$104 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 18, 2015 Check-out: Aug 19, 2015

BEST WESTERN PLUS Robert Treat Hotel

3 stars
View map of 50 Park Place, Newark, NJ 07102-4398

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for BEST WESTERN PLUS Robert Treat Hotel

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
141 out of 141
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
3.7
Comfort:
4
Location:
3.9
Value:
4

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Robert Treat Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
NicolefromAK
Business
Alaska
Jan 6, 2013

Perfect for visiting NYC

The hotel was pretty nice, me and my boyfriend stayed 4 nights around new years and the room was nice. Everything was clean, cable worked, and free breakfast was nice but nothing fancy. We had a nice view of the NYC skyline. Only a few cons: Rooms weren't that sound proof, our neighbors were fighting for about an hour and we could hear everything, there wasn't a bathroom fan, and internet was very slow. Pros: super close to Newark Penn Station, the hotel will shuttle you to the train station for free. From there it is only a 5 dollar train ride per person to get to New York Penn station within 20 minutes. When we would get back to newark late we would take a cab from the train station to the hotel and it cost around 7-10 dollars only. Walgreens was close to train station. Room service was pretty reasonable if you ordered for lunch. The pizza, chicken parmesan sandwhich, and quesadilla were all delicious. I definitely will come back again for the price of 100 bucks a night on new years if I can't be in NYC.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

If you're trying to get to New York City, go to Newark Penn Station, buy a ticket to New York Penn station from the NJ Transit kiosks, it's only 5 bucks, go to track 1 and take train 1 and you should be good to go. It's a short ride and only stops once. If the ticket guy does not collect your ticket during the ride you can use it another time as long as its from newark penn to new york penn, saved us money a lot.

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Robert Treat Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sarah Darling
Business
Chicago, IL
Dec 10, 2012

Great for access to Jersey City & NYC!

I recently stayed the night while making a short trip to visit friends in Jersey City & see a show in NYC. The hotel was a bit difficult to find at first (on a one-way street, around a corner), and parking was limited due to a wedding reception on site, but otherwise provided easy access to other nearby areas & major roadways. The room was clean & furnishings were quite comfortable (best pillows in any hotel, ever!). My only complaint was that there were some very loud guests in neighboring rooms. I assumed the room had been left over from a reserved block for wedding guests, so I didn't even bother complaining. The view from the 14th floor was lovely at night, and again in the morning when the park below was covered in fog. I'd definitely stay again if back in the area!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Robert Treat Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Tim the Spanish Professor
Business
Syracuse, NY
Nov 15, 2012

Great place to stay in going in to NYC

Professional and friendly staff, classy, clean, historical, free parking, nice breakfast, near the PATH to get into NYC. Hard to beat.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Robert Treat Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
VERYUNSATISFIEDCUSTOMER
Business
Houston, TX
Nov 13, 2012

HORRIBLE NEVER AGAIN!

if i could give NO STARS i would. this is got to be BY FAR the worst hotel I've stayed at first and foremost every night i was there the floor smelled like weed. the second night we were there there was a group of people in the hallway with drums and were chanting from 1-3 in the morning. and the last night we stayed there we heard from across the hall a little boy say "PLEASE DON'T HURT HER!" needless to say the police were there a few moments later and the little boy explained to the police that "he was holding a gun to my mom's head" the police asked him if he had seen the gun and the little boy said "yes." ... throughout the whole night all you hear is sirens of cops and ambulances. the lady at the front desk she told me that her name was "mercedes" did not inform us that there is a shuttle to the train station instead handed us a MAP and told us where to walk to get there (which i complained to other workers about her and they all agree that she's a "not so nice woman" and said i should file a complaint. also i called the front desk and let them know that the TV had NO sound after watching it for 5mins or so... the TV never got fixed. the A/C didn't work. (yes i needed the a/c in this tiime of the year because when we walked in the room it was ridiculously hot. the towels the second day of coming there already had some kind of dirty "stain" on it... not dirt like brown dirty... but more of a yellowish.. sticky stain. i would NEVER EVER stay at this hotel nor wish it up on ANYONE to stay here. my experience at this best western pushes me away to stay at any of them. for the price at basically 130 a night i rather have stayed at a motel 6 for 50 a night. this hotel has no control over their workers and management is apparently so poor. i don't even know how it's open still.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Robert Treat Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Early Riser JC
Business
New Jersey
Oct 15, 2012

Great Hidden Deal

I have stayed at the hotel on numerous occasions and the staff are always accommodating as well as the rooms are fresh (non-smoking) and clean. The restaurant is very upscale (a little on the expensive side.) You are a short safe NJT or PATH train ride to NY or walk to the Ironbound section of Newark NJ.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Ironbound Section Newark, NJ

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Robert Treat Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
maceventura
Business
San Diego, California
Oct 10, 2012

Good for the price, close to airport

We wanted to be close to the airport. The Treat hotel is about a 10-minute shuttle ride. The pros: free 24-hour shuttle, price, and reasonable walking distance to Penn Station. Cons: outdated decor, trash on the floors, and we had to wait for our room to be cleaned upon check-in. Suggestion: stay in Hoboken or some other happening city if you have the time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Skip Subway and check out the local Airlie's Cafe for delicious Boar's Head sandwiches.

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Robert Treat Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
lawilog
Business
Germany
Oct 1, 2012

Only good if you arrieve in Newark airport

The hotel is near the Newark airport (in Sept 2012 the taxi was $20). However, if you arrive in JFK or LGA airport, you need a long taxi ride ($75 one way). You need almost the same money (and about one hour) to get into the city. For this money, you might as well get a more expensive hotel right in the city of New York. If you arrive in Newark airport and need to stay somewhere for one night, this is a good place. You get what you've paid for.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
1
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Robert Treat Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Melissa14AGT
Business
Sherrill NY
Aug 31, 2012

Americas Got Talent

My family and I stayed here while attending a broadcasting of Americas Got Talent. It was perfect! This hotel is very nice--clean, safe, conveniently located across the street from NJPAC, and inexpensive. And to top it all off, all of the AGT contestants stay here so we saw many of them throughout our stay! The only drawback--their on-site restaurant was expensive and not very good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Robert Treat Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Natali
Business
Sacramento, CA, USA
Aug 3, 2012

New York trip

Good location Good transportation service shuttle Cheep and ok rooms

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Robert Treat Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
jennp
Business
pittsburgh, pa
Jul 26, 2012

hotel review

we asked for an ironing board and did not get one and ice machine had no ice. food in the restaurant was not good. other than that hotel was ok. the free parking was nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top