$90 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Apr 30, 2015 Check-out: May 1, 2015

BEST WESTERN PLUS Robert Treat Hotel

3 stars
View map of 50 Park Place, Newark, NJ 07102-4398

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
145 reviews
Great

Wonderful................................................................................ See full review

  • Scheep666
  • Apr 6, 2015
Night On the town

It was such a great place to stay....I loved it!!! See full review

  • Regina M.
  • Apr 1, 2015
Luxury Newark landmark hotel restored with contemporary amenities

The historic Best Western Plus Robert Treat Hotel envelops guests in the grace and elegance of the early 1900s and the luxuries of contemporary living. The hotel has hosted five presidents, yet its low-key atmosphere and attentive staff ensure that honeymooners and business travelers feel equally at home. Robert Treat features an award-winning restaurant with an extensive wine list, free deluxe breakfast, a business center, meeting space and a fitness center. Hotel shuttles serve both the Newark airport and train station. Outdoor parking is free.

Highlights
  • Landmark hotel, exquisitely restored for the 21st century
  • Dine at award-winning restaurant, with an exceptional wine list
  • Hotel-provided shuttle service to either Newark airport or Newark Penn Station
  • Request a room with a view of the park, or NYC
  • Impressive ballroom available, which can seat up to 1,500 guests
Location

Best Western Plus Robert Treat Hotel is in downtown Newark, next to the New Jersey Historical Society, New Jersey Performing Arts Center and other cultural destinations. Lower Manhattan is a short drive away.

Rooms

Guest rooms and suites at Best Western Plus Robert Treat Hotel feature classic neutral palettes and historic design elements. All include high-speed Internet access (fees apply), as well as cable/satellite TV with HBO. Rooms also have a spacious work desk, dataport, refrigerator, coffee-maker and hair-dryer. Some rooms have a New York City or park view.

Dining

Enjoy free deluxe Continental breakfast service daily. The sumptuous and award-winning Maize restaurant at Best Western Plus Robert Treat Hotel serves breakfast, lunch and dinner 7 days a week. The restaurant also offers an extensive wine list and tea menu. Enjoy cocktails at the rooftop lounge bar and grill.

Recreation

Keep up with a workout routine – the hotel's exercise facility is open from 5 a.m. to midnight daily. The fitness center features a stair stepper, stationary bike, treadmill, rowing machine and more.

Transportation
  • Newark Penn Station (0.7 mi/1.2 km)
  • Newark Liberty International Airport (4.7 mi/7.6 km)
  • Hotel provides Newark train and airport shuttle service
Attractions
  • New Jersey Performing Arts Center (Adjacent)
  • Newark Museum (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • Prudential Center (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Giants Stadium (9.8 mi/15.8 km)
  • Manhattan (10.2 mi/16.5 km)
Business
  • 6 fully-equipped conference rooms, each can host up to 50 people
  • 5 banquet rooms, including the Tri-State Ballroom which can seat up to 1,500 guests
  • Business center
  • Audiovisual equipment
  • High-speed Internet access (fees apply)

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed BEST WESTERN PLUS Robert Treat Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

