$70 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 5, 2014 Check-out: May 8, 2014

Howard Johnson Hotel - Newark Arpt

2 stars
20 Frontage Road, Newark, NJ 07114
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.8
out of 5
245 reviews
Stuck in Newark?

We missed our connection in Newark due to a delayed flight and had to book a room for a night's... See full review

  • denverslim
  • Jan 3, 2014
Nice stay

Hotel was nice. A little gross to see hair in the bathroom as it was wiped down. The front desk was... See full review

  • Amdoug
  • Nov 12, 2013
Make a Newark overnighter easy at an airport hotel with free shuttle

Located just outside Newark Liberty International Airport and only minutes from New York City, the Howard Johnson Hotel – Newark offers budget-priced accommodations. Take the hotel's free 24-hour shuttle from the airport and set up in a guest room with free Wi-Fi and cable/satellite TV with premium movie channels. The onsite Ambrosia Cafe serves breakfast, lunch and dinner. Guests can work out for free at the fitness center. A business center, 24-hour front desk and guest laundry facilities add extra value.

Highlights
  • Newark overnighters will love the convenient "just outside of the airport" location and free 24-hour shuttle service
  • Enjoy in-room extras such as free Wi-Fi, cable/satellite TV with premium movie channels, microwave and refrigerator
  • Work out at the fitness room with treadmills and stationary bikes
  • Roundtrip shuttle service to NYC available (fees apply)
Location

Howard Johnson Hotel – Newark is located just outside of Newark Liberty International Airport and provides free 24-hour shuttle service. Manhattan is a short drive away, and the hotel can arrange for roundtrip shuttle service to the city (fees apply). Newark and nearby Jersey City feature cultural attractions like the Liberty State Park and New Jersey Performing Arts Center.

Rooms

Howard Johnson Hotel – Newark provides traditionally furnished, cozy, standard double and king guest rooms with free Wi-Fi Internet access. All rooms also include a microwave, refrigerator and coffee-maker. Enjoy in-room entertainment with cable/satellite TV and premium movie channels. Additional amenities include wake-up service, iron/ironing board, air conditioning, hair-dryer and AM/FM alarm clock. Nonsmoking rooms, room service and a guest laundry (fees apply) are available.

Features

The hotel's full-service restaurant, Ambrosia Cafe, serves breakfast, lunch and dinner, plus provides room service. Additional Howard Johnson Hotel – Newark hotel extras include free newspaper, a 24-hour front desk and a fitness center. Parking is available (fees apply).

Transportation
  • Newark Penn Station (2.5 mi/4 km)
  • Newark Liberty International Airport (2.8 mi/4.5 km)
  • Free 24-hour Newark airport shuttle service
  • Roundtrip NYC shuttle service is available (fees apply)
Attractions
  • Prudential Center (3.3 mi/5.2 km)
  • New Jersey Performing Arts Center (3.6 mi/5.8 km)
  • Newark Museum (3.6 mi/5.8 km)
  • Manhattan (9 mi/14.8 km)
  • Giants Stadium (10.8 mi/17.4 km)
Business
  • Free Wi-Fi Internet access
  • Free newspaper
Policies and fees
  • Guests traveling with a car: $15 USD daily parking fee collected upon check-in
  • Shuttle Service to New York City $15 USD one way/$25 USD round trip
  • Sorry, no pets allowed

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Exercise gym
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Guest laundromat
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
FAX
Copy service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
Accessibility
Wheel chair access
Room
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Microwave
TV remote control
Cribs available
In room movies
Ironing board

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Howard Johnson Hotel - Newark Arpt also booked these hotels.

