$104 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 23, 2014 Check-out: Jul 25, 2014

BEST WESTERN PLUS Robert Treat Hotel

3 stars
50 Park Place, Newark, NJ 07102-4398
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
169 reviews
review

EVERYTHING WAS GOOD..NICE AND QUIET AND RESPECTFUL PEOPLE. See full review

  • KENDELL
  • Mar 5, 2014
great hotel inear airport and NY

This hotel is a very good stay and easy inexpensive transit to NY city. My husband and I took the... See full review

  • Ann andJerry
  • Dec 14, 2013
Luxury Newark landmark hotel restored with contemporary amenities

The historic Best Western Plus Robert Treat Hotel envelops guests in the grace and elegance of the early 1900s and the luxuries of contemporary living. The hotel has hosted five presidents, yet its low-key atmosphere and attentive staff ensure that honeymooners and business travelers feel equally at home. Robert Treat features an award-winning restaurant with an extensive wine list, free deluxe breakfast, a business center, meeting space and a fitness center. Hotel shuttles serve both the Newark airport and train station. Outdoor parking is free.

Highlights
  • Landmark hotel, exquisitely restored for the 21st century
  • Dine at award-winning restaurant, with an exceptional wine list
  • Hotel-provided shuttle service to either Newark airport or Newark Penn Station
  • Request a room with a view of the park, or NYC
  • Impressive ballroom available, which can seat up to 1,500 guests
Location

Best Western Plus Robert Treat Hotel is in downtown Newark, next to the New Jersey Historical Society, New Jersey Performing Arts Center and other cultural destinations. Lower Manhattan is a short drive away.

Rooms

Guest rooms and suites at Best Western Plus Robert Treat Hotel feature classic neutral palettes and historic design elements. All include high-speed Internet access (fees apply), as well as cable/satellite TV with HBO. Rooms also have a spacious work desk, dataport, refrigerator, coffee-maker and hair-dryer. Some rooms have a New York City or park view.

Dining

Enjoy free deluxe Continental breakfast service daily. The sumptuous and award-winning Maize restaurant at Best Western Plus Robert Treat Hotel serves breakfast, lunch and dinner 7 days a week. The restaurant also offers an extensive wine list and tea menu. Enjoy cocktails at the rooftop lounge bar and grill.

Recreation

Keep up with a workout routine – the hotel's exercise facility is open from 5 a.m. to midnight daily. The fitness center features a stair stepper, stationary bike, treadmill, rowing machine and more.

Transportation
  • Newark Penn Station (0.7 mi/1.2 km)
  • Newark Liberty International Airport (4.7 mi/7.6 km)
  • Hotel provides Newark train and airport shuttle service
Attractions
  • New Jersey Performing Arts Center (Adjacent)
  • Newark Museum (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • Prudential Center (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Giants Stadium (9.8 mi/15.8 km)
  • Manhattan (10.2 mi/16.5 km)
Business
  • 6 fully-equipped conference rooms, each can host up to 50 people
  • 5 banquet rooms, including the Tri-State Ballroom which can seat up to 1,500 guests
  • Business center
  • Audiovisual equipment
  • High-speed Internet access (fees apply)

BEST WESTERN PLUS Robert Treat Hotel Rooms

2 DOUBLE BEDS
2 DOUBLE BEDS,NSMK,REFRIG,HI SPEED,COFMKR,HAIR,IRON,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
1 DOUBLE BED
1 DOUBLE BED,SMOK,REFRIG,HI SPEED,COFMKR,HAIR,IRON,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
SUITE-1 KING BED
SUITE-1 KING BED,SMOK,JACUZI,SOFABD,CONFERENC AREA,MICRFG,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
SUITE-1 KING BED
SUITE-1 KING BED,SMOK,JACUZI,SOFABD,WINE RACK,MICRFG,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
1 QUEEN BED
1 QUEEN BED,MOBILITY ACCESSIBLE,ROLL IN SHOWER,NSMK,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
2 DOUBLE BEDS
2 DOUBLE BEDS,SMOK,REFRIG,HI SPEED,COFMKR,HAIR,IRON,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,NSMK,REFRIG,HI SPEED,COFMKR,HAIR,IRON,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,SMOK,REFRIG,HI SPEED,COFMKR,HAIR,IRON,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
1 QUEEN BED
1 QUEEN BED,NSMK,REFRIG,HI SPEED,COFMKR,HAIR,IRON,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
1 QUEEN BED
1 QUEEN BED,SMOK,REFRIG,HI SPEED,COFMKR,HAIR,IRON,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
1 QUEEN BED
1 QUEEN BED,NSMK,HI SPEED NET,SOFABED,REFRIG,COFMKR,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
SUITE-1 KING BED
SUITE-1 KING BED,SMOK,JACUZZI,SOFABD,MICRFRG,HI SPEED,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
1 QUEEN BED
1 QUEEN BED,SMOK,HI SPEED NET,SOFABED,REFRIG,COFMKR,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Exercise gym
Jacuzzi
Dining
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Coffee shop
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Laundry service
Guest laundromat
Concierge desk
Security
Wake-up service
Multilingual
Airline desk
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Outdoor parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
Sofa bed
Electronic door locks
Ironing board

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed BEST WESTERN PLUS Robert Treat Hotel also booked these hotels.

