$90 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 30, 2015 Check-out: Sep 1, 2015

Clarion Hotel Empire Meadowlands Hotel

3 stars
View map of 2 Harmon Plaza, Secaucus, NJ 07094

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
88 reviews
Fun trip

Reception was exceptional transportation away from my car was easy and cheap See full review

  • Quintin D.
  • Aug 11, 2015
awesome family trip

Everything good., just the parking lot kind of crazy.. other than that all good.oh!! And for the... See full review

  • Everardo I.
  • Apr 6, 2015

Clarion Hotel Empire Meadowlands Hotel offers a reasonably priced alternative to New York City hotels with a bus to Manhattan across the street. Rooms include a sleep package with an eye mask, ear plugs and linen spray. Some offer skyline views. Stop by the restaurant or on-site Starbucks to refuel, or get active in the fitness center or seasonal outdoor pool. Catch a NY Giants or NJ Nets game, monster truck show, or stadium concert less than three miles away. Meadowlands Racetrack and designer outlet shopping are also nearby.

Rooms

Some rooms open to New York City skyline views at Clarion Hotel Empire Meadowlands Hotel. All have TVs with premium cable, pay-per-view movies and video checkout. Use the CD player for favorite music, the coffee-maker for a cup of joe, and the desk to check email via free wireless Internet access. Unique sleep amenities include lavender linen spray, earplugs and an eye mask. Room service is a call away, early morning through midnight. Connecting rooms, Executive Club Level rooms and suites are available.

Property features

Enjoy riverfront dining without leaving the Clarion Hotel Empire Meadowlands Hotel. Rivercove Restaurant reveals views of the Hackensack River and a scenic outdoor patio for alfresco dining. Sports fans settle in at Rivercove Sports Bar and Lounge for the full menu, pub snacks and well-stocked bar. Watch the game on the big screen surrounded by a pool table and jukebox. After a big night spent celebrating the winning team, late check-out is an option.

Highlights

  • Free Wi-Fi Internet access and free parking (except Jan. 29 - Feb. 3)
  • Fitness center and outdoor pool
  • On-site Starbucks' Corner Cafe
  • Full-service restaurant plus a sports bar with pool table
  • Board the bus to New York City across the street or take a free shuttle to the train

Nearby attractions

  • Secaucus Outlets (1.3 mi/2.1 km)
  • Plaza at the Meadows Shopping Center (1.8 mi/2.8 km)
  • Meadowlands Exposition Center (1.9 mi/3.1 km)
  • Meadowlands Sports Complex (3.1 mi/5 km)
  • Empire State Building (4 mi/6.4 km )
  • Jacob K. Javits Convention Center (6.6 mi/10.6 km)
  • Madison Square Garden (6.6 mi/10.6 km)
  • Liberty Science Center (8 mi/12.8 km )
  • Wall Street (10.3 mi/16.5 km)

Business

  • Free wireless Internet access
  • Business center with printing, copy and fax services (fees apply)
  • 33,000 square feet of flexible meeting space for up to 1,200 people    

Transportation

  • Newark Liberty International Airport (12 mi/19.3 km)
  • La Guardia Airport (16 mi/25.7 km)
  • John F. Kennedy International Airport (23 mi/37 km)
  • The New Jersey Transit bus to Port Authority, NY, picks up across the street
  • Complimentary train station shuttle

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Clarion Hotel Empire Meadowlands Hotel also booked these hotels.

★★★
$180
4.3 / 5 26 reviews
★★★★
$149
4.0 / 5 31 reviews
★★★
$121
3.4 / 5 69 reviews
★★★
$119
3.4 / 5 26 reviews
★★
$80
3.1 / 5 49 reviews
★★★
$109
3.6 / 5 64 reviews
★★★
$101
4.1 / 5 38 reviews

Amenities

  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Exercise gym
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Vending machines
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Guest laundromat
Multilingual
In-Room Safe
Car rental desk
FAX
Gift shop
News stand
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
Truck parking
Bus parking
Accessibility
Brailled elevators
Room
Television with cable
Safe
Telephone
Hairdryer in room
Iron

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Clarion Hotel Empire Meadowlands Hotel

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
88 out of 88
Amenities:
3.5
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
3.8
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4
Value:
3.9

