$88 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jan 15, 2015 Check-out: Jan 17, 2015

BEST WESTERN PLUS Robert Treat Hotel

3 stars
50 Park Place, Newark, NJ 07102-4398
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
140 reviews
What a wonderful stay

Friendly staff, Convient location to the city, what a wonderful historic hotel to stay in, five out... See full review

  • aprince
  • Nov 19, 2014
nice

very nice... See full review

  • goodiehbhbh
  • Aug 6, 2014
Luxury Newark landmark hotel restored with contemporary amenities

The historic Best Western Plus Robert Treat Hotel envelops guests in the grace and elegance of the early 1900s and the luxuries of contemporary living. The hotel has hosted five presidents, yet its low-key atmosphere and attentive staff ensure that honeymooners and business travelers feel equally at home. Robert Treat features an award-winning restaurant with an extensive wine list, free deluxe breakfast, a business center, meeting space and a fitness center. Hotel shuttles serve both the Newark airport and train station. Outdoor parking is free.

Highlights
  • Landmark hotel, exquisitely restored for the 21st century
  • Dine at award-winning restaurant, with an exceptional wine list
  • Hotel-provided shuttle service to either Newark airport or Newark Penn Station
  • Request a room with a view of the park, or NYC
  • Impressive ballroom available, which can seat up to 1,500 guests
Location

Best Western Plus Robert Treat Hotel is in downtown Newark, next to the New Jersey Historical Society, New Jersey Performing Arts Center and other cultural destinations. Lower Manhattan is a short drive away.

Rooms

Guest rooms and suites at Best Western Plus Robert Treat Hotel feature classic neutral palettes and historic design elements. All include high-speed Internet access (fees apply), as well as cable/satellite TV with HBO. Rooms also have a spacious work desk, dataport, refrigerator, coffee-maker and hair-dryer. Some rooms have a New York City or park view.

Dining

Enjoy free deluxe Continental breakfast service daily. The sumptuous and award-winning Maize restaurant at Best Western Plus Robert Treat Hotel serves breakfast, lunch and dinner 7 days a week. The restaurant also offers an extensive wine list and tea menu. Enjoy cocktails at the rooftop lounge bar and grill.

Recreation

Keep up with a workout routine – the hotel's exercise facility is open from 5 a.m. to midnight daily. The fitness center features a stair stepper, stationary bike, treadmill, rowing machine and more.

Transportation
  • Newark Penn Station (0.7 mi/1.2 km)
  • Newark Liberty International Airport (4.7 mi/7.6 km)
  • Hotel provides Newark train and airport shuttle service
Attractions
  • New Jersey Performing Arts Center (Adjacent)
  • Newark Museum (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • Prudential Center (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Giants Stadium (9.8 mi/15.8 km)
  • Manhattan (10.2 mi/16.5 km)
Business
  • 6 fully-equipped conference rooms, each can host up to 50 people
  • 5 banquet rooms, including the Tri-State Ballroom which can seat up to 1,500 guests
  • Business center
  • Audiovisual equipment
  • High-speed Internet access (fees apply)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed BEST WESTERN PLUS Robert Treat Hotel also booked these hotels.

BEST WESTERN PLUS Robert Treat Hotel Rooms

2 DOUBLE BEDS
2 DOUBLE BEDS,NSMK,REFRIG,HI SPEED,COFMKR,HAIR,IRON,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
1 DOUBLE BED
1 DOUBLE BED,SMOK,REFRIG,HI SPEED,COFMKR,HAIR,IRON,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
SUITE-1 KING BED
SUITE-1 KING BED,SMOK,JACUZI,SOFABD,CONFERENC AREA,MICRFG,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
SUITE-1 KING BED
SUITE-1 KING BED,SMOK,JACUZI,SOFABD,WINE RACK,MICRFG,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
1 QUEEN BED
1 QUEEN BED,MOBILITY ACCESSIBLE,ROLL IN SHOWER,NSMK,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
2 DOUBLE BEDS
2 DOUBLE BEDS,SMOK,REFRIG,HI SPEED,COFMKR,HAIR,IRON,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,NSMK,REFRIG,HI SPEED,COFMKR,HAIR,IRON,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,SMOK,REFRIG,HI SPEED,COFMKR,HAIR,IRON,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
1 QUEEN BED
1 QUEEN BED,NSMK,REFRIG,HI SPEED,COFMKR,HAIR,IRON,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
1 QUEEN BED
1 QUEEN BED,SMOK,REFRIG,HI SPEED,COFMKR,HAIR,IRON,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
1 QUEEN BED
1 QUEEN BED,NSMK,HI SPEED NET,SOFABED,REFRIG,COFMKR,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
SUITE-1 KING BED
SUITE-1 KING BED,SMOK,JACUZZI,SOFABD,MICRFRG,HI SPEED,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
1 QUEEN BED
1 QUEEN BED,SMOK,HI SPEED NET,SOFABED,REFRIG,COFMKR,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Exercise gym
Jacuzzi
Dining
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Coffee shop
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Laundry service
Guest laundromat
Concierge desk
Security
Wake-up service
Multilingual
Airline desk
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Outdoor parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
Sofa bed
Electronic door locks
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Prudential Center: 0.4 mi

