$64 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 10, 2014 Check-out: Aug 11, 2014

Econo Lodge Old Town

2 stars
2321 Central Ave NW, Albuquerque, NM 87104
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
31 reviews
Very conveniently located near the old town.

Very friendly staff at check-in. Hotel is very adequate and comfortable for a short stay. It's... See full review

  • Dalei
  • Jul 3, 2014
great location near Old town

Front desk girl great. Room was very clean, carpet had just been shampooed, room was very quiet to... See full review

  • kickin it on Rte 66
  • Jun 28, 2014
The Econo Lodge Old Town is centrally located two blocks from historic Old Town Albuquerque, is within walking distance to shops and restaurants. Downtown Albuquerque is just a step away. The Econo Lodge Old Town offers an Indoor Pool and Spa,FREE high speed Internet in all rooms and public areas, a Free Hot Breakfast and Pets are welcome for a 10.00 USD per night fee.

Amenities

  • Free breakfast
  • High-speed internet
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Ice machine
Activities
Indoor pool
Dining
Free breakfast
Coffee maker in room
Services
FAX
News stand
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
Bus parking
Room
Television with cable
Telephone
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Iron

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Econo Lodge Old Town also booked these hotels.

Hotel Map

35.0962 -106.6755
Nearby airports
Albuquerque Int'l Arpt, (ABQ), 7.00, MI, E;
Area description
City Center, Old Town/Dwntown

Nearby points of interest

  • Albuquerque Aquarium: 0.2 mi
  • Turquoise Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Old Town Albuquerque: 0.3 mi
  • San Felipe de Neri Church: 0.3 mi
  • Albuquerque Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Albuquerque Little Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • New Mexico Museum of Natural History and Science: 0.6 mi
  • Explora Science Center and Children's Museum of Albuquerque: 0.6 mi
  • New Mexico Steam Locomotive and Railroad Historical Society: 1.3 mi
  • Indian Pueblo Cultural Center: 1.4 mi
  • Rio Grande Zoo: 1.5 mi
  • KiMO theatre: 1.5 mi
  • National Hispanic Cultural Center: 2.3 mi
  • Rio Grande Nature Center State Park: 2.4 mi
  • Albuquerque Isotopes Baseball: 3 mi
  • Albuquerque Aquarium: 0.2 mi
  • Turquoise Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Old Town Albuquerque: 0.3 mi
  • San Felipe de Neri Church: 0.3 mi
  • Albuquerque Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Albuquerque Little Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • New Mexico Museum of Natural History and Science: 0.6 mi
  • Explora Science Center and Children's Museum of Albuquerque: 0.6 mi
  • New Mexico Steam Locomotive and Railroad Historical Society: 1.3 mi
  • Indian Pueblo Cultural Center: 1.4 mi
  • Rio Grande Zoo: 1.5 mi
  • KiMO theatre: 1.5 mi
  • National Hispanic Cultural Center: 2.3 mi
  • Rio Grande Nature Center State Park: 2.4 mi
  • Albuquerque Isotopes Baseball: 3 mi
  • University of New Mexico: 3.2 mi
  • Unser Racing Museum: 3.2 mi
  • University Stadium: 3.3 mi
  • American International Rattlesnake Museum: 3.8 mi
  • Petroglyph National Monument: 4.6 mi
  • Tingley Coliseum: 5.9 mi
  • Corrales Bosque: 7 mi
  • Anderson - Abruzzo International Balloon Museum: 7.8 mi
  • Rainbow Ryders: 8.2 mi
  • The National Museum of Nuclear Science and History: 8.3 mi
  • Volcano Park: 10.5 mi
  • Elena Gallegos Park: 12.7 mi
  • Sandia Peak Tramway: 12.9 mi
  • La Luz Trail: 13.4 mi
  • Jemez State Monument: 47.2 mi
  • Cibola National Forest: 72.7 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
02:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (31)

Ratings and reviews for Econo Lodge Old Town

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
31 out of 31
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.6
Location:
4
Value:
3.7

71% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Econo Lodge Old Town

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dalei
Charlotte, NC
Jul 3, 2014

Very conveniently located near the old town.

Very friendly staff at check-in. Hotel is very adequate and comfortable for a short stay. It's within walking distance to old town Albuquerque and restaurants.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Econo Lodge Old Town

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
kickin it on Rte 66
Tucson, AZ
Jun 28, 2014

great location near Old town

Front desk girl great. Room was very clean, carpet had just been shampooed, room was very quiet to outside noise. Excellent full breakfast! Bacon :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Old town historic

