$155 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 24, 2015 Check-out: Apr 26, 2015

The Westin Jersey City Newport

4 stars
View map of 479 Washington Boulevard, 479 Washington Boulevard, Jersey City, NJ 07310

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Westin Jersey City Newport

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
88 out of 88
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.9

84% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Westin Jersey City Newport

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
cdc80s
Business
Seattle, WA
Sep 23, 2009

Awesome Hotel Stay

The hotel was clean, quiet and accomodating. My room offered a beatiful view of the water/park right across the street. The hotel is right around the corner from the train station, major super market and mall. I was able to get to and from NY without any issues.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

There's a mall with a full food court and path to the train right around the corner.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Jersey City Newport

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Burbank, CA
Sep 16, 2009

Perfect!

Really Roomy nice and clean luxurious rooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Jersey City Newport

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
grodeestok
Business
Nashville,TN
Sep 15, 2009

Westin Jersey City

We have stayed at hotels and resorts around the world and consider our stay at the Westin Jersey City to be at the top of our list of pleasant and relaxing stays.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Jersey City Newport

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Mpls, Mn.
Sep 14, 2009

The Westin

We really liked the rooms and the comfy beds. I have never stayed in a nicer room. The hotel is located right by the path train, so convient to transporation. Also a shopping mall right next door, so great if your looking for inexpensive food.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Short walk across the street to path train and shopping mall. This area was a bit farther by taxi, so you would pay more then if you stay right in Manhatten area.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Jersey City Newport

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
P.J. 31520
Business
Atlanta, Ga
Sep 14, 2009

My great trip.

This was a business trip, but it turned into a mini vacation. Great hotel....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Jersey City Newport

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Austin, TX
Sep 13, 2009

will return

I feel inclined to mark this review down so I don't have to worry about them raising their rates the next time I'd like to stay in New York... but that wouldn't be fair. I really can't imagine finding better accommodations in the NYC area without spending considerably more for them. The rooms were small by Texas standards - 375 sq ft - but well furnished. Our room had a great view of the Hudson and downtown along with a chaise lounge for enjoying it. Overall, it was a very comfortable and relaxing place to return to in the evenings. Westin's heavenly bedding and complimentary calming herbal tea were icing on the cake. I hope I can give them my business again soon.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The PATH trains depart from just down the block and can take you to 33rd street near NY Penn Station. There you can purchase a 10 or 20 trip PATH card for reduced fare. It's faster and more comfortable than a cab.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Jersey City Newport

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Milwaukee, WI
Sep 7, 2009

Excellent Hotel with helpful staff

When I arrived the staff welcomed me, and thanked me for staying at the Westin. I was able to get into my room early and offered me a better room if i wanted to wait for it, but any room was fine with me. I went up to room and was surprised at how big the room was and very well decorated. The bed was very comfortable, the bathroom shower was awesome too. The hotel was very close to the PATH which took you right into Manhattan, very safe location, with a beautiful view. The only negative was the fitness room, they only had two elliptical machines and they were both taken when I wanted to workout. Otherwise, fitness center was nice, with new state of the art equipment. I would recommend this hotel and when visiting again, I will definitely come back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Jersey City Newport

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Aug 30, 2009

Westin Jersey City

Room was nice and large, but pillows uncomfortable. Nice lobby. Friendly staff. Allowed us to check in early and held bags after we checked out - nice touch. Near public transit. A rooftop pool/deck/restaurant would have been nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Take PATH to NYC and walk the high line park in the Meatpacking District.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Jersey City Newport

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Toronto, Canada
Aug 17, 2009

Bad services of the hotel!

We leaved the hotel daily around 7am and returned back after 4pm. But the room still uncleaned. I found out that the housekeeper was cleaning the next door room. So we asked her help to clean our room after that. She replied yes and said ten minutes later! But we waited for another one hour in the lobby. She was cleaning another side if the guest rooms. We went to the reception desk for help but the female manager was not friendly. We just wanted to watch TV for the golf competition.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Jersey City Newport

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
Aug 14, 2009

Good stay for the price

It was a good stay. Close to the PATH station. Good price. New rooms. Close to the Mall. Internet price is more that should be included in the hotel price for a lesser price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Close to the PATH station where you can get a metro to NY in less than 10 mins.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top