$79 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Nov 1, 2014 Check-out: Nov 2, 2014

The StarLux

2 stars
305 East Rio Grande Avenue, 305 East Rio Grande Avenue, Wildwood, NJ 08260
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
25 reviews
3-Day Excursion!

Just got away for a few days with a couple of friends. Stayed at Star Lux Hotel and loved it!... See full review

  • WPP Family & Friends
  • Jan 7, 2014
Excellent

Everything were perfect, only the wi fi didn't work good. Need some attention to that. But I hope... See full review

  • superdad506
  • Oct 15, 2013
Step into The StarLux and be swept away to another era when Doo Wop ruled and life was simpler. The StarLux is a fun home base for your shore vacation with amenities and services expected by discerning guests. From the moment you enter The StarLux you will be blown away by our spectacular allglass lounge which serves as a social gathering place for our guests. Complete with large screen TV games and an amazing fireplace the space opens onto the pool promenade.

Hotel Map

38.9814 -74.821
Area served
Atlantic City, Stone Harbor, Cape May, Rio Grande, Wildwood, Villas, Whitesboro, Green Creek, Avalon, Goshen
Nearby airports
Atlantic City Intl, (ACY), 50.00, MI, N; Cape May County, (WWD), 7.00, MI, E;
Area description
City Center, Located in Wildwood New Jersey.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The StarLux also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5

The StarLux Rooms

2 Queen Bed NS Pool View
Description not provided
2 Double Beds NS Pool View
Description not provided
1 Queen Bed NS Suite
Description not provided
1 King Bed NS Suite
Description not provided
2 Queen Beds NS Suite
Description not provided
1 Queen Bed and 2 queenBeds NS S
Description not provided
2 Double Beds and 2 Twin Beds NS
Description not provided
1 Double Bed NS Air Stream Trail
Description not provided

Amenities

  • Free parking
  • Heated pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Heated pool
Game room
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Maid service
Guest laundromat
Wake-up service
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Parking
Free parking
Room
DVD player
Television with cable
Radio
Kitchen
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Sofa bed
Iron
Ironing board

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (25)

Ratings and reviews for The StarLux

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
25 out of 25
Amenities:
3.3
Room cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.4
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.6

80% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The StarLux

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
WPP Family & Friends
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Jan 7, 2014

3-Day Excursion!

Just got away for a few days with a couple of friends. Stayed at Star Lux Hotel and loved it! Stayed here before years ago, and the feeling is the same. Loved it then and still love it. Wonderful accommodations, staff manager Wayne was very pleasant, nice and accommodating our needs. Will definitely stay again. Always, my first pick when looking for hotels in Wildwood Crest, NJ Location is awesome, close to boardwalk, within walking distance to restaurants, convention center, and very short drive to Cape May. Couldn't ask for anything better! 2 Peas in a Pod, plus 1!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

It's the Jersey Shore, a time to relax and enjoy the ambiance of the location and all it has to offer.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The StarLux

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Cana57
Business
central NJ
Apr 23, 2012

StarLux Wildwood, NJ

Convenient to everything "Wildwood". Nice small hotel. Bicycles to use on the honor system. They have lending library of DVDs even thought we brought our own. Refrigerator w freezer and microwave in room. Chairs for sitting and talking outside of each room. Elevator. Nice hospitality area with a gas fire pit. Vending machines on premises. In season, I would have loved the pool. The hot tub was usable but they were getting the pool ready for summer. We take care of three granddaughters and in-season, they would have loved this pool. Hotel owner/desk clerk was extremely personable. Although the secondary lot for parking is just across the street, I'm glad it was. Where else but Wildwood would you see two airstreams as a privacy "fence" to a pool or deck in the house next to it. Great value and the best thing, hotel rates don't increase to highest until mid-June. I was here with my oldest granddaughter for an event at the convention center, just an overnight stay but next year we'll be staying for two nights. Another nice thing, although very trivial, is that two people can be in the bathroom at once, there is a privacy wall in the john area. The only thing I would like to see them update are the faucets in the tub area. They have already updated the shower heads. If they went to a single control shower faucet, you could regulate the shower temperature better. I'd love to know where they got their bed pillows from though, wonderful! Pancake house is within walking distance. Subway (in a restored home is across the street). When we stay again, I will request one of the rooms that has a balcony facing the ocean. Word to the wise, it had been 27 years since I had been to Wildwood, if you plan on walking the boardwalk, wear good walking sandals or sneakers!! My favorite thing, the "Wildwood" landmark on the boardwalk, you can see it from the sidewalk in the front of the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

As I said in my review, wear comfortable shoes, sneakers or sandals. This is not the boardwalk for breaking in new shoes or trying to be a "fashionista" in stillettos. If you have a stroller or double stroller, bring it. You will need it. This boardwalk is too long to have to carry kids back to your hotel. As for the beach, I'd like to know if they have a walkway for wheelchairs, people who use crutches at any of their beaches or are their beach wheelchairs at every beach to use in-season. Call the local Chamber of Commerce to find out. Have fun!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The StarLux

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
SK philly
Business
Phila
Sep 5, 2012

Best stay for wildwood, so far..

Saw some bad review from other, but after i stay there, i really think how those people can rate this wondeful place as no good?? Come on, we are at wildwood! No Vegas... Or maybe they expect 5 start in wildwood?

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The StarLux

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
superdad506
Business
Bound Brook NJ
Oct 15, 2013

Excellent

Everything were perfect, only the wi fi didn't work good. Need some attention to that. But I hope to return soon to Starlux again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The StarLux

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Apr 21, 2008

My review of StarLux Hotel

Pretty good place to stay for a day or 2

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

close to the boardwalk

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The StarLux

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Phila, Pa
Jan 17, 2010

StarLux Hotel

Near the Boardwalk and Convention Center. Fun Hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Boardwalk and Convention Center

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The StarLux

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Granpa Doug
Business
Swarthmore, Pa
Sep 18, 2012

Early Check-in

I was going on a whale & dolphin watching trip from 1-4 P.M. My wife wasn't going with me & hadn't been feeling well. We stopped at the hotel in the A.M. & asked if it would be possible to have the room at 12:00. The desk clerk said they would have it ready by 11:00 so we were able to arrive at 12:15. Impressive!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The StarLux

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
sotirios
Business
lancaster, pa
Sep 22, 2012

Clean rooms

The room was very clean which was my biggest concern. It was also very close to the beach and within walking distance of some decent restaurants. The breakfast was only tolerable because it was free.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The StarLux

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JA9PA
Business
Pennsylvania
May 28, 2014

Amazed this is only a 2 star hotel!

The best thing about this hotel was the staff. They were extremely friendly and accommodating. This may not be a "posh" hotel but it definitely is worth the stay. You are close to everything, it is very clean, and again the staff is amazing. Customer service is not easily found these days but this place has it down pat! All of their staff make you feel that you matter and they want you to be happy! We will definitely be back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The StarLux

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Tokyo, Japan
Jan 3, 2010

A very pleasant stay

I was pleasantly surprised and completely satisfied with The StarLux. It is walking distance from the beach and at a great location. Our 2 bedroom suite was very large and spotless. The ocean view is nice. Decor and amenities were nice as well. I would definitely reccomend The StarLux.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top