BEST WESTERN PLUS Robert Treat Hotel Rooms

2 DOUBLE BEDS
2 DOUBLE BEDS,NSMK,REFRIG,HI SPEED,COFMKR,HAIR,IRON,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
1 DOUBLE BED
1 DOUBLE BED,SMOK,REFRIG,HI SPEED,COFMKR,HAIR,IRON,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
SUITE-1 KING BED
SUITE-1 KING BED,SMOK,JACUZI,SOFABD,CONFERENC AREA,MICRFG,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
SUITE-1 KING BED
SUITE-1 KING BED,SMOK,JACUZI,SOFABD,WINE RACK,MICRFG,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
1 QUEEN BED
1 QUEEN BED,MOBILITY ACCESSIBLE,ROLL IN SHOWER,NSMK,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
2 DOUBLE BEDS
2 DOUBLE BEDS,SMOK,REFRIG,HI SPEED,COFMKR,HAIR,IRON,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,NSMK,REFRIG,HI SPEED,COFMKR,HAIR,IRON,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,SMOK,REFRIG,HI SPEED,COFMKR,HAIR,IRON,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
1 QUEEN BED
1 QUEEN BED,NSMK,REFRIG,HI SPEED,COFMKR,HAIR,IRON,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
1 QUEEN BED
1 QUEEN BED,SMOK,REFRIG,HI SPEED,COFMKR,HAIR,IRON,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
1 QUEEN BED
1 QUEEN BED,NSMK,HI SPEED NET,SOFABED,REFRIG,COFMKR,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
SUITE-1 KING BED
SUITE-1 KING BED,SMOK,JACUZZI,SOFABD,MICRFRG,HI SPEED,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
1 QUEEN BED
1 QUEEN BED,SMOK,HI SPEED NET,SOFABED,REFRIG,COFMKR,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Exercise gym
Jacuzzi
Dining
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Coffee shop
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Laundry service
Guest laundromat
Concierge desk
Security
Wake-up service
Multilingual
Airline desk
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Outdoor parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
Sofa bed
Electronic door locks
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Prudential Center: 0.4 mi

Dining

Maize
Maize, on premises, full service, Mediterranean, open for: breakfast, lunch, dinner, Zagat rated 3 Diamond fine dining
Iberia Peninsula
0.80 mile(s) from Iberia Peninsula, bar/lounge, steak house, open for: lunch, dinner, Seafood
Titanic
0.80 mile(s) from Titanic, bar/lounge, Seafood, open for: lunch, dinner, Portuguese
Key Club
Adjacent to Key Club, bar/lounge, American, open for: lunch, dinner,
Don Pepe
Across the street from Don Pepe, bar/lounge, steak house, open for: lunch, dinner, Seafood

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for BEST WESTERN PLUS Robert Treat Hotel

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
43 out of 145
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3.6
Comfort:
3.8
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.7

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Robert Treat Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Allan CA
Business
Los angeles, Ca
Jan 8, 2013

very poor costumer service

There is no wifi in my room and they said apple products cannot get their wifi! hello I'm not stupid! I ended up not having wifi. I called in for a shaving set, they said they will deliver it in my room but never did.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Robert Treat Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Unitek Trainee
Business
CO
Sep 21, 2009

Subpar

I was at the hotel for a training session in the adjacent office building. The bathroom fan in the first room I was in ran constantly and when I called the front desk they told me that happens on the 14th floor, if I did not like I could close the bathroom door and put a towel underneath. When I said that wasn't a solution they said they had no other rooms available for my week long stay. Only after I called Orbitz was I moved to a room on the next day. The sheets in the first room we old enough to have little fuzz balls. The next room they moved me to was better but you can hear lots between rooms. The staff was not friendly or helpful. And to top it all off, everyone in our training class got sick from meals served in the hotel restaurant.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Robert Treat Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
teepaul
Business
Chicago
Dec 5, 2011

averagely decent

Average in every way. Not special...but not scary either (and in NY you can certainly find scary at this price). Plusses are that it's close to the Newark Path station that goes direct to WTC, the rooms are decent. The breakfast room is quite good. And good value. But nothing special.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Robert Treat Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Jawadmoh
Business
CA
Dec 9, 2011

BEST WESTERN PLUS Robert Treat Hotel

I reserved a none smoking room, but they were going to give me a smoking room, after arguing with the staff they give me an handicap room wich i refused. so finalley after 45 min they give me a room in the lowest level of the hotel which no one has been there in a while.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Robert Treat Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
TopMarc
Business
VIrginia
Dec 16, 2012

