$104 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Apr 10, 2015 Check-out: Apr 12, 2015

BEST WESTERN PLUS Robert Treat Hotel

3 stars
View map of 50 Park Place, Newark, NJ 07102-4398

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for BEST WESTERN PLUS Robert Treat Hotel

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
143 out of 143
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
3.7
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
3.9
Value:
4

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Robert Treat Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Nic Nic
Business
Barbados
Apr 16, 2014

Great place

The hotel ambience was pleasing. The staff were very pleasant and helpful. The room was clean. I was especially pleased with the parking attendants who ensured your vehicle was safe. Overall it was a very good stay. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Robert Treat Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Nic Nic
Business
Barbados
Apr 24, 2014

Great hotel

Hotel centrally located. Clean, great staff. Excellent parking attendants, was very helpful. Good value for money. I would recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Robert Treat Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
RobinN
Business
West Bloomfield, MI
Jun 2, 2014

Worked out well

We booked a package online. This hotel is across the street from a lovely Military Park and the New Jersey Performing Arts Center where we had an event. We didn't know it was so close. We walked. Nice area of downtown. Parking awkward but suitable and free. Prudential Center a 15 minute walk away. Our room was cold due to the AC. We shut it off. Hotel shuts off the heat starting May. Only AC available. Had a blower fan on constantly in the bathroom. No way to turn it off. Annoying but we shut the door. Cold air vent blew directly into shower. Could have just been our room. Didn't ask for a change. Just got more blankets. Hotel restaurant Maize quite good, good service and accommodating. Walked 3 blocks to NJ Penn Station. Took a round trip train into NY Penn Station for $10. 15 minute train ride put us at Seventh Ave and 30th st. Would stay at hotel again for convenience of not fussing with NY traffic and hotels. They shuttle to and from the airport.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Robert Treat Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Oregon
May 23, 2011

Great hotel for NYC trip.

Wife and I stayed here for our NYC trip. Located just 1/2 mile from PATH train into NYC. Took the train into the city every day and had no problems walking back to the hotel late at night. Only problem with the hotel was that the elevators seemed slow and the toilets seemed to not want to flush.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Robert Treat Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jblu
Business
Kissimmee, FL, USA
Sep 3, 2011

Great value.

Great value compared to hotel rates in NYC. Free shuttle to Penn station NJ is a big plus, it's trying to get back that's an issue. Out of 4 days, we only were able to get a shuttle back to the hotel only once. After calling multiple times and being lied to by the front desk regarding shuttle ETA we wound up walking back most times (which isn't too long, but a pain after having spent an entire day walking in the city). Other than that, we saved lots of $$ staying here as opposed to NYC. Taking the subway was a piece of cake and the room was clean and pretty. The restaurant in the hotel was too expensive for being so average (not recommended). Parking was convenient, free and secured. I would definately return to this hotel for $90 up to $120 a night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Plan to walk back to the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Robert Treat Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
stepa
Business
Austin, TX
Oct 13, 2010

Good choice for Newark

Clean and comfortable. Big TV. Near Performing Arts Center and train station. Bell staff and breakfast staff were great, but the folks behind the desk were a little surly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Robert Treat Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York
Jan 31, 2010

Great value

I was expecting something much worse for $80 a night [...]. I've stayed at the Hilton there for $230 and for a difference of $150 the only thing you're paying for is customer service. The folks at the front desk did everything correctly, there was just no smile. I don't mind saving $150 to not receive a smile, but I have lived in NYC... The room was updated, renovated, clean, and had all the amenities that the Hilton had. Actually, there was also a mini fridge but no bathrobe. Free wi-fi, free breakfast. It felt classy -- I can't believe I got that price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Short (10 min) walk to Newark Penn Station.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Robert Treat Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
travel tuba
Business
Seattle, WA
Feb 23, 2011

Very Comfortable

The hotel was very nice. Everything was clean and easy. The 24 hour shuttle service is a very handy service. The staff are knowledge, friendly, and responsive. The price was quite reasonable as well. This is a great option for staying in downtown Newark.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Check out Mi Pequena Mexico (just past Newark Penn Station from the hotel) for some Excellent Mexican food.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Robert Treat Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Kurtistown, Hi.
Jan 26, 2010

clean and conveinent

Nice rooms, clean, easy transportation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Robert Treat Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston
Feb 23, 2011

Great value for the price

Budget price for a solid business hotel. Underrated here, I think. Soft sheets & towels, ice machine, free wifi, very clean room, nice bathroom. Breakfast was comprehensive, though lacking in healthy options. Nice location, near NJPAC and downtown. Free shuttle to/from Newark Penn Station & Newark Airport. Free luggage storage. Free parking. Staff was helpful but generally not polite. Travel to NYC: 20 minutes via NJ Transit ($5). 30-40 minutes via NJ PATH ($1.75).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top