$99 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 2, 2014 Check-out: Sep 3, 2014

Clarion Hotel Empire Meadowlands Hotel

3 stars
2 Harmon Plaza, Secaucus, NJ 07094
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
69 reviews
Affordable, Near Manhattan

Got lucky and scored an Eastside room on a high floor which gave us an awsome view of the city. See full review

  • Doodah213
  • Jun 8, 2014
Easy peasy

I booked this hotel last minute and had no problems. Staff was friendly and we had no issues with... See full review

  • Don Ron
  • May 27, 2014
Affordable rates with a sports bar, Starbucks and nearby bus to NYC

Clarion Hotel Empire Meadowlands Hotel offers a reasonably priced alternative to New York City hotels with a bus to Manhattan across the street. Rooms include a sleep package with an eye mask, ear plugs and linen spray. Some offer skyline views. Stop by the restaurant or on-site Starbucks to refuel, or get active in the fitness center or seasonal outdoor pool. Catch a NY Giants or NJ Nets game, monster truck show, or stadium concert less than three miles away. Meadowlands Racetrack and designer outlet shopping are also nearby.

Highlights

  • Free Wi-Fi Internet access and free parking (except Jan. 29 - Feb. 3)
  • Fitness center and outdoor pool
  • On-site Starbucks' Corner Cafe
  • Full-service restaurant plus a sports bar with pool table
  • Board the bus to New York City across the street or take a free shuttle to the train

Rooms

Some rooms open to New York City skyline views at Clarion Hotel Empire Meadowlands Hotel. All have TVs with premium cable, pay-per-view movies and video checkout. Use the CD player for favorite music, the coffee-maker for a cup of joe, and the desk to check email via free wireless Internet access. Unique sleep amenities include lavender linen spray, earplugs and an eye mask. Room service is a call away, early morning through midnight. Connecting rooms, Executive Club Level rooms and suites are available.

Features

Enjoy riverfront dining without leaving the Clarion Hotel Empire Meadowlands Hotel. Rivercove Restaurant reveals views of the Hackensack River and a scenic outdoor patio for alfresco dining. Sports fans settle in at Rivercove Sports Bar and Lounge for the full menu, pub snacks and well-stocked bar. Watch the game on the big screen surrounded by a pool table and jukebox. After a big night spent celebrating the winning team, late check-out is an option.

Transportation

  • Newark Liberty International Airport (12 mi/19.3 km)
  • La Guardia Airport (16 mi/25.7 km)
  • John F. Kennedy International Airport (23 mi/37 km)
  • The New Jersey Transit bus to Port Authority, NY, picks up across the street
  • Complimentary train station shuttle

Attractions

  • Secaucus Outlets (1.3 mi/2.1 km)
  • Plaza at the Meadows Shopping Center (1.8 mi/2.8 km)
  • Meadowlands Exposition Center (1.9 mi/3.1 km)
  • Meadowlands Sports Complex (3.1 mi/5 km)
  • Empire State Building (4 mi/6.4 km )
  • Jacob K. Javits Convention Center (6.6 mi/10.6 km)
  • Madison Square Garden (6.6 mi/10.6 km)
  • Liberty Science Center (8 mi/12.8 km )
  • Wall Street (10.3 mi/16.5 km)

Business

  • Free wireless Internet access
  • Business center with printing, copy and fax services (fees apply)
  • 33,000 square feet of flexible meeting space for up to 1,200 people    

Hotel Map

40.7938 -74.069
Nearby airports
Newark Liberty Int'l Arpt., (EWR), 12.00, MI, S; Teterboro Airport, (TEB), 4.00, MI, W; La Guardia Int'l Airport, (LGA), 13.00, MI, E;
Area description
City Center, I-95 exit 16W

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Clarion Hotel Empire Meadowlands Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Amenities

  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Exercise gym
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Vending machines
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Guest laundromat
Multilingual
In-Room Safe
Car rental desk
FAX
Gift shop
News stand
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
Truck parking
Bus parking
Accessibility
Brailled elevators
Room
Television with cable
Safe
Telephone
Hairdryer in room
In room movies
Iron

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (69)

Ratings and reviews for Clarion Hotel Empire Meadowlands Hotel

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
26 out of 69
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
3.8
Value:
4

