$88 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jan 15, 2015 Check-out: Jan 17, 2015

BEST WESTERN PLUS Robert Treat Hotel

3 stars
50 Park Place, Newark, NJ 07102-4398
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
140 reviews
What a wonderful stay

Friendly staff, Convient location to the city, what a wonderful historic hotel to stay in, five out... See full review

  • aprince
  • Nov 19, 2014
nice

very nice... See full review

  • goodiehbhbh
  • Aug 6, 2014
Luxury Newark landmark hotel restored with contemporary amenities

The historic Best Western Plus Robert Treat Hotel envelops guests in the grace and elegance of the early 1900s and the luxuries of contemporary living. The hotel has hosted five presidents, yet its low-key atmosphere and attentive staff ensure that honeymooners and business travelers feel equally at home. Robert Treat features an award-winning restaurant with an extensive wine list, free deluxe breakfast, a business center, meeting space and a fitness center. Hotel shuttles serve both the Newark airport and train station. Outdoor parking is free.

Highlights
  • Landmark hotel, exquisitely restored for the 21st century
  • Dine at award-winning restaurant, with an exceptional wine list
  • Hotel-provided shuttle service to either Newark airport or Newark Penn Station
  • Request a room with a view of the park, or NYC
  • Impressive ballroom available, which can seat up to 1,500 guests
Location

Best Western Plus Robert Treat Hotel is in downtown Newark, next to the New Jersey Historical Society, New Jersey Performing Arts Center and other cultural destinations. Lower Manhattan is a short drive away.

Rooms

Guest rooms and suites at Best Western Plus Robert Treat Hotel feature classic neutral palettes and historic design elements. All include high-speed Internet access (fees apply), as well as cable/satellite TV with HBO. Rooms also have a spacious work desk, dataport, refrigerator, coffee-maker and hair-dryer. Some rooms have a New York City or park view.

Dining

Enjoy free deluxe Continental breakfast service daily. The sumptuous and award-winning Maize restaurant at Best Western Plus Robert Treat Hotel serves breakfast, lunch and dinner 7 days a week. The restaurant also offers an extensive wine list and tea menu. Enjoy cocktails at the rooftop lounge bar and grill.

Recreation

Keep up with a workout routine – the hotel's exercise facility is open from 5 a.m. to midnight daily. The fitness center features a stair stepper, stationary bike, treadmill, rowing machine and more.

Transportation
  • Newark Penn Station (0.7 mi/1.2 km)
  • Newark Liberty International Airport (4.7 mi/7.6 km)
  • Hotel provides Newark train and airport shuttle service
Attractions
  • New Jersey Performing Arts Center (Adjacent)
  • Newark Museum (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • Prudential Center (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Giants Stadium (9.8 mi/15.8 km)
  • Manhattan (10.2 mi/16.5 km)
Business
  • 6 fully-equipped conference rooms, each can host up to 50 people
  • 5 banquet rooms, including the Tri-State Ballroom which can seat up to 1,500 guests
  • Business center
  • Audiovisual equipment
  • High-speed Internet access (fees apply)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed BEST WESTERN PLUS Robert Treat Hotel also booked these hotels.

BEST WESTERN PLUS Robert Treat Hotel Rooms

2 DOUBLE BEDS
2 DOUBLE BEDS,NSMK,REFRIG,HI SPEED,COFMKR,HAIR,IRON,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
1 DOUBLE BED
1 DOUBLE BED,SMOK,REFRIG,HI SPEED,COFMKR,HAIR,IRON,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
SUITE-1 KING BED
SUITE-1 KING BED,SMOK,JACUZI,SOFABD,CONFERENC AREA,MICRFG,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
SUITE-1 KING BED
SUITE-1 KING BED,SMOK,JACUZI,SOFABD,WINE RACK,MICRFG,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
1 QUEEN BED
1 QUEEN BED,MOBILITY ACCESSIBLE,ROLL IN SHOWER,NSMK,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
2 DOUBLE BEDS
2 DOUBLE BEDS,SMOK,REFRIG,HI SPEED,COFMKR,HAIR,IRON,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,NSMK,REFRIG,HI SPEED,COFMKR,HAIR,IRON,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,SMOK,REFRIG,HI SPEED,COFMKR,HAIR,IRON,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
1 QUEEN BED
1 QUEEN BED,NSMK,REFRIG,HI SPEED,COFMKR,HAIR,IRON,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
1 QUEEN BED
1 QUEEN BED,SMOK,REFRIG,HI SPEED,COFMKR,HAIR,IRON,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
1 QUEEN BED
1 QUEEN BED,NSMK,HI SPEED NET,SOFABED,REFRIG,COFMKR,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
SUITE-1 KING BED
SUITE-1 KING BED,SMOK,JACUZZI,SOFABD,MICRFRG,HI SPEED,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
1 QUEEN BED
1 QUEEN BED,SMOK,HI SPEED NET,SOFABED,REFRIG,COFMKR,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Exercise gym
Jacuzzi
Dining
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Coffee shop
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Laundry service
Guest laundromat
Concierge desk
Security
Wake-up service
Multilingual
Airline desk
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Outdoor parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
Sofa bed
Electronic door locks
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Prudential Center: 0.4 mi

