$104 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 16, 2015 Check-out: Sep 17, 2015

BEST WESTERN PLUS Robert Treat Hotel

3 stars
View map of 50 Park Place, Newark, NJ 07102-4398

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for BEST WESTERN PLUS Robert Treat Hotel

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
141 out of 141
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
3.7
Comfort:
4
Location:
3.9
Value:
4

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Robert Treat Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Robert Treat
Friends
Newark
Sep 20, 2010

Robert Treat

Our reservations were for three people in one room. Front desk people complained that [...] is always doing that to them and they cannot do that. They were very upset with us and finally gave us a cot for the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Robert Treat Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston
Oct 1, 2009

Never again

No answer while ordering room service. No answer (30) rings to operator to see if room service was even available. Housekeeper shut A/C off each day. Nasty stuff on artwork, wallpaper, bathroom dirty!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Robert Treat Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Emilyshall
Business
San Francisco ca
May 21, 2014

Not for biz travel

Covers some basics like free breakfast and small gym. But no desk in the queen room so don't plan on getting much productivity from your time in the room. Tiny room. Hair dryer attached to wall kept blowing circuit in bathroom every two min. I booked because close to EWR and Penn station to get in NYC but next time would go to Hilton

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Restaurant at NJPAC across the street was fab

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Robert Treat Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
SillyBRabbit
Couples
Newark, New Jersey
Jul 20, 2014

Ok if u need a place to sleep for night

Cool but definetly could have been better. The fridge didnt keep anything cold. Room was small

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Just Fish

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Robert Treat Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
UK
Oct 2, 2010

Nice hotel in a bad location

Location of hotel was good during the day but after dark we felt uncomfortable walking around the area. There were very few places to eat other than in the hotel itself.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
1
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Performing Arts Centre was opposite the hotel.

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Robert Treat Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Rohit
Couples
CO
Oct 19, 2011

Overall good

Everything for this hotel is good. Free shuttle, breakfast, internet are big plus. Only thing which I found bad is front desk representative at night. He was very rude whenever I called him to pick up from aiport or train station.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Robert Treat Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Single
Cincinnati, OH, USA
Oct 21, 2011

Great value

The stay was good for the value,some of the hotel staff could use a refresher course on customer service

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Robert Treat Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Steeler Nation
Friends
Pittsburgh, PA, USA
Dec 21, 2011

Perfect for a business trip...

Overall, this hotel was a nice place to stay. If you are traveling for a business trip, need to travel back and forth to NYC and are looking for a cheaper place to stay, this is the perfect place for you. It was a short distance to the city by the PATH train (the Newark Penn Station is a short walk from the hotel, about 10 minutes) and only took about 20 minutes to get to NYC. The only major downfall for this hotel is that there really isn't much at all to do in the area. Unless you have a car or are willing to travel to the city every night, you will be stuck in the hotel with nothing much to do. Also, the hotel food wasn't that great for what they charge. However, like I said before, this is a great place to stay for a business trip, especially if you do not want to spend an arm and a leg like you would in NYC.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Robert Treat Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
SKKC
Friends
Pittsburgh, PA, USA
Jan 23, 2012

YES!

A few of my friends and i wanted to do an inexpensive weekend trip, so we went to Newark to visit some friends. This hotel was in the perfect location! Food was in walking distance as well as the train station to go to NY. Not to mention it was affordable for a group of college students on a tight budget.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Robert Treat Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Natmo
Couples
Michigan, USA
Apr 4, 2012

Just Okay

This hotel is an older hotel, the rooms need updating but you get a continental breakfast with your stay. The breakfast room is really nice, but they don't tell you about the breakfast or where the room is when you check in (it's on the garage level). The toilet in the bathroom was really weird, has a plunger handle like the public restrooms and you can't flush it unless the lid is down. Overall, the hotel wasn't too bad, it is very close to Penn station which is where you need to go if you are going to NY. The hotel has a 24 hr shuttle to take you to and from Penn station. A direct train ride to NY (from Penn Station Newark to Penn Station Madison Square Gardens) will cost you $10 round trip per person. The parking at the hotel sucks, it's free but extremely limited. The underground garage connected to the hotel is not owned by the hotel so if you are not careful and park there by accident you will have to pay. This was my first trip to NY and if you stay here, park your car and take public transit. The traffic in NY and the surrounding areas is insane. The only bad thing was that I wasn't too sure about how safe the neighborhood was. The train station is close enough to walk (only a few blocks away) but I opted to take the shuttle because I wasn't sure about the neighborhood. On our way home, I noticed that there was a 24 hr Subway restaurant a few blocks over so the neighborhood can't be too bad, but better safe than sorry. I would probably stay there again. A decent price, you get what you pay for in that area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Shopping tip: Not Applicable

Take the train to Penn Station in NYC and leave your car at the hotel. Don't bother driving through NY.

Back to menu Return to top