$104 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 8, 2014 Check-out: May 9, 2014

BEST WESTERN PLUS Robert Treat Hotel

3 stars
50 Park Place, Newark, NJ 07102-4398
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
117 reviews
review

EVERYTHING WAS GOOD..NICE AND QUIET AND RESPECTFUL PEOPLE. See full review

  • KENDELL
  • Mar 5, 2014
great hotel inear airport and NY

This hotel is a very good stay and easy inexpensive transit to NY city. My husband and I took the... See full review

  • Ann andJerry
  • Dec 14, 2013
Luxury Newark landmark hotel restored with contemporary amenities

The historic Best Western Plus Robert Treat Hotel envelops guests in the grace and elegance of the early 1900s and the luxuries of contemporary living. The hotel has hosted five presidents, yet its low-key atmosphere and attentive staff ensure that honeymooners and business travelers feel equally at home. Robert Treat features an award-winning restaurant with an extensive wine list, free deluxe breakfast, a business center, meeting space and a fitness center. Hotel shuttles serve both the Newark airport and train station. Outdoor parking is free.

Highlights
  • Landmark hotel, exquisitely restored for the 21st century
  • Dine at award-winning restaurant, with an exceptional wine list
  • Hotel-provided shuttle service to either Newark airport or Newark Penn Station
  • Request a room with a view of the park, or NYC
  • Impressive ballroom available, which can seat up to 1,500 guests
Location

Best Western Plus Robert Treat Hotel is in downtown Newark, next to the New Jersey Historical Society, New Jersey Performing Arts Center and other cultural destinations. Lower Manhattan is a short drive away.

Rooms

Guest rooms and suites at Best Western Plus Robert Treat Hotel feature classic neutral palettes and historic design elements. All include high-speed Internet access (fees apply), as well as cable/satellite TV with HBO. Rooms also have a spacious work desk, dataport, refrigerator, coffee-maker and hair-dryer. Some rooms have a New York City or park view.

Dining

Enjoy free deluxe Continental breakfast service daily. The sumptuous and award-winning Maize restaurant at Best Western Plus Robert Treat Hotel serves breakfast, lunch and dinner 7 days a week. The restaurant also offers an extensive wine list and tea menu. Enjoy cocktails at the rooftop lounge bar and grill.

Recreation

Keep up with a workout routine – the hotel's exercise facility is open from 5 a.m. to midnight daily. The fitness center features a stair stepper, stationary bike, treadmill, rowing machine and more.

Transportation
  • Newark Penn Station (0.7 mi/1.2 km)
  • Newark Liberty International Airport (4.7 mi/7.6 km)
  • Hotel provides Newark train and airport shuttle service
Attractions
  • New Jersey Performing Arts Center (Adjacent)
  • Newark Museum (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • Prudential Center (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Giants Stadium (9.8 mi/15.8 km)
  • Manhattan (10.2 mi/16.5 km)
Business
  • 6 fully-equipped conference rooms, each can host up to 50 people
  • 5 banquet rooms, including the Tri-State Ballroom which can seat up to 1,500 guests
  • Business center
  • Audiovisual equipment
  • High-speed Internet access (fees apply)