Dining

Maize
Maize, on premises, full service, Mediterranean, open for: breakfast, lunch, dinner, Zagat rated 3 Diamond fine dining
Iberia Peninsula
0.80 mile(s) from Iberia Peninsula, bar/lounge, steak house, open for: lunch, dinner, Seafood
Titanic
0.80 mile(s) from Titanic, bar/lounge, Seafood, open for: lunch, dinner, Portuguese
Key Club
Adjacent to Key Club, bar/lounge, American, open for: lunch, dinner,
Don Pepe
Across the street from Don Pepe, bar/lounge, steak house, open for: lunch, dinner, Seafood

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (140)

Ratings and reviews for BEST WESTERN PLUS Robert Treat Hotel

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
140 out of 140
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
3.6
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
3.9
Value:
4

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Robert Treat Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Gwengee
Business
Jonesboro, GA, USA
Oct 26, 2011

A Little Business and a Little Personal

The hotel is in the heart of the business district of Newark and very convenient to New York locations. All the staff were very friendly, the rooms are a decent size, the bed very comfortable. The decor of the room and the Hotel was nice. The refrigerator in the room was an added convenience and the continental breakfast was filling. I highly recommend this Hotel for both family and business stays. I look forward to another stay in the future; this was my second stay this year.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Take a short walk to Newark Penn Station which is connected to the Gateway; which has numerous food vendors and other shops. Also just a short Path Train ride to Newport Mall or NYC shopping.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Robert Treat Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Xxgigixx
Business
Miami, FL, USA
Jan 17, 2012

Weekend getaway

The hotel was pretty good The fridge didn't work but I didn't mind And the room service cuts off after 10 which sucked cus I was starving and it was 10:15pm so I had to run out to buy some food Other than that I loved it My view was completely awesome And my next trip I plan on staying there again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Not Applicable

I would travel to NYC every night The hotel shuttle runs 24hrs and so does the ny/nj train

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Robert Treat Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mary from Orlando
Business
Orlando, florida
Jul 1, 2012

Great place for the money. Good location

The staff was very polite from the front desk to the maids. The room was clean and nice. The breakfast buffet had an ample selection for everyone in the family. It had a nice little shop with anything you may need. Room service prices were very reasonable. The business center was great to print our boarding passes for free. The location was great. We were very impressed with the hotel for the price we paid. We will definately go back to this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Broad St down from the hotel has many shops to buy clothing and other items at great prices. Way better than Canal St.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Robert Treat Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Delo
Business
San Francisco
Jun 22, 2012

East Coast Visitor

My stay at the hotel was a great experience from beginning to end. The staff accommodated my early arrival and gave me a room. The room had everything I needed for my time there. It was clean. The breakfast staff was cheerful and very welcoming and helpful. The Maize restaurant has an elegant atmosphere. The shuttle service is prompt. The driver was most helpful and courteous. I would highly recommend this hotel to a friend and I would definitely stay there again myself.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Penn Station is within easy walking distance so access to New York Path trains is possible without having to take a shuttle to the station.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Robert Treat Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Tim the Spanish Professor
Business
Syracuse, NY
Nov 15, 2012

Great place to stay in going in to NYC

Professional and friendly staff, classy, clean, historical, free parking, nice breakfast, near the PATH to get into NYC. Hard to beat.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Robert Treat Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sarah Darling
Business
Chicago, IL
Dec 10, 2012

Great for access to Jersey City & NYC!

I recently stayed the night while making a short trip to visit friends in Jersey City & see a show in NYC. The hotel was a bit difficult to find at first (on a one-way street, around a corner), and parking was limited due to a wedding reception on site, but otherwise provided easy access to other nearby areas & major roadways. The room was clean & furnishings were quite comfortable (best pillows in any hotel, ever!). My only complaint was that there were some very loud guests in neighboring rooms. I assumed the room had been left over from a reserved block for wedding guests, so I didn't even bother complaining. The view from the 14th floor was lovely at night, and again in the morning when the park below was covered in fog. I'd definitely stay again if back in the area!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Robert Treat Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Princetonduck
Business
Washington DC
Feb 17, 2013

A convenient location for a NYC trip

Located right in downtown Newark, this hotel provides instructions as regards how to walk towards Penn Station from where there is Path, Amtrak, NJ Transit, etc. that all can carry you to NYC.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Robert Treat Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ann andJerry
Business
Houston Texas
Dec 14, 2013

great hotel inear airport and NY

This hotel is a very good stay and easy inexpensive transit to NY city. My husband and I took the path train in Penn station which is a short walk from hotel . We will stay again here, no doubt!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Robert Treat Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
KENDELL
Business
BALTIMORE, MD
Mar 5, 2014

review

EVERYTHING WAS GOOD..NICE AND QUIET AND RESPECTFUL PEOPLE.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

DOWNTOWN NEWARK

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Robert Treat Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
DC
Feb 23, 2011

Great Value!!

Room are spacious and clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top