$85 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 3, 2014 Check-out: Sep 4, 2014

BEST WESTERN PLUS Robert Treat Hotel

3 stars
50 Park Place, Newark, NJ 07102-4398
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
141 reviews
nice

very nice... See full review

  • goodiehbhbh
  • Aug 6, 2014
review

EVERYTHING WAS GOOD..NICE AND QUIET AND RESPECTFUL PEOPLE. See full review

  • KENDELL
  • Mar 5, 2014
Luxury Newark landmark hotel restored with contemporary amenities

The historic Best Western Plus Robert Treat Hotel envelops guests in the grace and elegance of the early 1900s and the luxuries of contemporary living. The hotel has hosted five presidents, yet its low-key atmosphere and attentive staff ensure that honeymooners and business travelers feel equally at home. Robert Treat features an award-winning restaurant with an extensive wine list, free deluxe breakfast, a business center, meeting space and a fitness center. Hotel shuttles serve both the Newark airport and train station. Outdoor parking is free.

Highlights
  • Landmark hotel, exquisitely restored for the 21st century
  • Dine at award-winning restaurant, with an exceptional wine list
  • Hotel-provided shuttle service to either Newark airport or Newark Penn Station
  • Request a room with a view of the park, or NYC
  • Impressive ballroom available, which can seat up to 1,500 guests
Location

Best Western Plus Robert Treat Hotel is in downtown Newark, next to the New Jersey Historical Society, New Jersey Performing Arts Center and other cultural destinations. Lower Manhattan is a short drive away.

Rooms

Guest rooms and suites at Best Western Plus Robert Treat Hotel feature classic neutral palettes and historic design elements. All include high-speed Internet access (fees apply), as well as cable/satellite TV with HBO. Rooms also have a spacious work desk, dataport, refrigerator, coffee-maker and hair-dryer. Some rooms have a New York City or park view.

Dining

Enjoy free deluxe Continental breakfast service daily. The sumptuous and award-winning Maize restaurant at Best Western Plus Robert Treat Hotel serves breakfast, lunch and dinner 7 days a week. The restaurant also offers an extensive wine list and tea menu. Enjoy cocktails at the rooftop lounge bar and grill.

Recreation

Keep up with a workout routine – the hotel's exercise facility is open from 5 a.m. to midnight daily. The fitness center features a stair stepper, stationary bike, treadmill, rowing machine and more.

Transportation
  • Newark Penn Station (0.7 mi/1.2 km)
  • Newark Liberty International Airport (4.7 mi/7.6 km)
  • Hotel provides Newark train and airport shuttle service
Attractions
  • New Jersey Performing Arts Center (Adjacent)
  • Newark Museum (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • Prudential Center (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Giants Stadium (9.8 mi/15.8 km)
  • Manhattan (10.2 mi/16.5 km)
Business
  • 6 fully-equipped conference rooms, each can host up to 50 people
  • 5 banquet rooms, including the Tri-State Ballroom which can seat up to 1,500 guests
  • Business center
  • Audiovisual equipment
  • High-speed Internet access (fees apply)

Hotel Map

40.7391 -74.1687
Area served
Livingstone, Brooklyn,, East Orange, Irvington, Seaside Heights, Jersey City, Meadowland, Manhattan,, Elizabeth, Hillside, Queens,, Kearney, West Orange, Harrison
Nearby airports
(EWR), 3.00, MI, S;
Area description
Downtown

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed BEST WESTERN PLUS Robert Treat Hotel also booked these hotels.

BEST WESTERN PLUS Robert Treat Hotel Rooms

2 DOUBLE BEDS
2 DOUBLE BEDS,NSMK,REFRIG,HI SPEED,COFMKR,HAIR,IRON,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
1 DOUBLE BED
1 DOUBLE BED,SMOK,REFRIG,HI SPEED,COFMKR,HAIR,IRON,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
SUITE-1 KING BED
SUITE-1 KING BED,SMOK,JACUZI,SOFABD,CONFERENC AREA,MICRFG,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
SUITE-1 KING BED
SUITE-1 KING BED,SMOK,JACUZI,SOFABD,WINE RACK,MICRFG,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
1 QUEEN BED
1 QUEEN BED,MOBILITY ACCESSIBLE,ROLL IN SHOWER,NSMK,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
2 DOUBLE BEDS
2 DOUBLE BEDS,SMOK,REFRIG,HI SPEED,COFMKR,HAIR,IRON,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,NSMK,REFRIG,HI SPEED,COFMKR,HAIR,IRON,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,SMOK,REFRIG,HI SPEED,COFMKR,HAIR,IRON,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
1 QUEEN BED
1 QUEEN BED,NSMK,REFRIG,HI SPEED,COFMKR,HAIR,IRON,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
1 QUEEN BED
1 QUEEN BED,SMOK,REFRIG,HI SPEED,COFMKR,HAIR,IRON,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
1 QUEEN BED
1 QUEEN BED,NSMK,HI SPEED NET,SOFABED,REFRIG,COFMKR,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
SUITE-1 KING BED
SUITE-1 KING BED,SMOK,JACUZZI,SOFABD,MICRFRG,HI SPEED,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
1 QUEEN BED
1 QUEEN BED,SMOK,HI SPEED NET,SOFABED,REFRIG,COFMKR,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Exercise gym
Jacuzzi
Dining
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Coffee shop
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Laundry service
Guest laundromat
Concierge desk
Security
Wake-up service
Multilingual
Airline desk
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Outdoor parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
Sofa bed
Electronic door locks
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Prudential Center: 0.4 mi

