$104 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 9, 2014 Check-out: Aug 10, 2014

BEST WESTERN PLUS Robert Treat Hotel

3 stars
50 Park Place, Newark, NJ 07102-4398
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
171 reviews
review

EVERYTHING WAS GOOD..NICE AND QUIET AND RESPECTFUL PEOPLE. See full review

  • KENDELL
  • Mar 5, 2014
great hotel inear airport and NY

This hotel is a very good stay and easy inexpensive transit to NY city. My husband and I took the... See full review

  • Ann andJerry
  • Dec 14, 2013
Luxury Newark landmark hotel restored with contemporary amenities

The historic Best Western Plus Robert Treat Hotel envelops guests in the grace and elegance of the early 1900s and the luxuries of contemporary living. The hotel has hosted five presidents, yet its low-key atmosphere and attentive staff ensure that honeymooners and business travelers feel equally at home. Robert Treat features an award-winning restaurant with an extensive wine list, free deluxe breakfast, a business center, meeting space and a fitness center. Hotel shuttles serve both the Newark airport and train station. Outdoor parking is free.

Highlights
  • Landmark hotel, exquisitely restored for the 21st century
  • Dine at award-winning restaurant, with an exceptional wine list
  • Hotel-provided shuttle service to either Newark airport or Newark Penn Station
  • Request a room with a view of the park, or NYC
  • Impressive ballroom available, which can seat up to 1,500 guests
Location

Best Western Plus Robert Treat Hotel is in downtown Newark, next to the New Jersey Historical Society, New Jersey Performing Arts Center and other cultural destinations. Lower Manhattan is a short drive away.

Rooms

Guest rooms and suites at Best Western Plus Robert Treat Hotel feature classic neutral palettes and historic design elements. All include high-speed Internet access (fees apply), as well as cable/satellite TV with HBO. Rooms also have a spacious work desk, dataport, refrigerator, coffee-maker and hair-dryer. Some rooms have a New York City or park view.

Dining

Enjoy free deluxe Continental breakfast service daily. The sumptuous and award-winning Maize restaurant at Best Western Plus Robert Treat Hotel serves breakfast, lunch and dinner 7 days a week. The restaurant also offers an extensive wine list and tea menu. Enjoy cocktails at the rooftop lounge bar and grill.

Recreation

Keep up with a workout routine – the hotel's exercise facility is open from 5 a.m. to midnight daily. The fitness center features a stair stepper, stationary bike, treadmill, rowing machine and more.

Transportation
  • Newark Penn Station (0.7 mi/1.2 km)
  • Newark Liberty International Airport (4.7 mi/7.6 km)
  • Hotel provides Newark train and airport shuttle service
Attractions
  • New Jersey Performing Arts Center (Adjacent)
  • Newark Museum (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • Prudential Center (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Giants Stadium (9.8 mi/15.8 km)
  • Manhattan (10.2 mi/16.5 km)
Business
  • 6 fully-equipped conference rooms, each can host up to 50 people
  • 5 banquet rooms, including the Tri-State Ballroom which can seat up to 1,500 guests
  • Business center
  • Audiovisual equipment
  • High-speed Internet access (fees apply)

BEST WESTERN PLUS Robert Treat Hotel Rooms

2 DOUBLE BEDS
2 DOUBLE BEDS,NSMK,REFRIG,HI SPEED,COFMKR,HAIR,IRON,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
1 DOUBLE BED
1 DOUBLE BED,SMOK,REFRIG,HI SPEED,COFMKR,HAIR,IRON,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
SUITE-1 KING BED
SUITE-1 KING BED,SMOK,JACUZI,SOFABD,CONFERENC AREA,MICRFG,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
SUITE-1 KING BED
SUITE-1 KING BED,SMOK,JACUZI,SOFABD,WINE RACK,MICRFG,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
1 QUEEN BED
1 QUEEN BED,MOBILITY ACCESSIBLE,ROLL IN SHOWER,NSMK,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
2 DOUBLE BEDS
2 DOUBLE BEDS,SMOK,REFRIG,HI SPEED,COFMKR,HAIR,IRON,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,NSMK,REFRIG,HI SPEED,COFMKR,HAIR,IRON,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,SMOK,REFRIG,HI SPEED,COFMKR,HAIR,IRON,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
1 QUEEN BED
1 QUEEN BED,NSMK,REFRIG,HI SPEED,COFMKR,HAIR,IRON,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
1 QUEEN BED
1 QUEEN BED,SMOK,REFRIG,HI SPEED,COFMKR,HAIR,IRON,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
1 QUEEN BED
1 QUEEN BED,NSMK,HI SPEED NET,SOFABED,REFRIG,COFMKR,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
SUITE-1 KING BED
SUITE-1 KING BED,SMOK,JACUZZI,SOFABD,MICRFRG,HI SPEED,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
1 QUEEN BED
1 QUEEN BED,SMOK,HI SPEED NET,SOFABED,REFRIG,COFMKR,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Exercise gym
Jacuzzi
Dining
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Coffee shop
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Laundry service
Guest laundromat
Concierge desk
Security
Wake-up service
Multilingual
Airline desk
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Outdoor parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
Sofa bed
Electronic door locks
Ironing board

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed BEST WESTERN PLUS Robert Treat Hotel also booked these hotels.

