$167 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 5, 2015 Check-out: Apr 6, 2015

The Westin Jersey City Newport

4 stars
View map of 479 Washington Boulevard, 479 Washington Boulevard, Jersey City, NJ 07310

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Westin Jersey City Newport

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
87 out of 87
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.9

84% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Westin Jersey City Newport

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Glastonbury, CT
Nov 23, 2009

Decent Hotel

Nice hotel, though complementary guest services were nonexistant, and maintenence staff members were loudly conversing outside my door at 10pm. Information was difficult to find -- the room didn't have the usual binder with information on where to find food, what was included with the room, etc. Instead, there was a glossy room service menu and a brochure for upgrading bedsheets and pillows. Plus, parking was pricey and Wi-Fi was not included. Too much nickle-and-diming for a four-star hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

There's a short walk to a shopping mall, which is helpful if you want to grab a quick bite or do some shopping without the ordeal of getting your car out of the parking garage.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Jersey City Newport

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
charlotte, nc.
Nov 2, 2009

nice hotel

Nice hotel, good location, clean rooms. would recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Jersey City Newport

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Fort. Lauderdale, Florida
Oct 31, 2009

Unbeatable location for the price!

If your looking to visit NYC this is a great place to stay without having to pay those typical NYC hotel prices. The Westin is located right across the street from the PATH train that takes you straight into the city within a matter of 10 minutes. The inside of the hotel was beautiful! There is construction going on next to the hotel so it is a bit of an eye sore from the room, but other than that great service and friendly staff. We would definately stay there again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

If you are not familiar with New York City, I would definately recommend buying a travelers book from the book store. Frommer's and Fodor's are just two traveling books that I have found very useful. They provide sample itineraries and places to see depending on the number of days you have to spend. The most important thing is that they include maps of the subways and streets that prevented us from getting lost which is very easy to do in the city!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Jersey City Newport

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Frankie,window guy
Business
Grove City, OHIO
Oct 26, 2009

Great stay in Newport,, NJ

Spotless rooms All the comforts of home Thoroughly enjoyed this hotel Would definitely stay again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Newport Mall

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Jersey City Newport

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Pghgirl
Business
Pittsburgh pa
Oct 26, 2009

Very relaxing

The hotel was very nice and the room was extremely comfortable, however the staff was not very friendly. The doormen were particularly unpleasant and seemed to be desparate for tips.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Jersey City Newport

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Dallas, Texas
Oct 23, 2009

A Stone's throw away

The location was great. I actually took public transporation from Newark airport to the Westin. The cost was under $11.00. A cab ride from Newark airport runs about $50.00. The PATH train station is about 2 blocks from the hotel. I took the train into NYC every morning. It is a short train ride into the city. The location was perfect.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Jersey City Newport

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Business Dad
Business
Kansas City
Oct 20, 2009

The Westin was a great place to stay

The hotel was clean and quiet, two prerequisites that I always have. The staff was friendly and engineering staff responded quickly and efficiently to the two minor issues we had during our stay. I was very surprised at how close the path train and the Shoprite were in proximity to the hotel. This is the perfect place to stay for day trips to the city and/or business in a place that is well away from noise.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Buy the metro cards that service both the path trains and the subway system in NY rather than the one-way/round trip path tickets.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Jersey City Newport

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Traveler 21
Business
Blaine MN
Oct 19, 2009

Great service

The Hotel was very clean and the employees were great when told about a concern it was taken care of immediately. Example- The hot tub wasnt warm, reset the temp within minutes so it would warm up. Location was close to the New Jersey Lightrail and PATH station which brings you into New York City and close to a mall which had several food places in the food court.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Jersey City Newport

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Massachusetts
Oct 7, 2009

Great night stay

Room was very clean, bed was extremely comfortable, double headed shower was incredible!The thing I thought was kind of annoying [...] was that some of the descriptions included wifi and others did not. I thought that it meant that it was included in the price, so I selected one that had wifi in it. This is not the case. Wifi is not included in the price it is an additional charge of like $10 a night. I opted not to take advantage of their service and instead used my VZ wireless card and it had great coverage, so it worked out anyhow.Also, when I wanted to schedule a wake up call, I called around 12:15 and no one was picking up, not even the front desk did. After the phone rang for 5 minutes, I was able to get someone on the phone and they took care of it in about 10 seconds.Other than those two small things, I thoroughly enjoyed my stay, and would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Jersey City Newport

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
cdc80s
Business
Seattle, WA
Sep 23, 2009

Awesome Hotel Stay

The hotel was clean, quiet and accomodating. My room offered a beatiful view of the water/park right across the street. The hotel is right around the corner from the train station, major super market and mall. I was able to get to and from NY without any issues.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

There's a mall with a full food court and path to the train right around the corner.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top