$177 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 7, 2015 Check-out: Sep 8, 2015

The Westin Jersey City Newport

4 stars
View map of 479 Washington Boulevard, 479 Washington Boulevard, Jersey City, NJ 07310

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Westin Jersey City Newport

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
81 out of 81
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.4
Value:
4

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Westin Jersey City Newport

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Austin, TX
Sep 13, 2009

will return

I feel inclined to mark this review down so I don't have to worry about them raising their rates the next time I'd like to stay in New York... but that wouldn't be fair. I really can't imagine finding better accommodations in the NYC area without spending considerably more for them. The rooms were small by Texas standards - 375 sq ft - but well furnished. Our room had a great view of the Hudson and downtown along with a chaise lounge for enjoying it. Overall, it was a very comfortable and relaxing place to return to in the evenings. Westin's heavenly bedding and complimentary calming herbal tea were icing on the cake. I hope I can give them my business again soon.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The PATH trains depart from just down the block and can take you to 33rd street near NY Penn Station. There you can purchase a 10 or 20 trip PATH card for reduced fare. It's faster and more comfortable than a cab.

Review of The Westin Jersey City Newport

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Single
Milwaukee, WI
Sep 7, 2009

Excellent Hotel with helpful staff

When I arrived the staff welcomed me, and thanked me for staying at the Westin. I was able to get into my room early and offered me a better room if i wanted to wait for it, but any room was fine with me. I went up to room and was surprised at how big the room was and very well decorated. The bed was very comfortable, the bathroom shower was awesome too. The hotel was very close to the PATH which took you right into Manhattan, very safe location, with a beautiful view. The only negative was the fitness room, they only had two elliptical machines and they were both taken when I wanted to workout. Otherwise, fitness center was nice, with new state of the art equipment. I would recommend this hotel and when visiting again, I will definitely come back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of The Westin Jersey City Newport

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Aug 30, 2009

Westin Jersey City

Room was nice and large, but pillows uncomfortable. Nice lobby. Friendly staff. Allowed us to check in early and held bags after we checked out - nice touch. Near public transit. A rooftop pool/deck/restaurant would have been nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Take PATH to NYC and walk the high line park in the Meatpacking District.

Review of The Westin Jersey City Newport

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Toronto, Canada
Aug 17, 2009

Bad services of the hotel!

We leaved the hotel daily around 7am and returned back after 4pm. But the room still uncleaned. I found out that the housekeeper was cleaning the next door room. So we asked her help to clean our room after that. She replied yes and said ten minutes later! But we waited for another one hour in the lobby. She was cleaning another side if the guest rooms. We went to the reception desk for help but the female manager was not friendly. We just wanted to watch TV for the golf competition.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The Westin Jersey City Newport

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
Aug 14, 2009

Good stay for the price

It was a good stay. Close to the PATH station. Good price. New rooms. Close to the Mall. Internet price is more that should be included in the hotel price for a lesser price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Close to the PATH station where you can get a metro to NY in less than 10 mins.

Review of The Westin Jersey City Newport

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Yvette Travels
Family
Stone Mountain, Georgia
Aug 2, 2009

Westin in Newport

Nice hotel with friendly staff and good food places in and near hotel. Great Cuban food up the street. Best feature - close to the path train which meant able to get to NYC with ease. Also loved the mall that was a few blocks away.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The sushi at the hotel was great and the cuban food up the street was amazing.

Review of The Westin Jersey City Newport

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Friends
Chicago
Jul 15, 2009

Fantastic Service

Great location if you want to be away from the hustle and bustle of New York City, but close and convenient enough to get around via path train and subway

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Short walk from the hotel to the Path Train which takes you right into the World Trade Center

Review of The Westin Jersey City Newport

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Chicago, IL
Jun 13, 2009

Great deal

Wasn't in the hotel much, but when the day ended and it was time to go to sleep, it was like heaven. The hotel was peaceful and the rooms are so comfortable, you almost don't want to leave the room. Would definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of The Westin Jersey City Newport

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Single
Atlanta, GA.
May 8, 2009

Great location and views of city

Clean, good location, helpful staff. Near shopping malls and restaurants

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of The Westin Jersey City Newport

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Linkchain
Friends
Salt Lake City
May 3, 2009

Great choice!

The Hotel was fantastic! I would not have stayed anywhere else. Its brand new and clean. The hotel staff was helpful and friendly. Absolutely would stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Back to menu Return to top