$63 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Dec 28, 2014 Check-out: Dec 31, 2014

Clarion Hotel Palmer Inn

3 stars
3499 Route 1 South, Princeton, NJ 08540
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.9
out of 5
24 reviews
family getaway

I stayed one night here. This is really a good place to stay. But needs some clean in and around... See full review

  • sethu
  • Jul 28, 2014
A good cheap place near Princeton for those with a car

Whole Foods within walking distance. The room had a dark wet spot on the ceiling probably from the... See full review

  • Roman1984
  • May 5, 2013
Perfect for leisure and business travelers alike, the Clarion Palmer Inn features free wireless high-speed Internet access, a free breakfast buffet, business center, warmly appointed guestrooms and suites, and personable service. This Princeton, NJ hotel offers a great location near Princeton University, Princeton Medical Center, the Carnegie Center and convenient to most local businesses and attractions. The hotel is filled with old-world charm, including the courtyard, sun deck, and seasonal outdoor pool, all brimming with casual elegance. Meeting facilities are available. Be sure to enjoy PURE, the on-site restaurant and lounge, during your stay. Pet accommodations: 20.00 USD per pet, per night. Pet limit: two pets, under 60lbs each. Pets must have crate, and cannot be left unattended in room.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Clarion Hotel Palmer Inn also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5

Amenities

  • Free breakfast
  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Ice machine
24 hour security
Activities
Outdoor pool
Exercise gym
Picnic area/tables
Dining
Free breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Guest laundromat
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
FAX
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
Truck parking
Bus parking
Accessibility
Ramp access to buildings
Brailled elevators
Room
Television with cable
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Microwave
In room movies
Sofa bed
Iron

Nearby points of interest

  • Jadwin Gymnasium: 2.5 mi
  • Princeton University Stadium: 2.6 mi
  • Princeton University: 2.7 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (24)

Ratings and reviews for Clarion Hotel Palmer Inn

Overall score

2.9 / 5
5.01.0
24 out of 24
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3.3
Hotel staff:
3.6
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3.8
Value:
3.2

62% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Clarion Hotel Palmer Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Seniors from california
Business
La Jolla, CA
Nov 22, 2014

Good location

Good location; convenient to Princeton and Rt 1 shopping. Old fashioned motel,. dark room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Restaurant is good.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Clarion Hotel Palmer Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
sethu
Business
nj
Jul 28, 2014

family getaway

I stayed one night here. This is really a good place to stay. But needs some clean in and around the room. Very good breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Clarion Hotel Palmer Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
JayMM
Business
NJ
Mar 31, 2014

Was Expected

When I booked the hotel I didn't have any high expectations considering previous reviews, price, and listed amenities. The hotel staff was pleasant and the room appeared to be clean. I would say overall everything was average, you get what you pay for.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

I would not recommend eating at PURE, the restaurant connected to the hotel. The first impression that I got when I walked in there is, why is this restaurant connected to this hotel? It had very nice ambiance and the staff was friendly, but other than that it was horrible. This is a classic case of a restaurant thinking that if they have a nice setting and expensive prices, it will make the food taste better. My friend and I went there for dinner and the bill was about $75 for an appetizer, a steak salad, and pad thai w/chicken. The steak came out bloody and cold and the pad thai was subpar. Later in the night we ordered pizza and sushi for the room, the pizza was nearly inedible and the sushi was average. If you're thinking about going here, reconsider and save yourself the frustration and money.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Clarion Hotel Palmer Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jeff2
Business
Stanford, CA
Dec 1, 2013

Not really 4-star

We stayed for Thanksgiving, and the price was much lower than that of the real 4-star hotels in the Princeton area. The facility is old, with the design of a '50s motel (all rooms reachable from the outside. The furniture was serviceable but not modern. The staff was competent, but didn't offer that "we're here to make your stay pleasant" attitude that you get from staff at local 4-star hotels. Self-serve breakfast was free, which it is not at the competing 4-star hotels, but was rather low-quality, comparable to what you'd expect at a 2-3-star hotel. I think the summary is that the hotel should be rated at 3 stars and then everything is exactly as one would expect.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Clarion Hotel Palmer Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
cabotscott
Business
New York
Sep 9, 2013

2.5 Star not 4.0 - Could not find

Apple GPS maps combined with poor assistance from hotel resulted in spending 1.5 hours to travel what was supposed to be a 2.5 mile trip from Princeton University to the hotel---actual mileage was about 30 miles. One of our cars was separated and even with the helpful hotel clerk, it took 30 minutes to direct them in. The 800 number rep hung up on me. Clean, courteous staff---great location once you find it. First room was used; second room had some deficiencies too. There are many hotels in this area and most likely I will try another what will be many trips over the next 4 years.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

If you are not familar with NJ roads, many of the highways do NOT provide easy access to both sides of the roads; watch for jugends (to reverse directions) and cloverleafs that will allow you to get off, reverse direction and get back on going the other way.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Clarion Hotel Palmer Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Mohamed Shoukri
Business
Richmond
May 28, 2013

wet room and bad breakfast

room folar was wet and breackfast items would take 30 to be refilled

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Clarion Hotel Palmer Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Roman1984
Business
Silver Spring, MD
May 5, 2013

A good cheap place near Princeton for those with a car

Whole Foods within walking distance. The room had a dark wet spot on the ceiling probably from the A/C unit above. Luckily, the spot wasn't dripping. The noises/voices from the nearby units are clearly audible in the room. Saw several small insects (look like small black ants) in the bathroom, though weren't inconveniencing me. The breakfast is surprisingly abundant and diverse! Internet is good for Skype, though Youtube videos take time to load. Much cheaper than any other hotel within reasonable walking/driving distance from Princeton!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Whole Foods has abundant seating

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Clarion Hotel Palmer Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
PhillyWiz
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Apr 14, 2013

Pleasant place to stay

Stayed here one night and was satisfied with the hotel. The front desk allowed me to stay an extra hour, which was much appreciated. The only negative is that the hotel is on the south-bound side of a divided highway, so you may need to do u-turns to arrive or depart.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Clarion Hotel Palmer Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
PCII
Business
NY, NY
Mar 9, 2013

Business Traveler

Hotel staff was friendly, room clean, bed comfortable, location convenient to automotive travel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Clarion Hotel Palmer Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
DaveinBoston
Business
Boston, MA, USA
Feb 19, 2013

Low Budget Hotel

Wow, not a pleasent experiance. First they located me in a room outside in the middle of winter. While walking to the room I had to pass a group of young men who were smoking and drinking in the out hall. The room itself seemed clean but the heating unit only one mode, high and hot. The breakfast was free and I got what I paid for.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Big Fish restaraunt, very good seafood and a nice dining room.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top