$104 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 8, 2014 Check-out: May 9, 2014

BEST WESTERN PLUS Robert Treat Hotel

3 stars
50 Park Place, Newark, NJ 07102-4398
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
117 reviews
review

EVERYTHING WAS GOOD..NICE AND QUIET AND RESPECTFUL PEOPLE. See full review

  • KENDELL
  • Mar 5, 2014
great hotel inear airport and NY

This hotel is a very good stay and easy inexpensive transit to NY city. My husband and I took the... See full review

  • Ann andJerry
  • Dec 14, 2013
Luxury Newark landmark hotel restored with contemporary amenities

The historic Best Western Plus Robert Treat Hotel envelops guests in the grace and elegance of the early 1900s and the luxuries of contemporary living. The hotel has hosted five presidents, yet its low-key atmosphere and attentive staff ensure that honeymooners and business travelers feel equally at home. Robert Treat features an award-winning restaurant with an extensive wine list, free deluxe breakfast, a business center, meeting space and a fitness center. Hotel shuttles serve both the Newark airport and train station. Outdoor parking is free.

Highlights
  • Landmark hotel, exquisitely restored for the 21st century
  • Dine at award-winning restaurant, with an exceptional wine list
  • Hotel-provided shuttle service to either Newark airport or Newark Penn Station
  • Request a room with a view of the park, or NYC
  • Impressive ballroom available, which can seat up to 1,500 guests
Location

Best Western Plus Robert Treat Hotel is in downtown Newark, next to the New Jersey Historical Society, New Jersey Performing Arts Center and other cultural destinations. Lower Manhattan is a short drive away.

Rooms

Guest rooms and suites at Best Western Plus Robert Treat Hotel feature classic neutral palettes and historic design elements. All include high-speed Internet access (fees apply), as well as cable/satellite TV with HBO. Rooms also have a spacious work desk, dataport, refrigerator, coffee-maker and hair-dryer. Some rooms have a New York City or park view.

Dining

Enjoy free deluxe Continental breakfast service daily. The sumptuous and award-winning Maize restaurant at Best Western Plus Robert Treat Hotel serves breakfast, lunch and dinner 7 days a week. The restaurant also offers an extensive wine list and tea menu. Enjoy cocktails at the rooftop lounge bar and grill.

Recreation

Keep up with a workout routine – the hotel's exercise facility is open from 5 a.m. to midnight daily. The fitness center features a stair stepper, stationary bike, treadmill, rowing machine and more.

Transportation
  • Newark Penn Station (0.7 mi/1.2 km)
  • Newark Liberty International Airport (4.7 mi/7.6 km)
  • Hotel provides Newark train and airport shuttle service
Attractions
  • New Jersey Performing Arts Center (Adjacent)
  • Newark Museum (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • Prudential Center (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Giants Stadium (9.8 mi/15.8 km)
  • Manhattan (10.2 mi/16.5 km)
Business
  • 6 fully-equipped conference rooms, each can host up to 50 people
  • 5 banquet rooms, including the Tri-State Ballroom which can seat up to 1,500 guests
  • Business center
  • Audiovisual equipment
  • High-speed Internet access (fees apply)

BEST WESTERN PLUS Robert Treat Hotel Rooms

2 DOUBLE BEDS
2 DOUBLE BEDS,NSMK,REFRIG,HI SPEED,COFMKR,HAIR,IRON,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
1 DOUBLE BED
1 DOUBLE BED,SMOK,REFRIG,HI SPEED,COFMKR,HAIR,IRON,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
SUITE-1 KING BED
SUITE-1 KING BED,SMOK,JACUZI,SOFABD,CONFERENC AREA,MICRFG,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
SUITE-1 KING BED
SUITE-1 KING BED,SMOK,JACUZI,SOFABD,WINE RACK,MICRFG,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
1 QUEEN BED
1 QUEEN BED,MOBILITY ACCESSIBLE,ROLL IN SHOWER,NSMK,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
2 DOUBLE BEDS
2 DOUBLE BEDS,SMOK,REFRIG,HI SPEED,COFMKR,HAIR,IRON,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,NSMK,REFRIG,HI SPEED,COFMKR,HAIR,IRON,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,SMOK,REFRIG,HI SPEED,COFMKR,HAIR,IRON,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
1 QUEEN BED
1 QUEEN BED,NSMK,REFRIG,HI SPEED,COFMKR,HAIR,IRON,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
1 QUEEN BED
1 QUEEN BED,SMOK,REFRIG,HI SPEED,COFMKR,HAIR,IRON,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
1 QUEEN BED
1 QUEEN BED,NSMK,HI SPEED NET,SOFABED,REFRIG,COFMKR,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
SUITE-1 KING BED
SUITE-1 KING BED,SMOK,JACUZZI,SOFABD,MICRFRG,HI SPEED,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
1 QUEEN BED
1 QUEEN BED,SMOK,HI SPEED NET,SOFABED,REFRIG,COFMKR,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Exercise gym
Jacuzzi
Dining
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Coffee shop
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Laundry service
Guest laundromat
Concierge desk
Security
Wake-up service
Multilingual
Airline desk
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Outdoor parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
Sofa bed
Electronic door locks
Ironing board

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed BEST WESTERN PLUS Robert Treat Hotel also booked these hotels.

