$104 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Oct 16, 2014 Check-out: Oct 17, 2014

BEST WESTERN PLUS Robert Treat Hotel

3 stars
50 Park Place, Newark, NJ 07102-4398
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
130 reviews
nice

very nice... See full review

  • goodiehbhbh
  • Aug 6, 2014
review

EVERYTHING WAS GOOD..NICE AND QUIET AND RESPECTFUL PEOPLE. See full review

  • KENDELL
  • Mar 5, 2014
The BEST WESTERN PLUS Robert Treat Hotel is the perfect setting for your organization's next meeting or social function. We offer six fully-equipped conference rooms, each capable of accommodating groups up to 50 people. Five banquet rooms accommodate larger groups including the impressive Tri-State Ballroom, largest in the region capable of seating up to 1,500.

Hotel Map

40.7391 -74.1687
Area served
Livingstone, Brooklyn,, East Orange, Irvington, Seaside Heights, Jersey City, Meadowland, Manhattan,, Elizabeth, Hillside, Queens,, Kearney, West Orange, Harrison
Nearby airports
(EWR), 3.00, MI, S;
Area description
Downtown

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed BEST WESTERN PLUS Robert Treat Hotel also booked these hotels.

BEST WESTERN PLUS Robert Treat Hotel Rooms

2 DOUBLE BEDS
2 DOUBLE BEDS,NSMK,REFRIG,HI SPEED,COFMKR,HAIR,IRON,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
1 DOUBLE BED
1 DOUBLE BED,SMOK,REFRIG,HI SPEED,COFMKR,HAIR,IRON,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
SUITE-1 KING BED
SUITE-1 KING BED,SMOK,JACUZI,SOFABD,CONFERENC AREA,MICRFG,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
SUITE-1 KING BED
SUITE-1 KING BED,SMOK,JACUZI,SOFABD,WINE RACK,MICRFG,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
1 QUEEN BED
1 QUEEN BED,MOBILITY ACCESSIBLE,ROLL IN SHOWER,NSMK,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
2 DOUBLE BEDS
2 DOUBLE BEDS,SMOK,REFRIG,HI SPEED,COFMKR,HAIR,IRON,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,NSMK,REFRIG,HI SPEED,COFMKR,HAIR,IRON,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,SMOK,REFRIG,HI SPEED,COFMKR,HAIR,IRON,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
1 QUEEN BED
1 QUEEN BED,NSMK,REFRIG,HI SPEED,COFMKR,HAIR,IRON,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
1 QUEEN BED
1 QUEEN BED,SMOK,REFRIG,HI SPEED,COFMKR,HAIR,IRON,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
1 QUEEN BED
1 QUEEN BED,NSMK,HI SPEED NET,SOFABED,REFRIG,COFMKR,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
SUITE-1 KING BED
SUITE-1 KING BED,SMOK,JACUZZI,SOFABD,MICRFRG,HI SPEED,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
1 QUEEN BED
1 QUEEN BED,SMOK,HI SPEED NET,SOFABED,REFRIG,COFMKR,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Exercise gym
Jacuzzi
Dining
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Coffee shop
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Laundry service
Guest laundromat
Concierge desk
Security
Wake-up service
Multilingual
Airline desk
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Outdoor parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
Sofa bed
Electronic door locks
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Prudential Center: 0.4 mi

Dining

Titanic
0.80 mile(s) from Titanic, bar/lounge, Seafood, open for: lunch, dinner, Portuguese
Maize
Maize, on premises, full service, Mediterranean, open for: breakfast, lunch, dinner, Zagat rated 3 Diamond fine dining
Don Pepe
Across the street from Don Pepe, bar/lounge, steak house, open for: lunch, dinner, Seafood
Iberia Peninsula
0.80 mile(s) from Iberia Peninsula, bar/lounge, steak house, open for: lunch, dinner, Seafood
Key Club
Adjacent to Key Club, bar/lounge, American, open for: lunch, dinner,

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (130)

Ratings and reviews for BEST WESTERN PLUS Robert Treat Hotel

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
130 out of 130
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
3.6
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
3.8
Value:
4

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Robert Treat Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
wthaka
Georgia
Apr 11, 2012

Good location

Ordinary. Staff in the breakfast room was especially warm

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Stores in the area, downtown Newark

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Robert Treat Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
adventrav
Business
Tábor, Czech Republic
Apr 5, 2012

