$129 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 31, 2015 Check-out: Jun 2, 2015

Comfort Suites North Bergen

2 stars
View map of 1200 Tonnelle Ave, North Bergen, NJ 07047

Hotel Overview

Comfort-Suites-North-Bergen-Hotel-Exterior
Reviewer score
3.0
out of 5
13 reviews
Enjoyable family getaway

Although the hotel is in the middle of nowhere, we would consider booking the hotel again. The... See full review

  • Maryland grandmom
  • Jul 17, 2014
Cheap, nice place w/ easy access to NYC

Planning a trip to New York City with 2 other couples, we wanted to find an affordable and nice... See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Apr 22, 2009
Nicely priced suites with free Wi-Fi and continental breakfast

The motto at Comfort Suites North Bergen is, "the comfort of a suite at the price of a room." Prices are reasonable at this smoke-free hotel where each room includes a microwave, refrigerator and sitting area. Weekday newspapers and coffee are free in the lobby. Just ten miles from the Newark airport, guests find a convenient locale from which to explore northern New Jersey and New York City. Enjoy free continental breakfast, work out in the 24-hour fitness center or head to Hoboken for the train to Manhattan.

Highlights

  • Free continental breakfast buffet
  • All-suite rooms with microwave and mini fridge
  • Free wireless Internet access
  • 24-hour fitness center
  • 10 miles from Newark airport

Rooms

Red bedspreads and wallpaper borders add a dash of warmth and style to the 67 suites at Comfort Suites North Bergen. Each room has a sitting area, flat-screen TV and a kitchen area with a microwave, refrigerator and coffee-maker.  A full-sized desk offers room to work and a comfortable place from which to access free Wi-Fi. Free local calls and an in-room iron and hair-dryer are among the other basic amenities. Whirlpool and efficiency suites are also available. 

Features

Easily reach Comfort Suites North Bergen from Route 1, Route 9, Route 3 or the New Jersey Turnpike. Three miles from the parking lot, head back out again to explore the area or catch a train at Newark Penn Station or the PATH train station, each about three miles away. Cruise to New York City neighborhoods just minutes away via the Lincoln Tunnel, Holland Tunnel or George Washington Bridge. For those on an extended stay, on-site laundry facilities and valet cleaning service add convenience.

Transportation

  • Newark Liberty International Airport (12.2 mi/19.6 km)
  • La Guardia Airport (14.7 mi/23.6 km)
  • John F. Kennedy International Airport (22.8 mi/36.7 km)
  • Free shuttle to and from Secaucus Junction Train Station

Attractions

  • Giants Stadium (3 mi/4.8 km)
  • Secaucus Outlets (4 mi/6.4 km)
  • Historic Hoboken (4.1 mi/6.6 km)
  • IZOD Center (4.9 mi/7.9 km)
  • Madison Square Garden (5 mi/8 km)
  • Newport Centre Mall (5.1 mi/8.2 km)
  • Jacbob K. Javits Convention Center (5.3 mi/8.5 km)
  • Times Square (5.6 mi/9 km)
  • Liberty Science Center (7.1 mi/11.4 km)
  • Wall Street (8.8 mi/14.1 km)

Business

  • Free wireless Internet access
  • Business center with copy and fax services (fees apply)
  • Two meeting rooms can accommodate up to 60 people

Policies and fees

  • Bus parking for group reservations only. Other bus drivers, please call the hotel direct.
  • All Comfort Suites are smoke free.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Comfort Suites North Bergen also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.7 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Exercise gym
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Services
Laundry service
Guest laundromat
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
FAX
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
Truck parking
Bus parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Sofa bed
Iron

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Comfort Suites North Bergen

Overall score

3 / 5
5.01.0
13 out of 13
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
3.3
Comfort:
3.8
Location:
3
Value:
3.3

69% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Comfort Suites North Bergen

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Charlottesville, VA
Apr 22, 2009

Cheap, nice place w/ easy access to NYC

Planning a trip to New York City with 2 other couples, we wanted to find an affordable and nice place to stay. Since the city is outrageously expensive, we found this spot 15 minutes outside the city on the jersey side for half the price. There was a bus stop 2 minutes away which took us right into Times Square. The commute took no longer than 20-30 minutes, including traffic. I would highly recommend saving your money this way so you can use it for other stuff in the city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Not Applicable

