$169 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 25, 2015 Check-out: May 26, 2015

The Westin Jersey City Newport

4 stars
View map of 479 Washington Boulevard, 479 Washington Boulevard, Jersey City, NJ 07310

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
88 reviews
Good business trip

Clean, comfortable. Great location, and very convenient that you can call valet and get the car... See full review

  • CK
  • Apr 7, 2015
FOR ALL TRAVELS

We had a very good time during our stay. the location of hotel is closed to Newark EWR, shopping... See full review

  • Arun traveler
  • Jun 29, 2014
Waterfront style and class only minutes from Manhattan

Quiet, classy and comfortable, The Westin Jersey City Newport beckons as a waterfront haven in the Jersey City financial district. Soaring public spaces and designer decor team up with tranquil guest rooms that afford Big Apple views. Spend a day meandering through the adjacent mall or take the train one block away for a fast 10-minute escape into Manhattan. A heated indoor pool provides year-round refreshment, while the fitness center offers variety and room to move. Open for lunch and dinner, the restaurant is as wildly stylish as the lobby lounge.

Highlights

  • Bright, heated indoor pool with skylights, whirlpool and spacious fitness center
  • Dramatic public spaces with the attractive Half Moon Lobby Lounge
  • Most rooms have waterfront and NYC skyline views
  • One block to PATH train into Manhattan and minutes from the Holland Tunnel and New Jersey Turnpike
  • Adjacent to the 1.2-million-square-foot Newport Centre Mall

Rooms

Warm earth tones soothe mind and body in 429 plush and stylish guest rooms at The Westin Jersey City Newport. Most look out onto views of New York City or the Newport Marina. Doze off on a pillow-top mattress with crisp triple sheets, down blanket, luxurious duvet and five pillows. In the bathroom, look for a dual showerhead, signature bath amenities and curved shower rod. Request a Westin Workout Room for a 375-square-foot, fitness-inspired room with choice of either a LifeFitness™ Treadmill or Spinning Cycle plus DVD workouts and strength training equipment. Premium Rooms feature a curved wall of windows for panoramic Hudson River views. Both wired and wireless Internet are available (fees apply).

Features

Just west of Wall Street, Midtown Manhattan, and Times Square, The Westin Jersey City Newport offers Jersey City convenience minutes from Newark airport. Grab a workout while checking out the area with a Runner's World map that details three- and five-mile jogging routes from the hotel. At mealtime, enjoy lunch or dinner on-site at the sophisticated Fire & Oak or walk to other options nearby. The chic and inviting Half Moon Lobby Lounge also invites for after-hours cocktails. Choose self or valet parking (fees apply). 

Transportation

  • Newark Liberty International Airport (11.1 mi/17.8 km)
  • La Guardia Airport (14 mi/22.5 km)
  • John F. Kennedy International Airport (21.9 mi/35.2 km)
  • Limited free shuttle service within surrounding area
  • One block to the PATH train station into New York City

Attractions

  • Newport Centre Mall (across the street)
  • Wall Street (1.7 mi/2.7 km)
  • Historic Hoboken (2.2 mi/3.5 km)
  • Liberty Science Center (2.7 mi/4.3 km)
  • South Street Seaport (4 mi/6.4 km)
  • Madison Square Garden (5 mi/8 km)
  • Times Square (5.6 mi/9 km)
  • IZOD Center (8.8 mi/14.1 km)
  • Jersey Gardens Outlets (13.3 mi/21.4 km)

Business

  • Wireless access in rooms and public areas (fees apply)
  • 24-hour business center
  • 20,500 square feet of contemporary meeting space in 23 rooms

Top hotels

The Westin Jersey City Newport Rooms

Standard
The Amenities listed in this description represent the amenities available in all guest rooms in the hotel

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Activities
Pool
Exercise gym
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Services
Business center
Concierge desk
Security
Wake-up service
Multilingual
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Porters
Doorman
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Room
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Turndown service
Cribs available
Iron
Smoke detectors

Dining

Fire & Oak
Fire & Oak is an American grill boasting modern flare and an original spin on timeless classics. From burgers and mac n' cheese to sushi, everything is made from the freshest ingredients and served alongside great wines in a cozy, stylish setting.
Half Moon Restaurant & Lounge
Half Moon Restaurant & Lounge offers a full American breakfast amidst sunlight and rich wood and leather décor. Reenergize with delicious traditional fare and nourishing SuperFoodsRx™, plus food and drinks in the Lounge each afternoon and evening.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for The Westin Jersey City Newport

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
88 out of 88
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.9

84% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Westin Jersey City Newport

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Toronto, Canada
Aug 17, 2009

Bad services of the hotel!