Decent hotel with convenient access to Manhattan

The most important reason why I chose to stay in this hotel is that it is located within walking distance from the Newark PATH train station. The downside is that there is pretty much nothing to do, see, or eat in the immediate neighborhood of the hotel. The room was nice, clean, and comfortable. The reception staff was not particularly helpful, often due to incompetence. For example, I wanted to stay for a few more days, and pay for the remaining days in advance. The lady at the front desk was telling me this was not possible, and only when I pulled my papers, and showed her that I had done this once before, she reluctantly went to ask the manager, and sure enough it was indeed possible. Hence, if you need anything from the hotel staff, be persistent. All in all, I think it's a good place to stay if you need to commute to Manhattan, as the hotel is decent, not expensive, and it's 10 minutes from a train station.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Robert Treat Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Natmo
Michigan, USA
Apr 4, 2012

Just Okay

This hotel is an older hotel, the rooms need updating but you get a continental breakfast with your stay. The breakfast room is really nice, but they don't tell you about the breakfast or where the room is when you check in (it's on the garage level). The toilet in the bathroom was really weird, has a plunger handle like the public restrooms and you can't flush it unless the lid is down. Overall, the hotel wasn't too bad, it is very close to Penn station which is where you need to go if you are going to NY. The hotel has a 24 hr shuttle to take you to and from Penn station. A direct train ride to NY (from Penn Station Newark to Penn Station Madison Square Gardens) will cost you $10 round trip per person. The parking at the hotel sucks, it's free but extremely limited. The underground garage connected to the hotel is not owned by the hotel so if you are not careful and park there by accident you will have to pay. This was my first trip to NY and if you stay here, park your car and take public transit. The traffic in NY and the surrounding areas is insane. The only bad thing was that I wasn't too sure about how safe the neighborhood was. The train station is close enough to walk (only a few blocks away) but I opted to take the shuttle because I wasn't sure about the neighborhood. On our way home, I noticed that there was a 24 hr Subway restaurant a few blocks over so the neighborhood can't be too bad, but better safe than sorry. I would probably stay there again. A decent price, you get what you pay for in that area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Shopping tip: Not Applicable

Take the train to Penn Station in NYC and leave your car at the hotel. Don't bother driving through NY.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Robert Treat Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
dmcglaun
Indianapolis
Feb 27, 2012

Was a nice stay, and the staff were friendly

Very nice amenities, didn't stay as long as I could have. Make sure you reserve the shuttle, as it runs every half hour. They will really take you anywhere you want to go! They gave me a nice room overlooking NYC and I got a beautiful dawn picture of the skyline! VERY convenient to the train station for getting into Manhattan.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Robert Treat Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
lovely76
Queens, NY, USA
Feb 20, 2012

Romantic getaway

The hotel was very nice. Easily accessible by public transportation. Provides free shuttle to Newark Penn Station. I called the hotel and the shuttle came to pick me up within ten minutes.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Robert Treat Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
SKKC
Pittsburgh, PA, USA
Jan 23, 2012

YES!

A few of my friends and i wanted to do an inexpensive weekend trip, so we went to Newark to visit some friends. This hotel was in the perfect location! Food was in walking distance as well as the train station to go to NY. Not to mention it was affordable for a group of college students on a tight budget.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Robert Treat Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Xxgigixx
Miami, FL, USA
Jan 17, 2012

Weekend getaway

The hotel was pretty good The fridge didn't work but I didn't mind And the room service cuts off after 10 which sucked cus I was starving and it was 10:15pm so I had to run out to buy some food Other than that I loved it My view was completely awesome And my next trip I plan on staying there again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Not Applicable

I would travel to NYC every night The hotel shuttle runs 24hrs and so does the ny/nj train

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Robert Treat Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dish
Newark, NJ, USA
Jan 13, 2012

Couples Getway

Friendly staff, good location next to path station.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Robert Treat Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Luyouzhe
Business
Seattle, WA, USA
Jan 11, 2012

Between flights

Except for the late 3PM check-in date, which makes it really inconvenient for you if you arrive in the morning, the hotel is a good choice in downtown Newark with easy access to NYC.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Robert Treat Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
thislittlepiggy
London, UK
Jan 5, 2012

Great for the price

We wanted somewhere not far from the airport where we could rest our heads after a late flight and it was perfect - nice, clean room and lots to choose from for breakfast the next day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search