$159 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Feb 28, 2015 Check-out: Mar 1, 2015

The Westin Jersey City Newport

4 stars
View map of 479 Washington Boulevard, 479 Washington Boulevard, Jersey City, NJ 07310

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
87 reviews
FOR ALL TRAVELS

We had a very good time during our stay. the location of hotel is closed to Newark EWR, shopping... See full review

  • Arun traveler
  • Jun 29, 2014
Business stay

Our office is at 30 hudson street. It is about a 1 mile walk. The hotel itself is very nice,... See full review

  • Gene
  • Feb 22, 2015
Waterfront style and class only minutes from Manhattan

Quiet, classy and comfortable, The Westin Jersey City Newport beckons as a waterfront haven in the Jersey City financial district. Soaring public spaces and designer decor team up with tranquil guest rooms that afford Big Apple views. Spend a day meandering through the adjacent mall or take the train one block away for a fast 10-minute escape into Manhattan. A heated indoor pool provides year-round refreshment, while the fitness center offers variety and room to move. Open for lunch and dinner, the restaurant is as wildly stylish as the lobby lounge.

Highlights

  • Bright, heated indoor pool with skylights, whirlpool and spacious fitness center
  • Dramatic public spaces with the attractive Half Moon Lobby Lounge
  • Most rooms have waterfront and NYC skyline views
  • One block to PATH train into Manhattan and minutes from the Holland Tunnel and New Jersey Turnpike
  • Adjacent to the 1.2-million-square-foot Newport Centre Mall

Rooms

Warm earth tones soothe mind and body in 429 plush and stylish guest rooms at The Westin Jersey City Newport. Most look out onto views of New York City or the Newport Marina. Doze off on a pillow-top mattress with crisp triple sheets, down blanket, luxurious duvet and five pillows. In the bathroom, look for a dual showerhead, signature bath amenities and curved shower rod. Request a Westin Workout Room for a 375-square-foot, fitness-inspired room with choice of either a LifeFitness™ Treadmill or Spinning Cycle plus DVD workouts and strength training equipment. Premium Rooms feature a curved wall of windows for panoramic Hudson River views. Both wired and wireless Internet are available (fees apply).

Features

Just west of Wall Street, Midtown Manhattan, and Times Square, The Westin Jersey City Newport offers Jersey City convenience minutes from Newark airport. Grab a workout while checking out the area with a Runner's World map that details three- and five-mile jogging routes from the hotel. At mealtime, enjoy lunch or dinner on-site at the sophisticated Fire & Oak or walk to other options nearby. The chic and inviting Half Moon Lobby Lounge also invites for after-hours cocktails. Choose self or valet parking (fees apply). 

Transportation

  • Newark Liberty International Airport (11.1 mi/17.8 km)
  • La Guardia Airport (14 mi/22.5 km)
  • John F. Kennedy International Airport (21.9 mi/35.2 km)
  • Limited free shuttle service within surrounding area
  • One block to the PATH train station into New York City

Attractions

  • Newport Centre Mall (across the street)
  • Wall Street (1.7 mi/2.7 km)
  • Historic Hoboken (2.2 mi/3.5 km)
  • Liberty Science Center (2.7 mi/4.3 km)
  • South Street Seaport (4 mi/6.4 km)
  • Madison Square Garden (5 mi/8 km)
  • Times Square (5.6 mi/9 km)
  • IZOD Center (8.8 mi/14.1 km)
  • Jersey Gardens Outlets (13.3 mi/21.4 km)

Business

  • Wireless access in rooms and public areas (fees apply)
  • 24-hour business center
  • 20,500 square feet of contemporary meeting space in 23 rooms

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Westin Jersey City Newport also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

The Westin Jersey City Newport Rooms

Standard
The Amenities listed in this description represent the amenities available in all guest rooms in the hotel

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Activities
Pool
Exercise gym
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Services
Business center
Concierge desk
Security
Wake-up service
Multilingual
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Porters
Doorman
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Room
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Turndown service
Cribs available
Iron
Smoke detectors

Dining

Fire & Oak
Fire & Oak is an American grill boasting modern flare and an original spin on timeless classics. From burgers and mac n' cheese to sushi, everything is made from the freshest ingredients and served alongside great wines in a cozy, stylish setting.
Half Moon Restaurant & Lounge
Half Moon Restaurant & Lounge offers a full American breakfast amidst sunlight and rich wood and leather décor. Reenergize with delicious traditional fare and nourishing SuperFoodsRx™, plus food and drinks in the Lounge each afternoon and evening.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (87)

Ratings and reviews for The Westin Jersey City Newport

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
18 out of 87
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.3
Value:
4

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Westin Jersey City Newport

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Arun traveler
Business
West Palm beach, Florida
Jun 29, 2014

FOR ALL TRAVELS

We had a very good time during our stay. the location of hotel is closed to Newark EWR, shopping mall, good eating places.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

This hotel is located within short walking distance for shopping, dinning and park.,

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Jersey City Newport

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
rodolph
Business
Washington, DC, USA
Apr 17, 2014

Very comfortable!

