BEST WESTERN PLUS Robert Treat Hotel ★★★

Best price guarantee!

Find a lower price somewhere else and we'll pay 100% of the difference in Orbucks, plus up to $100 in additional Orbucks for Orbitz Rewards members Learn more

$80
avg/night
Rate and special offer based on
Check-in: Feb 29, 2016 Check-out: Mar 2, 2016
3.7 /5
Overall score
86%
Would recommend
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
3.7
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
3.9
Value:
4.1
1 2 3 4 5

Select your room

Overview

The Best Western Plus Robert Treat Hotel in Newark, New Jersey, is a fully restored historic hotel that features architecture and decor from the early 1900s while maintaining a comfortable, modern atmosphere with the latest amenities and technology. Playing host to numerous presidents and other dignitaries has made the hotel a popular spot for vacationing guests and business professionals. Featuring 170 rooms, suites and luxury suites, this hotel values sophisticated comfort with elegant decor. The largest suites, known as the Presidential and Governor Suites, include large sitting areas and dining rooms that are perfect for large groups.

Highlights

Key facts

The many amenities at the Robert Treat Hotel offer comfort away from home. On-site dining is available at the lobby-level restaurant Maize, which also offers nightly entertainment. Guests can enjoy deluxe continental breakfast each morning or head to the on-site coffee shop in the breakfast area. The fitness center includes Life Fitness equipment to help you stay in shape.

Other amenities include a full-service business center with multiple desks, complimentary high-speed Internet access, banquet and meeting room access, and on-site shops. Guests are near a variety of attractions, including the New Jersey Performing Arts Center across the street, Newark Museum and the Prudential Center sports arena. Hotel shuttles provide service to the Newark-Penn Station and Newark Liberty International Airport (EWR).

Dining

Key Club
Adjacent to Key Club, bar/lounge, American, open for: lunch, dinner,
Titanic
0.80 mile(s) from Titanic, bar/lounge, Seafood, open for: lunch, dinner, Portuguese
Maize
Maize, on premises, full service, Mediterranean, open for: breakfast, lunch, dinner, Zagat rated 3 Diamond fine dining
Iberia Peninsula
0.80 mile(s) from Iberia Peninsula, bar/lounge, steak house, open for: lunch, dinner, Seafood
Don Pepe
Across the street from Don Pepe, bar/lounge, steak house, open for: lunch, dinner, Seafood

Recommendations for you

Guest score 4.0 / 5
$87
Guest score 3.5 / 5
$72
Guest score 3.4 / 5
$66
Guest score 4.1 / 5
$119
Guest score 2.8 / 5
$69

Amenities

Featured

  • Free Wi-Fi in Room
  • Free parking
  • No smoking rooms/facilities

General

  • Air conditioned
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
  • Free local telephone calls
  • Ice machine

Activities

  • Fitness center or spa
  • Exercise gym
  • Jacuzzi

Dining

  • Continental breakfast
  • Restaurant
  • Coffee maker in room
  • Lounge
  • Coffee shop
  • Room service

Services

  • 24 hour front desk
  • Business center
  • Laundry service
  • Guest laundromat
  • Concierge desk
  • Security
  • Wake-up service
  • Multilingual
  • Airline desk
  • In-Room Safe
  • Meeting/Banquet facilities
  • Porters
  • Conference facilities
  • Gift shop

Internet

  • Free Wi-Fi in Room

Parking

  • Free parking
  • Outdoor parking

Accessibility

  • Accessible facilities
  • Wheel chair access

Room

  • Television with cable
  • Radio
  • Safe
  • AM/FM alarm clock
  • Free newspaper
  • Hairdryer in room
  • Cribs available
  • Sofa bed
  • Electronic door locks
  • Ironing board

Reviews

3.7 /5 Overall score

86% Would recommend

  • Amenities: 3.7/5
  • Cleanliness: 4.2/5
  • Hotel staff: 3.7/5
  • Comfort: 3.9/5
  • Location: 3.9/5
  • Value: 4.1/5

Enjoyable Stay

Would recommend Tue, Feb 2, 2016
Stayed at this hotel overnight following a roadtrip to attend a concert. A no frills type of location and the experience was essentially as expected

| N/A Singles

4 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 4 /5
  • Cleanliness: 4 /5
  • Hotel staff: 4 /5
  • Comfort: 4 /5
  • Location: 4 /5
  • Value: 3 /5

Not the best

Would not recommend Tue, Jan 19, 2016
This hotel is a little rough, with peeling wallpaper and dirty carpets. I did not realize that this area was as run down as it was. The staff were nice. The parking is free, however there are not too many spots available. The continental breakfast is okay. I probably would not stay here again.

