$99 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 27, 2014 Check-out: Dec 29, 2014

Courtyard Newark Downtown

3 stars
858, Broad Street, Newark, NJ 07102
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
6 reviews
Awesome

We stayed at the hotel due to going to a Devils game. There was a parking garage on the back side... See full review

  • Hockey Fan 2014
  • Jan 26, 2014
Great Hotel convenient to Prudential Center

Nice modern and comfortable hotel right next to the Prudential Center downtown Newark. While the... See full review

  • Traveling Fool for Biz
  • Jul 1, 2014
Discover innovative design and unmatched service at the newest Newark, NJ, downtown hotel, Courtyard Newark Downtown. Feel welcomed as you enter our state-of-the-art lobby, which provides greater flexibility and choices for our guests. At the center of it all is a unique Newark hotel downtown restaurant, The Bistro, your destination for a great breakfast or drinks and dinner during the evening. You'll also enjoy inviting, flexible spaces where you can work or relax, free Wi-Fi throughout, and easy access to the latest news, weather and airport conditions via our GoBoard technology, unique to other Newark, NJ, downtown hotels. Relax in spacious guest rooms that combine comfort and functionality with plush bedding, ergonomic work spaces and well-appointed amenities. Use our well-equipped fitness center to stay refreshed and energized. Host an event in 4,122 square feet of meeting space. Whether traveling for business or pleasure, you will enjoy a more comfortable, productive stay at Courtyard Newark Downtown.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Courtyard Newark Downtown also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free airport shuttle
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Laundry/Valet services
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
FAX
Florist
Internet
High-speed internet
Transportation
Free airport shuttle
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Television with cable
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
Sofa bed
Temperature control
Shower
Iron
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Prudential Center: 0.1 mi

Dining

The Bistro – Eat. Drink. Connect.®
Your food and beverage destination for refreshing breakfast choices in the morning, and a variety of dinner, beer and wine options in the evening. The Bistro also offers specialty beverages made with Starbucks® coffee to help you get a jump on the day.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (6)

Ratings and reviews for Courtyard Newark Downtown

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
6 out of 6
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
3.8
Value:
4

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Courtyard Newark Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
RFSJ
Business
New York, NY
Jan 2, 2013

A Fine New Year's Eve

I visited this hotel over New Year's Eve, arriving about 6 PM. the staff were uniformly polite and cheerful, and I easily got my check-out extended an hour when I needed it. This is a standard Courtyard, but it is brand-new and it shows. The decor is warm and modern. The restaurant food was quite good. My king suite was very nice indeed, to my mind, with spacious rooms, a fine comfortable bed, and lots of furniture. I appreciate the (standard) free wi-fi very much. I'd visit this location again if I needed to stay in Downtown Newark.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard Newark Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Traveling Fool for Biz
Business
Santa Rosa, CA
Jul 1, 2014

Great Hotel convenient to Prudential Center

Nice modern and comfortable hotel right next to the Prudential Center downtown Newark. While the neighborhood is a little unsavory the hotel was great. Staff was wonderful and great amenities.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard Newark Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Traveler La Femme
Business
Chicago
Apr 28, 2014

Wonderful amenities, helpful staff, just noisy at night

All of the hotel staff were very accommodating, the food at the Bistro and 24 hr convenience market is healthy and tasty, and starbucks coffee, lattes etc available 24 hrs a day is such a treat. We loved those aspects of this hotel! Free shuttle to and from airport leaves each hr. Work out equipment was excellent and in mint condition, décor of rooms very nice. Sadly, there is a noise problem because the hotel is on a main city street. We asked for a room away from the street on the parking lot side. They didn't have one available and those were reserved for "premium members". They changed our room to the 7th floor stating that noise shouldn't be noticeable that high up. It wasn't too bad on Friday night but Sat night was a different story. It was noisy all night and I didn't sleep AT ALL. The street level noise continued to keep me awake and our neighbors in the next room made things even worse. Otherwise, this is a great hotel. I would recommend that you insist on getting a room that faces the parking lot.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

We ate at Joe's Crab House next door to the hotel. It was fun and the food was great. book and art store across the street was fabulous.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard Newark Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Hockey Fan 2014
Business
Hershey, PA
Jan 26, 2014

Awesome

We stayed at the hotel due to going to a Devils game. There was a parking garage on the back side of the hotel (only $21 for the day since staying in the hotel) that also had a walking bridge into the Prudential Center. Check-in only took a minute. Our room was very very nice and extremely clean. We paid $149 after taxes and this also included breakfast for the 2 of us. The convenience of the bar/mini restaurant was awesome. The staff was the best. Very friendly, courteous and attentive. This was definitely the best hotel I've stayed in for this cheap. The only thing this hotel is missing is an indoor pool. Otherwise I would rate this 5 out of 5. But for what they have, cleanliness, staff and convenience, this is 4.7 out of 5 for as low as the rate is. Awesome stay!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Pay the extra $10 for the room fee for breakfast. Our breakfast would have been $23.00 but we saved $13 by paying for it when book the room for only $10 more.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard Newark Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
RFSJ
Business
New York, NY
Jan 2, 2013

A Fine New Year's Eve

I visited this hotel over New Year's Eve, arriving about 6 PM. the staff were uniformly polite and cheerful, and I easily got my check-out extended an hour when I needed it. This is a standard Courtyard, but it is brand-new and it shows. The decor is warm and modern. The restaurant food was quite good. My king suite was very nice indeed, to my mind, with spacious rooms, a fine comfortable bed, and lots of furniture. I appreciate the (standard) free wi-fi very much. I'd visit this location again if I needed to stay in Downtown Newark.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard Newark Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SuperAKSue
Business
Anchorage, AK
Dec 15, 2012

Perfect venue location

It couldn't get any better than this hotel's 'right next door' location's to the Prudential Center where the concert we attended was held. The staff wes extremely frendly and directed us to good nearby restaurants that would fit anyone's budget........

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great BBQ food

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard Newark Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mita Chakra
Business
Newark, New Jersy
Oct 17, 2012

Housekeeping was terrible & Restaurant aweful

We stayed for 3 nights & did not clean our room not even a single day. Every night we came back from tour & had to call front desk & ask for towel, soap, shampoo & had to clean bed. Front desk was totally surprised & told us sorry. That's aweful. They are the one should manage these things. Just said I will notify to my manager, If I were in his or her shoes I will come to my customer room & clean the room. They just said sorry & doing their job. On the top of that they send us bill for parking charge. We didn't even bring our car, We came by train. Also another problem. Restaurent serve us cold food. We ordered Salmon, green beans & potato, all veg was cold & fish was luke warm. It was pricey also.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Train station

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top