Hotel Map

40.7101 -74.1572
Area description
Business district

Nearby points of interest

  • Prudential Center: 1.8 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (245)

Ratings and reviews for Howard Johnson Hotel - Newark Arpt

Overall score

2.8 / 5
245 out of 245
Amenities:
2.8
Room cleanliness:
3.2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3.2
Location:
3.2
Value:
3.3

60% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Howard Johnson Hotel - Newark Arpt

Reviewer score

4
chez 1016
va
Jul 12, 2012

It was good

It was a good hotel close to nyc. Its good for the value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Howard Johnson Hotel - Newark Arpt

Reviewer score

1
Earl Roderick
Business
Massachusetts
Jul 9, 2012

Overpriced Flop house

I needed an inexpensive bed on short notice, close to Port Newark just to sleep prior to working in the port (arrive 11pm - checkout 7am) . This hotel filtered out as the least expensive option. The place was probably OK 30 years ago but is way past it's peak today. It's undergone a minimal refurbishment recently but that appears to be just paint and beds. The carpeting and bathtubs need help. It just smells old. It would be an acceptable option as a place to crash for $40-$50, but is WAY overpriced at $82 plus $15 for parking. I also had a weird experience checking in. The desk insisted on making a copy of my ID prior to giving me a room. I told them they were welcome to check it but could not make a copy. I was informed they needed it for the file and it was hotel rules. I refused and wanted a refund. The told me too bad, no refunds. I found a very old expired college ID and let them copy that just so I could get some sleep. Why would a hotel need photo copies of both your credit card and ID "for their file". The place gave me a bad vibe. I'd sleep in my car or upgrade to a better hotel before I'd ever stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Hotel - Newark Arpt

Reviewer score

3
Amosu
Bronx, NY, USA
Jul 9, 2012

The drawbacks

It served the purpose for which it was intended and the value was good. However,there were draw backs;finding the place was frustrating even with a gps. I had to ask for a room change because bath tub was NOT draining and three calls to front desk did not seem urgent enough to the staff. They demanded payment for parking and complimentary breakfast. Will not return there. Michael

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
5
Review of Howard Johnson Hotel - Newark Arpt

Reviewer score

3
Mad Dogs and Oregonians
Oregon
Jul 5, 2012

For New York City area, affordable and reasonable

No great shakes, but it was roughly an hour (maybe a little more) into the city on a combination of airport shuttle, AirTrain and NJ Transit ($25 roundtrip). Quiet, very little airport noise. I had trouble sleeping, but I think that was just me.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of Howard Johnson Hotel - Newark Arpt

Reviewer score

4
travel cheap
Orange, CA
Jun 24, 2012

close to airport

for a quick stay cuz I got there after midnight, the other review said about the shuttle its ture, wait too long for the shuttle but you are thinking for the price you are paying for, it's good, I was hungry when I get there, no restaurant around but ordered pizza and it was decent, a bit dusty due to the remodeling for the price its a bit better good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Howard Johnson Hotel - Newark Arpt

Reviewer score

2
Stayatotherhotel
Cleveland, OH
Jun 20, 2012

They are renovating! There is no floor

I wish someone had submitted a more recent review before I booked. I stayed there two nights bc I had to fly our of Newark and the location was perfect. However, the hotel is under serious construction. I entered to find the main lobby missing, the floor missing, and the hallways covered in plastic. The staff was ok although they charge us for parking even though our reservation specifically said parking was free. The pillows were also old and worn down. Mor you need a cheap place for one night the location is convenient, but if you plan to stay any longer, find somewhere else.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Howard Johnson Hotel - Newark Arpt

Reviewer score

2
Not so satisfied
Jersey
May 21, 2012

good location, bad internet

A nice experience for a shor stay. Shutle worked every our, but not as advertized. Internet acces was really a problem.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Howard Johnson Hotel - Newark Arpt

Reviewer score

2
Abhay
Los Angeles, CA
May 16, 2012

No Frills does the job

For to and fro to NYC. Take the hotel shuttle to Newark Airport and then the rail link to Penn Station for $25 round trip

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Review of Howard Johnson Hotel - Newark Arpt

Reviewer score

1
Philgood
Bethesda MD
May 16, 2012

The worst experience ever!

I returned to the hotel at 2am to find the room as I left it in the morning. My wife had to make the beds, I had to request new trash bags and fresh towels. The guy at the reception was alone, but was very willing to help. I don't recommend this hotel a first and last experience with Howard and Johnson.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
3
Review of Howard Johnson Hotel - Newark Arpt

Reviewer score

2
gerahipnotic
indiana
May 9, 2012

not good

To much noise and the hotel smells like can of chiken noodles and they charge me 50 dollars for parking honestly not good

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Back to menu Return to top