$99 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 5, 2015 Check-out: Jul 6, 2015

BEST WESTERN PLUS Robert Treat Hotel

3 stars
View map of 50 Park Place, Newark, NJ 07102-4398

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for BEST WESTERN PLUS Robert Treat Hotel

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
156 out of 156
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
3.7
Comfort:
4
Location:
3.9
Value:
4

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Robert Treat Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
maceventura
Business
San Diego, California
Oct 10, 2012

Good for the price, close to airport

We wanted to be close to the airport. The Treat hotel is about a 10-minute shuttle ride. The pros: free 24-hour shuttle, price, and reasonable walking distance to Penn Station. Cons: outdated decor, trash on the floors, and we had to wait for our room to be cleaned upon check-in. Suggestion: stay in Hoboken or some other happening city if you have the time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Skip Subway and check out the local Airlie's Cafe for delicious Boar's Head sandwiches.

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Robert Treat Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
edspersonal
Business
Arlington, TX
Mar 13, 2013

good value

great access to Penn station and NYC only about 25 minutes via train.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Not Applicable

stay here for the access to Penn Station and rates outside of the city, not a place I would want to be outside at night anywhere around here

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Robert Treat Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Kupffer
Business
San Juan Puerto Rico
Mar 28, 2013

Nothing to do around the area unless you have a car!

The breakfast staff was excellent but the desk needed some work... waited for a shuttle that came, dropped off a person and suddenly left without asking us where we are going...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Robert Treat Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Peg2
Business
Oakland, CA
Apr 16, 2013

convenient location for NYC

Nice hotel~ convenient from airport and great location to get into NYC. Nice that hotel offers drop off/pick up to Newark Penn for heading into NYC. Breakfast was nice and Breakfast staff very friendly and helpful

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Robert Treat Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Fleetwood Mac fan
Business
San Jose, Costa Rica
Apr 29, 2013

Best Western Robert Treat review

The hotel looks good, nice lobby. I didn't like the check in process since I needed to leave the car alone in the back with keys inside, no marked space in front of the hotel for check in customers, just signs showing that you cannot park there. The room was small but clean. The continental breakfast was minimum, usual stuff, except fruits (only apples available# and no yogurt available. Parking was free but shared with the local event in Prudential Center, so you cannot use your car on immediately basis since it was blocked into a crowded parking space. Restaurant in house looked expensive. Front desk people was not so friendly. Location is fine, neighborhood was not bad specially on the Mulberry Street #in the back of the hotel#, on Park Place #front of hotel) there are a lot of people on the streets, so of them want to talk with you while you are walking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Located at a walking distance of Prudential Center, safe to walk in the Mulberry Street towards Prudential.

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Robert Treat Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
EB1217
Business
Farmington Hills, MI, USA
Aug 7, 2013

Location based

The hotel was used for location to Newark Penn Station to and from Manhattan. For that, it is very good with just a few blocks walk to the station. The room itself was nice, beds, desk, tv, refrigerator, etc.... However, the restroom was not updated and was bare bones. It sufficed. The staff was pleasant and tried to help when needed. The Wifi in the room works poorly, and when asked about it, I was informed the weather sometimes knocks it out. On clear days it is still poor. I was provided a cable to hookup at the desk in my room. It was a fix, but I would have preferred to have the Wifi work properly. The restaurant (Maize) was not that impressive. After traveling, or a night in the city, you would like a small bite to eat. Unfortunately, you have the choice of the dinning room or the bar, neither of which has food priced appropriately. I would recommend taking your business elsewhere. A funny story with the separation of dining and the bar. The room is a rectangle, with no walls separating the bar. My group of four sat down in the dining area and asked for the specials which were on the board. We were informed that you have to sit in the bar for them, and rather rudely, informed that is why they are called bar specials. With no seats at the bar itself, merely 20 feet from our table, we were moved one table over between pillars. Kind of silly, especially with the place being empty. I presume the bar and the dinning area are run separately. Again, if you are looking for a place to stay to visit Manhattan and take the train, it does the trick. If you are looking for a halfway decent hotel with some food, go elsewhere.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Niz Sushi, off of Central Avenue, is a few blocks away and a great value. The staff was pleasant, they provided complimentary mussels, the food was great, and once inside, you forget the drab surroundings of the neighborhood.

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Robert Treat Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
austin tx
Sep 29, 2009

great location for a new york trip

I was on a trip to new york and the location of the hotel was great. It was easy to get to Penn Station for local transportation into the city. The only thing that was not so good was the linen on the bed. We asked for clean linen and that never happened. The rooms were small but comfortable. Altogether it was good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Everything is within walking distance. Shopping, dining and transportation.

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Robert Treat Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
A BUSN Traveler
Business
Baltimore, MD, USA
Oct 7, 2011

Great Value for a Budget trip to NY

<10 minutes to Newark Penn Station and a 40 minute ($1.75) PATH train into downtown NYC. The price differential for this time investment is great if you're looking to make a budget business trip (since late nights on the City would make the 40 minute return less reasonable). The staff was nice & professional, the amenities were nice as well, but though the room was clean there was this... smell. Like wet beach towel. Again, it's a value, but not luxury.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Robert Treat Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
atlanta GA
Feb 28, 2011

it needs some considerations

about the location and the facilities it is ok,but the internet is very bad(very slow and difficult to get connected),also the resturant is not as good as suspected(the prices is not fixed)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Robert Treat Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
clair
Business
baltimore, md
Aug 31, 2011

airport shutdown safehaven

I was recently stranded in newark after hurricane irene. I had flown in from stockholm and my connection was cancelled. This was definately a wonnderful port in the storm!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top