Hotel Map

40.7391 -74.1687
Area served
Jersey City, Seaside Heights, Hillside, Queens,, Irvington, Manhattan,, Elizabeth, Livingstone, Brooklyn,, Harrison, West Orange, Kearney, East Orange, Meadowland
Nearby airports
(EWR), 3.00, MI, S;
Area description
Downtown

Nearby points of interest

  • Prudential Center: 0.4 mi

Dining

Key Club
Adjacent to Key Club, bar/lounge, American, open for: lunch, dinner,
Titanic
0.80 mile(s) from Titanic, bar/lounge, Seafood, open for: lunch, dinner, Portuguese
Don Pepe
Across the street from Don Pepe, bar/lounge, steak house, open for: lunch, dinner, Seafood
Maize
Maize, on premises, full service, Mediterranean, open for: breakfast, lunch, dinner, Zagat rated 3 Diamond fine dining
Iberia Peninsula
0.80 mile(s) from Iberia Peninsula, bar/lounge, steak house, open for: lunch, dinner, Seafood

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (117)

Ratings and reviews for BEST WESTERN PLUS Robert Treat Hotel

Overall score

3.6 / 5
117 out of 117
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
3.6
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
3.8
Value:
4

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Robert Treat Hotel

Reviewer score

4
NicolefromAK
Alaska
Jan 6, 2013

Perfect for visiting NYC

The hotel was pretty nice, me and my boyfriend stayed 4 nights around new years and the room was nice. Everything was clean, cable worked, and free breakfast was nice but nothing fancy. We had a nice view of the NYC skyline. Only a few cons: Rooms weren't that sound proof, our neighbors were fighting for about an hour and we could hear everything, there wasn't a bathroom fan, and internet was very slow. Pros: super close to Newark Penn Station, the hotel will shuttle you to the train station for free. From there it is only a 5 dollar train ride per person to get to New York Penn station within 20 minutes. When we would get back to newark late we would take a cab from the train station to the hotel and it cost around 7-10 dollars only. Walgreens was close to train station. Room service was pretty reasonable if you ordered for lunch. The pizza, chicken parmesan sandwhich, and quesadilla were all delicious. I definitely will come back again for the price of 100 bucks a night on new years if I can't be in NYC.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

If you're trying to get to New York City, go to Newark Penn Station, buy a ticket to New York Penn station from the NJ Transit kiosks, it's only 5 bucks, go to track 1 and take train 1 and you should be good to go. It's a short ride and only stops once. If the ticket guy does not collect your ticket during the ride you can use it another time as long as its from newark penn to new york penn, saved us money a lot.

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Robert Treat Hotel

Reviewer score

4
Grandpa djb
Business
Cedar Rapids, Iowas
Oct 4, 2013

Business travel

Hotel staff was courteous and room was clean. Only issue was waiting for 1 hour at the airport for the shuttle.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Robert Treat Hotel

Reviewer score

4
Early Riser JC
New Jersey
Oct 15, 2012

Great Hidden Deal

I have stayed at the hotel on numerous occasions and the staff are always accommodating as well as the rooms are fresh (non-smoking) and clean. The restaurant is very upscale (a little on the expensive side.) You are a short safe NJT or PATH train ride to NY or walk to the Ironbound section of Newark NJ.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Ironbound Section Newark, NJ

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Robert Treat Hotel

Reviewer score

4
Dish
Newark, NJ, USA
Jan 13, 2012

Couples Getway

Friendly staff, good location next to path station.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Robert Treat Hotel

Reviewer score

4
most incredible one
Newark NJ
Apr 25, 2013

very nice, plan to start again

Thoroughly enjoyed, very quiet and peaceful. Only thing missing was microwave

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Robert Treat Hotel

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
Business
New York
Jan 31, 2010

Great value

I was expecting something much worse for $80 a night [...]. I've stayed at the Hilton there for $230 and for a difference of $150 the only thing you're paying for is customer service. The folks at the front desk did everything correctly, there was just no smile. I don't mind saving $150 to not receive a smile, but I have lived in NYC... The room was updated, renovated, clean, and had all the amenities that the Hilton had. Actually, there was also a mini fridge but no bathrobe. Free wi-fi, free breakfast. It felt classy -- I can't believe I got that price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Short (10 min) walk to Newark Penn Station.

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Robert Treat Hotel

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
Oregon
May 23, 2011

Great hotel for NYC trip.

Wife and I stayed here for our NYC trip. Located just 1/2 mile from PATH train into NYC. Took the train into the city every day and had no problems walking back to the hotel late at night. Only problem with the hotel was that the elevators seemed slow and the toilets seemed to not want to flush.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Robert Treat Hotel

Reviewer score

4
Forever alone24
Syracuse,NY
Nov 30, 2013

Thanksgiving trip

most of the staff are very friendly. Good location. Very close to NYC. Quiet and clean room. Great stay!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Robert Treat Hotel

Reviewer score

4
jblu
Kissimmee, FL, USA
Sep 3, 2011

Great value.

Great value compared to hotel rates in NYC. Free shuttle to Penn station NJ is a big plus, it's trying to get back that's an issue. Out of 4 days, we only were able to get a shuttle back to the hotel only once. After calling multiple times and being lied to by the front desk regarding shuttle ETA we wound up walking back most times (which isn't too long, but a pain after having spent an entire day walking in the city). Other than that, we saved lots of $$ staying here as opposed to NYC. Taking the subway was a piece of cake and the room was clean and pretty. The restaurant in the hotel was too expensive for being so average (not recommended). Parking was convenient, free and secured. I would definately return to this hotel for $90 up to $120 a night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Plan to walk back to the hotel.

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Robert Treat Hotel

Reviewer score

4
thislittlepiggy
London, UK
Jan 5, 2012

Great for the price

We wanted somewhere not far from the airport where we could rest our heads after a late flight and it was perfect - nice, clean room and lots to choose from for breakfast the next day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top