$90 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 18, 2014 Check-out: Aug 20, 2014

Clarion Hotel Palmer Inn

3 stars
3499 Route 1 South, Princeton, NJ 08540
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.0
out of 5
30 reviews
A good cheap place near Princeton for those with a car

Whole Foods within walking distance. The room had a dark wet spot on the ceiling probably from the... See full review

  • Roman1984
  • May 5, 2013
Pleasant place to stay

Stayed here one night and was satisfied with the hotel. The front desk allowed me to stay an extra... See full review

  • PhillyWiz
  • Apr 14, 2013
Perfect for leisure and business travelers alike, the Clarion Palmer Inn features free wireless high-speed Internet access, a free breakfast buffet, business center, warmly appointed guestrooms and suites, and personable service. This Princeton, NJ hotel offers a great location near Princeton University, Princeton Medical Center, the Carnegie Center and convenient to most local businesses and attractions. The hotel is filled with old-world charm, including the courtyard, sun deck, and seasonal outdoor pool, all brimming with casual elegance. Meeting facilities are available. Be sure to enjoy PURE, the on-site restaurant/lounge, during your stay. Pets allowed at $20.00 per stay. Pets up to 60lbs limit 2 pets per room.

Hotel Map

40.3095 -74.6652
Nearby airports
Newark Liberty Int'l Arpt., (EWR), 40.00, MI, N; Trenton Mercer Airport, (TTN), 10.00, MI, SW; Philadelphia Int'l Airport, (PHL), 40.00, MI, SW;
Area description
City Center, Princeton Univ.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Clarion Hotel Palmer Inn also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5

Amenities

  • Free breakfast
  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Ice machine
24 hour security
Activities
Outdoor pool
Exercise gym
Picnic area/tables
Dining
Free breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Guest laundromat
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
FAX
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
Truck parking
Bus parking
Accessibility
Ramp access to buildings
Brailled elevators
Room
Television with cable
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Microwave
In room movies
Sofa bed
Iron

Nearby points of interest

  • Jadwin Gymnasium: 2.5 mi
  • Princeton University Stadium: 2.6 mi
  • Princeton University: 2.7 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (30)

Ratings and reviews for Clarion Hotel Palmer Inn

Overall score

3 / 5
5.01.0
30 out of 30
Amenities:
3.1
Room cleanliness:
3.4
Hotel staff:
3.7
Room comfort:
3.1
Location:
3.8
Value:
3.1

60% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Clarion Hotel Palmer Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Mohamed Shoukri
Richmond
May 28, 2013

wet room and bad breakfast

room folar was wet and breackfast items would take 30 to be refilled

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Clarion Hotel Palmer Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Jun 14, 2011

A SCARY PLACE

This is not a 4 star hotel! The photo of the hotel is deceiving. It is run down, the furniture in the rooms is dirty, the doors were not quite secured, the attached restaurant was closed and "under renovation". We were so exhausted when we checked in, otherwise we would have not stayed. I suggest you remove this from your offerings of accomodations.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Review of Clarion Hotel Palmer Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
J and C for 26 years
Business
Norwalk, CT, USA
Jan 17, 2012

It looks good in the picture

Although the hotel was in a good location, central to highways and local business, I would not return. The room decor was circa 1980 and the bed was as hard as a board. It was clean, but did not feel fresh or comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Two major shopping malls are nearby, the Mercer Mall and the Quakerbridge Mall. Lots of chain restaurants as well. I would not recommend walking along or across Route 1 in this area though- super heavy and/or high speed traffic!

Review of Clarion Hotel Palmer Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
cabotscott
New York
Sep 9, 2013

2.5 Star not 4.0 - Could not find

Apple GPS maps combined with poor assistance from hotel resulted in spending 1.5 hours to travel what was supposed to be a 2.5 mile trip from Princeton University to the hotel---actual mileage was about 30 miles. One of our cars was separated and even with the helpful hotel clerk, it took 30 minutes to direct them in. The 800 number rep hung up on me. Clean, courteous staff---great location once you find it. First room was used; second room had some deficiencies too. There are many hotels in this area and most likely I will try another what will be many trips over the next 4 years.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

If you are not familar with NJ roads, many of the highways do NOT provide easy access to both sides of the roads; watch for jugends (to reverse directions) and cloverleafs that will allow you to get off, reverse direction and get back on going the other way.

Review of Clarion Hotel Palmer Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Princeton, NJ
Jun 17, 2009

Not a 4-Star hotel as advertised

The room was a standard hotel size, not a larger unit as advertised. The room was a corner unit and it had a very musty smell. It was not worth the amount we paid to stay there. The continental breakfast was decent, that was the hotel's biggest plus. We never used the pool so I cannot comment on that.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Clarion Hotel Palmer Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Princeton, NJ
Jun 17, 2009

Not a 4-Star hotel as advertised

The room was a standard hotel size, not a larger unit as advertised. The room was a corner unit and it had a very musty smell. It was not worth the amount we paid to stay there. The continental breakfast was decent, that was the hotel's biggest plus. We never used the pool so I cannot comment on that.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Clarion Hotel Palmer Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
DaveinBoston
Business
Boston, MA, USA
Feb 19, 2013

Low Budget Hotel

Wow, not a pleasent experiance. First they located me in a room outside in the middle of winter. While walking to the room I had to pass a group of young men who were smoking and drinking in the out hall. The room itself seemed clean but the heating unit only one mode, high and hot. The breakfast was free and I got what I paid for.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Big Fish restaraunt, very good seafood and a nice dining room.

Review of Clarion Hotel Palmer Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jeff2
Stanford, CA
Dec 1, 2013

Not really 4-star

We stayed for Thanksgiving, and the price was much lower than that of the real 4-star hotels in the Princeton area. The facility is old, with the design of a '50s motel (all rooms reachable from the outside. The furniture was serviceable but not modern. The staff was competent, but didn't offer that "we're here to make your stay pleasant" attitude that you get from staff at local 4-star hotels. Self-serve breakfast was free, which it is not at the competing 4-star hotels, but was rather low-quality, comparable to what you'd expect at a 2-3-star hotel. I think the summary is that the hotel should be rated at 3 stars and then everything is exactly as one would expect.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Clarion Hotel Palmer Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
DDDDD
New York, NY, USA
Sep 14, 2011

OK Hotel

OK hotel for the price. Location is good. Some staff are friendly. Clear in general.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Clarion Hotel Palmer Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
New Hampshire
Dec 12, 2010

Good Value, Nicely appointed room

Located in Princeton, just an hour from Philadelphia's sports venues, the hotel is a great stopping point from the Down East. We didn't take advantage of all the local shops/restaurants, but they are numerous.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top