My family and I really enjoyed the pool and Jacuzzi in the morning. The beds were comfortable and the bathrooms beautifully appointed. We had a plentiful supply of towels and extra toiletries upon request. Starbucks filtered coffee in the room was definitely a plus! I found the whole experience refreshing, relaxing and comfortable. Thanks!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Wonderful Indian restaurant nearby called Raaz (which happens to mean Secret)! The staff were so accommodating when my son asked for a special dish. There's also a Starbucks on the boardwalk which faces the marvelous view of New York over the Hudson River. Breathtaking.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Jersey City Newport

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SuperBrit
Business
Detroit, MI
Jul 9, 2012

Great location

Typical experience for this type of hotel. Clean, well maintained, great location. Only complaint is that you have to pay for WiFi in the rooms which is ridiculous in today's climate. Also, for families you should note that there is no fridge, although one can be rented for $25 per stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Walking distance to Path train to NYC.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Jersey City Newport

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Winston's Mom
Business
Raleigh, NC, USA
Apr 9, 2012

Great Spring Break Trip

Good value - good view of NYC....upscale locale - great proximity to the PATH with easy access to NYC as well as large mall directly behind...staff extremely helpful and generous with information. Did not eat at restaurant so no opinion there. Only downside was having to pay extra for parking, didn't know this beforehand.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Easy access to PATH train to either 33rd St or WTC stations. 15 min ride!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Jersey City Newport

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
KenShaBry
Business
Smyrna, De
Mar 26, 2012

Excellent and Courteous Hotel!!!

Hotel was extremely clean and the staff are amazing! The hotel is very conviently located by the path train for quick access to the city. We also took a 5 min drive to Hoboken to visit Carlos Bakery which was worth the crowd outside to get it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Jersey City Newport

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
instant traveler
Business
washington dc
Nov 27, 2011

nice hotel just wished the food be a little cheaper

Great greetings. nice and personable staff always willing to help.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Jersey City Newport

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
gp in maine
Business
maine
Apr 23, 2011

The hotel was very nice.

You did not provide the correct parking costs, ($30)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

You did not provide the correct parking costs, ($30).

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Jersey City Newport

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
MA
Apr 20, 2011

Readiness of the Room an Issue

We arrived at the hotel at around 7PM in the evening and found out that our room was still not ready. When we asked, we were informed that due to rain some of the airline staff had still not vacated the room and therefore we would have to wait for an hour or so. The room check-in was supposed to be at 1PM and at 8PM we got our room. We were offered a drink, but that's not acceptable for a hotel to make it into a practice. The room was very nice as well as the bathroom. The location of the hotel and the overall value is good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Jersey City Newport

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Philadelphia
Dec 19, 2010

Nice Visit to NY City

We choose this location because the Path Train Line into NYC is <5min walk from hotel. You also don't have to fight NYC traffic to get to your hotel. We like the Westin because we needed a place for our dog, wanted access to a nice pool, and like the quality of the beds. After a long day in NYC its a great place to relax.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The Path train is a great way to get into NYC easily.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Jersey City Newport

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
montreal
Dec 13, 2010

not expected at all

WE were supose to do the Check in at 3:00 pm as per the hotel policy but the girl in the front desk told me to wait 1/2 an hour in the first time and another 1/2 an hour in the seconde time when I asked for my room .well after a while an other person in the front desk told me that we should wait till 5:00 pm to get my room I was so disapointed and they've juste told me well we can't do anything for you we've juste to wait or except our excuses . I explain the situation that I have two okids one four years old and the onther one 8 years old and we've juste been driving for 6 hours can you imagin how they feel .tired exsauted and juste want to eat a ggod meal and sleep . the hotel offer us a drinks .very appreciated . when we get our keys the room was clean but not really .NO SOAP ,NO SHAMPOO , and the toilet wasn

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top