$104 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 9, 2014 Check-out: Aug 10, 2014

BEST WESTERN PLUS Robert Treat Hotel

3 stars
50 Park Place, Newark, NJ 07102-4398
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
171 reviews
review

EVERYTHING WAS GOOD..NICE AND QUIET AND RESPECTFUL PEOPLE. See full review

  • KENDELL
  • Mar 5, 2014
great hotel inear airport and NY

This hotel is a very good stay and easy inexpensive transit to NY city. My husband and I took the... See full review

  • Ann andJerry
  • Dec 14, 2013
Luxury Newark landmark hotel restored with contemporary amenities

The historic Best Western Plus Robert Treat Hotel envelops guests in the grace and elegance of the early 1900s and the luxuries of contemporary living. The hotel has hosted five presidents, yet its low-key atmosphere and attentive staff ensure that honeymooners and business travelers feel equally at home. Robert Treat features an award-winning restaurant with an extensive wine list, free deluxe breakfast, a business center, meeting space and a fitness center. Hotel shuttles serve both the Newark airport and train station. Outdoor parking is free.

Highlights
  • Landmark hotel, exquisitely restored for the 21st century
  • Dine at award-winning restaurant, with an exceptional wine list
  • Hotel-provided shuttle service to either Newark airport or Newark Penn Station
  • Request a room with a view of the park, or NYC
  • Impressive ballroom available, which can seat up to 1,500 guests
Location

Best Western Plus Robert Treat Hotel is in downtown Newark, next to the New Jersey Historical Society, New Jersey Performing Arts Center and other cultural destinations. Lower Manhattan is a short drive away.

Rooms

Guest rooms and suites at Best Western Plus Robert Treat Hotel feature classic neutral palettes and historic design elements. All include high-speed Internet access (fees apply), as well as cable/satellite TV with HBO. Rooms also have a spacious work desk, dataport, refrigerator, coffee-maker and hair-dryer. Some rooms have a New York City or park view.

Dining

Enjoy free deluxe Continental breakfast service daily. The sumptuous and award-winning Maize restaurant at Best Western Plus Robert Treat Hotel serves breakfast, lunch and dinner 7 days a week. The restaurant also offers an extensive wine list and tea menu. Enjoy cocktails at the rooftop lounge bar and grill.

Recreation

Keep up with a workout routine – the hotel's exercise facility is open from 5 a.m. to midnight daily. The fitness center features a stair stepper, stationary bike, treadmill, rowing machine and more.

Transportation
  • Newark Penn Station (0.7 mi/1.2 km)
  • Newark Liberty International Airport (4.7 mi/7.6 km)
  • Hotel provides Newark train and airport shuttle service
Attractions
  • New Jersey Performing Arts Center (Adjacent)
  • Newark Museum (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • Prudential Center (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Giants Stadium (9.8 mi/15.8 km)
  • Manhattan (10.2 mi/16.5 km)
Business
  • 6 fully-equipped conference rooms, each can host up to 50 people
  • 5 banquet rooms, including the Tri-State Ballroom which can seat up to 1,500 guests
  • Business center
  • Audiovisual equipment
  • High-speed Internet access (fees apply)

Hotel Map

40.7391 -74.1687
Area served
Jersey City, Seaside Heights, Hillside, Queens,, Irvington, Manhattan,, Elizabeth, Livingstone, Brooklyn,, Harrison, West Orange, Kearney, East Orange, Meadowland
Nearby airports
(EWR), 3.00, MI, S;
Area description
Downtown

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed BEST WESTERN PLUS Robert Treat Hotel also booked these hotels.

BEST WESTERN PLUS Robert Treat Hotel Rooms

2 DOUBLE BEDS
2 DOUBLE BEDS,NSMK,REFRIG,HI SPEED,COFMKR,HAIR,IRON,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
1 DOUBLE BED
1 DOUBLE BED,SMOK,REFRIG,HI SPEED,COFMKR,HAIR,IRON,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
SUITE-1 KING BED
SUITE-1 KING BED,SMOK,JACUZI,SOFABD,CONFERENC AREA,MICRFG,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
SUITE-1 KING BED
SUITE-1 KING BED,SMOK,JACUZI,SOFABD,WINE RACK,MICRFG,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
1 QUEEN BED
1 QUEEN BED,MOBILITY ACCESSIBLE,ROLL IN SHOWER,NSMK,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
2 DOUBLE BEDS
2 DOUBLE BEDS,SMOK,REFRIG,HI SPEED,COFMKR,HAIR,IRON,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,NSMK,REFRIG,HI SPEED,COFMKR,HAIR,IRON,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,SMOK,REFRIG,HI SPEED,COFMKR,HAIR,IRON,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
1 QUEEN BED
1 QUEEN BED,NSMK,REFRIG,HI SPEED,COFMKR,HAIR,IRON,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
1 QUEEN BED
1 QUEEN BED,SMOK,REFRIG,HI SPEED,COFMKR,HAIR,IRON,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
1 QUEEN BED
1 QUEEN BED,NSMK,HI SPEED NET,SOFABED,REFRIG,COFMKR,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
SUITE-1 KING BED
SUITE-1 KING BED,SMOK,JACUZZI,SOFABD,MICRFRG,HI SPEED,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
1 QUEEN BED
1 QUEEN BED,SMOK,HI SPEED NET,SOFABED,REFRIG,COFMKR,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Exercise gym
Jacuzzi
Dining
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Coffee shop
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Laundry service
Guest laundromat
Concierge desk
Security
Wake-up service
Multilingual
Airline desk
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Outdoor parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
Sofa bed
Electronic door locks
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Prudential Center: 0.4 mi