Dining

Titanic
0.80 mile(s) from Titanic, bar/lounge, Seafood, open for: lunch, dinner, Portuguese
Maize
Maize, on premises, full service, Mediterranean, open for: breakfast, lunch, dinner, Zagat rated 3 Diamond fine dining
Don Pepe
Across the street from Don Pepe, bar/lounge, steak house, open for: lunch, dinner, Seafood
Iberia Peninsula
0.80 mile(s) from Iberia Peninsula, bar/lounge, steak house, open for: lunch, dinner, Seafood
Key Club
Adjacent to Key Club, bar/lounge, American, open for: lunch, dinner,

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (141)

Ratings and reviews for BEST WESTERN PLUS Robert Treat Hotel

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
141 out of 141
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
3.6
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
3.9
Value:
4

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Robert Treat Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kiwitweet
concord,nc
May 13, 2013

great location

shuttle to penn station would have been helpful unfortunately was not available during our stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Robert Treat Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TravelingMr.B
Dallas
May 15, 2013

price effective New York stay

It may be an older hotel that could use a little updating but its a terrific value. Shuttle to Penn Station and Newark airport made it easy to get to NYC on the train. big rooms, full workout room not just a bike and full restaurant but upscale and pricy. The downside is that that there are almost no other restaurants close by but there are a couple of Italian places that deliver and are cheap but good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Robert Treat Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Philgood
Bethesda MD
Jun 4, 2013

A good value

Very clean,well located. Easy access to the airport and Newark Penn Station. The shuttle is free.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Robert Treat Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
V.Kumar
Doha, Qatar
Jul 13, 2013

Convenient for a short stay

Peaceful and convenient. The availability of shuttle to the airport and Penn station makes things easy even for a first time traveler to the east coast. The sumptuous breakfast provided was good. The amenities in the room were of a decent quality however the room felt cramped up as we were a family of three carrying a lot of luggage.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Robert Treat Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Nesi
Business
Ft. Lauderdale, FL
Jul 11, 2013

Good location

My room was very clean, and well-equipped, with the exception of a microwave - which I would have liked. Notwithstanding that, it was right next to the NJPAO; not too far a walk to Newark Penn Station, although they did have shuttle buses, I was too impatient to wait. My shuttle bus to the airport was great, and it stopped at the terminal of your departure, unlike another hotel I stayed, that left me at the air-tram, and almost caused me to miss my flight. All in all, it was a very good experience, and I would book this hotel in the future. Most all places were of a business nature, and all within walking distance - which was a big plus and saved me from car rental fees or taxis.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The restaurant in the hotel had really good quality food. I also visited one of the many Portuguese restaurants, which Newark is well-known for. My next trip will have to include the Performing Arts Center, which is directly across the street, and has a nice assortment of hi-end entertainers.

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Robert Treat Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Pipe
Newport
Sep 3, 2013

good location

15 mins walk from newark penn station. and you can travel easily to and from NY with NJ transit

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Robert Treat Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cosme Vargas
Monterrey, NL, Mx
Sep 25, 2013

Comfortable experience !!

The hotel has free shuttle from Newark Airport. On our way to the hotel, the driver was telling the story of the hotel. It's an historic hotel where some presidents and famous people had stayed in the past. The staff hospitality was amazing, I receive help everytime, especially when I need directions. The room was very clean and bed was really comfortable. I enjoy my stay, I will definitely come back, thinking to go back on 2016, when they will celebrate 100 years!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Robert Treat Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Grandpa djb
Business
Cedar Rapids, Iowas
Oct 4, 2013

Business travel

Hotel staff was courteous and room was clean. Only issue was waiting for 1 hour at the airport for the shuttle.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Robert Treat Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
NY Jets Fan
London, UK
Nov 2, 2013

Great for downtown Newark

Clean, comfortable, good value for money and excellent location 10 mins walking distance to Newark Penn Station for the frequent NJ Transit to Manhattan and Meadowlands. I stayed here because I wanted a quick and easy commute to Manhattan and Metlife Stadium. The location and the hotel was a bonus plus the downtown area 10 mins walk has some ok dining and take out options

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

No need to stay in the overpriced hotels of Manhattan. From this location it was easy and 20 mins away by train you arrive in New York Penn station via NJ Transit

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Robert Treat Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rlal
Business
Washington, DC
Oct 31, 2013

Good for business trips

Overall positive experience. I arrived 7am and while I was scheduled to check in later that day, the room was ready and I was able to do some reading while I waited for my meeting. They even offered my breakfast. Newark Penn station is very close (about 0.3 miles) and you can easily get into Manhattan in about 20 minutes. There's also a shuttle form the hotel to Penn Station if you need it. I only stayed one night here, but the room was spacious, well lit and clean. Oh and free wi-fi is always a major plus.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top

Change search