$75 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Mar 29, 2015 Check-out: Mar 30, 2015

Clarion Hotel Palmer Inn

3 stars
View map of 3499 Route 1 South, Princeton, NJ 08540

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Clarion Hotel Palmer Inn

Overall score

2.9 / 5
5.01.0
24 out of 24
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3.3
Hotel staff:
3.6
Comfort:
3
Location:
3.8
Value:
3.2

62% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Clarion Hotel Palmer Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jeff2
Business
Stanford, CA
Dec 1, 2013

Not really 4-star

We stayed for Thanksgiving, and the price was much lower than that of the real 4-star hotels in the Princeton area. The facility is old, with the design of a '50s motel (all rooms reachable from the outside. The furniture was serviceable but not modern. The staff was competent, but didn't offer that "we're here to make your stay pleasant" attitude that you get from staff at local 4-star hotels. Self-serve breakfast was free, which it is not at the competing 4-star hotels, but was rather low-quality, comparable to what you'd expect at a 2-3-star hotel. I think the summary is that the hotel should be rated at 3 stars and then everything is exactly as one would expect.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Clarion Hotel Palmer Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
JayMM
Business
NJ
Mar 31, 2014

Was Expected

When I booked the hotel I didn't have any high expectations considering previous reviews, price, and listed amenities. The hotel staff was pleasant and the room appeared to be clean. I would say overall everything was average, you get what you pay for.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

I would not recommend eating at PURE, the restaurant connected to the hotel. The first impression that I got when I walked in there is, why is this restaurant connected to this hotel? It had very nice ambiance and the staff was friendly, but other than that it was horrible. This is a classic case of a restaurant thinking that if they have a nice setting and expensive prices, it will make the food taste better. My friend and I went there for dinner and the bill was about $75 for an appetizer, a steak salad, and pad thai w/chicken. The steak came out bloody and cold and the pad thai was subpar. Later in the night we ordered pizza and sushi for the room, the pizza was nearly inedible and the sushi was average. If you're thinking about going here, reconsider and save yourself the frustration and money.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Clarion Hotel Palmer Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New Hampshire
Dec 12, 2010

Good Value, Nicely appointed room

Located in Princeton, just an hour from Philadelphia's sports venues, the hotel is a great stopping point from the Down East. We didn't take advantage of all the local shops/restaurants, but they are numerous.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Clarion Hotel Palmer Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Washington, DC
Jun 1, 2011

Not bad but also not fantastic!

We only slept one night at the hotel. The air conditioning was not working in the lobby and in the corridors. The pool was empty. Apparently, the hotel had some maintenance problems. I would have liked to take a swim because it was very hot. Our room was adjacent to the service stairs and every time someone used the stairs, the door would slam shut. I could not sleep very well at night. The room was comfortable, the air was working but the mattresses were a bit hard.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Clarion Hotel Palmer Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
midwest
Jun 21, 2011

friendly, good value and location

Friendly atmosphere. Visited family. Affordable and clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Princeton just a short drive

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Clarion Hotel Palmer Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
n/a
Dec 27, 2009

It was ok....

The hotel staff was very nice. For the most part, the hotel was ok. The hallways were not always clean as they were redoing some rooms and carpets and maresses were on the floor in the hall. The room was ok - but the bathroom needs updating and was not very clean. Hotel ran out of shampoo so we had to buy some and breakfast on the second moning of our stya was not available as the staff member did not show up on time. In addition, the in-hotel dining was very expensive!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Macaroni Grill was fantastic!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Clarion Hotel Palmer Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
DDDDD
Business
New York, NY, USA
Sep 14, 2011

OK Hotel

OK hotel for the price. Location is good. Some staff are friendly. Clear in general.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Clarion Hotel Palmer Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
murph111
Business
Washington, DC, USA
Dec 4, 2011

good last minute find

got a great last minute find on this hotel, quiet, clean, enjoyed the stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Clarion Hotel Palmer Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Old Moore
Business
UK
Dec 2, 2012

Leisure

Very good. An extremely comfortable bed. Good breakfast, and so much better that it was included in the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Clarion Hotel Palmer Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
PhillyWiz
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Apr 14, 2013

Pleasant place to stay

Stayed here one night and was satisfied with the hotel. The front desk allowed me to stay an extra hour, which was much appreciated. The only negative is that the hotel is on the south-bound side of a divided highway, so you may need to do u-turns to arrive or depart.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top