$90 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Feb 27, 2015 Check-out: Feb 28, 2015

Clarion Hotel Empire Meadowlands Hotel

3 stars
View map of 2 Harmon Plaza, Secaucus, NJ 07094

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
82 reviews
Had some problems for changing the rooms

I reserved for queen size bed room, but the hotel gave me a 2 single bed room, and took soo long... See full review

  • YiLi JoJo
  • Dec 7, 2014
Close to Bus Stop to NYC

Great place to stay outside of NYC with a easy bus ride into the city. Bus 129. The windows were... See full review

  • Eastern Shore
  • Dec 2, 2014
Affordable rates with a sports bar, Starbucks and nearby bus to NYC

Clarion Hotel Empire Meadowlands Hotel offers a reasonably priced alternative to New York City hotels with a bus to Manhattan across the street. Rooms include a sleep package with an eye mask, ear plugs and linen spray. Some offer skyline views. Stop by the restaurant or on-site Starbucks to refuel, or get active in the fitness center or seasonal outdoor pool. Catch a NY Giants or NJ Nets game, monster truck show, or stadium concert less than three miles away. Meadowlands Racetrack and designer outlet shopping are also nearby.

Highlights

  • Free Wi-Fi Internet access and free parking (except Jan. 29 - Feb. 3)
  • Fitness center and outdoor pool
  • On-site Starbucks' Corner Cafe
  • Full-service restaurant plus a sports bar with pool table
  • Board the bus to New York City across the street or take a free shuttle to the train

Rooms

Some rooms open to New York City skyline views at Clarion Hotel Empire Meadowlands Hotel. All have TVs with premium cable, pay-per-view movies and video checkout. Use the CD player for favorite music, the coffee-maker for a cup of joe, and the desk to check email via free wireless Internet access. Unique sleep amenities include lavender linen spray, earplugs and an eye mask. Room service is a call away, early morning through midnight. Connecting rooms, Executive Club Level rooms and suites are available.

Features

Enjoy riverfront dining without leaving the Clarion Hotel Empire Meadowlands Hotel. Rivercove Restaurant reveals views of the Hackensack River and a scenic outdoor patio for alfresco dining. Sports fans settle in at Rivercove Sports Bar and Lounge for the full menu, pub snacks and well-stocked bar. Watch the game on the big screen surrounded by a pool table and jukebox. After a big night spent celebrating the winning team, late check-out is an option.

Transportation

  • Newark Liberty International Airport (12 mi/19.3 km)
  • La Guardia Airport (16 mi/25.7 km)
  • John F. Kennedy International Airport (23 mi/37 km)
  • The New Jersey Transit bus to Port Authority, NY, picks up across the street
  • Complimentary train station shuttle

Attractions

  • Secaucus Outlets (1.3 mi/2.1 km)
  • Plaza at the Meadows Shopping Center (1.8 mi/2.8 km)
  • Meadowlands Exposition Center (1.9 mi/3.1 km)
  • Meadowlands Sports Complex (3.1 mi/5 km)
  • Empire State Building (4 mi/6.4 km )
  • Jacob K. Javits Convention Center (6.6 mi/10.6 km)
  • Madison Square Garden (6.6 mi/10.6 km)
  • Liberty Science Center (8 mi/12.8 km )
  • Wall Street (10.3 mi/16.5 km)

Business

  • Free wireless Internet access
  • Business center with printing, copy and fax services (fees apply)
  • 33,000 square feet of flexible meeting space for up to 1,200 people    

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Clarion Hotel Empire Meadowlands Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5

Amenities

  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Exercise gym
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Vending machines
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Guest laundromat
Multilingual
In-Room Safe
Car rental desk
FAX
Gift shop
News stand
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
Truck parking
Bus parking
Accessibility
Brailled elevators
Room
Television with cable
Safe
Telephone
Hairdryer in room
In room movies
Iron

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (82)

Ratings and reviews for Clarion Hotel Empire Meadowlands Hotel

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
82 out of 82
Amenities:
3.5
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
3.8
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4
Value:
3.9

79% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Clarion Hotel Empire Meadowlands Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
steve11611
Business
Chicago
Nov 6, 2011

Couldn't wait to leave

Old hotel. Elevator never worked and would have to wait 20-30 minutes to get to room. No restaraunts within walking distance. Overal terrible experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Clarion Hotel Empire Meadowlands Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Nottingham, MD
Oct 28, 2009

Don't judge a book by its cover...