BEST WESTERN PLUS Robert Treat Hotel Rooms

2 DOUBLE BEDS
2 DOUBLE BEDS,NSMK,REFRIG,HI SPEED,COFMKR,HAIR,IRON,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
1 DOUBLE BED
1 DOUBLE BED,SMOK,REFRIG,HI SPEED,COFMKR,HAIR,IRON,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
SUITE-1 KING BED
SUITE-1 KING BED,SMOK,JACUZI,SOFABD,CONFERENC AREA,MICRFG,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
SUITE-1 KING BED
SUITE-1 KING BED,SMOK,JACUZI,SOFABD,WINE RACK,MICRFG,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
1 QUEEN BED
1 QUEEN BED,MOBILITY ACCESSIBLE,ROLL IN SHOWER,NSMK,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
2 DOUBLE BEDS
2 DOUBLE BEDS,SMOK,REFRIG,HI SPEED,COFMKR,HAIR,IRON,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,NSMK,REFRIG,HI SPEED,COFMKR,HAIR,IRON,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,SMOK,REFRIG,HI SPEED,COFMKR,HAIR,IRON,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
1 QUEEN BED
1 QUEEN BED,NSMK,REFRIG,HI SPEED,COFMKR,HAIR,IRON,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
1 QUEEN BED
1 QUEEN BED,SMOK,REFRIG,HI SPEED,COFMKR,HAIR,IRON,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
1 QUEEN BED
1 QUEEN BED,NSMK,HI SPEED NET,SOFABED,REFRIG,COFMKR,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
SUITE-1 KING BED
SUITE-1 KING BED,SMOK,JACUZZI,SOFABD,MICRFRG,HI SPEED,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
1 QUEEN BED
1 QUEEN BED,SMOK,HI SPEED NET,SOFABED,REFRIG,COFMKR,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Exercise gym
Jacuzzi
Dining
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Coffee shop
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Laundry service
Guest laundromat
Concierge desk
Security
Wake-up service
Multilingual
Airline desk
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Outdoor parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
Sofa bed
Electronic door locks
Ironing board

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed BEST WESTERN PLUS Robert Treat Hotel also booked these hotels.

Hotel Map

40.7391 -74.1687
Area served
Jersey City, Seaside Heights, Hillside, Queens,, Irvington, Manhattan,, Elizabeth, Livingstone, Brooklyn,, Harrison, West Orange, Kearney, East Orange, Meadowland
Nearby airports
(EWR), 3.00, MI, S;
Area description
Downtown

Nearby points of interest

  • Prudential Center: 0.4 mi

Dining

Key Club
Adjacent to Key Club, bar/lounge, American, open for: lunch, dinner,
Titanic
0.80 mile(s) from Titanic, bar/lounge, Seafood, open for: lunch, dinner, Portuguese
Don Pepe
Across the street from Don Pepe, bar/lounge, steak house, open for: lunch, dinner, Seafood
Maize
Maize, on premises, full service, Mediterranean, open for: breakfast, lunch, dinner, Zagat rated 3 Diamond fine dining
Iberia Peninsula
0.80 mile(s) from Iberia Peninsula, bar/lounge, steak house, open for: lunch, dinner, Seafood

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (117)

Ratings and reviews for BEST WESTERN PLUS Robert Treat Hotel

Overall score

3.6 / 5
117 out of 117
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
3.6
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
3.8
Value:
4

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Robert Treat Hotel

Reviewer score

2
Raymo1
Business
Chicago, IL
Sep 17, 2013

Useless Key Cards

I was disappointed because for the 3 days I stayed the key card to the room never worked. The desk clerks re-issued key cards on 3 different occasions but they never functioned. Every time I wanted to access the room I had to get a security person or desk clerk to accompany me to the room and open the room with a traditional metal key. It was very frustrating to say the least. I tried to change my room but was told none were available. Also the beverage machines directly in front of my room made a very annoying and relentless beeping sound which disturbed me from a restful sleep.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Ferry Street restaurants are good.

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Robert Treat Hotel

Reviewer score

2
THE LAST CONNISEUR
Business
PORTLAND, OR
Oct 6, 2013

OVERPRICED OBSOLESCENCE

Our room was rather smallish for two people so I had to rearrange the furniture in order to maneuver. It featured a rinky-dink analog TV set. The was one microwave oven for the entire hotel on the 11th floor. It was stocked with 1,000 styrofoam coffee cups but not a single microwave-safe plate. Their newstand wanted $12 for a pack of Marlboros, available down the street for $7. The Business Center charged 20 cents a minute to use a computer. The French Dip sandwich that Room Service delivered was so lousy that I threw it away after one bite. One day I went down to the lobby to speak with the Night Clerk. The Security Guard and another employee both converged on the conversation. Whiile the Continental Breakfast wasn't too bad, the dining room was so crowded that I had to put the Corn Flakes on my stool. To top it off, I was charged an extra day because I was only booked for five days instead of six. Best Western ought to treat the management of the Robert Treat hotel to a refresher course on Customer Satisfaction because the only nice thing about this place was the shuttle that drove me away.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Buy everything you need in downtown Newark. It's just a couple of blocks away and dramatically cheaper.

