$88 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jan 15, 2015 Check-out: Jan 17, 2015

BEST WESTERN PLUS Robert Treat Hotel

3 stars
50 Park Place, Newark, NJ 07102-4398
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
140 reviews
What a wonderful stay

Friendly staff, Convient location to the city, what a wonderful historic hotel to stay in, five out... See full review

  • aprince
  • Nov 19, 2014
nice

very nice... See full review

  • goodiehbhbh
  • Aug 6, 2014
Luxury Newark landmark hotel restored with contemporary amenities

The historic Best Western Plus Robert Treat Hotel envelops guests in the grace and elegance of the early 1900s and the luxuries of contemporary living. The hotel has hosted five presidents, yet its low-key atmosphere and attentive staff ensure that honeymooners and business travelers feel equally at home. Robert Treat features an award-winning restaurant with an extensive wine list, free deluxe breakfast, a business center, meeting space and a fitness center. Hotel shuttles serve both the Newark airport and train station. Outdoor parking is free.

Highlights
  • Landmark hotel, exquisitely restored for the 21st century
  • Dine at award-winning restaurant, with an exceptional wine list
  • Hotel-provided shuttle service to either Newark airport or Newark Penn Station
  • Request a room with a view of the park, or NYC
  • Impressive ballroom available, which can seat up to 1,500 guests
Location

Best Western Plus Robert Treat Hotel is in downtown Newark, next to the New Jersey Historical Society, New Jersey Performing Arts Center and other cultural destinations. Lower Manhattan is a short drive away.

Rooms

Guest rooms and suites at Best Western Plus Robert Treat Hotel feature classic neutral palettes and historic design elements. All include high-speed Internet access (fees apply), as well as cable/satellite TV with HBO. Rooms also have a spacious work desk, dataport, refrigerator, coffee-maker and hair-dryer. Some rooms have a New York City or park view.

Dining

Enjoy free deluxe Continental breakfast service daily. The sumptuous and award-winning Maize restaurant at Best Western Plus Robert Treat Hotel serves breakfast, lunch and dinner 7 days a week. The restaurant also offers an extensive wine list and tea menu. Enjoy cocktails at the rooftop lounge bar and grill.

Recreation

Keep up with a workout routine – the hotel's exercise facility is open from 5 a.m. to midnight daily. The fitness center features a stair stepper, stationary bike, treadmill, rowing machine and more.

Transportation
  • Newark Penn Station (0.7 mi/1.2 km)
  • Newark Liberty International Airport (4.7 mi/7.6 km)
  • Hotel provides Newark train and airport shuttle service
Attractions
  • New Jersey Performing Arts Center (Adjacent)
  • Newark Museum (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • Prudential Center (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Giants Stadium (9.8 mi/15.8 km)
  • Manhattan (10.2 mi/16.5 km)
Business
  • 6 fully-equipped conference rooms, each can host up to 50 people
  • 5 banquet rooms, including the Tri-State Ballroom which can seat up to 1,500 guests
  • Business center
  • Audiovisual equipment
  • High-speed Internet access (fees apply)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed BEST WESTERN PLUS Robert Treat Hotel also booked these hotels.

