$159 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 19, 2014 Check-out: Dec 20, 2014

The Westin Jersey City Newport

4 stars
479 Washington Boulevard, 479 Washington Boulevard, Jersey City, NJ 07310
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
84 reviews
FOR ALL TRAVELS

We had a very good time during our stay. the location of hotel is closed to Newark EWR, shopping... See full review

  • Arun traveler
  • Jun 29, 2014
Torn Between Three and Four Stars

If I brought earplugs, I'd give it a four, no questions. It's new, clean, has amazing views of... See full review

  • Sarck
  • Aug 20, 2014
Waterfront style and class only minutes from Manhattan

Quiet, classy and comfortable, The Westin Jersey City Newport beckons as a waterfront haven in the Jersey City financial district. Soaring public spaces and designer decor team up with tranquil guest rooms that afford Big Apple views. Spend a day meandering through the adjacent mall or take the train one block away for a fast 10-minute escape into Manhattan. A heated indoor pool provides year-round refreshment, while the fitness center offers variety and room to move. Open for lunch and dinner, the restaurant is as wildly stylish as the lobby lounge.

Highlights

  • Bright, heated indoor pool with skylights, whirlpool and spacious fitness center
  • Dramatic public spaces with the attractive Half Moon Lobby Lounge
  • Most rooms have waterfront and NYC skyline views
  • One block to PATH train into Manhattan and minutes from the Holland Tunnel and New Jersey Turnpike
  • Adjacent to the 1.2-million-square-foot Newport Centre Mall

Rooms

Warm earth tones soothe mind and body in 429 plush and stylish guest rooms at The Westin Jersey City Newport. Most look out onto views of New York City or the Newport Marina. Doze off on a pillow-top mattress with crisp triple sheets, down blanket, luxurious duvet and five pillows. In the bathroom, look for a dual showerhead, signature bath amenities and curved shower rod. Request a Westin Workout Room for a 375-square-foot, fitness-inspired room with choice of either a LifeFitness™ Treadmill or Spinning Cycle plus DVD workouts and strength training equipment. Premium Rooms feature a curved wall of windows for panoramic Hudson River views. Both wired and wireless Internet are available (fees apply).

Features

Just west of Wall Street, Midtown Manhattan, and Times Square, The Westin Jersey City Newport offers Jersey City convenience minutes from Newark airport. Grab a workout while checking out the area with a Runner's World map that details three- and five-mile jogging routes from the hotel. At mealtime, enjoy lunch or dinner on-site at the sophisticated Fire & Oak or walk to other options nearby. The chic and inviting Half Moon Lobby Lounge also invites for after-hours cocktails. Choose self or valet parking (fees apply). 

Transportation

  • Newark Liberty International Airport (11.1 mi/17.8 km)
  • La Guardia Airport (14 mi/22.5 km)
  • John F. Kennedy International Airport (21.9 mi/35.2 km)
  • Limited free shuttle service within surrounding area
  • One block to the PATH train station into New York City

Attractions

  • Newport Centre Mall (across the street)
  • Wall Street (1.7 mi/2.7 km)
  • Historic Hoboken (2.2 mi/3.5 km)
  • Liberty Science Center (2.7 mi/4.3 km)
  • South Street Seaport (4 mi/6.4 km)
  • Madison Square Garden (5 mi/8 km)
  • Times Square (5.6 mi/9 km)
  • IZOD Center (8.8 mi/14.1 km)
  • Jersey Gardens Outlets (13.3 mi/21.4 km)

Business

  • Wireless access in rooms and public areas (fees apply)
  • 24-hour business center
  • 20,500 square feet of contemporary meeting space in 23 rooms

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Westin Jersey City Newport also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5

The Westin Jersey City Newport Rooms

Standard
The Amenities listed in this description represent the amenities available in all guest rooms in the hotel

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Activities
Pool
Exercise gym
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Services
Business center
Concierge desk
Security
Wake-up service
Multilingual
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Porters
Doorman
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Room
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Turndown service
Cribs available
Iron
Smoke detectors

