$99 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jan 8, 2015 Check-out: Jan 9, 2015

Clarion Hotel Empire Meadowlands Hotel

3 stars
2 Harmon Plaza, Secaucus, NJ 07094
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
78 reviews
Had some problems for changing the rooms

I reserved for queen size bed room, but the hotel gave me a 2 single bed room, and took soo long... See full review

  • YiLi JoJo
  • Dec 7, 2014
Close to Bus Stop to NYC

Great place to stay outside of NYC with a easy bus ride into the city. Bus 129. The windows were... See full review

  • Eastern Shore
  • Dec 2, 2014
Affordable rates with a sports bar, Starbucks and nearby bus to NYC

Clarion Hotel Empire Meadowlands Hotel offers a reasonably priced alternative to New York City hotels with a bus to Manhattan across the street. Rooms include a sleep package with an eye mask, ear plugs and linen spray. Some offer skyline views. Stop by the restaurant or on-site Starbucks to refuel, or get active in the fitness center or seasonal outdoor pool. Catch a NY Giants or NJ Nets game, monster truck show, or stadium concert less than three miles away. Meadowlands Racetrack and designer outlet shopping are also nearby.

Highlights

  • Free Wi-Fi Internet access and free parking (except Jan. 29 - Feb. 3)
  • Fitness center and outdoor pool
  • On-site Starbucks' Corner Cafe
  • Full-service restaurant plus a sports bar with pool table
  • Board the bus to New York City across the street or take a free shuttle to the train

Rooms

Some rooms open to New York City skyline views at Clarion Hotel Empire Meadowlands Hotel. All have TVs with premium cable, pay-per-view movies and video checkout. Use the CD player for favorite music, the coffee-maker for a cup of joe, and the desk to check email via free wireless Internet access. Unique sleep amenities include lavender linen spray, earplugs and an eye mask. Room service is a call away, early morning through midnight. Connecting rooms, Executive Club Level rooms and suites are available.

Features

Enjoy riverfront dining without leaving the Clarion Hotel Empire Meadowlands Hotel. Rivercove Restaurant reveals views of the Hackensack River and a scenic outdoor patio for alfresco dining. Sports fans settle in at Rivercove Sports Bar and Lounge for the full menu, pub snacks and well-stocked bar. Watch the game on the big screen surrounded by a pool table and jukebox. After a big night spent celebrating the winning team, late check-out is an option.

Transportation

  • Newark Liberty International Airport (12 mi/19.3 km)
  • La Guardia Airport (16 mi/25.7 km)
  • John F. Kennedy International Airport (23 mi/37 km)
  • The New Jersey Transit bus to Port Authority, NY, picks up across the street
  • Complimentary train station shuttle

Attractions

  • Secaucus Outlets (1.3 mi/2.1 km)
  • Plaza at the Meadows Shopping Center (1.8 mi/2.8 km)
  • Meadowlands Exposition Center (1.9 mi/3.1 km)
  • Meadowlands Sports Complex (3.1 mi/5 km)
  • Empire State Building (4 mi/6.4 km )
  • Jacob K. Javits Convention Center (6.6 mi/10.6 km)
  • Madison Square Garden (6.6 mi/10.6 km)
  • Liberty Science Center (8 mi/12.8 km )
  • Wall Street (10.3 mi/16.5 km)

Business

  • Free wireless Internet access
  • Business center with printing, copy and fax services (fees apply)
  • 33,000 square feet of flexible meeting space for up to 1,200 people    

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Clarion Hotel Empire Meadowlands Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Amenities

  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Exercise gym
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Vending machines
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Guest laundromat
Multilingual
In-Room Safe
Car rental desk
FAX
Gift shop
News stand
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
Truck parking
Bus parking
Accessibility
Brailled elevators
Room
Television with cable
Safe
Telephone
Hairdryer in room
In room movies
Iron

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (78)

Ratings and reviews for Clarion Hotel Empire Meadowlands Hotel

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
25 out of 78
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.2

76% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Clarion Hotel Empire Meadowlands Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Zena78175
Business
Utica, NY
Sep 29, 2014

Great Location close to MetLife stadium.

