$104 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Oct 16, 2014 Check-out: Oct 17, 2014

BEST WESTERN PLUS Robert Treat Hotel

3 stars
50 Park Place, Newark, NJ 07102-4398
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
130 reviews
nice

very nice... See full review

  • goodiehbhbh
  • Aug 6, 2014
review

EVERYTHING WAS GOOD..NICE AND QUIET AND RESPECTFUL PEOPLE. See full review

  • KENDELL
  • Mar 5, 2014
The BEST WESTERN PLUS Robert Treat Hotel is the perfect setting for your organization's next meeting or social function. We offer six fully-equipped conference rooms, each capable of accommodating groups up to 50 people. Five banquet rooms accommodate larger groups including the impressive Tri-State Ballroom, largest in the region capable of seating up to 1,500.

Hotel Map

40.7391 -74.1687
Area served
Livingstone, Brooklyn,, East Orange, Irvington, Seaside Heights, Jersey City, Meadowland, Manhattan,, Elizabeth, Hillside, Queens,, Kearney, West Orange, Harrison
Nearby airports
(EWR), 3.00, MI, S;
Area description
Downtown

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed BEST WESTERN PLUS Robert Treat Hotel also booked these hotels.

BEST WESTERN PLUS Robert Treat Hotel Rooms

2 DOUBLE BEDS
2 DOUBLE BEDS,NSMK,REFRIG,HI SPEED,COFMKR,HAIR,IRON,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
1 DOUBLE BED
1 DOUBLE BED,SMOK,REFRIG,HI SPEED,COFMKR,HAIR,IRON,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
SUITE-1 KING BED
SUITE-1 KING BED,SMOK,JACUZI,SOFABD,CONFERENC AREA,MICRFG,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
SUITE-1 KING BED
SUITE-1 KING BED,SMOK,JACUZI,SOFABD,WINE RACK,MICRFG,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
1 QUEEN BED
1 QUEEN BED,MOBILITY ACCESSIBLE,ROLL IN SHOWER,NSMK,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
2 DOUBLE BEDS
2 DOUBLE BEDS,SMOK,REFRIG,HI SPEED,COFMKR,HAIR,IRON,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,NSMK,REFRIG,HI SPEED,COFMKR,HAIR,IRON,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,SMOK,REFRIG,HI SPEED,COFMKR,HAIR,IRON,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
1 QUEEN BED
1 QUEEN BED,NSMK,REFRIG,HI SPEED,COFMKR,HAIR,IRON,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
1 QUEEN BED
1 QUEEN BED,SMOK,REFRIG,HI SPEED,COFMKR,HAIR,IRON,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
1 QUEEN BED
1 QUEEN BED,NSMK,HI SPEED NET,SOFABED,REFRIG,COFMKR,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
SUITE-1 KING BED
SUITE-1 KING BED,SMOK,JACUZZI,SOFABD,MICRFRG,HI SPEED,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
1 QUEEN BED
1 QUEEN BED,SMOK,HI SPEED NET,SOFABED,REFRIG,COFMKR,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Exercise gym
Jacuzzi
Dining
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Coffee shop
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Laundry service
Guest laundromat
Concierge desk
Security
Wake-up service
Multilingual
Airline desk
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Outdoor parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
Sofa bed
Electronic door locks
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Prudential Center: 0.4 mi

Dining

Titanic
0.80 mile(s) from Titanic, bar/lounge, Seafood, open for: lunch, dinner, Portuguese
Maize
Maize, on premises, full service, Mediterranean, open for: breakfast, lunch, dinner, Zagat rated 3 Diamond fine dining
Don Pepe
Across the street from Don Pepe, bar/lounge, steak house, open for: lunch, dinner, Seafood
Iberia Peninsula
0.80 mile(s) from Iberia Peninsula, bar/lounge, steak house, open for: lunch, dinner, Seafood
Key Club
Adjacent to Key Club, bar/lounge, American, open for: lunch, dinner,

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (130)

Ratings and reviews for BEST WESTERN PLUS Robert Treat Hotel

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
130 out of 130
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
3.6
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
3.8
Value:
4

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Robert Treat Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Delo
San Francisco
Jun 22, 2012

East Coast Visitor

My stay at the hotel was a great experience from beginning to end. The staff accommodated my early arrival and gave me a room. The room had everything I needed for my time there. It was clean. The breakfast staff was cheerful and very welcoming and helpful. The Maize restaurant has an elegant atmosphere. The shuttle service is prompt. The driver was most helpful and courteous. I would highly recommend this hotel to a friend and I would definitely stay there again myself.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Penn Station is within easy walking distance so access to New York Path trains is possible without having to take a shuttle to the station.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Robert Treat Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Grandpa djb
Business
Cedar Rapids, Iowas
Oct 4, 2013

Business travel

Hotel staff was courteous and room was clean. Only issue was waiting for 1 hour at the airport for the shuttle.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Robert Treat Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cosme Vargas
Monterrey, NL, Mx
Sep 25, 2013

Comfortable experience !!

