$71 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 3, 2015 Check-out: May 6, 2015

Howard Johnson Hotel - Newark Airport

2 stars
View map of 20 Frontage Road, Newark, NJ 07114

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
2.8
out of 5
278 reviews
Enjoy

This hotel is 15 minutes walking distance from subway station. Talking a bus @ 75 cents is to be... See full review

  • Adam
  • Mar 23, 2015
Lovely hotel

I enjoyed out stay. The staff was super friendly and helpful. Only problem, there is nothing close... See full review

  • That Mary Chick
  • Jul 26, 2014
Make a Newark overnighter easy at an airport hotel with free shuttle

Located just outside Newark Liberty International Airport and only minutes from New York City, the Howard Johnson Hotel – Newark offers budget-priced accommodations. Take the hotel's free 24-hour shuttle from the airport and set up in a guest room with free Wi-Fi and cable/satellite TV with premium movie channels. The onsite Ambrosia Cafe serves breakfast, lunch and dinner. Guests can work out for free at the fitness center. A business center, 24-hour front desk and guest laundry facilities add extra value.

Highlights
  • Newark overnighters will love the convenient "just outside of the airport" location and free 24-hour shuttle service
  • Enjoy in-room extras such as free Wi-Fi, cable/satellite TV with premium movie channels, microwave and refrigerator
  • Work out at the fitness room with treadmills and stationary bikes
  • Roundtrip shuttle service to NYC available (fees apply)
Location

Howard Johnson Hotel – Newark is located just outside of Newark Liberty International Airport and provides free 24-hour shuttle service. Manhattan is a short drive away, and the hotel can arrange for roundtrip shuttle service to the city (fees apply). Newark and nearby Jersey City feature cultural attractions like the Liberty State Park and New Jersey Performing Arts Center.

Rooms

Howard Johnson Hotel – Newark provides traditionally furnished, cozy, standard double and king guest rooms with free Wi-Fi Internet access. All rooms also include a microwave, refrigerator and coffee-maker. Enjoy in-room entertainment with cable/satellite TV and premium movie channels. Additional amenities include wake-up service, iron/ironing board, air conditioning, hair-dryer and AM/FM alarm clock. Nonsmoking rooms, room service and a guest laundry (fees apply) are available.

Features

The hotel's full-service restaurant, Ambrosia Cafe, serves breakfast, lunch and dinner, plus provides room service. Additional Howard Johnson Hotel – Newark hotel extras include free newspaper, a 24-hour front desk and a fitness center. Parking is available (fees apply).

Transportation
  • Newark Penn Station (2.5 mi/4 km)
  • Newark Liberty International Airport (2.8 mi/4.5 km)
  • Free 24-hour Newark airport shuttle service
  • Roundtrip NYC shuttle service is available (fees apply)
Attractions
  • Prudential Center (3.3 mi/5.2 km)
  • New Jersey Performing Arts Center (3.6 mi/5.8 km)
  • Newark Museum (3.6 mi/5.8 km)
  • Manhattan (9 mi/14.8 km)
  • Giants Stadium (10.8 mi/17.4 km)
Business
  • Free Wi-Fi Internet access
  • Free newspaper
Policies and fees
  • Guests traveling with a car: $15 USD daily parking fee collected upon check-in
  • Shuttle Service to New York City $15 USD one way/$25 USD round trip
  • Sorry, no pets allowed

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Exercise gym
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Guest laundromat
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
FAX
Copy service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Brailled elevators
Room
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Microwave
TV remote control
Cribs available
In room movies
Ironing board

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Howard Johnson Hotel - Newark Airport

Overall score

2.7 / 5
5.01.0
61 out of 278
Amenities:
2.6
Cleanliness:
3.3
Hotel staff:
2.8
Comfort:
3.1
Location:
3.2
Value:
3.2

51% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Howard Johnson Hotel - Newark Airport

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Evelyn Newark
Business
Newark
Mar 10, 2014

night

Paid for parking, couldn't give me a plastic plate.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Hotel - Newark Airport

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Elizabeth B.
Business
Newark, New Jersey
Mar 17, 2014

Will never return to this hotel

I should have listened to the other reviews about the rude staff-absolutely true! My room was any icebox and when I called the front desk, the guy says, "did you turn the heat on?" Yes, I turned the heat on, I replied. "Oh well give it about 30 minutes to heat up." I called back any hour later that there was still no heat. He reluctantly changed my room which was just as cold. I booked for 2 nights and needless to say, I canceled the 2nd night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Hotel - Newark Airport

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Meesh
Business
DC
Oct 11, 2009

very dissapointed

The Beds and the pillows were hard as rocks There was no room service There was an unexpected fee for parking of $60! The food in the hotel was cold and horrible.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Hotel - Newark Airport

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Philgood
Business
Bethesda MD
May 16, 2012

The worst experience ever!

