$159 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 23, 2014 Check-out: Nov 24, 2014

The Westin Jersey City Newport

4 stars
479 Washington Boulevard, 479 Washington Boulevard, Jersey City, NJ 07310
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
84 reviews
FOR ALL TRAVELS

We had a very good time during our stay. the location of hotel is closed to Newark EWR, shopping... See full review

  • Arun traveler
  • Jun 29, 2014
Torn Between Three and Four Stars

If I brought earplugs, I'd give it a four, no questions. It's new, clean, has amazing views of... See full review

  • Sarck
  • Aug 20, 2014
Waterfront style and class only minutes from Manhattan

Quiet, classy and comfortable, The Westin Jersey City Newport beckons as a waterfront haven in the Jersey City financial district. Soaring public spaces and designer decor team up with tranquil guest rooms that afford Big Apple views. Spend a day meandering through the adjacent mall or take the train one block away for a fast 10-minute escape into Manhattan. A heated indoor pool provides year-round refreshment, while the fitness center offers variety and room to move. Open for lunch and dinner, the restaurant is as wildly stylish as the lobby lounge.

Highlights

  • Bright, heated indoor pool with skylights, whirlpool and spacious fitness center
  • Dramatic public spaces with the attractive Half Moon Lobby Lounge
  • Most rooms have waterfront and NYC skyline views
  • One block to PATH train into Manhattan and minutes from the Holland Tunnel and New Jersey Turnpike
  • Adjacent to the 1.2-million-square-foot Newport Centre Mall

Rooms

Warm earth tones soothe mind and body in 429 plush and stylish guest rooms at The Westin Jersey City Newport. Most look out onto views of New York City or the Newport Marina. Doze off on a pillow-top mattress with crisp triple sheets, down blanket, luxurious duvet and five pillows. In the bathroom, look for a dual showerhead, signature bath amenities and curved shower rod. Request a Westin Workout Room for a 375-square-foot, fitness-inspired room with choice of either a LifeFitness™ Treadmill or Spinning Cycle plus DVD workouts and strength training equipment. Premium Rooms feature a curved wall of windows for panoramic Hudson River views. Both wired and wireless Internet are available (fees apply).

Features

Just west of Wall Street, Midtown Manhattan, and Times Square, The Westin Jersey City Newport offers Jersey City convenience minutes from Newark airport. Grab a workout while checking out the area with a Runner's World map that details three- and five-mile jogging routes from the hotel. At mealtime, enjoy lunch or dinner on-site at the sophisticated Fire & Oak or walk to other options nearby. The chic and inviting Half Moon Lobby Lounge also invites for after-hours cocktails. Choose self or valet parking (fees apply). 

Transportation

  • Newark Liberty International Airport (11.1 mi/17.8 km)
  • La Guardia Airport (14 mi/22.5 km)
  • John F. Kennedy International Airport (21.9 mi/35.2 km)
  • Limited free shuttle service within surrounding area
  • One block to the PATH train station into New York City

Attractions

  • Newport Centre Mall (across the street)
  • Wall Street (1.7 mi/2.7 km)
  • Historic Hoboken (2.2 mi/3.5 km)
  • Liberty Science Center (2.7 mi/4.3 km)
  • South Street Seaport (4 mi/6.4 km)
  • Madison Square Garden (5 mi/8 km)
  • Times Square (5.6 mi/9 km)
  • IZOD Center (8.8 mi/14.1 km)
  • Jersey Gardens Outlets (13.3 mi/21.4 km)

Business

  • Wireless access in rooms and public areas (fees apply)
  • 24-hour business center
  • 20,500 square feet of contemporary meeting space in 23 rooms

Hotel Map

40.7249 -74.0358
Area served
City Center
Nearby airports
Newark Liberty International Airport, (EWR), 17.70, KM; John F. Kennedy International Airport, (JFK), 37.01, KM; LaGuardia Airport, (LGA), 22.53, KM;
Area description
Resort, Airport

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Westin Jersey City Newport also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5

The Westin Jersey City Newport Rooms

Standard
The Amenities listed in this description represent the amenities available in all guest rooms in the hotel

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Activities
Pool
Exercise gym
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Services
Business center
Concierge desk
Security
Wake-up service
Multilingual
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Porters
Doorman
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Room
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Turndown service
Cribs available
Iron
Smoke detectors