My wife and I were visiting a sick family member in Hoboken so the hotel location was fine. The staff, except for management, were courteous and helpful and the room we stayed in was clean and well-appointed. So, what's to complain about? Our problem was that one wall of our room, #1301, actually enclosed one of the hotel elevators. ( It's amazing how much those elevators are used in the middle of the night.) Needless to say, sleep was at a premium and we arose the next morning feeling not rested and miserable. My complaint to a manager resulted in his saying that he 'understood' my problem. Since my only expectation from the hotel was a decent nights sleep, I was not happy with his response. So, traveler be warned: if you stay at this hotel make sure you are not put in one of the "elevator" rooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Clarion Hotel Empire Meadowlands Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Bassirou B.
Business
BETHESDA
Jan 15, 2015

The crapiest hotel I ever stayed at.

Hotel is in shamble. Staff tries the best to make it agreeable. Dust collecting in duct. Impossible to turn down the heat and the fan. Water dripping in all faucet ( think of the energy waste!). Restaurant staff is rude. Never stay there. There are plenty of hotels around with $10.00 more at the most with more cleanness. The authorities should revoke their license to operate. It's not healthy at all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Clarion Hotel Empire Meadowlands Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Mr and Mrs Sportsfans
Business
Hudson, NH
Dec 10, 2012

Good location

The location was great as we were attending a sporting event at the Izod Center. The room was clean, but it huge need of clean and updated furniture. The sitting couch was just plain gross ,and the dresser had mismatched drawers that were shoved in and didn't fit. We've stayed at other Crowne Plaza hotels; this one missed the mark big time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Clarion Hotel Empire Meadowlands Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
norfolk,VA
Jun 28, 2011

Poor quality accomadations great staff.

The rooms were of poor quality . Staff was friendly and helpful. No WiFi which made it difficult to work there. I asked for a room that is not next to the supply room on my floor and not next to the stairs and I was ignored . The elevators were breaking down all the time and they only had two .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

There are better hotels in the area if you want to be close to shopping and tranportation to the city . Poor quality of food.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Clarion Hotel Empire Meadowlands Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Huntington, IN
Jan 3, 2011

New Year celebration

The desk clerks that were working the evening shift were rude, not helpful, and did not have an ounce of hospitality. The room was nothing spectacular. I will not stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Clarion Hotel Empire Meadowlands Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, NY
Jun 25, 2011

Think Again

Just about average. Very bad customer service and if you are planning on using their shuttle to get to the station, the service is horrendous. Given the number of people and the distance to the station, the hotel ought to have a few shuttles running back and forth instead they make you wait for hours.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Clarion Hotel Empire Meadowlands Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Rozkan
Business
Kent, WA
Jan 4, 2011

Cheap but not good

Because of the weather,my flight was canceled 2 times and I went to Washington DC instead of New York. And I reached to hotel after a terrible 5 hours bus trip. I could not reached my hotel on time and i asked them for refund or extend my trip 2 days but they did not although i informed the hotel before check in time. Although i searched with a breakfast filter, my trip did not include breakfast. I had to pay money for breakfast. Hotel breakfast was good. My room did not include refrigerator Hotel shuttle service to train station was always late. Whenever i asked them for shuttle, they have always said 30 minutes later or 40 minutes later so i could not use shuttle. I had to use cap.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Clarion Hotel Empire Meadowlands Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Anaheim, CA
Apr 5, 2010

Could have been better

Upon checking in, I found that my window would not close, the heater would not work, lamps missing light bulbs, shower curtain missing about 3-4 rings. I was too tired to complain, just hid under the covers & froze. Next morning the staff corrected everything. Internet service was shaky and EXTREMELY slow.Parking was free but a long walk away. Made it tough due to the stormy weather.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

[...]

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Clarion Hotel Empire Meadowlands Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
new york
Mar 16, 2010

nice hotel nothing there

never had a more noisy room in all the years of travel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top