BEST WESTERN PLUS Robert Treat Hotel Rooms

2 DOUBLE BEDS
2 DOUBLE BEDS,NSMK,REFRIG,HI SPEED,COFMKR,HAIR,IRON,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
1 DOUBLE BED
1 DOUBLE BED,SMOK,REFRIG,HI SPEED,COFMKR,HAIR,IRON,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
SUITE-1 KING BED
SUITE-1 KING BED,SMOK,JACUZI,SOFABD,CONFERENC AREA,MICRFG,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
SUITE-1 KING BED
SUITE-1 KING BED,SMOK,JACUZI,SOFABD,WINE RACK,MICRFG,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
1 QUEEN BED
1 QUEEN BED,MOBILITY ACCESSIBLE,ROLL IN SHOWER,NSMK,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
2 DOUBLE BEDS
2 DOUBLE BEDS,SMOK,REFRIG,HI SPEED,COFMKR,HAIR,IRON,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,NSMK,REFRIG,HI SPEED,COFMKR,HAIR,IRON,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,SMOK,REFRIG,HI SPEED,COFMKR,HAIR,IRON,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
1 QUEEN BED
1 QUEEN BED,NSMK,REFRIG,HI SPEED,COFMKR,HAIR,IRON,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
1 QUEEN BED
1 QUEEN BED,SMOK,REFRIG,HI SPEED,COFMKR,HAIR,IRON,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
1 QUEEN BED
1 QUEEN BED,NSMK,HI SPEED NET,SOFABED,REFRIG,COFMKR,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
SUITE-1 KING BED
SUITE-1 KING BED,SMOK,JACUZZI,SOFABD,MICRFRG,HI SPEED,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
1 QUEEN BED
1 QUEEN BED,SMOK,HI SPEED NET,SOFABED,REFRIG,COFMKR,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Exercise gym
Jacuzzi
Dining
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Coffee shop
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Laundry service
Guest laundromat
Concierge desk
Security
Wake-up service
Multilingual
Airline desk
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Outdoor parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
Sofa bed
Electronic door locks
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Prudential Center: 0.4 mi

Dining

Maize
Maize, on premises, full service, Mediterranean, open for: breakfast, lunch, dinner, Zagat rated 3 Diamond fine dining
Iberia Peninsula
0.80 mile(s) from Iberia Peninsula, bar/lounge, steak house, open for: lunch, dinner, Seafood
Titanic
0.80 mile(s) from Titanic, bar/lounge, Seafood, open for: lunch, dinner, Portuguese
Key Club
Adjacent to Key Club, bar/lounge, American, open for: lunch, dinner,
Don Pepe
Across the street from Don Pepe, bar/lounge, steak house, open for: lunch, dinner, Seafood

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (140)

Ratings and reviews for BEST WESTERN PLUS Robert Treat Hotel

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
140 out of 140
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
3.6
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
3.9
Value:
4

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Robert Treat Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Hilo group
Business
Hilo, Hawaii
Jan 22, 2013

family trip

Great experience and convenient. Free shuttle to the airport and Penn St.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Robert Treat Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Fabbas
Business
Anaheim ca
Jan 17, 2013

Good overall

Heater could've been better. Staff was good. Got towels and cleaning when we needed it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Robert Treat Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Allan CA
Business
Los angeles, Ca
Jan 8, 2013

very poor costumer service

There is no wifi in my room and they said apple products cannot get their wifi! hello I'm not stupid! I ended up not having wifi. I called in for a shaving set, they said they will deliver it in my room but never did.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Robert Treat Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
NicolefromAK
Business
Alaska
Jan 6, 2013

Perfect for visiting NYC

The hotel was pretty nice, me and my boyfriend stayed 4 nights around new years and the room was nice. Everything was clean, cable worked, and free breakfast was nice but nothing fancy. We had a nice view of the NYC skyline. Only a few cons: Rooms weren't that sound proof, our neighbors were fighting for about an hour and we could hear everything, there wasn't a bathroom fan, and internet was very slow. Pros: super close to Newark Penn Station, the hotel will shuttle you to the train station for free. From there it is only a 5 dollar train ride per person to get to New York Penn station within 20 minutes. When we would get back to newark late we would take a cab from the train station to the hotel and it cost around 7-10 dollars only. Walgreens was close to train station. Room service was pretty reasonable if you ordered for lunch. The pizza, chicken parmesan sandwhich, and quesadilla were all delicious. I definitely will come back again for the price of 100 bucks a night on new years if I can't be in NYC.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

If you're trying to get to New York City, go to Newark Penn Station, buy a ticket to New York Penn station from the NJ Transit kiosks, it's only 5 bucks, go to track 1 and take train 1 and you should be good to go. It's a short ride and only stops once. If the ticket guy does not collect your ticket during the ride you can use it another time as long as its from newark penn to new york penn, saved us money a lot.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Robert Treat Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
TopMarc
Business
VIrginia
Dec 16, 2012

