$104 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 9, 2014 Check-out: Aug 10, 2014

BEST WESTERN PLUS Robert Treat Hotel

3 stars
50 Park Place, Newark, NJ 07102-4398
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
171 reviews
review

EVERYTHING WAS GOOD..NICE AND QUIET AND RESPECTFUL PEOPLE. See full review

  • KENDELL
  • Mar 5, 2014
great hotel inear airport and NY

This hotel is a very good stay and easy inexpensive transit to NY city. My husband and I took the... See full review

  • Ann andJerry
  • Dec 14, 2013
Luxury Newark landmark hotel restored with contemporary amenities

The historic Best Western Plus Robert Treat Hotel envelops guests in the grace and elegance of the early 1900s and the luxuries of contemporary living. The hotel has hosted five presidents, yet its low-key atmosphere and attentive staff ensure that honeymooners and business travelers feel equally at home. Robert Treat features an award-winning restaurant with an extensive wine list, free deluxe breakfast, a business center, meeting space and a fitness center. Hotel shuttles serve both the Newark airport and train station. Outdoor parking is free.

Highlights
  • Landmark hotel, exquisitely restored for the 21st century
  • Dine at award-winning restaurant, with an exceptional wine list
  • Hotel-provided shuttle service to either Newark airport or Newark Penn Station
  • Request a room with a view of the park, or NYC
  • Impressive ballroom available, which can seat up to 1,500 guests
Location

Best Western Plus Robert Treat Hotel is in downtown Newark, next to the New Jersey Historical Society, New Jersey Performing Arts Center and other cultural destinations. Lower Manhattan is a short drive away.

Rooms

Guest rooms and suites at Best Western Plus Robert Treat Hotel feature classic neutral palettes and historic design elements. All include high-speed Internet access (fees apply), as well as cable/satellite TV with HBO. Rooms also have a spacious work desk, dataport, refrigerator, coffee-maker and hair-dryer. Some rooms have a New York City or park view.

Dining

Enjoy free deluxe Continental breakfast service daily. The sumptuous and award-winning Maize restaurant at Best Western Plus Robert Treat Hotel serves breakfast, lunch and dinner 7 days a week. The restaurant also offers an extensive wine list and tea menu. Enjoy cocktails at the rooftop lounge bar and grill.

Recreation

Keep up with a workout routine – the hotel's exercise facility is open from 5 a.m. to midnight daily. The fitness center features a stair stepper, stationary bike, treadmill, rowing machine and more.

Transportation
  • Newark Penn Station (0.7 mi/1.2 km)
  • Newark Liberty International Airport (4.7 mi/7.6 km)
  • Hotel provides Newark train and airport shuttle service
Attractions
  • New Jersey Performing Arts Center (Adjacent)
  • Newark Museum (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • Prudential Center (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Giants Stadium (9.8 mi/15.8 km)
  • Manhattan (10.2 mi/16.5 km)
Business
  • 6 fully-equipped conference rooms, each can host up to 50 people
  • 5 banquet rooms, including the Tri-State Ballroom which can seat up to 1,500 guests
  • Business center
  • Audiovisual equipment
  • High-speed Internet access (fees apply)

BEST WESTERN PLUS Robert Treat Hotel Rooms

2 DOUBLE BEDS
2 DOUBLE BEDS,NSMK,REFRIG,HI SPEED,COFMKR,HAIR,IRON,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
1 DOUBLE BED
1 DOUBLE BED,SMOK,REFRIG,HI SPEED,COFMKR,HAIR,IRON,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
SUITE-1 KING BED
SUITE-1 KING BED,SMOK,JACUZI,SOFABD,CONFERENC AREA,MICRFG,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
SUITE-1 KING BED
SUITE-1 KING BED,SMOK,JACUZI,SOFABD,WINE RACK,MICRFG,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
1 QUEEN BED
1 QUEEN BED,MOBILITY ACCESSIBLE,ROLL IN SHOWER,NSMK,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
2 DOUBLE BEDS
2 DOUBLE BEDS,SMOK,REFRIG,HI SPEED,COFMKR,HAIR,IRON,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,NSMK,REFRIG,HI SPEED,COFMKR,HAIR,IRON,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,SMOK,REFRIG,HI SPEED,COFMKR,HAIR,IRON,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
1 QUEEN BED
1 QUEEN BED,NSMK,REFRIG,HI SPEED,COFMKR,HAIR,IRON,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
1 QUEEN BED
1 QUEEN BED,SMOK,REFRIG,HI SPEED,COFMKR,HAIR,IRON,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
1 QUEEN BED
1 QUEEN BED,NSMK,HI SPEED NET,SOFABED,REFRIG,COFMKR,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
SUITE-1 KING BED
SUITE-1 KING BED,SMOK,JACUZZI,SOFABD,MICRFRG,HI SPEED,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
1 QUEEN BED
1 QUEEN BED,SMOK,HI SPEED NET,SOFABED,REFRIG,COFMKR,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Exercise gym
Jacuzzi
Dining
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Coffee shop
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Laundry service
Guest laundromat
Concierge desk
Security
Wake-up service
Multilingual
Airline desk
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Outdoor parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
Sofa bed
Electronic door locks
Ironing board

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed BEST WESTERN PLUS Robert Treat Hotel also booked these hotels.