Dining

Maize
Maize, on premises, full service, Mediterranean, open for: breakfast, lunch, dinner, Zagat rated 3 Diamond fine dining
Iberia Peninsula
0.80 mile(s) from Iberia Peninsula, bar/lounge, steak house, open for: lunch, dinner, Seafood
Titanic
0.80 mile(s) from Titanic, bar/lounge, Seafood, open for: lunch, dinner, Portuguese
Key Club
Adjacent to Key Club, bar/lounge, American, open for: lunch, dinner,
Don Pepe
Across the street from Don Pepe, bar/lounge, steak house, open for: lunch, dinner, Seafood

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (140)

Ratings and reviews for BEST WESTERN PLUS Robert Treat Hotel

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
28 out of 140
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
3.8
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
3.9
Value:
4.4

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Robert Treat Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Weary of Robert Treat
Business
Ft Lauderdal
Sep 27, 2010

Weary of Robert Treat

One of the worst.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Robert Treat Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Unhappy in Jersey
Business
Des Moines, IA
Jun 10, 2010

Best Western Robert Treat

We landed at Newark Airport around 7 AM and called the hotel to check on Shuttle Times. The front desk staff stated that the shuttle ran 24 hours a day and was at the airport every 20 minutes. We waited for 45 minutes at the shuttle stop and the shuttle never came. I called the hotel and we were told the shuttle had just pulled out from the hotel and would be at the airport in 10-15 minutes tops. We waited another 30 minutes and the shuttle did not come. I called the front desk and spoke to the same person as before. This time, the front desk told me that the shuttle drivers had not shown up to work yet and the hotel would get to us as soon as they could. This was our first experience with the hotel. We finally got to the hotel around 9 am, just in time to eat breakfast. We had a horrible situation with our flights and could not make it to the hotel on the night we had planned. The hotel refused to give us any sort of refund or discount even though I had called the night before to let the hotel know of our flight problems. On another occassion, we were in a group of about 6 people waiting to be picked up by the shuttle from Newark Penn Station. The shuttle was suppossed to run every 15 minutes to this station. After waiting 45 minutes, I called the hotel. The phone rang more than 15 times and no one answered. I called 2 more times before I decided to let the phone ring until someone picked up. The phone rang 45 times before it was answered. I asked the front desk why it took so long to answer the phone and the person hung up on me. The shuttle drivers would arrive at the hotel after their scheduled arrival time, which made themlate for the next scheduled departure. Instead of grabbing a group of people and going, the shuttle driver would let everyone board the shuttle. Then he would get out, go sit in the lobby for 20 minutes until the next scheduled departure time. The breakfast was pretty good, but the staff at the breakfast room was unfriendly. The hotel room we had was older and the wallpaper was peeling away from the wall. Some renovations to the property were needed. We were told by the front desk staff when we checked in not to go wandering at night, especially to/from the train station. I heard good things about the on-site restaurant, but did not get a chance to try it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Robert Treat Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
SC
Aug 5, 2010

good

nice presidental suite

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Robert Treat Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
jennp
Business
pittsburgh, pa
Jul 26, 2012

hotel review

we asked for an ironing board and did not get one and ice machine had no ice. food in the restaurant was not good. other than that hotel was ok. the free parking was nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Robert Treat Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
lawilog
Business
Germany
Oct 1, 2012

Only good if you arrieve in Newark airport

The hotel is near the Newark airport (in Sept 2012 the taxi was $20). However, if you arrive in JFK or LGA airport, you need a long taxi ride ($75 one way). You need almost the same money (and about one hour) to get into the city. For this money, you might as well get a more expensive hotel right in the city of New York. If you arrive in Newark airport and need to stay somewhere for one night, this is a good place. You get what you've paid for.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
1
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Robert Treat Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Peg2
Business
Oakland, CA
Apr 16, 2013

convenient location for NYC

Nice hotel~ convenient from airport and great location to get into NYC. Nice that hotel offers drop off/pick up to Newark Penn for heading into NYC. Breakfast was nice and Breakfast staff very friendly and helpful

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Robert Treat Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Fatah
Business
Tunis, Tunisia
Aug 8, 2014

Correct. Convenient for NYC or Newark.

I wish the staff were more friendly and helpful. They were distant and listless - especially at the front desk.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Robert Treat Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
thislittlepiggy
Business
London, UK
Jan 5, 2012

Great for the price

We wanted somewhere not far from the airport where we could rest our heads after a late flight and it was perfect - nice, clean room and lots to choose from for breakfast the next day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Robert Treat Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
book31
Business
syracuse, ny
May 17, 2012

good service

the crib is nice. the breakfast is fine. the location is good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Robert Treat Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Melissa14AGT
Business
Sherrill NY
Aug 31, 2012

Americas Got Talent

My family and I stayed here while attending a broadcasting of Americas Got Talent. It was perfect! This hotel is very nice--clean, safe, conveniently located across the street from NJPAC, and inexpensive. And to top it all off, all of the AGT contestants stay here so we saw many of them throughout our stay! The only drawback--their on-site restaurant was expensive and not very good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top