$108 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 3, 2014 Check-out: Aug 6, 2014

Ramada Plaza Newark Liberty International Airport

3 stars
160A Frontage Road, Newark, NJ 07114
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.7
out of 5
63 reviews
Stop over waiting for my flight.

This hotel was fine. They had everything you would want for an overnight stay. The room was... See full review

  • Trooper8973
  • Jun 27, 2013
great airport hotel

Fast and convenient complimentary airport shuttle. Comfortable, clean rooms and a great restaurant. See full review

  • Tom and Tina Traveler
  • Mar 14, 2014
Newark airport hotel with free shuttle, free Wi-Fi and 3 restaurants

Ramada Plaza Hotel Newark Intl Airport / EWR is located just outside Newark Airport, a short drive to New York City, and within easy reach of Newark and Jersey City attractions and businesses. Guest rooms include free high-speed Internet access and a 27-inch satellite TV with HBO. This Ramada Plaza hotel also features the full-service Hunt Room Restaurant, plus a sports lounge and 24-hour cafe. Ramada Plaza shares a location and amenities with Ramada Newark Intl Airport EWR, and a free 24-hour airport shuttle is available for all hotel guests.

Highlights
  • Choose from several onsite eateries, including the 24-hour Corner Cafe
  • Kick back in a comfortable room with free Wi-Fi and 27-inch cable/satellite TV with HBO
  • Enjoy airport-area convenience and the hotel's free 24-hour airport shuttle service
  • Parking available (fees apply)
Location

Ramada Plaza Hotel Newark Intl Airport / EWR is located just outside of Newark Liberty International Airport, adjacent to the NJ highway network and a quick drive to Lower Manhattan.

Rooms

Ramada Plaza Hotel Newark Intl Airport / EWR offers 178 nonsmoking guest rooms with 2 double beds or 1 king bed. All accommodations here include free high-speed wireless Internet access, 27-inch cable/satellite TV with HBO, hair-dryer, alarm clock and iron/ironing board. Handicap-accessible rooms are available. Rollaway beds are available on request (fees apply). Cribs are complimentary.

Features

Business and leisure travelers alike take advantage of the onsite amenities at Ramada Plaza Hotel Newark Intl Airport / EWR. The hotel offers a business center and fitness center, plus a free 24-hour airport shuttle.

 

Onsite dining options include the Hunt Room Restaurant -- open for breakfast, lunch and dinner -- plus the 24-hour Corner Cafe and Teddy's Sports Lounge. An onsite sundry shop provides little extras.

Transportation
  • Newark Penn Station (2.8 mi/4.6 km)
  • Newark Liberty International Airport (3.6 mi/5.8 km)
  • Free 24-hour airport shuttle service
Attractions
  • Prudential Center (3.6 mi/5.9 km)
  • New Jersey Performing Arts Center (4 mi/6.4 km)
  • Newark Museum (4.2 mi/6.8 km)
  • Manhattan (9.9 mi/16 km)
  • Giants Stadium (11.2 mi/18 km)
Business
  • Meeting and banquet space
  • Business center
  • Free Wi-Fi Internet access

Hotel Map

40.7121 -74.1657
Area description
Business district

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free airport shuttle
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Exercise gym
Game room
Dining
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Express check in
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
Multilingual
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
FAX
Conference facilities
Copy service
Overhead projector
Internet
High-speed internet
Transportation
Free airport shuttle
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
RV or truck parking
Bus parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Accessible parking
Room
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Over sized rooms
TV remote control
Cribs available
In room movies
Ironing board

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (63)

Ratings and reviews for Ramada Plaza Newark Liberty International Airport

Overall score

2.7 / 5
5.01.0
63 out of 63
Amenities:
2.6
Room cleanliness:
3.1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3.3
Location:
3.6
Value:
3.2

57% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Ramada Plaza Newark Liberty International Airport

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Flaviss
Business
Gainesville, FL
Jul 29, 2012

