$169 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 25, 2015 Check-out: May 26, 2015

The Westin Jersey City Newport

4 stars
View map of 479 Washington Boulevard, 479 Washington Boulevard, Jersey City, NJ 07310

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Westin Jersey City Newport

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
88 out of 88
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.9

84% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Westin Jersey City Newport

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
instant traveler
Business
washington dc
Nov 27, 2011

nice hotel just wished the food be a little cheaper

Great greetings. nice and personable staff always willing to help.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Jersey City Newport

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, NY
Jul 27, 2011

Was not impressed at all

The stay was ok.. however I left a bag with my favorite blazer and jacket, I called several times and even went back and till this day no one has ever returned my call.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Jersey City Newport

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Mumbai
May 13, 2011

Early check in was an issue

Before booking we called and asked for early check in because our international flight has arrival time in the morning. They said if rooms are available we will do it for you. It was a weekday and we thought it will be easier. When we reach there around 7:30 am, they told us room will b available only by 12pm. We were fine with it, we roamed around, had lunch and came back at 12. Then they said you can check in only by 3pm. It was really frustrating. Overall experience is ok, nothing great about this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Newport mall

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Jersey City Newport

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Richmond, VA
May 12, 2011

Great Business Trip

Great room, great service!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Hotel

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Jersey City Newport

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
gp in maine
Business
maine
Apr 23, 2011

The hotel was very nice.

You did not provide the correct parking costs, ($30)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

You did not provide the correct parking costs, ($30).

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Jersey City Newport

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
MA
Apr 20, 2011

Readiness of the Room an Issue

We arrived at the hotel at around 7PM in the evening and found out that our room was still not ready. When we asked, we were informed that due to rain some of the airline staff had still not vacated the room and therefore we would have to wait for an hour or so. The room check-in was supposed to be at 1PM and at 8PM we got our room. We were offered a drink, but that's not acceptable for a hotel to make it into a practice. The room was very nice as well as the bathroom. The location of the hotel and the overall value is good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Jersey City Newport

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
rb27
Business
new Jersey
Apr 16, 2011

beautiful room expensive parking/brkfst

Rooms were beautiful but the $22 for parking is a little ridiculous. The breakfast buffet is also $22 and is also ridiculous.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Nearby hoboken is great

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Jersey City Newport

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
rb27
Business
new Jersey
Apr 16, 2011

beautiful room expensive parking/brkfst

Rooms were beautiful but the $22 for parking is a little ridiculous. The breakfast buffet is also $22 and is also ridiculous.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Nearby hoboken is great

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Jersey City Newport

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Philadelphia
Dec 19, 2010

Nice Visit to NY City

We choose this location because the Path Train Line into NYC is <5min walk from hotel. You also don't have to fight NYC traffic to get to your hotel. We like the Westin because we needed a place for our dog, wanted access to a nice pool, and like the quality of the beds. After a long day in NYC its a great place to relax.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The Path train is a great way to get into NYC easily.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Jersey City Newport

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
montreal
Dec 13, 2010

not expected at all

WE were supose to do the Check in at 3:00 pm as per the hotel policy but the girl in the front desk told me to wait 1/2 an hour in the first time and another 1/2 an hour in the seconde time when I asked for my room .well after a while an other person in the front desk told me that we should wait till 5:00 pm to get my room I was so disapointed and they've juste told me well we can't do anything for you we've juste to wait or except our excuses . I explain the situation that I have two okids one four years old and the onther one 8 years old and we've juste been driving for 6 hours can you imagin how they feel .tired exsauted and juste want to eat a ggod meal and sleep . the hotel offer us a drinks .very appreciated . when we get our keys the room was clean but not really .NO SOAP ,NO SHAMPOO , and the toilet wasn

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top