$177 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 7, 2015 Check-out: Sep 8, 2015

The Westin Jersey City Newport

4 stars
View map of 479 Washington Boulevard, 479 Washington Boulevard, Jersey City, NJ 07310

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Westin Jersey City Newport

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
81 out of 81
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.4
Value:
4

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Westin Jersey City Newport

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Mississauga, Ontario
Oct 13, 2010

O.K.

We were not provided with the room requested in our reservation. On three occasions our room entrance card didn't work. Breakfast was not included in the price of the room which already was very high.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The Westin Jersey City Newport

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Last Minute Planner
Family
Jersey City, New Jersey
Sep 7, 2010

Wow!

We planned very last minute (less than 24 hours), but are extremely glad we settled on the Westin, Jersey City! We were treated like old friends from the moment we walked in, and that treatment didn't end until we left.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

This hotel was a great alternative to staying in NY, and was just a ferry ride to the city, Ellis Island and the Statue of Liberty. Excellent views of the city skyline across the Hudson.

Review of The Westin Jersey City Newport

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Friends
clinton, md
Sep 6, 2010

Nice getaway

The hotel was very nice. The attendants and the front desk staff were friendly. Only thing I did not do before booking this hotel was check on the parking. We had to pay full price on a shared parking garage around the corner and there was no kind of hotel validation or discount. Well, hotel staff didn't tell us if there was one either, but overall hotel was ok.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of The Westin Jersey City Newport

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ikikik
Single
Toronto, Ontario
Sep 6, 2010

Good hotel!

Very clean and convenient

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of The Westin Jersey City Newport

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
New York, NY
Aug 14, 2010

Westin Jersey City

Needed a room close to home.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The Westin Jersey City Newport

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Hoboken N.J
Aug 9, 2010

Beautiful Hotel! Bad View!

Great staff beautiful Acomodations, But the view was of other surrounding buildings.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The Westin Jersey City Newport

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
California Michael
Single
Santa Barbara, CA
Jun 10, 2010

Lovely Westin

9th floor dramatic view of NYC skyline. Perfect in all aspects.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of The Westin Jersey City Newport

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
West Palm Beach, FL
Jun 9, 2010

We took Manhatten

Superb hotel for half the price of comparable Manhatten hotels, the proximity to the PATH station and access to NY was our main reason for choosing the Westin. We found the staff to be very friendly and helpful with any directions we needed. Also helpful when help was needed using the business center to print boarding passes (free). We would definitley stay here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Waterfront is only steps away with beautiful views.

Review of The Westin Jersey City Newport

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
NJ
May 18, 2010

A sofa bed at the Westin Jersey City

I could'tn check in till late but I called to ask if that was going to be a problem of course they no "no problem". I prepaid my room so I expected that to count for something, they got paid before I ever spent one minute at their hotel. After they start to check me in they tell me that they are out of king bed rooms which is what I paid for but they we're going to "upgrade" me to a suite. That sounds great doesn't it? I thought so to until I get to the room and It's NOT a suite but it's only the dinning room part of a suite. MY BED WAS A PULL OUT COUCH!!! I called the front desk to try and get a real room but the front desk night manager [...] tells me that they don't have a room to give me. Again people I prepaid the room. Where is the room I paid for?!?!? Roberto tells me that they can "walk me to another hotel in Secaucas NJ". That's unacceptable I say so after going back and forth for a long time he tells me that my only two choices is to sleep on a sofa bed or go to a another town for a another room. I had no choice I wasn't going to Secaucas! I spent the night at what I thought was a 4 star hotel but all I got for my money was a night on a sorry sofa bed. P.S.They also said that since I paid through a third party ie. [...] that my room was not guaranteed. So be careful next time you use a service like this. Good Luck

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The Westin Jersey City Newport

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mark "Dusty" Blumenthal
Friends
Maplewood, NJ
Apr 13, 2010

Westin Hotel, great stay, hidden fees!

I had a great stay at the hotel, and all the staff were great, however i brought some of my own drinks and placed them in the mini fridge not knowing if I moved anything in the fridge I would be charged for it! A clerk told me as I checked out the charges would be reversed once they saw they did not have to restock anything, however I ended up calling the accounting department as they forgot to do this, but did have an internal report that nothing was missing from the fridge. The accounting department was helpful and easy to get a hold off, but the fact that I had to go through with it and follow that they did correct the changes is a hassle.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Back to menu Return to top