Hotel Map

40.7391 -74.1687
Area served
Jersey City, Seaside Heights, Hillside, Queens,, Irvington, Manhattan,, Elizabeth, Livingstone, Brooklyn,, Harrison, West Orange, Kearney, East Orange, Meadowland
Nearby airports
(EWR), 3.00, MI, S;
Area description
Downtown

Nearby points of interest

  • Prudential Center: 0.4 mi

Dining

Key Club
Adjacent to Key Club, bar/lounge, American, open for: lunch, dinner,
Titanic
0.80 mile(s) from Titanic, bar/lounge, Seafood, open for: lunch, dinner, Portuguese
Don Pepe
Across the street from Don Pepe, bar/lounge, steak house, open for: lunch, dinner, Seafood
Maize
Maize, on premises, full service, Mediterranean, open for: breakfast, lunch, dinner, Zagat rated 3 Diamond fine dining
Iberia Peninsula
0.80 mile(s) from Iberia Peninsula, bar/lounge, steak house, open for: lunch, dinner, Seafood

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (171)

Ratings and reviews for BEST WESTERN PLUS Robert Treat Hotel

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
171 out of 171
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
3.6
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
3.9
Value:
4.1

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Robert Treat Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
most incredible one
Newark NJ
Apr 25, 2013

very nice, plan to start again

Thoroughly enjoyed, very quiet and peaceful. Only thing missing was microwave

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Robert Treat Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York
Jan 31, 2010

Great value

I was expecting something much worse for $80 a night [...]. I've stayed at the Hilton there for $230 and for a difference of $150 the only thing you're paying for is customer service. The folks at the front desk did everything correctly, there was just no smile. I don't mind saving $150 to not receive a smile, but I have lived in NYC... The room was updated, renovated, clean, and had all the amenities that the Hilton had. Actually, there was also a mini fridge but no bathrobe. Free wi-fi, free breakfast. It felt classy -- I can't believe I got that price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Short (10 min) walk to Newark Penn Station.

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Robert Treat Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Oregon
May 23, 2011

Great hotel for NYC trip.

Wife and I stayed here for our NYC trip. Located just 1/2 mile from PATH train into NYC. Took the train into the city every day and had no problems walking back to the hotel late at night. Only problem with the hotel was that the elevators seemed slow and the toilets seemed to not want to flush.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Robert Treat Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Chattanooga
Jul 31, 2010

nice place to stay

The rooms are very nice and spotless. The hotel is in a great location for quick access to Newark and New York City. Parking was free. Room service was quick with friendly staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Penn station was only a couple blocks away from the hotel. We rode the PATH trains to and from NYC for 25cents a ride. The PATH trains travel to Ground Zero, and all the way up to 33rd street and Broadway.

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Robert Treat Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Washington, DC
Jul 1, 2010

Pretty good for the price

It was a really good location near the downtown area of the city. I was pleasantly surprised by the quality of the room and hotel because the rate was very low compared to other hotels. I'd definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

The hotel is a 2 min drive to Newark Penn Station. You can go there and take the train to New York Penn Station. Its only a 15 min train ride and you're in the heart of NY.

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Robert Treat Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Forever alone24
Syracuse,NY
Nov 30, 2013

Thanksgiving trip

most of the staff are very friendly. Good location. Very close to NYC. Quiet and clean room. Great stay!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Robert Treat Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jblu
Kissimmee, FL, USA
Sep 3, 2011

Great value.

Great value compared to hotel rates in NYC. Free shuttle to Penn station NJ is a big plus, it's trying to get back that's an issue. Out of 4 days, we only were able to get a shuttle back to the hotel only once. After calling multiple times and being lied to by the front desk regarding shuttle ETA we wound up walking back most times (which isn't too long, but a pain after having spent an entire day walking in the city). Other than that, we saved lots of $$ staying here as opposed to NYC. Taking the subway was a piece of cake and the room was clean and pretty. The restaurant in the hotel was too expensive for being so average (not recommended). Parking was convenient, free and secured. I would definately return to this hotel for $90 up to $120 a night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Plan to walk back to the hotel.

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Robert Treat Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Boston, MA
Feb 7, 2010

Good hotel in downtown Newark

Our room was noisy -- there was an annoying chirping sound all night that we couldn't figure out the source of. However, my parents' room didn't have the same noise (though, in both our rooms, there was no way we could find to turn off the bathroom vent. This bothered them but not us.) The hotel has a shuttle and picked us up from the airport and from Newark Penn Station, although it was quite slow (~45 mins, 3 phone calls to front desk) in getting to the hotel. Also when we got to the hotel on a Friday night there was a big party going on in the hotel. This didn't bother us beyond the fact that parking wasn't as close to the front door as it could have been. Breakfast was nice, oatmeal, hard boiled eggs, cereal, tea/coffee, bagels, pastries. Not too shabby at all for a free breakfast. Fun fact: there are a few bookshelves in the breakfast lounge with all sorts of fiction to read. As I understand it, it's kind of an honor system book shelf: take one up to the room to read, or exchange one of theirs for one of yours.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Getting to/from Manhattan costs $15 from Newark Airport, and only $4 from Newark Penn Station, which is only a few blocks from this hotel.

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Robert Treat Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Boston
Feb 23, 2011

Great value for the price

Budget price for a solid business hotel. Underrated here, I think. Soft sheets & towels, ice machine, free wifi, very clean room, nice bathroom. Breakfast was comprehensive, though lacking in healthy options. Nice location, near NJPAC and downtown. Free shuttle to/from Newark Penn Station & Newark Airport. Free luggage storage. Free parking. Staff was helpful but generally not polite. Travel to NYC: 20 minutes via NJ Transit ($5). 30-40 minutes via NJ PATH ($1.75).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Robert Treat Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
thislittlepiggy
London, UK
Jan 5, 2012

Great for the price

We wanted somewhere not far from the airport where we could rest our heads after a late flight and it was perfect - nice, clean room and lots to choose from for breakfast the next day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top