OK, but not a 3+ star place

So this place is old and it shows. I felt it was decently clean. I didn't feel uncomfortable walking around barefoot and everything worked fine but its a little rough around the edges. The faucet lifted up and moved about, the windows whistled when it was windy and I could feel air pushing in, the toilet randomly flushed throughout the night, etc. But ... the water was hot, The AC kept the room cold on low cold, high cold was too cold, the staff was friendly enough. The staff was really helpful though. My two main gripes: 1. the wireless is absolutely worthless. Don't count on it for anything unless you are planning on using it on really off hours of the day. As soon as people start checking in and filling up the place there is like no wireless and what is there is more frustrating than its worth. This was across the board and construction people that had been staying there for awhile said its been like that for weeks, I would think pretty much since they put it in. 2. the hotel restaraunt charges a 'Hotel Concessions fee' that with sales tax amounts to about 20% before tip. This is !?!?@?!??#@? bonkers. I have never had this at any other restaurant at any other airport - and if you go to the 24 hour concession stand across the hall where they sell sandwiches breakfast, etc - they don't have it and haven't even heard of it. - boycott the restaurant. They say they are remodeling in 2013 - will probably fix these problems but then will probably be way overpriced ... Oh yeah and they dont tell you they charge $15 a day for parking ....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Ramada Plaza Newark Liberty International Airport

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
ms. linda
Toms River
Jul 25, 2012

Doesn't live up to expectations

Close to the airport, free shuttle service to the airport* The reasons I booked this location. Asked for wake-up call @ 5 am. for 6:50 flight, NO CALL. The room was adequate, although it was designated as ADA, the bathroom was very tight, the Grab-bar was coming off the wall in the shower and the showerhead was horrible, more water came out of the spout so the shower was very weak. The shuttle to the airport was quik, however, when I got on the same shuttle to go back to my hotel, I found myself at the wrong hotel and had to wait to go back to the airport and find the correct one. ***This is not in the information listing and should be, They charged me $15 to park my car overnight. If I was drinking at the bar or dining, parking is free.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Ramada Plaza Newark Liberty International Airport

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Canuck14
Newark, New York
Jul 13, 2012

Ok for price

Clean hotel, fairly friendly staff bit Internet was down for most of my stay. Near airport but nothing else around and if you drive, there are till bridges all around the hotel do it was expensive to anywhere from the hotel. No pool but great AC in the rooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
5
Location:
2
Value:
3
Review of Ramada Plaza Newark Liberty International Airport

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
SALO79
Detriot, MI
Jun 17, 2012

Overall its fine Hotel

It is good to stay at Ramada Hotel for few days not over one week , because of the airplain noise. In addition there is parking fees that is the highest parking fee I ever seen ?!!!!! its $15.00 aday ..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Ramada Plaza Newark Liberty International Airport

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Hunting for a job in NJ
Business
North Carolina
May 26, 2012

On a Job Hunt

Hotel was staffed with helpful people. I didn't feel uncomfortable. My plans for my trip went sour. But when I opened my door on the 4th floor and was greeted with a smile from a lady cleaning a room arcross the hall, I felt right at home. My shuttle was ontime and the drivers coming and going were both helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Call for take out before you get too hungry! It took almost 2 1/2hrs to get my food from an outside source. And from the bar and grill downstairs it took 15 min-20min.

Review of Ramada Plaza Newark Liberty International Airport

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Jabo
SC
May 1, 2012

Newark Ramada needs to be remodeled

I requested a non-smoking room and was put in a smoking room. It smelled like cigarettes when you walked in the door, so I questioned how clean it was. I requested a wake-up call and never got one. I only needed the room for 6 hours and the smell of the tobacco made that short time almost unbearable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Ramada Plaza Newark Liberty International Airport

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
raven1462
Detroit, MI, USA
Apr 24, 2012

What I Expected

I was a little leary after reading some reviews, but then almost every place I looked at had a litany of bad reviews. Was it the most modern, up to date hotel I have ever stayed at. No. Did the bed and shower work (the main reasons for getting a hotel). You bet. The room was clean and even though there were several large groups (some foreign students on a trip, a wedding party), the hotel was nicely quite for being near the airport. If you are looking for 5 star resort, well, then you probably should not stay somewhere 2 minutes from the airport. If you are looking for a place to rest your head and shower for a good price (cause heaven knows everything else in this area costs $$$$, then this is the place for you.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Ramada Plaza Newark Liberty International Airport

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
FENG080701
Business
New York, NY, USA
Mar 22, 2012

fantastic short stay

quite near airport,and excellent serice service is very good room is clean

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Ramada Plaza Newark Liberty International Airport

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
pdx2ewr
Portland, OR, USA
Dec 20, 2011

Average but not bad

got everything I needed. needs some proper cleaning and new furniture/bed covers and comforters. good value for price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Ramada Plaza Newark Liberty International Airport

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
laughinggirl
Seattle, WA
Dec 5, 2011

third stay

Every year I stay here for one night. No matter how late I get in, there is someone polite and awake at the desk ( this year it was 1:30 am). There is a nice 24 deli for late arrivals that has a nice variety. It is clean, quiet and the van to and from the airport is great, driver friendly and helpful, even at 1 am.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top