Hotel Map

40.7391 -74.1687
Area served
Jersey City, Seaside Heights, Hillside, Queens,, Irvington, Manhattan,, Elizabeth, Livingstone, Brooklyn,, Harrison, West Orange, Kearney, East Orange, Meadowland
Nearby airports
(EWR), 3.00, MI, S;
Area description
Downtown

Nearby points of interest

  • Prudential Center: 0.4 mi

Dining

Key Club
Adjacent to Key Club, bar/lounge, American, open for: lunch, dinner,
Titanic
0.80 mile(s) from Titanic, bar/lounge, Seafood, open for: lunch, dinner, Portuguese
Don Pepe
Across the street from Don Pepe, bar/lounge, steak house, open for: lunch, dinner, Seafood
Maize
Maize, on premises, full service, Mediterranean, open for: breakfast, lunch, dinner, Zagat rated 3 Diamond fine dining
Iberia Peninsula
0.80 mile(s) from Iberia Peninsula, bar/lounge, steak house, open for: lunch, dinner, Seafood

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (171)

Ratings and reviews for BEST WESTERN PLUS Robert Treat Hotel

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
171 out of 171
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
3.6
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
3.9
Value:
4.1

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Robert Treat Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sarah Darling
Chicago, IL
Dec 10, 2012

Great for access to Jersey City & NYC!

I recently stayed the night while making a short trip to visit friends in Jersey City & see a show in NYC. The hotel was a bit difficult to find at first (on a one-way street, around a corner), and parking was limited due to a wedding reception on site, but otherwise provided easy access to other nearby areas & major roadways. The room was clean & furnishings were quite comfortable (best pillows in any hotel, ever!). My only complaint was that there were some very loud guests in neighboring rooms. I assumed the room had been left over from a reserved block for wedding guests, so I didn't even bother complaining. The view from the 14th floor was lovely at night, and again in the morning when the park below was covered in fog. I'd definitely stay again if back in the area!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Robert Treat Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Unitek Trainee
Business
CO
Sep 21, 2009

Subpar

I was at the hotel for a training session in the adjacent office building. The bathroom fan in the first room I was in ran constantly and when I called the front desk they told me that happens on the 14th floor, if I did not like I could close the bathroom door and put a towel underneath. When I said that wasn't a solution they said they had no other rooms available for my week long stay. Only after I called Orbitz was I moved to a room on the next day. The sheets in the first room we old enough to have little fuzz balls. The next room they moved me to was better but you can hear lots between rooms. The staff was not friendly or helpful. And to top it all off, everyone in our training class got sick from meals served in the hotel restaurant.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Robert Treat Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Unhappy in Jersey
Des Moines, IA
Jun 10, 2010

Best Western Robert Treat

We landed at Newark Airport around 7 AM and called the hotel to check on Shuttle Times. The front desk staff stated that the shuttle ran 24 hours a day and was at the airport every 20 minutes. We waited for 45 minutes at the shuttle stop and the shuttle never came. I called the hotel and we were told the shuttle had just pulled out from the hotel and would be at the airport in 10-15 minutes tops. We waited another 30 minutes and the shuttle did not come. I called the front desk and spoke to the same person as before. This time, the front desk told me that the shuttle drivers had not shown up to work yet and the hotel would get to us as soon as they could. This was our first experience with the hotel. We finally got to the hotel around 9 am, just in time to eat breakfast. We had a horrible situation with our flights and could not make it to the hotel on the night we had planned. The hotel refused to give us any sort of refund or discount even though I had called the night before to let the hotel know of our flight problems. On another occassion, we were in a group of about 6 people waiting to be picked up by the shuttle from Newark Penn Station. The shuttle was suppossed to run every 15 minutes to this station. After waiting 45 minutes, I called the hotel. The phone rang more than 15 times and no one answered. I called 2 more times before I decided to let the phone ring until someone picked up. The phone rang 45 times before it was answered. I asked the front desk why it took so long to answer the phone and the person hung up on me. The shuttle drivers would arrive at the hotel after their scheduled arrival time, which made themlate for the next scheduled departure. Instead of grabbing a group of people and going, the shuttle driver would let everyone board the shuttle. Then he would get out, go sit in the lobby for 20 minutes until the next scheduled departure time. The breakfast was pretty good, but the staff at the breakfast room was unfriendly. The hotel room we had was older and the wallpaper was peeling away from the wall. Some renovations to the property were needed. We were told by the front desk staff when we checked in not to go wandering at night, especially to/from the train station. I heard good things about the on-site restaurant, but did not get a chance to try it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Robert Treat Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
VERYUNSATISFIEDCUSTOMER
Houston, TX
Nov 13, 2012

HORRIBLE NEVER AGAIN!