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Robert Treat Hotel

Reviewer score

2
Robert Treat
Newark
Sep 20, 2010

Robert Treat

Our reservations were for three people in one room. Front desk people complained that [...] is always doing that to them and they cannot do that. They were very upset with us and finally gave us a cot for the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Robert Treat Hotel

Reviewer score

3
Natali
Sacramento, CA, USA
Aug 3, 2012

New York trip

Good location Good transportation service shuttle Cheep and ok rooms

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Robert Treat Hotel

Reviewer score

3
Melissa the Traveler
Boston, Massachusetts
Jul 23, 2012

Did the Trick

The Best Western Plus is a good location when you don't want to spend Manhattan bucks but would like to have the option of going into the city. We visited Newark to go to a Red Bulls soccer match, it's within walking distance to the stadium. The room was updated but we were given a handicap accessible room and I don't think the bathroom had been upgraded - just the sleeping area. Overall an OK stay that included breakfast (although it was very busy on Sunday morning).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Check out the NY Red Bulls in Harrison, NJ!

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Robert Treat Hotel

Reviewer score

3
Anonymous
austin tx
Sep 29, 2009

great location for a new york trip

I was on a trip to new york and the location of the hotel was great. It was easy to get to Penn Station for local transportation into the city. The only thing that was not so good was the linen on the bed. We asked for clean linen and that never happened. The rooms were small but comfortable. Altogether it was good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Everything is within walking distance. Shopping, dining and transportation.

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Robert Treat Hotel

Reviewer score

3
Peg2
Oakland, CA
Apr 16, 2013

convenient location for NYC

Nice hotel~ convenient from airport and great location to get into NYC. Nice that hotel offers drop off/pick up to Newark Penn for heading into NYC. Breakfast was nice and Breakfast staff very friendly and helpful

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Robert Treat Hotel

Reviewer score

3
adventrav
Business
Tábor, Czech Republic
Apr 5, 2012

Decent hotel with convenient access to Manhattan

The most important reason why I chose to stay in this hotel is that it is located within walking distance from the Newark PATH train station. The downside is that there is pretty much nothing to do, see, or eat in the immediate neighborhood of the hotel. The room was nice, clean, and comfortable. The reception staff was not particularly helpful, often due to incompetence. For example, I wanted to stay for a few more days, and pay for the remaining days in advance. The lady at the front desk was telling me this was not possible, and only when I pulled my papers, and showed her that I had done this once before, she reluctantly went to ask the manager, and sure enough it was indeed possible. Hence, if you need anything from the hotel staff, be persistent. All in all, I think it's a good place to stay if you need to commute to Manhattan, as the hotel is decent, not expensive, and it's 10 minutes from a train station.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Robert Treat Hotel

Reviewer score

3
Steeler Nation
Pittsburgh, PA, USA
Dec 21, 2011

Perfect for a business trip...

Overall, this hotel was a nice place to stay. If you are traveling for a business trip, need to travel back and forth to NYC and are looking for a cheaper place to stay, this is the perfect place for you. It was a short distance to the city by the PATH train (the Newark Penn Station is a short walk from the hotel, about 10 minutes) and only took about 20 minutes to get to NYC. The only major downfall for this hotel is that there really isn't much at all to do in the area. Unless you have a car or are willing to travel to the city every night, you will be stuck in the hotel with nothing much to do. Also, the hotel food wasn't that great for what they charge. However, like I said before, this is a great place to stay for a business trip, especially if you do not want to spend an arm and a leg like you would in NYC.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
4
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Robert Treat Hotel

Reviewer score

3
lawilog
Germany
Oct 1, 2012

Only good if you arrieve in Newark airport

The hotel is near the Newark airport (in Sept 2012 the taxi was $20). However, if you arrive in JFK or LGA airport, you need a long taxi ride ($75 one way). You need almost the same money (and about one hour) to get into the city. For this money, you might as well get a more expensive hotel right in the city of New York. If you arrive in Newark airport and need to stay somewhere for one night, this is a good place. You get what you've paid for.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
1
Value:
3
Back to menu Return to top