$159 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 3, 2014 Check-out: Aug 4, 2014

The Westin Jersey City Newport

4 stars
479 Washington Boulevard, Jersey City, NJ 07310
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
133 reviews
FOR ALL TRAVELS

We had a very good time during our stay. the location of hotel is closed to Newark EWR, shopping... See full review

  • Arun traveler
  • Jun 29, 2014
Great anytime

I have never had a bad experience at this Westin. It's my only choice when I come to Jersey City.... See full review

  • Stansongman
  • Jan 16, 2013
Waterfront style and class only minutes from Manhattan

Quiet, classy and comfortable, The Westin Jersey City Newport beckons as a waterfront haven in the Jersey City financial district. Soaring public spaces and designer decor team up with tranquil guest rooms that afford Big Apple views. Spend a day meandering through the adjacent mall or take the train one block away for a fast 10-minute escape into Manhattan. A heated indoor pool provides year-round refreshment, while the fitness center offers variety and room to move. Open for lunch and dinner, the restaurant is as wildly stylish as the lobby lounge.

Highlights

  • Bright, heated indoor pool with skylights, whirlpool and spacious fitness center
  • Dramatic public spaces with the attractive Half Moon Lobby Lounge
  • Most rooms have waterfront and NYC skyline views
  • One block to PATH train into Manhattan and minutes from the Holland Tunnel and New Jersey Turnpike
  • Adjacent to the 1.2-million-square-foot Newport Centre Mall

Rooms

Warm earth tones soothe mind and body in 429 plush and stylish guest rooms at The Westin Jersey City Newport. Most look out onto views of New York City or the Newport Marina. Doze off on a pillow-top mattress with crisp triple sheets, down blanket, luxurious duvet and five pillows. In the bathroom, look for a dual showerhead, signature bath amenities and curved shower rod. Request a Westin Workout Room for a 375-square-foot, fitness-inspired room with choice of either a LifeFitness™ Treadmill or Spinning Cycle plus DVD workouts and strength training equipment. Premium Rooms feature a curved wall of windows for panoramic Hudson River views. Both wired and wireless Internet are available (fees apply).

Features

Just west of Wall Street, Midtown Manhattan, and Times Square, The Westin Jersey City Newport offers Jersey City convenience minutes from Newark airport. Grab a workout while checking out the area with a Runner's World map that details three- and five-mile jogging routes from the hotel. At mealtime, enjoy lunch or dinner on-site at the sophisticated Fire & Oak or walk to other options nearby. The chic and inviting Half Moon Lobby Lounge also invites for after-hours cocktails. Choose self or valet parking (fees apply). 

Transportation

  • Newark Liberty International Airport (11.1 mi/17.8 km)
  • La Guardia Airport (14 mi/22.5 km)
  • John F. Kennedy International Airport (21.9 mi/35.2 km)
  • Limited free shuttle service within surrounding area
  • One block to the PATH train station into New York City

Attractions

  • Newport Centre Mall (across the street)
  • Wall Street (1.7 mi/2.7 km)
  • Historic Hoboken (2.2 mi/3.5 km)
  • Liberty Science Center (2.7 mi/4.3 km)
  • South Street Seaport (4 mi/6.4 km)
  • Madison Square Garden (5 mi/8 km)
  • Times Square (5.6 mi/9 km)
  • IZOD Center (8.8 mi/14.1 km)
  • Jersey Gardens Outlets (13.3 mi/21.4 km)

Business

  • Wireless access in rooms and public areas (fees apply)
  • 24-hour business center
  • 20,500 square feet of contemporary meeting space in 23 rooms

Hotel Map

40.7249 -74.0358
Nearby airports
John F. Kennedy International Airport, (JFK), 23.00, MI; LaGuardia Airport, (LGA), 14.00, MI; Newark Liberty International Airport, (EWR), 11.00, MI;
Area description
Downtown

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Westin Jersey City Newport also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5

The Westin Jersey City Newport Rooms

Traditional
Description not provided

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Heated pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Concierge
Pet friendly
Ice machine
24 hour security
Activities
Heated pool
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Express checkout
Concierge desk
Wake-up service
Multilingual
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
Doorman
Gift shop
Audio visual equipment
Conference suite
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Brailled elevators
Room
Television with cable
Video game player
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Fire alarm with light
Turndown service
Iron
Ironing board