Dining

Key Club
Adjacent to Key Club, bar/lounge, American, open for: lunch, dinner,
Titanic
0.80 mile(s) from Titanic, bar/lounge, Seafood, open for: lunch, dinner, Portuguese
Don Pepe
Across the street from Don Pepe, bar/lounge, steak house, open for: lunch, dinner, Seafood
Maize
Maize, on premises, full service, Mediterranean, open for: breakfast, lunch, dinner, Zagat rated 3 Diamond fine dining
Iberia Peninsula
0.80 mile(s) from Iberia Peninsula, bar/lounge, steak house, open for: lunch, dinner, Seafood

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (171)

Ratings and reviews for BEST WESTERN PLUS Robert Treat Hotel

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
171 out of 171
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
3.6
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
3.9
Value:
4.1

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Robert Treat Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cosme Vargas
Monterrey, NL, Mx
Sep 25, 2013

Comfortable experience !!

The hotel has free shuttle from Newark Airport. On our way to the hotel, the driver was telling the story of the hotel. It's an historic hotel where some presidents and famous people had stayed in the past. The staff hospitality was amazing, I receive help everytime, especially when I need directions. The room was very clean and bed was really comfortable. I enjoy my stay, I will definitely come back, thinking to go back on 2016, when they will celebrate 100 years!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Robert Treat Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kiwitweet
concord,nc
May 13, 2013

great location

shuttle to penn station would have been helpful unfortunately was not available during our stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Robert Treat Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jblu
Kissimmee, FL, USA
Sep 5, 2011

very good

Great value. the free shuttle was not always available but it was a good value. the room was clean and comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Robert Treat Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Stud McKenzy
New Jersey
Nov 18, 2010

Much more then I though for the price

This hotel was better theb i though,very nice and clean and the rooms also very clean and modern looking. The staff was very helpful The only down side is that its in Newark NJ

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Robert Treat Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Nic Nic
Barbados
Apr 24, 2014

Great hotel

Hotel centrally located. Clean, great staff. Excellent parking attendants, was very helpful. Good value for money. I would recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Robert Treat Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Auburn, Maine
Nov 6, 2010

Great stay near NYC

Excellent value and nice hotel. 15 min walk to Newark Penn Station which is 20 minutes by PATH to Manhattan. Great breakfast, clean, spacious rooms, good desk service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Why pay more and stay in Manhattan?

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Robert Treat Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
J for Joy
Business
Boston
Apr 21, 2013

Good place

The shuttle to Newark Penn Station and airport is very convenient.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Robert Treat Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Angela from Alaska
Alaska
May 17, 2012

Great short term!

The price I paid for this room was incredibly reasonable. Very clean and nicely decorated room, decent amount of TV channels, all the provisions I needed, wonderful restaurant, over-all great room. The front desk attendants could have been a bit friendlier but they helped me with everything I needed. Shuttle was awesome. Restaurant staff was fantastic (as well as the food!) and the menu at the bar was very reasonably priced. The shuttle service was great and really easy to figure out! Only issue I could think of is the plumbing (hard to flush the toilet) and how the water tastes... In my home in Alaska, water is totally drinkable from the tap. Water in Newark seemed to taste like it had plant life in it! Be sure to bring water or maybe just run their water through the mini coffee maker once or twice :P

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Dining tip: In Hotel

Beautiful restaurant, but your best bet is the bar menu if you don't want to spend $50 bucks for each person.

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Robert Treat Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jblu
Kissimmee, FL, USA
Sep 5, 2011

very good

Great value. the free shuttle was not always available but it was a good value. the room was clean and comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Robert Treat Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Nesi
Business
Ft. Lauderdale, FL
Jul 11, 2013

Good location

My room was very clean, and well-equipped, with the exception of a microwave - which I would have liked. Notwithstanding that, it was right next to the NJPAO; not too far a walk to Newark Penn Station, although they did have shuttle buses, I was too impatient to wait. My shuttle bus to the airport was great, and it stopped at the terminal of your departure, unlike another hotel I stayed, that left me at the air-tram, and almost caused me to miss my flight. All in all, it was a very good experience, and I would book this hotel in the future. Most all places were of a business nature, and all within walking distance - which was a big plus and saved me from car rental fees or taxis.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The restaurant in the hotel had really good quality food. I also visited one of the many Portuguese restaurants, which Newark is well-known for. My next trip will have to include the Performing Arts Center, which is directly across the street, and has a nice assortment of hi-end entertainers.

Back to menu Return to top