$188 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 26, 2014 Check-out: Sep 27, 2014

The Westin Jersey City Newport

4 stars
479 Washington Boulevard, Jersey City, NJ 07310
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
84 reviews
FOR ALL TRAVELS

We had a very good time during our stay. the location of hotel is closed to Newark EWR, shopping... See full review

  • Arun traveler
  • Jun 29, 2014
Torn Between Three and Four Stars

If I brought earplugs, I'd give it a four, no questions. It's new, clean, has amazing views of... See full review

  • Sarck
  • Aug 20, 2014
Waterfront style and class only minutes from Manhattan

Quiet, classy and comfortable, The Westin Jersey City Newport beckons as a waterfront haven in the Jersey City financial district. Soaring public spaces and designer decor team up with tranquil guest rooms that afford Big Apple views. Spend a day meandering through the adjacent mall or take the train one block away for a fast 10-minute escape into Manhattan. A heated indoor pool provides year-round refreshment, while the fitness center offers variety and room to move. Open for lunch and dinner, the restaurant is as wildly stylish as the lobby lounge.

Highlights

  • Bright, heated indoor pool with skylights, whirlpool and spacious fitness center
  • Dramatic public spaces with the attractive Half Moon Lobby Lounge
  • Most rooms have waterfront and NYC skyline views
  • One block to PATH train into Manhattan and minutes from the Holland Tunnel and New Jersey Turnpike
  • Adjacent to the 1.2-million-square-foot Newport Centre Mall

Rooms

Warm earth tones soothe mind and body in 429 plush and stylish guest rooms at The Westin Jersey City Newport. Most look out onto views of New York City or the Newport Marina. Doze off on a pillow-top mattress with crisp triple sheets, down blanket, luxurious duvet and five pillows. In the bathroom, look for a dual showerhead, signature bath amenities and curved shower rod. Request a Westin Workout Room for a 375-square-foot, fitness-inspired room with choice of either a LifeFitness™ Treadmill or Spinning Cycle plus DVD workouts and strength training equipment. Premium Rooms feature a curved wall of windows for panoramic Hudson River views. Both wired and wireless Internet are available (fees apply).

Features

Just west of Wall Street, Midtown Manhattan, and Times Square, The Westin Jersey City Newport offers Jersey City convenience minutes from Newark airport. Grab a workout while checking out the area with a Runner's World map that details three- and five-mile jogging routes from the hotel. At mealtime, enjoy lunch or dinner on-site at the sophisticated Fire & Oak or walk to other options nearby. The chic and inviting Half Moon Lobby Lounge also invites for after-hours cocktails. Choose self or valet parking (fees apply). 

Transportation

  • Newark Liberty International Airport (11.1 mi/17.8 km)
  • La Guardia Airport (14 mi/22.5 km)
  • John F. Kennedy International Airport (21.9 mi/35.2 km)
  • Limited free shuttle service within surrounding area
  • One block to the PATH train station into New York City

Attractions

  • Newport Centre Mall (across the street)
  • Wall Street (1.7 mi/2.7 km)
  • Historic Hoboken (2.2 mi/3.5 km)
  • Liberty Science Center (2.7 mi/4.3 km)
  • South Street Seaport (4 mi/6.4 km)
  • Madison Square Garden (5 mi/8 km)
  • Times Square (5.6 mi/9 km)
  • IZOD Center (8.8 mi/14.1 km)
  • Jersey Gardens Outlets (13.3 mi/21.4 km)

Business

  • Wireless access in rooms and public areas (fees apply)
  • 24-hour business center
  • 20,500 square feet of contemporary meeting space in 23 rooms

Hotel Map

40.7249 -74.0358
Nearby airports
John F. Kennedy International Airport, (JFK), 23.00, MI; LaGuardia Airport, (LGA), 14.00, MI; Newark Liberty International Airport, (EWR), 11.00, MI;
Area description
Downtown

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Westin Jersey City Newport also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5

The Westin Jersey City Newport Rooms

Traditional
Description not provided

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Heated pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Concierge
Pet friendly
Ice machine
24 hour security
Activities
Heated pool
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Express checkout
Concierge desk
Wake-up service
Multilingual
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
Doorman
Gift shop
Audio visual equipment
Conference suite
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Brailled elevators
Room
Television with cable
Video game player
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Fire alarm with light
Turndown service
Iron
Ironing board

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (84)

Ratings and reviews for The Westin Jersey City Newport

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
84 out of 84
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.3
Value:
4

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Westin Jersey City Newport

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Tiny Tim
Cambridge UK
Nov 16, 2012

Fantastic view of Manhattan

Evrything at the hotel met our needs and were within walking distance including the Path Train into New York. We would have never got this quality of hotel in New York at this price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Also great restaurant in the hotel The Fire & Oak

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Jersey City Newport

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ikikik
Toronto, Ontario
Sep 6, 2010

Good hotel!