Tired decor, tired staff, poor experience

Booked a non-smoking room - got a smoking room and front desk staff not interested in helping me by finding what i wanted. Room was old, shower curtain hanging off its mountings, the start of mold growing on the tiles and the smell of stale cigarette smoke. I didnt eat at the restaurants in the hotel but still received a phone call in my room at 12.30 am one morning from an angry restaurant manager insisting i give him my credit card information - i tried to explain i didnt eat in their restaurant (so i cant comment on the quality of the food or service) but he demanded he came to my room to get my details (i refused and asked to speak to the manager). When the manager came on the line he said there had been a mix-up and the bill was for another room - no apology he just hung up on me. Fitness room was cold and smelly - the water in the water fountain had a bad taste. This hotel should be avoided if you can find another nearby. The location was patrolled regularly by police which would normally inspire confidence and safety but in this case was simply disconcerting - i can imagine that trouble kicks off in this neighbourhood on a regular basis. I was glad to leave and will not return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Robert Treat Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sarah Darling
Business
Chicago, IL
Dec 10, 2012

Great for access to Jersey City & NYC!

I recently stayed the night while making a short trip to visit friends in Jersey City & see a show in NYC. The hotel was a bit difficult to find at first (on a one-way street, around a corner), and parking was limited due to a wedding reception on site, but otherwise provided easy access to other nearby areas & major roadways. The room was clean & furnishings were quite comfortable (best pillows in any hotel, ever!). My only complaint was that there were some very loud guests in neighboring rooms. I assumed the room had been left over from a reserved block for wedding guests, so I didn't even bother complaining. The view from the 14th floor was lovely at night, and again in the morning when the park below was covered in fog. I'd definitely stay again if back in the area!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Robert Treat Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Tim the Spanish Professor
Business
Syracuse, NY
Nov 15, 2012

Great place to stay in going in to NYC

Professional and friendly staff, classy, clean, historical, free parking, nice breakfast, near the PATH to get into NYC. Hard to beat.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Robert Treat Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
VERYUNSATISFIEDCUSTOMER
Business
Houston, TX
Nov 13, 2012

HORRIBLE NEVER AGAIN!

if i could give NO STARS i would. this is got to be BY FAR the worst hotel I've stayed at first and foremost every night i was there the floor smelled like weed. the second night we were there there was a group of people in the hallway with drums and were chanting from 1-3 in the morning. and the last night we stayed there we heard from across the hall a little boy say "PLEASE DON'T HURT HER!" needless to say the police were there a few moments later and the little boy explained to the police that "he was holding a gun to my mom's head" the police asked him if he had seen the gun and the little boy said "yes." ... throughout the whole night all you hear is sirens of cops and ambulances. the lady at the front desk she told me that her name was "mercedes" did not inform us that there is a shuttle to the train station instead handed us a MAP and told us where to walk to get there (which i complained to other workers about her and they all agree that she's a "not so nice woman" and said i should file a complaint. also i called the front desk and let them know that the TV had NO sound after watching it for 5mins or so... the TV never got fixed. the A/C didn't work. (yes i needed the a/c in this tiime of the year because when we walked in the room it was ridiculously hot. the towels the second day of coming there already had some kind of dirty "stain" on it... not dirt like brown dirty... but more of a yellowish.. sticky stain. i would NEVER EVER stay at this hotel nor wish it up on ANYONE to stay here. my experience at this best western pushes me away to stay at any of them. for the price at basically 130 a night i rather have stayed at a motel 6 for 50 a night. this hotel has no control over their workers and management is apparently so poor. i don't even know how it's open still.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Robert Treat Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Early Riser JC
Business
New Jersey
Oct 15, 2012

Great Hidden Deal

I have stayed at the hotel on numerous occasions and the staff are always accommodating as well as the rooms are fresh (non-smoking) and clean. The restaurant is very upscale (a little on the expensive side.) You are a short safe NJT or PATH train ride to NY or walk to the Ironbound section of Newark NJ.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Ironbound Section Newark, NJ

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Robert Treat Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
maceventura
Business
San Diego, California
Oct 10, 2012

Good for the price, close to airport

We wanted to be close to the airport. The Treat hotel is about a 10-minute shuttle ride. The pros: free 24-hour shuttle, price, and reasonable walking distance to Penn Station. Cons: outdated decor, trash on the floors, and we had to wait for our room to be cleaned upon check-in. Suggestion: stay in Hoboken or some other happening city if you have the time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Skip Subway and check out the local Airlie's Cafe for delicious Boar's Head sandwiches.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top