$187 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 19, 2015 Check-out: Jun 20, 2015

The Westin Jersey City Newport

4 stars
View map of 479 Washington Boulevard, 479 Washington Boulevard, Jersey City, NJ 07310

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Westin Jersey City Newport

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
95 out of 95
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.3
Value:
4

84% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Westin Jersey City Newport

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ari SPG
Business
Flushing, Queens, NY, USA
Feb 13, 2012

Great Stay

I stayed here with my girlfriend for Valentine's Day weekend and we had a great time. We had a king sized bed and it was so soft it was like sleeping on a cloud. The pool was small but at least they have a pool. They also had a full workout area that we didn't get a chance to use but it looked very nice. The staff was helpful, the view was nice, and the location was very convenient being right by NJ PATH. I would and will recommend The Westin to my friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Westin Jersey City Newport

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
instant traveler
Business
washington dc
Nov 27, 2011

nice hotel just wished the food be a little cheaper

Great greetings. nice and personable staff always willing to help.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Westin Jersey City Newport

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, NY
Jul 27, 2011

Was not impressed at all

The stay was ok.. however I left a bag with my favorite blazer and jacket, I called several times and even went back and till this day no one has ever returned my call.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Westin Jersey City Newport

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Mumbai
May 13, 2011

Early check in was an issue

Before booking we called and asked for early check in because our international flight has arrival time in the morning. They said if rooms are available we will do it for you. It was a weekday and we thought it will be easier. When we reach there around 7:30 am, they told us room will b available only by 12pm. We were fine with it, we roamed around, had lunch and came back at 12. Then they said you can check in only by 3pm. It was really frustrating. Overall experience is ok, nothing great about this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Newport mall

Review of The Westin Jersey City Newport

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Richmond, VA
May 12, 2011

Great Business Trip

Great room, great service!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Hotel

Review of The Westin Jersey City Newport

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
gp in maine
Business
maine
Apr 23, 2011

The hotel was very nice.

You did not provide the correct parking costs, ($30)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

You did not provide the correct parking costs, ($30).

Review of The Westin Jersey City Newport

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
MA
Apr 20, 2011

Readiness of the Room an Issue

We arrived at the hotel at around 7PM in the evening and found out that our room was still not ready. When we asked, we were informed that due to rain some of the airline staff had still not vacated the room and therefore we would have to wait for an hour or so. The room check-in was supposed to be at 1PM and at 8PM we got our room. We were offered a drink, but that's not acceptable for a hotel to make it into a practice. The room was very nice as well as the bathroom. The location of the hotel and the overall value is good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Westin Jersey City Newport

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
rb27
Business
new Jersey
Apr 16, 2011

beautiful room expensive parking/brkfst

Rooms were beautiful but the $22 for parking is a little ridiculous. The breakfast buffet is also $22 and is also ridiculous.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Nearby hoboken is great

Review of The Westin Jersey City Newport

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
rb27
Business
new Jersey
Apr 16, 2011

beautiful room expensive parking/brkfst

Rooms were beautiful but the $22 for parking is a little ridiculous. The breakfast buffet is also $22 and is also ridiculous.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Nearby hoboken is great

Review of The Westin Jersey City Newport

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Philadelphia
Dec 19, 2010

Nice Visit to NY City

We choose this location because the Path Train Line into NYC is <5min walk from hotel. You also don't have to fight NYC traffic to get to your hotel. We like the Westin because we needed a place for our dog, wanted access to a nice pool, and like the quality of the beds. After a long day in NYC its a great place to relax.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The Path train is a great way to get into NYC easily.

Back to menu Return to top