$99 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jan 8, 2015 Check-out: Jan 9, 2015

Clarion Hotel Empire Meadowlands Hotel

3 stars
2 Harmon Plaza, Secaucus, NJ 07094
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
78 reviews
Had some problems for changing the rooms

I reserved for queen size bed room, but the hotel gave me a 2 single bed room, and took soo long... See full review

  • YiLi JoJo
  • Dec 7, 2014
Close to Bus Stop to NYC

Great place to stay outside of NYC with a easy bus ride into the city. Bus 129. The windows were... See full review

  • Eastern Shore
  • Dec 2, 2014
Affordable rates with a sports bar, Starbucks and nearby bus to NYC

Clarion Hotel Empire Meadowlands Hotel offers a reasonably priced alternative to New York City hotels with a bus to Manhattan across the street. Rooms include a sleep package with an eye mask, ear plugs and linen spray. Some offer skyline views. Stop by the restaurant or on-site Starbucks to refuel, or get active in the fitness center or seasonal outdoor pool. Catch a NY Giants or NJ Nets game, monster truck show, or stadium concert less than three miles away. Meadowlands Racetrack and designer outlet shopping are also nearby.

Highlights

  • Free Wi-Fi Internet access and free parking (except Jan. 29 - Feb. 3)
  • Fitness center and outdoor pool
  • On-site Starbucks' Corner Cafe
  • Full-service restaurant plus a sports bar with pool table
  • Board the bus to New York City across the street or take a free shuttle to the train

Rooms

Some rooms open to New York City skyline views at Clarion Hotel Empire Meadowlands Hotel. All have TVs with premium cable, pay-per-view movies and video checkout. Use the CD player for favorite music, the coffee-maker for a cup of joe, and the desk to check email via free wireless Internet access. Unique sleep amenities include lavender linen spray, earplugs and an eye mask. Room service is a call away, early morning through midnight. Connecting rooms, Executive Club Level rooms and suites are available.

Features

Enjoy riverfront dining without leaving the Clarion Hotel Empire Meadowlands Hotel. Rivercove Restaurant reveals views of the Hackensack River and a scenic outdoor patio for alfresco dining. Sports fans settle in at Rivercove Sports Bar and Lounge for the full menu, pub snacks and well-stocked bar. Watch the game on the big screen surrounded by a pool table and jukebox. After a big night spent celebrating the winning team, late check-out is an option.

Transportation

  • Newark Liberty International Airport (12 mi/19.3 km)
  • La Guardia Airport (16 mi/25.7 km)
  • John F. Kennedy International Airport (23 mi/37 km)
  • The New Jersey Transit bus to Port Authority, NY, picks up across the street
  • Complimentary train station shuttle

Attractions

  • Secaucus Outlets (1.3 mi/2.1 km)
  • Plaza at the Meadows Shopping Center (1.8 mi/2.8 km)
  • Meadowlands Exposition Center (1.9 mi/3.1 km)
  • Meadowlands Sports Complex (3.1 mi/5 km)
  • Empire State Building (4 mi/6.4 km )
  • Jacob K. Javits Convention Center (6.6 mi/10.6 km)
  • Madison Square Garden (6.6 mi/10.6 km)
  • Liberty Science Center (8 mi/12.8 km )
  • Wall Street (10.3 mi/16.5 km)

Business

  • Free wireless Internet access
  • Business center with printing, copy and fax services (fees apply)
  • 33,000 square feet of flexible meeting space for up to 1,200 people    

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Clarion Hotel Empire Meadowlands Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Amenities

  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Exercise gym
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Vending machines
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Guest laundromat
Multilingual
In-Room Safe
Car rental desk
FAX
Gift shop
News stand
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
Truck parking
Bus parking
Accessibility
Brailled elevators
Room
Television with cable
Safe
Telephone
Hairdryer in room
In room movies
Iron

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (78)

Ratings and reviews for Clarion Hotel Empire Meadowlands Hotel

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
78 out of 78
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3.8
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3.9

79% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Clarion Hotel Empire Meadowlands Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Traveling to Manhattan
Business
Orlando, Florida
Jan 4, 2010

good, but with some comments

Great location with a lot of parking. Very close to the city and a great view to New York from the room. The only problem is that there was almost no hot water in the bathroom. At one point it was imposible to take a shower. We had to wait for an hour and a half to get enough pressure. The staff was very friendly and tried to helped. Although there was nothing they could do, they said it was a pump problem for the entire building.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Clarion Hotel Empire Meadowlands Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
FT Bus Travelor/PT Traveling Mom
Business
Cincinnati, OH
Jan 3, 2010

Met the need

It was an adequate space for what we needed. A place to sleep, shower and change. Not a room you would lay about in or anything like that. One morning, there was no water to shower. Not sure what happened, but they fixed it pretty fast. The soda machines seemed to be sold out of water, on almost every floor. The heater was noisy every time it turned on, but not annoying enough to complain about. We asked for a crib and they sent us a roll-a-way. So, we had to ask again, but they corrected it right away. The crib itself was very sterile, not very comfortable. We added some of our own baby blanket(and tucked the sides)to lay as a base to make it softer for our 8 month old.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Clarion Hotel Empire Meadowlands Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Oklahoma City, OK
Dec 14, 2009

Good Experience

Overall a great hotel to stay. Language barriers at times but did their best. Shuttles to the Secaucus train station were very helpful. Did their best to answer any questions about getting around the city. Would definately stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Clarion Hotel Empire Meadowlands Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
sbmb
Business
Seymour, TN
Nov 29, 2009

Perfect

Wonderful! The staff was very helpful and friendly. Rooms were quiet and immaculate. Couldn't ask for more! Thanks! Orbit

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Clarion Hotel Empire Meadowlands Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
GONAJ
Business
PARIS, FRANCE
Nov 3, 2009

ENJOYABLE STAY

eVERY THING WAS ok EXCEPT THE FACT WE HAD ONLY ONE PACKET OF COFFEE FOR THE LAST DAY IN THE ROOM

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Clarion Hotel Empire Meadowlands Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Nottingham, MD
Oct 28, 2009

Don't judge a book by its cover...

My wife and I were visiting a sick family member in Hoboken so the hotel location was fine. The staff, except for management, were courteous and helpful and the room we stayed in was clean and well-appointed. So, what's to complain about? Our problem was that one wall of our room, #1301, actually enclosed one of the hotel elevators. ( It's amazing how much those elevators are used in the middle of the night.) Needless to say, sleep was at a premium and we arose the next morning feeling not rested and miserable. My complaint to a manager resulted in his saying that he 'understood' my problem. Since my only expectation from the hotel was a decent nights sleep, I was not happy with his response. So, traveler be warned: if you stay at this hotel make sure you are not put in one of the "elevator" rooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Clarion Hotel Empire Meadowlands Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bruce Fan From Freehold
Business
Williamsburg, VA
Oct 18, 2009

This hotel is good placd to stay.

Very clean hotel and friendly staff. No complaints. We will stay there again next year when Bruce Springsteen and The Legendary E Street Band plays the first concert in the NEW GIANTS Stadium !!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Less thn 5 minute, easy drive to GIANTS Stadium.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Clarion Hotel Empire Meadowlands Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Lebanon, NH
Oct 13, 2009

OK stay

Clean rooms, friendly staff, good food. Only detraction is worn out looking in the rooms, hallways and elevators.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Clarion Hotel Empire Meadowlands Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Indianapolis IN
Oct 13, 2009

Great Atmosphere

Went to the Bruce Springsteen Concert! It was a great trip

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Clarion Hotel Empire Meadowlands Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Youngstown, Ohio
Sep 27, 2009

great price for a good location

The hotel was clean and comfortable. The location is great, close to New York City, easily accessible from the highway. We enjoyed having a Starbucks in the hotel. We would definitely stay again when we travel to New York.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top