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Clarion Hotel Empire Meadowlands Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
N Tiffany
Monterey, CA
Jul 24, 2014

Inexpensive, near NYC

We had a pleasant stay here. I read all the reviews and did lots of research on hotels with pools and fitness centers around $100 throughout our cross-country trip from CA to NY and back again. Traveling with kids ages 6 and 8, it's important to find safe hotels in good locations that are kid-friendly. This hotel met all my criteria, although the outdoor pool's water was freezing and the fitness center was minimal. Starbacks was open as it was Friday morning (open only F, Sat, and Sun), and we ordered pretty good food from their restaurant the night before. There was no refrigerator or microwave, although you could get one on request. It was a quiet stay, and bus line 129 is a 3-minute walk and a 30-minute ride to Port Authority in NYC. Overall, we were satisfied and would stay here again if our budget was still around $100.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of Clarion Hotel Empire Meadowlands Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
timbow6
lynchburg va
Jul 7, 2014

Great Staff but you get what you pay for

Great Staff. Our Room smelled like mold! The wallpaper was peeling off, and the shower was dirty. YUK! You get what you pay for .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Clarion Hotel Empire Meadowlands Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Tom FP
Denver,CO
Jun 28, 2014

good place to stay on a budget

Good place to stat on a budget, you need to pay for breakfast, it is not free!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Clarion Hotel Empire Meadowlands Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
qtptute
RVA
Aug 28, 2013

Breakfast included for half the price of NYC

We made our reservations about an hour prior to arriving. The hotel was clean and large. The room itself had a musty smell, but went away after a little while. The room was clean and the view of NYC out of the window was magnificent. We were surprised that breakfast came with the room rental. They served eggs, potatoes, and sausage patties as well as an array of pastries, breads, cereals and drinks.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

It's a hop, skip and a jump to Manhattan.

Review of Clarion Hotel Empire Meadowlands Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
NJ visitor 28
San Diego, California
Jan 1, 2013

New experience

Our flight arrived early. They are kind enough to let us check in early so that we could put our luggage in the room. Our new experience was on the second day. In the morning, they had fire flash in our room. We were told they were checking the flash. We came back around 9PM and suddenly saw the fire flashed again. We thought it was just a check but when we called the front desk, they said it was a real one. We rushed from our room and bathroom down star. No one told us what's going on. We waited in the lobby for 30 min before the fire fighter came. They checked and left in 15 minutes. We asked the staff and was told that it was the fire sprinkler was turned on in 6th floor. The fire fighters left without any announcement. We went back to the room and prayed we would be all safe for the entire 6 nights there. I think they did not handle this professionally. I am disappointed on this.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Clarion Hotel Empire Meadowlands Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
gostefgo
Montréal, QC, Canada
Aug 28, 2011

Crown Plaza Seacausus

Great staff and cleanliness in the hotel. A bit far from NY but it was fine since we're travelling with children. It was super to have a Starbuck's in the hotel lobby

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

getting a breakfast sandwich just around the corner from the little market at the stop light.

Review of Clarion Hotel Empire Meadowlands Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Green family
Michigan
Jul 7, 2011

Family vacation

we stayed at this hotel to visit New York City. Great proximity, free shuttle to train station was a plus. Really only complaint was we kept having to ask for towels and we had to get new room keys twice during our stay as they mysteriously would quit working. Room was very clean. Front desk staff not too friendly, but not a big deal.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Clarion Hotel Empire Meadowlands Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
washington , dc
Jun 27, 2011

hotel needs work

Was there to visit friends and go to ball game. The hotel is in need of renovation and although clean, is showing age. Old TV's in room. Couldn't use internet either day we were there due to some malfunction being worked on???? Price was right, but reflected in the condition of hotel. Would probably stay there again due to price and convenience, but badly needs a facelift!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Clarion Hotel Empire Meadowlands Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Huntington, IN
Jan 3, 2011

New Year celebration

The desk clerks that were working the evening shift were rude, not helpful, and did not have an ounce of hospitality. The room was nothing spectacular. I will not stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of Clarion Hotel Empire Meadowlands Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
badger fans
madison, wi
Aug 22, 2010

good stay

Hotel was reasonably priced with free parking. There is a bus to Times Square that is convenient is the highways aren't crowded and a modest shuttle trip to the train to NYC. The room was clean with a view of the skyline.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top

Change search