Dining

Fire & Oak
Fire & Oak is an American grill boasting modern flare and an original spin on timeless classics. From burgers and mac n' cheese to sushi, everything is made from the freshest ingredients and served alongside great wines in a cozy, stylish setting.
Half Moon Restaurant & Lounge
Half Moon Restaurant & Lounge offers a full American breakfast amidst sunlight and rich wood and leather décor. Reenergize with delicious traditional fare and nourishing SuperFoodsRx™, plus food and drinks in the Lounge each afternoon and evening.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (84)

Ratings and reviews for The Westin Jersey City Newport

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
84 out of 84
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.3
Value:
4

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Westin Jersey City Newport

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Winston's Mom
Business
Raleigh, NC, USA
Apr 9, 2012

Great Spring Break Trip

Good value - good view of NYC....upscale locale - great proximity to the PATH with easy access to NYC as well as large mall directly behind...staff extremely helpful and generous with information. Did not eat at restaurant so no opinion there. Only downside was having to pay extra for parking, didn't know this beforehand.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Easy access to PATH train to either 33rd St or WTC stations. 15 min ride!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Jersey City Newport

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Meshel
Business
Canton Ohio
Apr 2, 2012

Weekend getaway

Hotel was clean and staff was helpful. Was a convienent place to stay to get back and forth to NYC.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Jersey City Newport

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
KenShaBry
Business
Smyrna, De
Mar 26, 2012

Excellent and Courteous Hotel!!!

Hotel was extremely clean and the staff are amazing! The hotel is very conviently located by the path train for quick access to the city. We also took a 5 min drive to Hoboken to visit Carlos Bakery which was worth the crowd outside to get it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Jersey City Newport

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jersey Girls
Business
Columbia, SC, USA
Mar 13, 2012

Nice hotel with easy access to NY

I spent the weekend at this hotel as a break during a business trip. The hotel is located across the street from the train station, so I was in downtown Manhattan in 30 minutes with no changing of trains. The staff was very professional and courteous. The hotel has a nice restaurant, bar and lounge area which created a warm, cozy and relaxed atmosphere. I had great views of the river and NY city from my hotel room!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Jersey City Newport

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
China
Feb 22, 2012

Nice hotel

It looks perfect, room is big, bed very confortable. Very important, living is easy, supermarket nearby, and there is Macy departent store just neighbour. Room fare is very much lower than that in NY, but still convenient to get into NY.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to the Macy, in the same building there is food court.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Jersey City Newport

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ari SPG
Business
Flushing, Queens, NY, USA
Feb 13, 2012

Great Stay

I stayed here with my girlfriend for Valentine's Day weekend and we had a great time. We had a king sized bed and it was so soft it was like sleeping on a cloud. The pool was small but at least they have a pool. They also had a full workout area that we didn't get a chance to use but it looked very nice. The staff was helpful, the view was nice, and the location was very convenient being right by NJ PATH. I would and will recommend The Westin to my friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Jersey City Newport

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
instant traveler
Business
washington dc
Nov 27, 2011

nice hotel just wished the food be a little cheaper

Great greetings. nice and personable staff always willing to help.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Jersey City Newport

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, NY
Jul 27, 2011

Was not impressed at all

The stay was ok.. however I left a bag with my favorite blazer and jacket, I called several times and even went back and till this day no one has ever returned my call.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Jersey City Newport

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Mumbai
May 13, 2011

Early check in was an issue

Before booking we called and asked for early check in because our international flight has arrival time in the morning. They said if rooms are available we will do it for you. It was a weekday and we thought it will be easier. When we reach there around 7:30 am, they told us room will b available only by 12pm. We were fine with it, we roamed around, had lunch and came back at 12. Then they said you can check in only by 3pm. It was really frustrating. Overall experience is ok, nothing great about this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Newport mall

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Jersey City Newport

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Richmond, VA
May 12, 2011

Great Business Trip

Great room, great service!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Hotel

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top