed, room was very quiet to outside noise. Excellent full breakfast! Bacon :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Old town historic

Review of Econo Lodge Old Town

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
curious2travel
Single
Virginia
Jun 21, 2013

you get what you pay for

I was in Albuquerque for 4 nights. I spent two at this motel, and two at another motel in a different part of Albuquerque. I was really trying to get a sense of the city, and so was only looking for a clean and safe place to sleep at night. The bad: I reserved a non-smoking room with one king bed, but when I arrived I was told that all the non-smoking rooms at the price point I had reserved were sold out. I was shown the smoking room that they were offering me, but it truly smelled like someone had been smoking in there for days and no one had bothered to try to air the room out. I showed them my reservation for a non-smoking room and was offered an "upgraded" non-smoking room for ten dollars extra per night. The hotel staff told me that they were unable to refund me the cost of my reservation, so basically my choices were to eat the late cancellation fee (half the cost of the entire reservation since I was only going to be staying for two nights), or pay the extra money for a nonsmoking room. I think just about every other hotel I've ever stayed at would have offered the upgrade for free in exchange for the inconvenience (really all I was getting was two queen beds instead of one king, which didn't matter for me because I was traveling alone). I really don't feel it is a good point that this hotel prefers to get the extra $20 from me rather than have a happy customer. As for the "upgraded" room, I would say it was nothing special and actually a little less than what I would have expected for the original price point. There were cracks in the bathroom wall, all the mirrors in the room had been vandalized, and the refrigerator did not work (whatever setting I put it on, a thin sheet of ice formed at the very top but the rest of the unit did not get cold at all). The doorknob was a little funky (it only opened if I turned it in a certain way) - I didn't think anything of it until the last day when (as I was checking out) another customer came in to say her doorknob had come off in her hand. The good: The room felt reasonably clean and had the basic amenities (shampoo, soap) included (I would rank it as a standard two or three-star motel). The location is great if you want to visit Old Town - it's about a 5-minute easy walk to Old Town. The hot complimentary breakfast was better than I expected after the fiasco at check-in. My summary: I think it's a good choice if you are vacationing on a budget and plan on spending most of your time in Old Town on foot. If you are really picky about your hotels, I might try elsewhere. If your vacation plans include the rest of Albuquerque or areas surrounding Albuquerque and you have a car, I would say there are better-value options for your money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Econo Lodge Old Town

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
budget traveler1234
Friends
Philadelphia
Nov 6, 2012

great for a low-budget place

I am a low-budget traveler who's not looking for frills, so keep this in mind while reading my review. The good: - location (for my own needs it was perfect) - price - friendly staff: the owners are a couple. The woman is super sweet and accommodating. The husband much less so. I ended up going to the reception only when she was there because he was clearly annoyed when bothered. - free coffee and fruit at the lounge 24/7 (but if you try during the night, and the husband is sleeping, he won't be happy). - indoor pool and hot tub - they offer shuttle service from/to the airport for $10 but it's not advertised. Had I known I would not have rented a car. The bad: - husband's attitude - not all rooms have the same amenities - ours didn't have a microwave or coffee maker (it wasn't a deal breaker for me, but if you want those you better make sure to ask for them) - lousy towels, old and don't absorb much. But clean. - super-noisy bathroom fan that sounds like a turbo engine. Impossible to use if your roommate is sleeping. - I made the reservation online and must have entered one guest (don't know if this was a system error - could have been my mistake). The day of the reservation I called to say that my roommate would get there before me and the man on the phone (the owner probably - I didn't see any other staff while I was there) said no problem. When I got there the woman said that I had to pay extra for the second person. It was not too much and it still ended up being an OK deal (and it could have been my fault anyway) but it would be nice to have this information when I called earlier. All in all, I liked the place. It's basic but clean (which is all I want), and the location and price were good so I would go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

the hotel offers shuttle service from/to the airport for $10.

Review of Econo Lodge Old Town

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Peridot8
Couples
Springdale, Arkansas
Oct 13, 2012

Improving with new owners

Hotel room was adverage and our room needs a firmer matress BUT the location was great within walking distance to old towne and the new owners are making big changes. Super friendly and helpfull and breakfast with real eggs made by the owner. Clean and improving if looking to support the locals not some big chain and on a budget look no further. I would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Econo Lodge Old Town

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Richard and Pauline
Couples
Seattle
Jul 21, 2012

Great value, great location

An excellent value! What made this place truly outstanding was the new (since May 2012?) owner/manager family who went out of their way to make our stay truly memorable, with pick-up at the airport, a ride to the train station, sight-seeing recommendations, and a very pleasant atmosphere. They also provide a wonderful breakfast. Just 2 blocks from Old Town.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Econo Lodge Old Town

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Iowa Grandma
Single
Kalona, IA 52247, USA
Mar 23, 2012

Great Changes

The last time I stayed here in November 2011 the place was bordering on a dump. Reluctantly I booked a room for this March and was pleasantly surprised to find that there are new owners who passionately care about their guests. Improved breakfast selection and attention to detail have made me more than open to staying here in the future. The owners truly have a desire to upgrade the motel and I think i will only get better as time goes on under their leadership.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Back to menu Return to top