We leaved the hotel daily around 7am and returned back after 4pm. But the room still uncleaned. I found out that the housekeeper was cleaning the next door room. So we asked her help to clean our room after that. She replied yes and said ten minutes later! But we waited for another one hour in the lobby. She was cleaning another side if the guest rooms. We went to the reception desk for help but the female manager was not friendly. We just wanted to watch TV for the golf competition.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Jersey City Newport

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NJ
May 18, 2010

A sofa bed at the Westin Jersey City

I could'tn check in till late but I called to ask if that was going to be a problem of course they no "no problem". I prepaid my room so I expected that to count for something, they got paid before I ever spent one minute at their hotel. After they start to check me in they tell me that they are out of king bed rooms which is what I paid for but they we're going to "upgrade" me to a suite. That sounds great doesn't it? I thought so to until I get to the room and It's NOT a suite but it's only the dinning room part of a suite. MY BED WAS A PULL OUT COUCH!!! I called the front desk to try and get a real room but the front desk night manager [...] tells me that they don't have a room to give me. Again people I prepaid the room. Where is the room I paid for?!?!? Roberto tells me that they can "walk me to another hotel in Secaucas NJ". That's unacceptable I say so after going back and forth for a long time he tells me that my only two choices is to sleep on a sofa bed or go to a another town for a another room. I had no choice I wasn't going to Secaucas! I spent the night at what I thought was a 4 star hotel but all I got for my money was a night on a sorry sofa bed. P.S.They also said that since I paid through a third party ie. [...] that my room was not guaranteed. So be careful next time you use a service like this. Good Luck

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Jersey City Newport

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
gp in maine
Business
maine
Apr 23, 2011

The hotel was very nice.

You did not provide the correct parking costs, ($30)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

You did not provide the correct parking costs, ($30).

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Jersey City Newport

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Theresa S.
Business
Las Vegas
Dec 30, 2014

disappointing

left my room for about 3 hours early am, maid cart was outside my room room still not cleaned when I returned with cart still outside my room. I left again for another hour, maid was in hall talking on her cellphone. Still not cleaned when I returned. Other maid in hallway said my maid went to lunch....it was 11am. When we mentioned this to Concierge, he was condescending and said they have maid meetings every morning. Don't know what that had to do with getting my room cleaned???? Pool is dirty, walls haven't ben scrubbed in it for some time, there was a brown ring around it. Had breakfast in their café, hashbrowns appeared to be a pre-frozen rectangle, Waiter never refilled my coffee . 2 eggs supposedly organic? with bacon, hash browns and English muffin was $18.00

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

stay elsewhere, especially if you are traveling with kids

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Jersey City Newport

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Mississauga, Ontario
Oct 13, 2010

O.K.

We were not provided with the room requested in our reservation. On three occasions our room entrance card didn't work. Breakfast was not included in the price of the room which already was very high.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Jersey City Newport

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, NY
Jul 27, 2011

Was not impressed at all

The stay was ok.. however I left a bag with my favorite blazer and jacket, I called several times and even went back and till this day no one has ever returned my call.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Jersey City Newport

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
montreal
Dec 13, 2010

not expected at all

WE were supose to do the Check in at 3:00 pm as per the hotel policy but the girl in the front desk told me to wait 1/2 an hour in the first time and another 1/2 an hour in the seconde time when I asked for my room .well after a while an other person in the front desk told me that we should wait till 5:00 pm to get my room I was so disapointed and they've juste told me well we can't do anything for you we've juste to wait or except our excuses . I explain the situation that I have two okids one four years old and the onther one 8 years old and we've juste been driving for 6 hours can you imagin how they feel .tired exsauted and juste want to eat a ggod meal and sleep . the hotel offer us a drinks .very appreciated . when we get our keys the room was clean but not really .NO SOAP ,NO SHAMPOO , and the toilet wasn

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Jersey City Newport

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
azaver
Business
new jersey,NJ
May 27, 2009

The Westin

4 star hotel should have complimentry breakfast. I was disappointed when they only offered coffee and tea and that too with no extra creamer and sugar..annoying!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Jersey City Newport

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
rb27
Business
new Jersey
Apr 16, 2011

beautiful room expensive parking/brkfst

Rooms were beautiful but the $22 for parking is a little ridiculous. The breakfast buffet is also $22 and is also ridiculous.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Nearby hoboken is great

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Jersey City Newport

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ursa
Business
New York State
May 21, 2012

Convenient location for NYC visit

Sparse amenities, internet charge PER DEVICE used, walking distance to PATH station. Can save on parking if you park in the mall and walk.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top