Broadway show tickets can be purchased a lot cheaper around the area before the show. We purchased them online months in advance and paid a lot more for them.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Comfort Suites North Bergen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Manassas, VA
Jul 22, 2011

Great Location

The hotel was a 5 minute drive to Hoboken and 10 minutes to Jersey City :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Comfort Suites North Bergen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
CSI
Business
New Jersey
Nov 17, 2010

"Pleasant Overnight Stay"

The appealing attraction to the Comfort Suites is the fact that all of the rooms are suites. The room was clean, comfortable and quiet. Had a "comfy" feeling to the space even though when we first entered the room there was a large light fixture cover displaced on our couch as well as a duster boom left behind by the cleaning staff. Outside of those two things (which were immediately removed once we called the front desk)the entire hotel is a smoke free environment so there was a very clean air feel inside the elevators and hallways.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Comfort Suites North Bergen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Maryland grandmom
Business
Germantown, Maryland
Jul 17, 2014

Enjoyable family getaway

Although the hotel is in the middle of nowhere, we would consider booking the hotel again. The price was reasonable, rooms were spacious, the staff was very friendly, and the free breakfast was one of the best offered. The only downer was the price and frequency of the shuttle to Manhattan. If the shuttle runs more often during the day and later at night, and family rates are offered, this would be an ideal hotel for family vacations.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

There is a Subway Sandwich shop and Wendy's just up the hill where families can lunch.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Comfort Suites North Bergen

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mom of a teenage girl
Business
Saratoga Springs, NY
Apr 8, 2013

NYC Trip

I brought my teenage daughter and a friend to the city for the IMATS show. The hotel was easy to get to. The room was spacious and clean. The shuttle from the hotel brought us right to Times Square which made the trip easy. We will definitely plan a trip back to the City and stay in North Bergon.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Comfort Suites North Bergen

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Maine
Oct 31, 2009

Good value

When we checked in, the staff seemed unfriendly but warmed after that. The room was very comfortable, quiet, and clean, with free parking right out the front door, and a good breakfast - the usual continental fare but well-presented, and with an egg-and-breakfast-meat offering in a chafing dish.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

We chose a hotel in this area in order to be able to visit New York. We had figured out online how to get into the City but asked the staff for confirmation and were actually told to go to a dfferent train station. The relatively short drive (4 or 5 miles) took us through heavy traffic to a center where parking was hard to figure out and where we couldn't see where the train station was. Convenient, perhaps, if you know what you're doing, but we did not. We ended up driving through the Lincoln Tunnel and into the City. The next day, we drove from the hotel to our original pick, which was close, reasonably priced for parking in a large, open lot, and with trains running several times an hour. So: DO NOT go to Journal Square from the hotel; DO go to Secaucus Junction. Details can be found at the NJ Transit website. Parking for the day was $10.00, and the trains ran every fifteen minutes or so right into Penn Station. Couldn't have been easier.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Comfort Suites North Bergen

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
promogirl
Business
Essex, Ct
Jul 18, 2011

Good out of city stay

This hotel is good for business travelers not wanting or not being able to afford hotel rooms in Jersey City. Although beware take traffic into account when traveling to North Bergen. The map says it is not far but give yourself at least and hour to travel back and forth. Breakfast is not that good but the hotel is clean and the service is efficent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Comfort Suites North Bergen

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Lighting Man
Business
Cranston, RI
Apr 15, 2011

Away in NYC

Clean, spacious room with all the amenities for a business traveler. Pleasant stay

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Comfort Suites North Bergen

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Liu Family
Business
Boston
Aug 29, 2014

Clean and pleasant stay for family

We were travelling with 2 children and 4 adults. We find the room is a good size for our party of six. The room is not a big one but clean and tidy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Comfort Suites North Bergen

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
DeeC1
Business
Beaufort, SC, USA
Dec 3, 2011

Cheap Service but not Cheap Price

First none of the personnel at the hotel speak English very well, shocking cause we are living in the USA. The hotel looks nice on the outside and the room looks nice until you pull back the bed sheets. We had to personally change the sheets on the bed with new ones because the one on the beds were soooo dirty. I will definitely NOT BE STAYING AT THIS HOTEL AGAIN. For 135.00 I expected to get something better. Oh yeah the continental breakfast was the only reasonable thing at the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top