$104 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 9, 2014 Check-out: Aug 10, 2014

BEST WESTERN PLUS Robert Treat Hotel

3 stars
50 Park Place, Newark, NJ 07102-4398
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
171 reviews
review

EVERYTHING WAS GOOD..NICE AND QUIET AND RESPECTFUL PEOPLE. See full review

  • KENDELL
  • Mar 5, 2014
great hotel inear airport and NY

This hotel is a very good stay and easy inexpensive transit to NY city. My husband and I took the... See full review

  • Ann andJerry
  • Dec 14, 2013
Luxury Newark landmark hotel restored with contemporary amenities

The historic Best Western Plus Robert Treat Hotel envelops guests in the grace and elegance of the early 1900s and the luxuries of contemporary living. The hotel has hosted five presidents, yet its low-key atmosphere and attentive staff ensure that honeymooners and business travelers feel equally at home. Robert Treat features an award-winning restaurant with an extensive wine list, free deluxe breakfast, a business center, meeting space and a fitness center. Hotel shuttles serve both the Newark airport and train station. Outdoor parking is free.

Highlights
  • Landmark hotel, exquisitely restored for the 21st century
  • Dine at award-winning restaurant, with an exceptional wine list
  • Hotel-provided shuttle service to either Newark airport or Newark Penn Station
  • Request a room with a view of the park, or NYC
  • Impressive ballroom available, which can seat up to 1,500 guests
Location

Best Western Plus Robert Treat Hotel is in downtown Newark, next to the New Jersey Historical Society, New Jersey Performing Arts Center and other cultural destinations. Lower Manhattan is a short drive away.

Rooms

Guest rooms and suites at Best Western Plus Robert Treat Hotel feature classic neutral palettes and historic design elements. All include high-speed Internet access (fees apply), as well as cable/satellite TV with HBO. Rooms also have a spacious work desk, dataport, refrigerator, coffee-maker and hair-dryer. Some rooms have a New York City or park view.

Dining

Enjoy free deluxe Continental breakfast service daily. The sumptuous and award-winning Maize restaurant at Best Western Plus Robert Treat Hotel serves breakfast, lunch and dinner 7 days a week. The restaurant also offers an extensive wine list and tea menu. Enjoy cocktails at the rooftop lounge bar and grill.

Recreation

Keep up with a workout routine – the hotel's exercise facility is open from 5 a.m. to midnight daily. The fitness center features a stair stepper, stationary bike, treadmill, rowing machine and more.

Transportation
  • Newark Penn Station (0.7 mi/1.2 km)
  • Newark Liberty International Airport (4.7 mi/7.6 km)
  • Hotel provides Newark train and airport shuttle service
Attractions
  • New Jersey Performing Arts Center (Adjacent)
  • Newark Museum (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • Prudential Center (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Giants Stadium (9.8 mi/15.8 km)
  • Manhattan (10.2 mi/16.5 km)
Business
  • 6 fully-equipped conference rooms, each can host up to 50 people
  • 5 banquet rooms, including the Tri-State Ballroom which can seat up to 1,500 guests
  • Business center
  • Audiovisual equipment
  • High-speed Internet access (fees apply)

Hotel Map

40.7391 -74.1687
Area served
Jersey City, Seaside Heights, Hillside, Queens,, Irvington, Manhattan,, Elizabeth, Livingstone, Brooklyn,, Harrison, West Orange, Kearney, East Orange, Meadowland
Nearby airports
(EWR), 3.00, MI, S;
Area description
Downtown

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed BEST WESTERN PLUS Robert Treat Hotel also booked these hotels.