Hotel Map

40.7391 -74.1687
Area served
Jersey City, Seaside Heights, Hillside, Queens,, Irvington, Manhattan,, Elizabeth, Livingstone, Brooklyn,, Harrison, West Orange, Kearney, East Orange, Meadowland
Nearby airports
(EWR), 3.00, MI, S;
Area description
Downtown

Nearby points of interest

  • Prudential Center: 0.4 mi

Dining

Key Club
Adjacent to Key Club, bar/lounge, American, open for: lunch, dinner,
Titanic
0.80 mile(s) from Titanic, bar/lounge, Seafood, open for: lunch, dinner, Portuguese
Don Pepe
Across the street from Don Pepe, bar/lounge, steak house, open for: lunch, dinner, Seafood
Maize
Maize, on premises, full service, Mediterranean, open for: breakfast, lunch, dinner, Zagat rated 3 Diamond fine dining
Iberia Peninsula
0.80 mile(s) from Iberia Peninsula, bar/lounge, steak house, open for: lunch, dinner, Seafood

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (169)

Ratings and reviews for BEST WESTERN PLUS Robert Treat Hotel

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
169 out of 169
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
3.6
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
3.9
Value:
4.1

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Robert Treat Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Los Angeles, CA
Jun 19, 2011

Good Good

I visited NYC for 3 day tour. Stayed here and commuted to NYC via New Jersey transit. It only takes about 20 min from Newark Penn Station. From hotel, there is a complimentary shuttle service running to Newark Penn Station. Very convenient. I advise to take taxi or shuttle after 7 PM from Newark Penn Station to the hotel since there are some homelesses nearby hotel. Room was very clean and service was great. Morning breakfast was just some bagles + juice + eggs held in business center (of course, self served). But better than nothing as always.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Utilize shuttle service from hotel. Ask front desk about the shuttle schedule.

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Robert Treat Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Cleveland, OH
Jul 7, 2010

Loved my stay!

I loved the location, easy parking, free rides,great hours for breakfast and friendly staff- all at a luxurious hotel with affordable rates. This will be my hotel in Newark forever.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Robert Treat Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Tim the Spanish Professor
Syracuse, NY
Nov 15, 2012

Great place to stay in going in to NYC

Professional and friendly staff, classy, clean, historical, free parking, nice breakfast, near the PATH to get into NYC. Hard to beat.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Robert Treat Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Jul 20, 2008

Very convenient

The Robert Treat hotel was very convenient. We walked to the train station (a few blocks). From the train station,A hotel in NYC would have been much more expensive and probably not as nice. it is a short ride to (about 10 mins.) to NY. The neighborhood is clean and the NJ Fine Arts is right across the street. The room was very nice and the staff was friendly. I will definitely return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

The hotel is just a few blocks from the train to NYC.

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Robert Treat Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
DC
Feb 23, 2011

Great Value!!

Room are spacious and clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Robert Treat Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
do want to say
May 26, 2011

fantistic, a fine hotel

Took care of business there wasn"t anything missing Great

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Robert Treat Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
JenT
Amarillo, TX
Sep 16, 2011

Excellent Stay, Excellent Price!

This hotel had great service and provided great rooms and amenities. If you're looking for a more affordable place to stay while traveling to New York, this was perfect for us! The free airport shuttle and PATH train (Newark Penn Station) shuttle makes this hotel a better deal, when compared to other cheaper (lower quality) hotels in Jersey. You'll save money on taxis, shuttles, or train transportation by staying at Best Western Plus and using their airport and Penn station shuttle. It's available 24/7 and the PATH train will take you into New York 24/7 as well. PATH train tickets are only $1.75 so it's a great price and easily accessible to New York. As for the hotel, it was a great place to stay, very clean, friendly staff, no hassle or problems, lots of helpful advice for getting around. There was nothing more we could have wanted!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Robert Treat Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
bugajoskaa
Akron, OH, USA
Sep 6, 2011

perfect place to stay

very nice hotel, staff is very friendly, easy to get to manhattan, i loved it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Robert Treat Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Xxgigixx
Miami, FL, USA
Jan 17, 2012

Weekend getaway

The hotel was pretty good The fridge didn't work but I didn't mind And the room service cuts off after 10 which sucked cus I was starving and it was 10:15pm so I had to run out to buy some food Other than that I loved it My view was completely awesome And my next trip I plan on staying there again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Not Applicable

I would travel to NYC every night The hotel shuttle runs 24hrs and so does the ny/nj train

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Robert Treat Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Delo
San Francisco
Jun 22, 2012

East Coast Visitor

My stay at the hotel was a great experience from beginning to end. The staff accommodated my early arrival and gave me a room. The room had everything I needed for my time there. It was clean. The breakfast staff was cheerful and very welcoming and helpful. The Maize restaurant has an elegant atmosphere. The shuttle service is prompt. The driver was most helpful and courteous. I would highly recommend this hotel to a friend and I would definitely stay there again myself.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Penn Station is within easy walking distance so access to New York Path trains is possible without having to take a shuttle to the station.

Back to menu Return to top