Very clean and convenient

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Jersey City Newport

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
clinton, md
Sep 6, 2010

Nice getaway

The hotel was very nice. The attendants and the front desk staff were friendly. Only thing I did not do before booking this hotel was check on the parking. We had to pay full price on a shared parking garage around the corner and there was no kind of hotel validation or discount. Well, hotel staff didn't tell us if there was one either, but overall hotel was ok.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Jersey City Newport

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
New York, NY
Aug 14, 2010

Westin Jersey City

Needed a room close to home.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Jersey City Newport

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Hoboken N.J
Aug 9, 2010

Beautiful Hotel! Bad View!

Great staff beautiful Acomodations, But the view was of other surrounding buildings.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Jersey City Newport

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
California Michael
Santa Barbara, CA
Jun 10, 2010

Lovely Westin

9th floor dramatic view of NYC skyline. Perfect in all aspects.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Jersey City Newport

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
West Palm Beach, FL
Jun 9, 2010

We took Manhatten

Superb hotel for half the price of comparable Manhatten hotels, the proximity to the PATH station and access to NY was our main reason for choosing the Westin. We found the staff to be very friendly and helpful with any directions we needed. Also helpful when help was needed using the business center to print boarding passes (free). We would definitley stay here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Waterfront is only steps away with beautiful views.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Jersey City Newport

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
NJ
May 18, 2010

A sofa bed at the Westin Jersey City

I could'tn check in till late but I called to ask if that was going to be a problem of course they no "no problem". I prepaid my room so I expected that to count for something, they got paid before I ever spent one minute at their hotel. After they start to check me in they tell me that they are out of king bed rooms which is what I paid for but they we're going to "upgrade" me to a suite. That sounds great doesn't it? I thought so to until I get to the room and It's NOT a suite but it's only the dinning room part of a suite. MY BED WAS A PULL OUT COUCH!!! I called the front desk to try and get a real room but the front desk night manager [...] tells me that they don't have a room to give me. Again people I prepaid the room. Where is the room I paid for?!?!? Roberto tells me that they can "walk me to another hotel in Secaucas NJ". That's unacceptable I say so after going back and forth for a long time he tells me that my only two choices is to sleep on a sofa bed or go to a another town for a another room. I had no choice I wasn't going to Secaucas! I spent the night at what I thought was a 4 star hotel but all I got for my money was a night on a sorry sofa bed. P.S.They also said that since I paid through a third party ie. [...] that my room was not guaranteed. So be careful next time you use a service like this. Good Luck

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Jersey City Newport

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mark "Dusty" Blumenthal
Maplewood, NJ
Apr 13, 2010

Westin Hotel, great stay, hidden fees!

I had a great stay at the hotel, and all the staff were great, however i brought some of my own drinks and placed them in the mini fridge not knowing if I moved anything in the fridge I would be charged for it! A clerk told me as I checked out the charges would be reversed once they saw they did not have to restock anything, however I ended up calling the accounting department as they forgot to do this, but did have an internal report that nothing was missing from the fridge. The accounting department was helpful and easy to get a hold off, but the fact that I had to go through with it and follow that they did correct the changes is a hassle.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Jersey City Newport

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Newark, DE
Apr 4, 2010

washing machine sounds

We kept hearing noises through the night. It sounded so much like our washing machine back home. We were loctaed on the sixth floor so we weren't sure what the noise could have been. The staff was very friendly. The room was clean. Didn't like the idea that they didnht have a fan in the bathroom or that the toiletres were lacking. But the location was great, just 10 miutes from New York.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Shopping tip: In Hotel

this hotel has a mall attached to it. J C Penneys, Macys etc. happy shopping.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Jersey City Newport

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Austin
Mar 17, 2010

Super Digs

The Hurricane of 2010 put a huge damper on any sight seeing plans. The hotels amenities and close proximity to various eating and entertainment establishments more than made up for the weather. Instead of going into New York City we were able to explore Jersey City and Hoboken. We spent some quality, quiet time enjoying the view of the NY Skyline both at night and through the storm.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search