$90 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 3, 2015 Check-out: Sep 4, 2015

BEST WESTERN PLUS Robert Treat Hotel

3 stars
View map of 50 Park Place, Newark, NJ 07102-4398

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for BEST WESTERN PLUS Robert Treat Hotel

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
141 out of 141
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
3.7
Comfort:
4
Location:
3.9
Value:
4

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Robert Treat Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
jennp
Family
pittsburgh, pa
Jul 26, 2012

hotel review

we asked for an ironing board and did not get one and ice machine had no ice. food in the restaurant was not good. other than that hotel was ok. the free parking was nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Robert Treat Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Melissa the Traveler
Couples
Boston, Massachusetts
Jul 23, 2012

Did the Trick

The Best Western Plus is a good location when you don't want to spend Manhattan bucks but would like to have the option of going into the city. We visited Newark to go to a Red Bulls soccer match, it's within walking distance to the stadium. The room was updated but we were given a handicap accessible room and I don't think the bathroom had been upgraded - just the sleeping area. Overall an OK stay that included breakfast (although it was very busy on Sunday morning).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Check out the NY Red Bulls in Harrison, NJ!

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Robert Treat Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mary from Orlando
Family
Orlando, florida
Jul 1, 2012

Great place for the money. Good location

The staff was very polite from the front desk to the maids. The room was clean and nice. The breakfast buffet had an ample selection for everyone in the family. It had a nice little shop with anything you may need. Room service prices were very reasonable. The business center was great to print our boarding passes for free. The location was great. We were very impressed with the hotel for the price we paid. We will definately go back to this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Broad St down from the hotel has many shops to buy clothing and other items at great prices. Way better than Canal St.

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Robert Treat Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Oft Traveled
Business
San Francisco CA
May 23, 2012

Great hotel for NYC visit

Rooms, though small, are clean, well-maintained, and comfortable. Staff is helpful. Shuttle van to/from hotel and NJ Penn Station makes getting into NYC extremely convenient. Drivers are always friendly and helpful. Complimentary breakfast is more than satisfying, and hotel staff in breakfast lounge are always kind and friendly. Great place to stay when visiting NYC - and also to see the wonderful Newark Museum.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Robert Treat Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Angela from Alaska
Single
Alaska
May 17, 2012

Great short term!

The price I paid for this room was incredibly reasonable. Very clean and nicely decorated room, decent amount of TV channels, all the provisions I needed, wonderful restaurant, over-all great room. The front desk attendants could have been a bit friendlier but they helped me with everything I needed. Shuttle was awesome. Restaurant staff was fantastic (as well as the food!) and the menu at the bar was very reasonably priced. The shuttle service was great and really easy to figure out! Only issue I could think of is the plumbing (hard to flush the toilet) and how the water tastes... In my home in Alaska, water is totally drinkable from the tap. Water in Newark seemed to taste like it had plant life in it! Be sure to bring water or maybe just run their water through the mini coffee maker once or twice :P

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Dining tip: In Hotel

Beautiful restaurant, but your best bet is the bar menu if you don't want to spend $50 bucks for each person.

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Robert Treat Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
wthaka
Couples
Georgia
Apr 11, 2012

Good location

Ordinary. Staff in the breakfast room was especially warm

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Stores in the area, downtown Newark

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Robert Treat Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
adventrav
Business
Tábor, Czech Republic
Apr 5, 2012

Decent hotel with convenient access to Manhattan

The most important reason why I chose to stay in this hotel is that it is located within walking distance from the Newark PATH train station. The downside is that there is pretty much nothing to do, see, or eat in the immediate neighborhood of the hotel. The room was nice, clean, and comfortable. The reception staff was not particularly helpful, often due to incompetence. For example, I wanted to stay for a few more days, and pay for the remaining days in advance. The lady at the front desk was telling me this was not possible, and only when I pulled my papers, and showed her that I had done this once before, she reluctantly went to ask the manager, and sure enough it was indeed possible. Hence, if you need anything from the hotel staff, be persistent. All in all, I think it's a good place to stay if you need to commute to Manhattan, as the hotel is decent, not expensive, and it's 10 minutes from a train station.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Robert Treat Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Natmo
Couples
Michigan, USA
Apr 4, 2012

Just Okay

This hotel is an older hotel, the rooms need updating but you get a continental breakfast with your stay. The breakfast room is really nice, but they don't tell you about the breakfast or where the room is when you check in (it's on the garage level). The toilet in the bathroom was really weird, has a plunger handle like the public restrooms and you can't flush it unless the lid is down. Overall, the hotel wasn't too bad, it is very close to Penn station which is where you need to go if you are going to NY. The hotel has a 24 hr shuttle to take you to and from Penn station. A direct train ride to NY (from Penn Station Newark to Penn Station Madison Square Gardens) will cost you $10 round trip per person. The parking at the hotel sucks, it's free but extremely limited. The underground garage connected to the hotel is not owned by the hotel so if you are not careful and park there by accident you will have to pay. This was my first trip to NY and if you stay here, park your car and take public transit. The traffic in NY and the surrounding areas is insane. The only bad thing was that I wasn't too sure about how safe the neighborhood was. The train station is close enough to walk (only a few blocks away) but I opted to take the shuttle because I wasn't sure about the neighborhood. On our way home, I noticed that there was a 24 hr Subway restaurant a few blocks over so the neighborhood can't be too bad, but better safe than sorry. I would probably stay there again. A decent price, you get what you pay for in that area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Shopping tip: Not Applicable

Take the train to Penn Station in NYC and leave your car at the hotel. Don't bother driving through NY.

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Robert Treat Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
dmcglaun
Single
Indianapolis
Feb 27, 2012

Was a nice stay, and the staff were friendly

Very nice amenities, didn't stay as long as I could have. Make sure you reserve the shuttle, as it runs every half hour. They will really take you anywhere you want to go! They gave me a nice room overlooking NYC and I got a beautiful dawn picture of the skyline! VERY convenient to the train station for getting into Manhattan.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Robert Treat Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
SKKC
Friends
Pittsburgh, PA, USA
Jan 23, 2012

YES!

A few of my friends and i wanted to do an inexpensive weekend trip, so we went to Newark to visit some friends. This hotel was in the perfect location! Food was in walking distance as well as the train station to go to NY. Not to mention it was affordable for a group of college students on a tight budget.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Friends

Back to menu Return to top