| N/A Couples

2 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 3 /5
  • Cleanliness: 2 /5
  • Hotel staff: 4 /5
  • Comfort: 2 /5
  • Location: 1 /5
  • Value: 2 /5

Good room at a fair price

Would recommend Tue, Nov 17, 2015
Friendly staff clean and comfortable room,hotel is located walking distance to just about anything shopping or eating that you may desire. Definitely a big plus if you do not have your own transport. Although its in the heart of downtown Newark I never felt unsafe as pretty much there is a 24/7 police presence. The only negative comment that i could make is that the building is pretty dated,and could use some more upkeep. ie. peeling wallpaper/flaking spackle etc.

| N/A Business

5 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 5 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 4 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 5 /5

Disappointed

Would not recommend Wed, Oct 28, 2015
Beautiful lobby but then downhill from there. Water in shower and sink brown 2 of 3 days there, safe in closet stopped functioning after 1 day (fortunately I had items out of safe), AC stopped working 3rd night and heat was all that came out so I had to open the window (thankfully you could open it) to get cool air,1 of 2 elevators stopped working Sat morning Oct 24 leaving multitudes people packed in one elevator to capacity going very slowly trying to get most to ground floor to eat at designated food place. Heard from a person standing at elevator waiting with us that she was unable to take stairwell cause exit door at ground level was locked, computer and copy machine in lounge not working (plugged in yes). It was within walking distance to Prudential Center was only positive. The rooms are very outdated and drab. So, needless to say did not enjoy this hotel and will notry recommend.

| N/A Friends

2 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 2 /5
  • Cleanliness: 3 /5
  • Hotel staff: 3 /5
  • Comfort: 2 /5
  • Location: 2 /5
  • Value: 2 /5

Great Location and Value

Would recommend Tue, Oct 20, 2015
I've not stayed in a Best Western in nearly 20 years. This hotel really raised my opinion of them. This is an older, traditional style hotel, but well kept up. Overall, we really liked the place and would stay here again on our next trip. Only a few complaints: 1. Bring your room key to the free breakfast area and be prepared to use it to get into the locked room. 2. The hotel/airport shuttle can sometimes be late. 3. The walls are a bit thin (typical of this age).

| Austin Couples

4 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 4 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 3 /5
  • Comfort: 4 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 5 /5

Not the best experience to date

Would not recommend Thu, Sep 24, 2015
I didnt enjoy my stay at the hotel this time. The first night right at bedtime i found a not clean bed sheet( it had spots on it). When i went to the front desk i showed the picture of the bed sheet and a maintenance employee was sent with new sheets. He knocked the door and without saying a word handed them to me, i felt like here they are and forget about the other ones.

| Lumberton Couples

3 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 3 /5
  • Cleanliness: 2 /5
  • Hotel staff: 2 /5
  • Comfort: 3 /5
  • Location: 3 /5
  • Value: 3 /5

Great value close to NY

Would recommend Tue, Sep 22, 2015
A call to the hotel from the station and the shuttle arrived in minutes. very good hotel as base for visiting Newark and New York. Close to Newark Penn Station for fast train into NY Penn Station. Shuttle bus to Newark Airport was great.

| Huntingdon Couples

5 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 4 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 4 /5
  • Comfort: 4 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 5 /5

Parking really sucked!!

Would recommend Fri, Sep 11, 2015
Thank God I brought my handicap sign. Parking here was AWFUL! there were nights I thought that I was going to have to park on the street. It was a little creepy in the hallways ustairs

| Port St lucie Singles

3 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 3 /5
  • Cleanliness: 4 /5
  • Hotel staff: 4 /5
  • Comfort: 4 /5
  • Location: 2 /5
  • Value: 4 /5

Good Hotel and Superb Restaurant staff!!!!!

Would recommend Sun, Aug 30, 2015
My wife and I checked in around 8pm and managed to find a space to park my car, check-in was ok but there was absolutely no offer of any help or assistance with our bags despite the staff watching us struggle with them. We went to the room which was clean and spacious to drop our bags off and then went down to the bar for food. What wonderful service and food from the staff in the bar, they are a credit to the hotel and the staff on the front desk could learn alot from them. The breakfast buffet was good and the 2 ladies who worked there were very quick in refilling/restocking items.

| Bridgend Couples

5 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 5 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 5 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 5 /5

nice for the price

Would recommend Tue, May 26, 2015
hotel nice, the breakfast was too crowded, but it was good

| Columbia Business

4 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 3 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 4 /5
  • Comfort: 4 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 4 /5

Top hotels

Nearby points of interest

Prudential Center 0.4 mi

Hotel Policies

  • Check-in: 03:00 PM
  • Check-out: 12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

$80
avg/night
Choose dates
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Feb 29, 2016 Check-out: Mar 2, 2016