I returned to the hotel at 2am to find the room as I left it in the morning. My wife had to make the beds, I had to request new trash bags and fresh towels. The guy at the reception was alone, but was very willing to help. I don't recommend this hotel a first and last experience with Howard and Johnson.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Hotel - Newark Airport

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
lalacarola
Business
Florida
Oct 19, 2012

Other than the location

there is absolutely no reason to stay in this hotel. The staff, with the exception of one receptinist, wasn't the least bit helpful no pleasaant. The room was - to my surprise - clean but there was nothing particularly nice about it. The coffee maker was useless. The little cafe didn't open for breakfast until 8 a.m., way too late for anyone on an early schedule. I could go on......

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Hotel - Newark Airport

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Luis7164
Business
yuma, az
May 28, 2013

horrific hotel and customer service

Towels were like sand paper, not to mention, I got a towel that had a long blond hair in it two days in a row. Gross! and the carpet in the room was kind of oily. It's hard to explain but it had a weird filmy feeling to it when walking barefooted. Gross!  We left tips for a housekeeper on a side table every day, but the first day, we forgot to write a note indicating that it was for a housekeeper. When we came back, the money was gone. Yes, we left the money as tips, but from my experiences, housekeepers at other hotels and motels where I previously stayed had NEVER touched money that I left in a room unless I specifically indicated on a note that it was for them, so I was kind of surprised by this. After the first day, we didn't even bother to leave a note and the tips we left were gone every day. We just made sure that we didn't leave any money in the room that wasn't tips.One night I called the front desk and asked if they had plastic forks, and the lady said "No, no forks!" and hung up on me... I understand that some hotels don't provide stuff like this, so I am not even mad about that part, but good grief, she needs customer service training...like yesterday. She had no people skills. They taking my money and your customers for granted. This is the kind of hotels that gives you a bad reputation and I really like cheap tickets but I can't do nothing about it if you guys don't do something about it

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Hotel - Newark Airport

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Henderson,Nevada
Apr 30, 2011

WHAT A DUMP!!

Due to delays at the airport we arrived at 6 AM instead of the midnight time we had reserved. We were greeted at the parking lot by s man whom spoke no English holding up a sign that said $15 to park.We were exhausted so we nodded and went into the hotel. It is very seedy. We asked about breakfast. We were directed to a room the size of my kitchen, with 4 tables. A handwritten sign on the door offered breakfast for $7. No thanks. We slept for 4 hours and got out----only after paying the $15 fee for the privilege of staying at this poorly located, dump.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Save your money. Don't stay here.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Hotel - Newark Airport

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Springville, Pennsylvania
Jul 23, 2009

Parking Extra

A place to stay overnight to make an early flight out of Newark. Parking was $15.00 per night at the hotel which was not mentioned anywhere before arrival. Roaches in hotel room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Hotel - Newark Airport

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
North Dakota
Jan 26, 2011

Scary and filthy.

DO NOT stay here. The motel was filthy, the staff was unfriendly, the shuttle was late leaving for the airport in the morning. Our room had a "leak" in the faucet that left the carpet in the room wet. The window to outside leaked and outside noise was incredible. The area seemed really unsafe and I did not feel secure there at all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Hotel - Newark Airport

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Kaj
Business
Albany,Ny
Feb 14, 2010

Worst Hotel I have Ever Been To....

This was by far the worst hotel i have ever been to, you have to pay 15$ plus tax, a night to park in the hotels parking lot, all you hear are airplanes and traffic since it is near both the thru-way and airport, the hotel smelled like nothing but paint fumes they had wallpaper laying all over the floor the room was gross and dirty, I checked in and about 10 minutes later i checked out, as i went to the desk to check out after only 10 minutes of being there, i told the man at the desk i wanted to check out and he didnt even care to know why or if anything was wrong, worst hotel ever.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Jersey Garden Mall

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top