The hotel has free shuttle from Newark Airport. On our way to the hotel, the driver was telling the story of the hotel. It's an historic hotel where some presidents and famous people had stayed in the past. The staff hospitality was amazing, I receive help everytime, especially when I need directions. The room was very clean and bed was really comfortable. I enjoy my stay, I will definitely come back, thinking to go back on 2016, when they will celebrate 100 years!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Robert Treat Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Raymo1
Business
Chicago, IL
Sep 17, 2013

Useless Key Cards

I was disappointed because for the 3 days I stayed the key card to the room never worked. The desk clerks re-issued key cards on 3 different occasions but they never functioned. Every time I wanted to access the room I had to get a security person or desk clerk to accompany me to the room and open the room with a traditional metal key. It was very frustrating to say the least. I tried to change my room but was told none were available. Also the beverage machines directly in front of my room made a very annoying and relentless beeping sound which disturbed me from a restful sleep.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Ferry Street restaurants are good.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Robert Treat Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Pipe
Newport
Sep 3, 2013

good location

15 mins walk from newark penn station. and you can travel easily to and from NY with NJ transit

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Robert Treat Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
EB1217
Farmington Hills, MI, USA
Aug 7, 2013

Location based

The hotel was used for location to Newark Penn Station to and from Manhattan. For that, it is very good with just a few blocks walk to the station. The room itself was nice, beds, desk, tv, refrigerator, etc.... However, the restroom was not updated and was bare bones. It sufficed. The staff was pleasant and tried to help when needed. The Wifi in the room works poorly, and when asked about it, I was informed the weather sometimes knocks it out. On clear days it is still poor. I was provided a cable to hookup at the desk in my room. It was a fix, but I would have preferred to have the Wifi work properly. The restaurant (Maize) was not that impressive. After traveling, or a night in the city, you would like a small bite to eat. Unfortunately, you have the choice of the dinning room or the bar, neither of which has food priced appropriately. I would recommend taking your business elsewhere. A funny story with the separation of dining and the bar. The room is a rectangle, with no walls separating the bar. My group of four sat down in the dining area and asked for the specials which were on the board. We were informed that you have to sit in the bar for them, and rather rudely, informed that is why they are called bar specials. With no seats at the bar itself, merely 20 feet from our table, we were moved one table over between pillars. Kind of silly, especially with the place being empty. I presume the bar and the dinning area are run separately. Again, if you are looking for a place to stay to visit Manhattan and take the train, it does the trick. If you are looking for a halfway decent hotel with some food, go elsewhere.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Niz Sushi, off of Central Avenue, is a few blocks away and a great value. The staff was pleasant, they provided complimentary mussels, the food was great, and once inside, you forget the drab surroundings of the neighborhood.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Robert Treat Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
V.Kumar
Doha, Qatar
Jul 13, 2013

Convenient for a short stay

Peaceful and convenient. The availability of shuttle to the airport and Penn station makes things easy even for a first time traveler to the east coast. The sumptuous breakfast provided was good. The amenities in the room were of a decent quality however the room felt cramped up as we were a family of three carrying a lot of luggage.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Robert Treat Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Nesi
Business
Ft. Lauderdale, FL
Jul 11, 2013

Good location

My room was very clean, and well-equipped, with the exception of a microwave - which I would have liked. Notwithstanding that, it was right next to the NJPAO; not too far a walk to Newark Penn Station, although they did have shuttle buses, I was too impatient to wait. My shuttle bus to the airport was great, and it stopped at the terminal of your departure, unlike another hotel I stayed, that left me at the air-tram, and almost caused me to miss my flight. All in all, it was a very good experience, and I would book this hotel in the future. Most all places were of a business nature, and all within walking distance - which was a big plus and saved me from car rental fees or taxis.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The restaurant in the hotel had really good quality food. I also visited one of the many Portuguese restaurants, which Newark is well-known for. My next trip will have to include the Performing Arts Center, which is directly across the street, and has a nice assortment of hi-end entertainers.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Robert Treat Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Philgood
Bethesda MD
Jun 4, 2013

A good value

Very clean,well located. Easy access to the airport and Newark Penn Station. The shuttle is free.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Robert Treat Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TravelingMr.B
Dallas
May 15, 2013

price effective New York stay

It may be an older hotel that could use a little updating but its a terrific value. Shuttle to Penn Station and Newark airport made it easy to get to NYC on the train. big rooms, full workout room not just a bike and full restaurant but upscale and pricy. The downside is that that there are almost no other restaurants close by but there are a couple of Italian places that deliver and are cheap but good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Robert Treat Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kiwitweet
concord,nc
May 13, 2013

great location

shuttle to penn station would have been helpful unfortunately was not available during our stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search