Tired decor, tired staff, poor experience

Booked a non-smoking room - got a smoking room and front desk staff not interested in helping me by finding what i wanted. Room was old, shower curtain hanging off its mountings, the start of mold growing on the tiles and the smell of stale cigarette smoke. I didnt eat at the restaurants in the hotel but still received a phone call in my room at 12.30 am one morning from an angry restaurant manager insisting i give him my credit card information - i tried to explain i didnt eat in their restaurant (so i cant comment on the quality of the food or service) but he demanded he came to my room to get my details (i refused and asked to speak to the manager). When the manager came on the line he said there had been a mix-up and the bill was for another room - no apology he just hung up on me. Fitness room was cold and smelly - the water in the water fountain had a bad taste. This hotel should be avoided if you can find another nearby. The location was patrolled regularly by police which would normally inspire confidence and safety but in this case was simply disconcerting - i can imagine that trouble kicks off in this neighbourhood on a regular basis. I was glad to leave and will not return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Robert Treat Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Raymo1
Business
Chicago, IL
Sep 17, 2013

Useless Key Cards

I was disappointed because for the 3 days I stayed the key card to the room never worked. The desk clerks re-issued key cards on 3 different occasions but they never functioned. Every time I wanted to access the room I had to get a security person or desk clerk to accompany me to the room and open the room with a traditional metal key. It was very frustrating to say the least. I tried to change my room but was told none were available. Also the beverage machines directly in front of my room made a very annoying and relentless beeping sound which disturbed me from a restful sleep.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Ferry Street restaurants are good.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Robert Treat Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
THE LAST CONNISEUR
Business
PORTLAND, OR
Oct 6, 2013

OVERPRICED OBSOLESCENCE

Our room was rather smallish for two people so I had to rearrange the furniture in order to maneuver. It featured a rinky-dink analog TV set. The was one microwave oven for the entire hotel on the 11th floor. It was stocked with 1,000 styrofoam coffee cups but not a single microwave-safe plate. Their newstand wanted $12 for a pack of Marlboros, available down the street for $7. The Business Center charged 20 cents a minute to use a computer. The French Dip sandwich that Room Service delivered was so lousy that I threw it away after one bite. One day I went down to the lobby to speak with the Night Clerk. The Security Guard and another employee both converged on the conversation. Whiile the Continental Breakfast wasn't too bad, the dining room was so crowded that I had to put the Corn Flakes on my stool. To top it off, I was charged an extra day because I was only booked for five days instead of six. Best Western ought to treat the management of the Robert Treat hotel to a refresher course on Customer Satisfaction because the only nice thing about this place was the shuttle that drove me away.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Buy everything you need in downtown Newark. It's just a couple of blocks away and dramatically cheaper.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Robert Treat Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston
Oct 1, 2009

Never again

No answer while ordering room service. No answer (30) rings to operator to see if room service was even available. Housekeeper shut A/C off each day. Nasty stuff on artwork, wallpaper, bathroom dirty!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Robert Treat Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Emilyshall
Business
San Francisco ca
May 21, 2014

Not for biz travel

Covers some basics like free breakfast and small gym. But no desk in the queen room so don't plan on getting much productivity from your time in the room. Tiny room. Hair dryer attached to wall kept blowing circuit in bathroom every two min. I booked because close to EWR and Penn station to get in NYC but next time would go to Hilton

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Restaurant at NJPAC across the street was fab

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Robert Treat Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
adventrav
Business
Tábor, Czech Republic
Apr 5, 2012

Decent hotel with convenient access to Manhattan

The most important reason why I chose to stay in this hotel is that it is located within walking distance from the Newark PATH train station. The downside is that there is pretty much nothing to do, see, or eat in the immediate neighborhood of the hotel. The room was nice, clean, and comfortable. The reception staff was not particularly helpful, often due to incompetence. For example, I wanted to stay for a few more days, and pay for the remaining days in advance. The lady at the front desk was telling me this was not possible, and only when I pulled my papers, and showed her that I had done this once before, she reluctantly went to ask the manager, and sure enough it was indeed possible. Hence, if you need anything from the hotel staff, be persistent. All in all, I think it's a good place to stay if you need to commute to Manhattan, as the hotel is decent, not expensive, and it's 10 minutes from a train station.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top