BEST WESTERN PLUS Robert Treat Hotel Rooms

2 DOUBLE BEDS
2 DOUBLE BEDS,NSMK,REFRIG,HI SPEED,COFMKR,HAIR,IRON,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
1 DOUBLE BED
1 DOUBLE BED,SMOK,REFRIG,HI SPEED,COFMKR,HAIR,IRON,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
SUITE-1 KING BED
SUITE-1 KING BED,SMOK,JACUZI,SOFABD,CONFERENC AREA,MICRFG,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
SUITE-1 KING BED
SUITE-1 KING BED,SMOK,JACUZI,SOFABD,WINE RACK,MICRFG,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
1 QUEEN BED
1 QUEEN BED,MOBILITY ACCESSIBLE,ROLL IN SHOWER,NSMK,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
2 DOUBLE BEDS
2 DOUBLE BEDS,SMOK,REFRIG,HI SPEED,COFMKR,HAIR,IRON,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,NSMK,REFRIG,HI SPEED,COFMKR,HAIR,IRON,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,SMOK,REFRIG,HI SPEED,COFMKR,HAIR,IRON,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
1 QUEEN BED
1 QUEEN BED,NSMK,REFRIG,HI SPEED,COFMKR,HAIR,IRON,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
1 QUEEN BED
1 QUEEN BED,SMOK,REFRIG,HI SPEED,COFMKR,HAIR,IRON,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
1 QUEEN BED
1 QUEEN BED,NSMK,HI SPEED NET,SOFABED,REFRIG,COFMKR,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
SUITE-1 KING BED
SUITE-1 KING BED,SMOK,JACUZZI,SOFABD,MICRFRG,HI SPEED,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
1 QUEEN BED
1 QUEEN BED,SMOK,HI SPEED NET,SOFABED,REFRIG,COFMKR,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Exercise gym
Jacuzzi
Dining
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Coffee shop
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Laundry service
Guest laundromat
Concierge desk
Security
Wake-up service
Multilingual
Airline desk
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Outdoor parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
Sofa bed
Electronic door locks
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Prudential Center: 0.4 mi

Dining

Key Club
Adjacent to Key Club, bar/lounge, American, open for: lunch, dinner,
Titanic
0.80 mile(s) from Titanic, bar/lounge, Seafood, open for: lunch, dinner, Portuguese
Don Pepe
Across the street from Don Pepe, bar/lounge, steak house, open for: lunch, dinner, Seafood
Maize
Maize, on premises, full service, Mediterranean, open for: breakfast, lunch, dinner, Zagat rated 3 Diamond fine dining
Iberia Peninsula
0.80 mile(s) from Iberia Peninsula, bar/lounge, steak house, open for: lunch, dinner, Seafood

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (171)

Ratings and reviews for BEST WESTERN PLUS Robert Treat Hotel

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
171 out of 171
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
3.6
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
3.9
Value:
4.1

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Robert Treat Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Delo
San Francisco
Jun 22, 2012

East Coast Visitor

My stay at the hotel was a great experience from beginning to end. The staff accommodated my early arrival and gave me a room. The room had everything I needed for my time there. It was clean. The breakfast staff was cheerful and very welcoming and helpful. The Maize restaurant has an elegant atmosphere. The shuttle service is prompt. The driver was most helpful and courteous. I would highly recommend this hotel to a friend and I would definitely stay there again myself.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Penn Station is within easy walking distance so access to New York Path trains is possible without having to take a shuttle to the station.

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Robert Treat Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Oft Traveled
Business
San Francisco CA
May 23, 2012

Great hotel for NYC visit

Rooms, though small, are clean, well-maintained, and comfortable. Staff is helpful. Shuttle van to/from hotel and NJ Penn Station makes getting into NYC extremely convenient. Drivers are always friendly and helpful. Complimentary breakfast is more than satisfying, and hotel staff in breakfast lounge are always kind and friendly. Great place to stay when visiting NYC - and also to see the wonderful Newark Museum.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Robert Treat Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Angela from Alaska
Alaska
May 17, 2012

Great short term!

The price I paid for this room was incredibly reasonable. Very clean and nicely decorated room, decent amount of TV channels, all the provisions I needed, wonderful restaurant, over-all great room. The front desk attendants could have been a bit friendlier but they helped me with everything I needed. Shuttle was awesome. Restaurant staff was fantastic (as well as the food!) and the menu at the bar was very reasonably priced. The shuttle service was great and really easy to figure out! Only issue I could think of is the plumbing (hard to flush the toilet) and how the water tastes... In my home in Alaska, water is totally drinkable from the tap. Water in Newark seemed to taste like it had plant life in it! Be sure to bring water or maybe just run their water through the mini coffee maker once or twice :P

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Dining tip: In Hotel

Beautiful restaurant, but your best bet is the bar menu if you don't want to spend $50 bucks for each person.