if i could give NO STARS i would. this is got to be BY FAR the worst hotel I've stayed at first and foremost every night i was there the floor smelled like weed. the second night we were there there was a group of people in the hallway with drums and were chanting from 1-3 in the morning. and the last night we stayed there we heard from across the hall a little boy say "PLEASE DON'T HURT HER!" needless to say the police were there a few moments later and the little boy explained to the police that "he was holding a gun to my mom's head" the police asked him if he had seen the gun and the little boy said "yes." ... throughout the whole night all you hear is sirens of cops and ambulances. the lady at the front desk she told me that her name was "mercedes" did not inform us that there is a shuttle to the train station instead handed us a MAP and told us where to walk to get there (which i complained to other workers about her and they all agree that she's a "not so nice woman" and said i should file a complaint. also i called the front desk and let them know that the TV had NO sound after watching it for 5mins or so... the TV never got fixed. the A/C didn't work. (yes i needed the a/c in this tiime of the year because when we walked in the room it was ridiculously hot. the towels the second day of coming there already had some kind of dirty "stain" on it... not dirt like brown dirty... but more of a yellowish.. sticky stain. i would NEVER EVER stay at this hotel nor wish it up on ANYONE to stay here. my experience at this best western pushes me away to stay at any of them. for the price at basically 130 a night i rather have stayed at a motel 6 for 50 a night. this hotel has no control over their workers and management is apparently so poor. i don't even know how it's open still.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Robert Treat Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Weary of Robert Treat
Ft Lauderdal
Sep 27, 2010

Weary of Robert Treat

One of the worst.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
2
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Robert Treat Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Allan CA
Business
Los angeles, Ca
Jan 8, 2013

very poor costumer service

There is no wifi in my room and they said apple products cannot get their wifi! hello I'm not stupid! I ended up not having wifi. I called in for a shaving set, they said they will deliver it in my room but never did.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Robert Treat Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Unhappy in Jersey
Des Moines, IA
Jun 10, 2010

Best Western Robert Treat

We landed at Newark Airport around 7 AM and called the hotel to check on Shuttle Times. The front desk staff stated that the shuttle ran 24 hours a day and was at the airport every 20 minutes. We waited for 45 minutes at the shuttle stop and the shuttle never came. I called the hotel and we were told the shuttle had just pulled out from the hotel and would be at the airport in 10-15 minutes tops. We waited another 30 minutes and the shuttle did not come. I called the front desk and spoke to the same person as before. This time, the front desk told me that the shuttle drivers had not shown up to work yet and the hotel would get to us as soon as they could. This was our first experience with the hotel. We finally got to the hotel around 9 am, just in time to eat breakfast. We had a horrible situation with our flights and could not make it to the hotel on the night we had planned. The hotel refused to give us any sort of refund or discount even though I had called the night before to let the hotel know of our flight problems. On another occassion, we were in a group of about 6 people waiting to be picked up by the shuttle from Newark Penn Station. The shuttle was suppossed to run every 15 minutes to this station. After waiting 45 minutes, I called the hotel. The phone rang more than 15 times and no one answered. I called 2 more times before I decided to let the phone ring until someone picked up. The phone rang 45 times before it was answered. I asked the front desk why it took so long to answer the phone and the person hung up on me. The shuttle drivers would arrive at the hotel after their scheduled arrival time, which made themlate for the next scheduled departure. Instead of grabbing a group of people and going, the shuttle driver would let everyone board the shuttle. Then he would get out, go sit in the lobby for 20 minutes until the next scheduled departure time. The breakfast was pretty good, but the staff at the breakfast room was unfriendly. The hotel room we had was older and the wallpaper was peeling away from the wall. Some renovations to the property were needed. We were told by the front desk staff when we checked in not to go wandering at night, especially to/from the train station. I heard good things about the on-site restaurant, but did not get a chance to try it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Robert Treat Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Unitek Trainee
Business
CO
Sep 21, 2009

Subpar

I was at the hotel for a training session in the adjacent office building. The bathroom fan in the first room I was in ran constantly and when I called the front desk they told me that happens on the 14th floor, if I did not like I could close the bathroom door and put a towel underneath. When I said that wasn't a solution they said they had no other rooms available for my week long stay. Only after I called Orbitz was I moved to a room on the next day. The sheets in the first room we old enough to have little fuzz balls. The next room they moved me to was better but you can hear lots between rooms. The staff was not friendly or helpful. And to top it all off, everyone in our training class got sick from meals served in the hotel restaurant.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Robert Treat Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Pittsburgh
Mar 14, 2010

Scariest hotel ever!!

Hotel is in the worst neighborhood I've ever beens in. People are loud and fight outside the lobby, cops were swarming the whole weekend. Noisy all night. Don't ever stay here

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
3
Entertainment tip: Not Applicable

Go to NYC

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Robert Treat Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Weary of Robert Treat
Ft Lauderdal
Sep 27, 2010

Weary of Robert Treat

One of the worst.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
2
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Robert Treat Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Pittsburgh
Mar 14, 2010

Scariest hotel ever!!

Hotel is in the worst neighborhood I've ever beens in. People are loud and fight outside the lobby, cops were swarming the whole weekend. Noisy all night. Don't ever stay here

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
3
Entertainment tip: Not Applicable

Go to NYC

Back to menu Return to top