Was able to check in early. Room was spacious and clean. Only downer was the sports bar was closed for repairs. However the hotel lounge was open and serving food late at night after the game. Friendly staff and plenty of parking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

MetLife Stadium

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Clarion Hotel Empire Meadowlands Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Tee kemm
Business
Pennsylvania
Aug 11, 2014

Outlet shopping

Check in around 8:30 thank goodness I check in before we went out. Room was dirty had to go back to desk and demand another room. The second room was much better but there was a big gathering at the hotel. Children we're all over the place and made it hard to exit elevators .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Gucci and Nine West outlet are very close.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Clarion Hotel Empire Meadowlands Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Thabo
Business
Secaucus, NJ
Apr 25, 2014

Convenient to NYC, easy parking

Easy check in and check out. Our evenings were very relaxing at this hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Clarion Hotel Empire Meadowlands Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
AAOK
Business
Toronto, Canada
Oct 16, 2013

Great Manhattan Getaway

Very helpful and courteous staff. Provided excellent transit and bus schedules to and from New York city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Easy access to downtown Manhattan

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Clarion Hotel Empire Meadowlands Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Mr and Mrs Sportsfans
Business
Hudson, NH
Dec 10, 2012

Good location

The location was great as we were attending a sporting event at the Izod Center. The room was clean, but it huge need of clean and updated furniture. The sitting couch was just plain gross ,and the dresser had mismatched drawers that were shoved in and didn't fit. We've stayed at other Crowne Plaza hotels; this one missed the mark big time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Clarion Hotel Empire Meadowlands Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
micnvic
Business
virginia beach, virginia
Sep 29, 2012

look no further in the new york area!!

This was our second time staying in this hotel, both times for a concert at the Metlife stadium. The staff is excellent and very accommodating. Parking is a little funky,especially if it rains, but it is free and next to the hotel. EASY access to trains ( 10 min. away ) 4 miles from lincoln tunnel, and 1 mile from the meadowlands sports complex. rooms are clean, nothing stellar but the bathrooms are decent also. Total bang fro the buck, considering how pricey the metro area is. Will continue to use this hotel whenever I'm in the city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

La Reggia, Italian restaurant inside The Meadowlands Hotel..less than a mile away from the Crowne Plaza hotel, may be some of the best Italian food ANYWHERE. And I'm italian.......

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Clarion Hotel Empire Meadowlands Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
simobhoy
Business
Glasgow, Glasgow City, UK
Oct 1, 2011

Amasing Hotel

Quite simply! This Hotel is awesome! Me and my wife stayed there to get married in NYC! After a shaky start with payment (which was sorted out with little fuss and greatly appreciatted) we loved every minute here! From the manager Al one of the nicest most genuine guys ive ever met. To the security guy and housekeeping they helped make our trip and wedding day very special indeed. From providing muffins and coffee on our wedding morning to taking our photos and giving us breakfast they were simply awesome. The hotel is nice but getting tired, that said there is something romantic about its stuck in the past appearance and we quite liked it! Was very comfy! Really handy for NYC and shuttle is excellent!! even a cab from station is about 10 dollars so not bad at all!! BEWARE THOUGH getting back from manhattan after trains from penn station stop!! roughly 80 dollars!! the perils of too much beer!! Anyway We highly reccomend this place!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Not Applicable

NYC and attractions/shopping a 5 min train ride from secaucus junction. 10-15 dollars in cab or free shuttle till 10pm. Be warned missing last train back from Penn station can be a costly error!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Clarion Hotel Empire Meadowlands Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Rozkan
Business
Kent, WA
Jan 4, 2011

Cheap but not good

Because of the weather,my flight was canceled 2 times and I went to Washington DC instead of New York. And I reached to hotel after a terrible 5 hours bus trip. I could not reached my hotel on time and i asked them for refund or extend my trip 2 days but they did not although i informed the hotel before check in time. Although i searched with a breakfast filter, my trip did not include breakfast. I had to pay money for breakfast. Hotel breakfast was good. My room did not include refrigerator Hotel shuttle service to train station was always late. Whenever i asked them for shuttle, they have always said 30 minutes later or 40 minutes later so i could not use shuttle. I had to use cap.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Clarion Hotel Empire Meadowlands Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
blythe man
Business
desin, fl
Dec 2, 2010

Family time

Traveled to NJ for a surpise getaway for the wife to visit family on jersey. Hugh NY Giants fan, as I a Jacksonville Jags fan. Went to game on Sunday. In to NY city all day Monday and most of Tuesday. Saw a few sites and did a bit of Christmas shopping. Visited with an old high school friend. Over all great time

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Long walk from hotel

Plan out day/travel plans ect.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Clarion Hotel Empire Meadowlands Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston
Oct 25, 2010

great hotel

very clean hotel , i liked it

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top