$158 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 7, 2015 Check-out: Jan 10, 2015

The Westin Jersey City Newport

4 stars
479 Washington Boulevard, 479 Washington Boulevard, Jersey City, NJ 07310
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
85 reviews
FOR ALL TRAVELS

We had a very good time during our stay. the location of hotel is closed to Newark EWR, shopping... See full review

  • Arun traveler
  • Jun 29, 2014
Clean, nice, easy access to NY

Just stayed here for a night on a business trip. It was very nice, easy to find and all was as... See full review

  • Cycle guy
  • Nov 30, 2014
Waterfront style and class only minutes from Manhattan

Quiet, classy and comfortable, The Westin Jersey City Newport beckons as a waterfront haven in the Jersey City financial district. Soaring public spaces and designer decor team up with tranquil guest rooms that afford Big Apple views. Spend a day meandering through the adjacent mall or take the train one block away for a fast 10-minute escape into Manhattan. A heated indoor pool provides year-round refreshment, while the fitness center offers variety and room to move. Open for lunch and dinner, the restaurant is as wildly stylish as the lobby lounge.

Highlights

  • Bright, heated indoor pool with skylights, whirlpool and spacious fitness center
  • Dramatic public spaces with the attractive Half Moon Lobby Lounge
  • Most rooms have waterfront and NYC skyline views
  • One block to PATH train into Manhattan and minutes from the Holland Tunnel and New Jersey Turnpike
  • Adjacent to the 1.2-million-square-foot Newport Centre Mall

Rooms

Warm earth tones soothe mind and body in 429 plush and stylish guest rooms at The Westin Jersey City Newport. Most look out onto views of New York City or the Newport Marina. Doze off on a pillow-top mattress with crisp triple sheets, down blanket, luxurious duvet and five pillows. In the bathroom, look for a dual showerhead, signature bath amenities and curved shower rod. Request a Westin Workout Room for a 375-square-foot, fitness-inspired room with choice of either a LifeFitness™ Treadmill or Spinning Cycle plus DVD workouts and strength training equipment. Premium Rooms feature a curved wall of windows for panoramic Hudson River views. Both wired and wireless Internet are available (fees apply).

Features

Just west of Wall Street, Midtown Manhattan, and Times Square, The Westin Jersey City Newport offers Jersey City convenience minutes from Newark airport. Grab a workout while checking out the area with a Runner's World map that details three- and five-mile jogging routes from the hotel. At mealtime, enjoy lunch or dinner on-site at the sophisticated Fire & Oak or walk to other options nearby. The chic and inviting Half Moon Lobby Lounge also invites for after-hours cocktails. Choose self or valet parking (fees apply). 

Transportation

  • Newark Liberty International Airport (11.1 mi/17.8 km)
  • La Guardia Airport (14 mi/22.5 km)
  • John F. Kennedy International Airport (21.9 mi/35.2 km)
  • Limited free shuttle service within surrounding area
  • One block to the PATH train station into New York City

Attractions

  • Newport Centre Mall (across the street)
  • Wall Street (1.7 mi/2.7 km)
  • Historic Hoboken (2.2 mi/3.5 km)
  • Liberty Science Center (2.7 mi/4.3 km)
  • South Street Seaport (4 mi/6.4 km)
  • Madison Square Garden (5 mi/8 km)
  • Times Square (5.6 mi/9 km)
  • IZOD Center (8.8 mi/14.1 km)
  • Jersey Gardens Outlets (13.3 mi/21.4 km)

Business

  • Wireless access in rooms and public areas (fees apply)
  • 24-hour business center
  • 20,500 square feet of contemporary meeting space in 23 rooms

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Westin Jersey City Newport also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5

The Westin Jersey City Newport Rooms

Standard
The Amenities listed in this description represent the amenities available in all guest rooms in the hotel

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Activities
Pool
Exercise gym
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Services
Business center
Concierge desk
Security
Wake-up service
Multilingual
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Porters
Doorman
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Room
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Turndown service
Cribs available
Iron
Smoke detectors