Dining

Half Moon Restaurant & Lounge
Half Moon Restaurant & Lounge offers a full American breakfast amidst sunlight and rich wood and leather décor. Reenergize with delicious traditional fare and nourishing SuperFoodsRx™, plus food and drinks in the Lounge each afternoon and evening.
Fire & Oak
Fire & Oak is an American grill boasting modern flare and an original spin on timeless classics. From burgers and mac n' cheese to sushi, everything is made from the freshest ingredients and served alongside great wines in a cozy, stylish setting.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (84)

Ratings and reviews for The Westin Jersey City Newport

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
84 out of 84
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.3
Value:
4

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Westin Jersey City Newport

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
gp in maine
Business
maine
Apr 23, 2011

The hotel was very nice.

You did not provide the correct parking costs, ($30)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

You did not provide the correct parking costs, ($30).

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Jersey City Newport

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
MA
Apr 20, 2011

Readiness of the Room an Issue

We arrived at the hotel at around 7PM in the evening and found out that our room was still not ready. When we asked, we were informed that due to rain some of the airline staff had still not vacated the room and therefore we would have to wait for an hour or so. The room check-in was supposed to be at 1PM and at 8PM we got our room. We were offered a drink, but that's not acceptable for a hotel to make it into a practice. The room was very nice as well as the bathroom. The location of the hotel and the overall value is good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Jersey City Newport

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
rb27
Business
new Jersey
Apr 16, 2011

beautiful room expensive parking/brkfst

Rooms were beautiful but the $22 for parking is a little ridiculous. The breakfast buffet is also $22 and is also ridiculous.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Nearby hoboken is great

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Jersey City Newport

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Philadelphia
Dec 19, 2010

Nice Visit to NY City

We choose this location because the Path Train Line into NYC is <5min walk from hotel. You also don't have to fight NYC traffic to get to your hotel. We like the Westin because we needed a place for our dog, wanted access to a nice pool, and like the quality of the beds. After a long day in NYC its a great place to relax.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The Path train is a great way to get into NYC easily.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Jersey City Newport

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
montreal
Dec 13, 2010

not expected at all

WE were supose to do the Check in at 3:00 pm as per the hotel policy but the girl in the front desk told me to wait 1/2 an hour in the first time and another 1/2 an hour in the seconde time when I asked for my room .well after a while an other person in the front desk told me that we should wait till 5:00 pm to get my room I was so disapointed and they've juste told me well we can't do anything for you we've juste to wait or except our excuses . I explain the situation that I have two okids one four years old and the onther one 8 years old and we've juste been driving for 6 hours can you imagin how they feel .tired exsauted and juste want to eat a ggod meal and sleep . the hotel offer us a drinks .very appreciated . when we get our keys the room was clean but not really .NO SOAP ,NO SHAMPOO , and the toilet wasn

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Jersey City Newport

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
take me back to ny
Business
Houston, TX
Dec 1, 2010

great place to stay, if visiting NYC

we stayed 1 night to visit new york, this is a perfect place to stay. it's a short walk to the train into ny and the rooms have great views.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Jersey City Newport

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago
Nov 29, 2010

Great for a Visit to Manhattan

Quiet, classy, comfortable and a short walk from the PATH train to Manhattan. Would stay here again anytime I could.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Newport Center Mall is a 2 minute walk.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Jersey City Newport

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Deerfield beach, FL
Oct 17, 2010

Beautiful Hotel

I travelled with a friend to a conference held at the Westin. Everything was wonderful and comfortable. The staff in all areas of the hotel were consistantly helpful, and very easy to deal with. The room was quiet with very nice details as comfortable beds etc.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There are several restaurants within walking distance, besides the one in the hotel, which was good. We went one night to a very reasonably priced, casual Mexican place called Boca Grande which was fine as well.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Jersey City Newport

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Mississauga, Ontario
Oct 13, 2010

O.K.

We were not provided with the room requested in our reservation. On three occasions our room entrance card didn't work. Breakfast was not included in the price of the room which already was very high.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Jersey City Newport

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Last Minute Planner
Business
Jersey City, New Jersey
Sep 7, 2010

Wow!

We planned very last minute (less than 24 hours), but are extremely glad we settled on the Westin, Jersey City! We were treated like old friends from the moment we walked in, and that treatment didn't end until we left.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

This hotel was a great alternative to staying in NY, and was just a ferry ride to the city, Ellis Island and the Statue of Liberty. Excellent views of the city skyline across the Hudson.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top