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Robert Treat Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
book31
syracuse, ny
May 17, 2012

good service

the crib is nice. the breakfast is fine. the location is good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Robert Treat Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
wthaka
Georgia
Apr 11, 2012

Good location

Ordinary. Staff in the breakfast room was especially warm

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Stores in the area, downtown Newark

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Robert Treat Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
adventrav
Business
Tábor, Czech Republic
Apr 5, 2012

Decent hotel with convenient access to Manhattan

The most important reason why I chose to stay in this hotel is that it is located within walking distance from the Newark PATH train station. The downside is that there is pretty much nothing to do, see, or eat in the immediate neighborhood of the hotel. The room was nice, clean, and comfortable. The reception staff was not particularly helpful, often due to incompetence. For example, I wanted to stay for a few more days, and pay for the remaining days in advance. The lady at the front desk was telling me this was not possible, and only when I pulled my papers, and showed her that I had done this once before, she reluctantly went to ask the manager, and sure enough it was indeed possible. Hence, if you need anything from the hotel staff, be persistent. All in all, I think it's a good place to stay if you need to commute to Manhattan, as the hotel is decent, not expensive, and it's 10 minutes from a train station.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Robert Treat Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Natmo
Michigan, USA
Apr 4, 2012

Just Okay

This hotel is an older hotel, the rooms need updating but you get a continental breakfast with your stay. The breakfast room is really nice, but they don't tell you about the breakfast or where the room is when you check in (it's on the garage level). The toilet in the bathroom was really weird, has a plunger handle like the public restrooms and you can't flush it unless the lid is down. Overall, the hotel wasn't too bad, it is very close to Penn station which is where you need to go if you are going to NY. The hotel has a 24 hr shuttle to take you to and from Penn station. A direct train ride to NY (from Penn Station Newark to Penn Station Madison Square Gardens) will cost you $10 round trip per person. The parking at the hotel sucks, it's free but extremely limited. The underground garage connected to the hotel is not owned by the hotel so if you are not careful and park there by accident you will have to pay. This was my first trip to NY and if you stay here, park your car and take public transit. The traffic in NY and the surrounding areas is insane. The only bad thing was that I wasn't too sure about how safe the neighborhood was. The train station is close enough to walk (only a few blocks away) but I opted to take the shuttle because I wasn't sure about the neighborhood. On our way home, I noticed that there was a 24 hr Subway restaurant a few blocks over so the neighborhood can't be too bad, but better safe than sorry. I would probably stay there again. A decent price, you get what you pay for in that area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Shopping tip: Not Applicable

Take the train to Penn Station in NYC and leave your car at the hotel. Don't bother driving through NY.

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Robert Treat Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
dmcglaun
Indianapolis
Feb 27, 2012

Was a nice stay, and the staff were friendly

Very nice amenities, didn't stay as long as I could have. Make sure you reserve the shuttle, as it runs every half hour. They will really take you anywhere you want to go! They gave me a nice room overlooking NYC and I got a beautiful dawn picture of the skyline! VERY convenient to the train station for getting into Manhattan.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Robert Treat Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
lovely76
Queens, NY, USA
Feb 20, 2012

Romantic getaway

The hotel was very nice. Easily accessible by public transportation. Provides free shuttle to Newark Penn Station. I called the hotel and the shuttle came to pick me up within ten minutes.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Robert Treat Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
SKKC
Pittsburgh, PA, USA
Jan 23, 2012

YES!

A few of my friends and i wanted to do an inexpensive weekend trip, so we went to Newark to visit some friends. This hotel was in the perfect location! Food was in walking distance as well as the train station to go to NY. Not to mention it was affordable for a group of college students on a tight budget.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Back to menu Return to top