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Clarion Hotel Empire Meadowlands Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
New York weekenders
LGBT
Orlando, FL, USA
Dec 7, 2011

Things have improved

We stayed at this hotel two years ago for NewYear's eve. Although the experience was good, we had issues with the water pressure and temperature. It never really got hot; it was a nightmare to take a shower. Now, however, we did not have a problem with it. Water pressure was perfect and the water was always hot despite the fact our room was at the top of the building. Apparantly it got fixed and well fixed. Good for the hotel! I would tottally recommended.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

LGBT

Review of Clarion Hotel Empire Meadowlands Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Armin W.
Single
Hialeah
Aug 15, 2015

Parking Trouble

Parking was closed. Needed to be shuttle to and from offsite lot. Overall good experience, would have liked to have complemntary breakfast. Pool and park were peaceful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Clarion Hotel Empire Meadowlands Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Quintin D.
Single
Catonsville
Aug 11, 2015

Fun trip

Reception was exceptional transportation away from my car was easy and cheap

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Clarion Hotel Empire Meadowlands Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Kewlkitten
Couples
Attleboro
Jun 11, 2015

Not a good experience

I have to say this was one of the worse hotels I have ever stayed at. The parking was awful. They were having their parking garage worked on so we had to park a mile away and get a taxi to the hotel. The taxi was free, but the directions to the parking lot were horrible and there was no sign in the parking lot to say that you were in the right place. When I said something to the staff about the directions and no sign they were rude. The restaurant in the hotel was pricy and the staff was rude. The cafe staff was rude. They ignored us, and then in the middle of ordering our food they walked away to talk to someone else. The manager when we checked out did seem genuinely interested in why we didn't enjoy our stay, but she was the only nice staff person we encountered.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Clarion Hotel Empire Meadowlands Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Crystal G.
Business
N/A
Jun 6, 2015

Good for the price

My biggest complaint was the parking. They are doing construction and there are very few available parking spots. They wanted you to park a couple of miles away and take a shuttle… To me that is a big inconvenience. I was pretty upset after a stressful day at work and a ton of work to do that evening. I was not very pleasant but the staff (well the director of ops) was great and didn't feed into my attitude. (I felt stupid that evening!) anyway, what I'm trying to say is the staff was very helpful... Even though I didn't appreciate that the parking situation was not disclosed before setting the reservation that same day. The room was decent sized and pretty clean although the hallways didn't smell great. It seems like the rooms are pretty old or haven't been updated recently but again for the price I was fine with it. The location is great if you need to use the train.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Clarion Hotel Empire Meadowlands Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
konate s.
Single
N/A
May 1, 2015

great view to new york city

this is a great hotel ..but the only problem are no microwave ,no refrig. in the room.. I really love the view of the city from my room windows ...breath taking.... thank you....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Clarion Hotel Empire Meadowlands Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Everardo I.
Family
McAllen
Apr 6, 2015

awesome family trip

Everything good., just the parking lot kind of crazy.. other than that all good.oh!! And for the price we are paying parking should be free..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Clarion Hotel Empire Meadowlands Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Everardo I.
Friends
McAllen
Mar 26, 2015

awesome

Well it was great location close to the football stadium and close to mew york city.. love the scene and very comfortable and accessible. .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Clarion Hotel Empire Meadowlands Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Bassirou B.
Business
BETHESDA
Jan 15, 2015

The crapiest hotel I ever stayed at.

Hotel is in shamble. Staff tries the best to make it agreeable. Dust collecting in duct. Impossible to turn down the heat and the fan. Water dripping in all faucet ( think of the energy waste!). Restaurant staff is rude. Never stay there. There are plenty of hotels around with $10.00 more at the most with more cleanness. The authorities should revoke their license to operate. It's not healthy at all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Clarion Hotel Empire Meadowlands Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Nolty T.
Couples
Washington
Jan 15, 2015

Business Trip

Hotel was not clean - bags of trash out in the halls every day. Not many things to do in the are outside of the football stadium.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Clarion Hotel Empire Meadowlands Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Eddiewan
Family
N/A
Jan 5, 2015

Family Trip to New York

There was a convention going on in the hotel. The hotel lobby was trashed with cans, cards, and food. The elevator mirror stayed dirty for two days . The Coffee shop was closed the entire stay. However, the staff was helpful and friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Short walk to bus pick up to Manhattan.

Back to menu Return to top