Review of Econo Lodge Old Town

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
curious2travel
Virginia
Jun 21, 2013

you get what you pay for

I was in Albuquerque for 4 nights. I spent two at this motel, and two at another motel in a different part of Albuquerque. I was really trying to get a sense of the city, and so was only looking for a clean and safe place to sleep at night. The bad: I reserved a non-smoking room with one king bed, but when I arrived I was told that all the non-smoking rooms at the price point I had reserved were sold out. I was shown the smoking room that they were offering me, but it truly smelled like someone had been smoking in there for days and no one had bothered to try to air the room out. I showed them my reservation for a non-smoking room and was offered an "upgraded" non-smoking room for ten dollars extra per night. The hotel staff told me that they were unable to refund me the cost of my reservation, so basically my choices were to eat the late cancellation fee (half the cost of the entire reservation since I was only going to be staying for two nights), or pay the extra money for a nonsmoking room. I think just about every other hotel I've ever stayed at would have offered the upgrade for free in exchange for the inconvenience (really all I was getting was two queen beds instead of one king, which didn't matter for me because I was traveling alone). I really don't feel it is a good point that this hotel prefers to get the extra $20 from me rather than have a happy customer. As for the "upgraded" room, I would say it was nothing special and actually a little less than what I would have expected for the original price point. There were cracks in the bathroom wall, all the mirrors in the room had been vandalized, and the refrigerator did not work (whatever setting I put it on, a thin sheet of ice formed at the very top but the rest of the unit did not get cold at all). The doorknob was a little funky (it only opened if I turned it in a certain way) - I didn't think anything of it until the last day when (as I was checking out) another customer came in to say her doorknob had come off in her hand. The good: The room felt reasonably clean and had the basic amenities (shampoo, soap) included (I would rank it as a standard two or three-star motel). The location is great if you want to visit Old Town - it's about a 5-minute easy walk to Old Town. The hot complimentary breakfast was better than I expected after the fiasco at check-in. My summary: I think it's a good choice if you are vacationing on a budget and plan on spending most of your time in Old Town on foot. If you are really picky about your hotels, I might try elsewhere. If your vacation plans include the rest of Albuquerque or areas surrounding Albuquerque and you have a car, I would say there are better-value options for your money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Review of Econo Lodge Old Town

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
budget traveler1234
Philadelphia
Nov 6, 2012

great for a low-budget place

I am a low-budget traveler who's not looking for frills, so keep this in mind while reading my review. The good: - location (for my own needs it was perfect) - price - friendly staff: the owners are a couple. The woman is super sweet and accommodating. The husband much less so. I ended up going to the reception only when she was there because he was clearly annoyed when bothered. - free coffee and fruit at the lounge 24/7 (but if you try during the night, and the husband is sleeping, he won't be happy). - indoor pool and hot tub - they offer shuttle service from/to the airport for $10 but it's not advertised. Had I known I would not have rented a car. The bad: - husband's attitude - not all rooms have the same amenities - ours didn't have a microwave or coffee maker (it wasn't a deal breaker for me, but if you want those you better make sure to ask for them) - lousy towels, old and don't absorb much. But clean. - super-noisy bathroom fan that sounds like a turbo engine. Impossible to use if your roommate is sleeping. - I made the reservation online and must have entered one guest (don't know if this was a system error - could have been my mistake). The day of the reservation I called to say that my roommate would get there before me and the man on the phone (the owner probably - I didn't see any other staff while I was there) said no problem. When I got there the woman said that I had to pay extra for the second person. It was not too much and it still ended up being an OK deal (and it could have been my fault anyway) but it would be nice to have this information when I called earlier. All in all, I liked the place. It's basic but clean (which is all I want), and the location and price were good so I would go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: In Hotel

the hotel offers shuttle service from/to the airport for $10.

Review of Econo Lodge Old Town

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Peridot8
Springdale, Arkansas
Oct 13, 2012

Improving with new owners

Hotel room was adverage and our room needs a firmer matress BUT the location was great within walking distance to old towne and the new owners are making big changes. Super friendly and helpfull and breakfast with real eggs made by the owner. Clean and improving if looking to support the locals not some big chain and on a budget look no further. I would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Econo Lodge Old Town

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Richard and Pauline
Seattle
Jul 21, 2012

Great value, great location

An excellent value! What made this place truly outstanding was the new (since May 2012?) owner/manager family who went out of their way to make our stay truly memorable, with pick-up at the airport, a ride to the train station, sight-seeing recommendations, and a very pleasant atmosphere. They also provide a wonderful breakfast. Just 2 blocks from Old Town.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Econo Lodge Old Town

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Iowa Grandma
Kalona, IA 52247, USA
Mar 23, 2012

Great Changes

The last time I stayed here in November 2011 the place was bordering on a dump. Reluctantly I booked a room for this March and was pleasantly surprised to find that there are new owners who passionately care about their guests. Improved breakfast selection and attention to detail have made me more than open to staying here in the future. The owners truly have a desire to upgrade the motel and I think i will only get better as time goes on under their leadership.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Econo Lodge Old Town

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
albuconf
Business
Annapolis, MD
Dec 6, 2010

Great downtown experience

This is really conventiently located. While the WiFi did not work in my room, staff were helpful and provided an alternative that worked well. Rooms was simple, clean and had everything you needed for a short stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Close to everything in downtown.

Review of Econo Lodge Old Town

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
albuconf
Business
Annapolis, MD
Dec 6, 2010

Great downtown experience

This is really conventiently located. While the WiFi did not work in my room, staff were helpful and provided an alternative that worked well. Rooms was simple, clean and had everything you needed for a short stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Close to everything in downtown.

Review of Econo Lodge Old Town

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Bryce, UT
May 20, 2010

ok

Ice machine so loud that u can hear it 30 yards away - so appr. the whole motel...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Back to menu Return to top