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (133)

Ratings and reviews for The Westin Jersey City Newport

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
17 out of 133
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.6
Value:
4

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Westin Jersey City Newport

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
RMK1
New York, NY
Apr 15, 2013

Good hotel, Awful parking situation

We enjoyed our stay at the Westin, Jersey City, but we had a difficult time with the parking situation. I had 3 rooms with 10 people for one night. With a total of 6 cars in the parking lot. The hotel says that it has onsite parking, but that's not exactly true. Parking is across the street and upstairs... not connected to the hotel. You have to walk outside and across the street to get to the hotel from the parking garage, which is difficult with bags and luggage. Also, the parking attendant was rude and not helpful when I told her that the machine to pay for my parking was BROKEN. With 6 cars, all at $22 each, I thought I deserved at least a little courtesy and respect from the parking attendant. All in all, the hotel is very nice, but the Double Tree or the Marriott down the road both have better parking situations that would have made my entire stay much easier, more convenient, and worthy of its price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of The Westin Jersey City Newport

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
alexww
Baltimore, MD
Nov 20, 2012

nice hotel

nice hotel, nice location, near Path station to NYC.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of The Westin Jersey City Newport

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Meshel
Canton Ohio
Apr 2, 2012

Weekend getaway

Hotel was clean and staff was helpful. Was a convienent place to stay to get back and forth to NYC.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of The Westin Jersey City Newport

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
clinton, md
Sep 6, 2010

Nice getaway

The hotel was very nice. The attendants and the front desk staff were friendly. Only thing I did not do before booking this hotel was check on the parking. We had to pay full price on a shared parking garage around the corner and there was no kind of hotel validation or discount. Well, hotel staff didn't tell us if there was one either, but overall hotel was ok.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of The Westin Jersey City Newport

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
clinton, md
Sep 6, 2010

Nice getaway

The hotel was very nice. The attendants and the front desk staff were friendly. Only thing I did not do before booking this hotel was check on the parking. We had to pay full price on a shared parking garage around the corner and there was no kind of hotel validation or discount. Well, hotel staff didn't tell us if there was one either, but overall hotel was ok.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of The Westin Jersey City Newport

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mark "Dusty" Blumenthal
Maplewood, NJ
Apr 13, 2010

Westin Hotel, great stay, hidden fees!

I had a great stay at the hotel, and all the staff were great, however i brought some of my own drinks and placed them in the mini fridge not knowing if I moved anything in the fridge I would be charged for it! A clerk told me as I checked out the charges would be reversed once they saw they did not have to restock anything, however I ended up calling the accounting department as they forgot to do this, but did have an internal report that nothing was missing from the fridge. The accounting department was helpful and easy to get a hold off, but the fact that I had to go through with it and follow that they did correct the changes is a hassle.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of The Westin Jersey City Newport

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mark "Dusty" Blumenthal
Maplewood, NJ
Apr 13, 2010

Westin Hotel, great stay, hidden fees!

I had a great stay at the hotel, and all the staff were great, however i brought some of my own drinks and placed them in the mini fridge not knowing if I moved anything in the fridge I would be charged for it! A clerk told me as I checked out the charges would be reversed once they saw they did not have to restock anything, however I ended up calling the accounting department as they forgot to do this, but did have an internal report that nothing was missing from the fridge. The accounting department was helpful and easy to get a hold off, but the fact that I had to go through with it and follow that they did correct the changes is a hassle.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of The Westin Jersey City Newport

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Pghgirl
Pittsburgh pa
Oct 26, 2009

Very relaxing

The hotel was very nice and the room was extremely comfortable, however the staff was not very friendly. The doormen were particularly unpleasant and seemed to be desparate for tips.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of The Westin Jersey City Newport

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Pghgirl
Pittsburgh pa
Oct 26, 2009

Very relaxing

The hotel was very nice and the room was extremely comfortable, however the staff was not very friendly. The doormen were particularly unpleasant and seemed to be desparate for tips.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of The Westin Jersey City Newport

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Traveler 21
Blaine MN
Oct 19, 2009

Great service

The Hotel was very clean and the employees were great when told about a concern it was taken care of immediately. Example- The hot tub wasnt warm, reset the temp within minutes so it would warm up. Location was close to the New Jersey Lightrail and PATH station which brings you into New York City and close to a mall which had several food places in the food court.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top