Dining

Fire & Oak
Fire & Oak is an American grill boasting modern flare and an original spin on timeless classics. From burgers and mac n' cheese to sushi, everything is made from the freshest ingredients and served alongside great wines in a cozy, stylish setting.
Half Moon Restaurant & Lounge
Half Moon Restaurant & Lounge offers a full American breakfast amidst sunlight and rich wood and leather décor. Reenergize with delicious traditional fare and nourishing SuperFoodsRx™, plus food and drinks in the Lounge each afternoon and evening.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (85)

Ratings and reviews for The Westin Jersey City Newport

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
28 out of 85
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.9

79% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Westin Jersey City Newport

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kukdai
Business
Falls Church,VA
Dec 1, 2013

Was a nice place Except the view

I loved the hotel and its services. But was hoping for the Manhattan view room which i did not got. The hotel is nice, staffs are nice and the place is perfect with very close access to path trains....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Jersey City Newport

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mom to K and K
Business
Scotch Plains, NJ
Jul 15, 2013

Nice, Clean hotel in a good location.

We stayed in this hotel for a Saturday night local wedding. The room was a good size, clean, and comfortable for under $200. However, parking was rather pricey at $33 and change after taxes. Also, it took us over 15 minutes to get a cab to the wedding reception. Then, when the cab pulled up and we told the valet/greeter from the hotel we were going to a well-known restaurant (the Chart House) in Weehawken (a couple towns over), he asked if we had the exact address??? Fortunately, the cab driver was more knowledgeable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Jersey City Newport

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Stansongman
Business
Boston, MA
Jan 16, 2013

Great anytime

I have never had a bad experience at this Westin. It's my only choice when I come to Jersey City. The hotel is excellent and the staff terrific.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Jersey City Newport

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Tiny Tim
Business
Cambridge UK
Nov 16, 2012

Fantastic view of Manhattan

Evrything at the hotel met our needs and were within walking distance including the Path Train into New York. We would have never got this quality of hotel in New York at this price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Also great restaurant in the hotel The Fire & Oak

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Jersey City Newport

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mr KS
Business
Chesterfield, MI
Aug 1, 2012

Weekend Get-Away to NYC & Jersey City

Hotel is located accross the street from the Path Train (Newport) which is perfect for getting to NYC. Very nice hotel with clean room and good restaurant (Fire & Oak). Parking is located right behind the hotel, but is $22 per night. Seems like for $250 a night it should be free for guests. Good bars and restaurants within walking distance in Jersey City. Only bad thing about hotel is they allow pets. Dog barked when owners left their room (early am) and worry about potential feas. Other than that hotel was good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Don't get rental car at Newark airport if only going to NYC or staying in Jersey City. Take cab and then use Path Train or Light Rail to get around.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Jersey City Newport

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ursa
Business
New York State
May 21, 2012

Convenient location for NYC visit

Sparse amenities, internet charge PER DEVICE used, walking distance to PATH station. Can save on parking if you park in the mall and walk.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Jersey City Newport

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Imani
Business
Upper Marlboro, MD 20772, USA
Apr 23, 2012

Best bed ever!!!!

Loved my stay, friendly staff beautiful rooms. Will be back soon

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Jersey City Newport

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ari SPG
Business
Flushing, Queens, NY, USA
Feb 13, 2012

Great Stay

I stayed here with my girlfriend for Valentine's Day weekend and we had a great time. We had a king sized bed and it was so soft it was like sleeping on a cloud. The pool was small but at least they have a pool. They also had a full workout area that we didn't get a chance to use but it looked very nice. The staff was helpful, the view was nice, and the location was very convenient being right by NJ PATH. I would and will recommend The Westin to my friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Jersey City Newport

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Mumbai
May 13, 2011

Early check in was an issue

Before booking we called and asked for early check in because our international flight has arrival time in the morning. They said if rooms are available we will do it for you. It was a weekday and we thought it will be easier. When we reach there around 7:30 am, they told us room will b available only by 12pm. We were fine with it, we roamed around, had lunch and came back at 12. Then they said you can check in only by 3pm. It was really frustrating. Overall experience is ok, nothing great about this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Newport mall

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Jersey City Newport

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
rb27
Business
new Jersey
Apr 16, 2011

beautiful room expensive parking/brkfst

Rooms were beautiful but the $22 for parking is a little ridiculous. The breakfast buffet is also $22 and is also ridiculous.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Nearby hoboken is great

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top