$158 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 7, 2015 Check-out: Jan 10, 2015

The Westin Jersey City Newport

4 stars
479 Washington Boulevard, 479 Washington Boulevard, Jersey City, NJ 07310
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
85 reviews
FOR ALL TRAVELS

We had a very good time during our stay. the location of hotel is closed to Newark EWR, shopping... See full review

  • Arun traveler
  • Jun 29, 2014
Clean, nice, easy access to NY

Just stayed here for a night on a business trip. It was very nice, easy to find and all was as... See full review

  • Cycle guy
  • Nov 30, 2014
Waterfront style and class only minutes from Manhattan

Quiet, classy and comfortable, The Westin Jersey City Newport beckons as a waterfront haven in the Jersey City financial district. Soaring public spaces and designer decor team up with tranquil guest rooms that afford Big Apple views. Spend a day meandering through the adjacent mall or take the train one block away for a fast 10-minute escape into Manhattan. A heated indoor pool provides year-round refreshment, while the fitness center offers variety and room to move. Open for lunch and dinner, the restaurant is as wildly stylish as the lobby lounge.

Highlights

  • Bright, heated indoor pool with skylights, whirlpool and spacious fitness center
  • Dramatic public spaces with the attractive Half Moon Lobby Lounge
  • Most rooms have waterfront and NYC skyline views
  • One block to PATH train into Manhattan and minutes from the Holland Tunnel and New Jersey Turnpike
  • Adjacent to the 1.2-million-square-foot Newport Centre Mall

Rooms

Warm earth tones soothe mind and body in 429 plush and stylish guest rooms at The Westin Jersey City Newport. Most look out onto views of New York City or the Newport Marina. Doze off on a pillow-top mattress with crisp triple sheets, down blanket, luxurious duvet and five pillows. In the bathroom, look for a dual showerhead, signature bath amenities and curved shower rod. Request a Westin Workout Room for a 375-square-foot, fitness-inspired room with choice of either a LifeFitness™ Treadmill or Spinning Cycle plus DVD workouts and strength training equipment. Premium Rooms feature a curved wall of windows for panoramic Hudson River views. Both wired and wireless Internet are available (fees apply).

Features

Just west of Wall Street, Midtown Manhattan, and Times Square, The Westin Jersey City Newport offers Jersey City convenience minutes from Newark airport. Grab a workout while checking out the area with a Runner's World map that details three- and five-mile jogging routes from the hotel. At mealtime, enjoy lunch or dinner on-site at the sophisticated Fire & Oak or walk to other options nearby. The chic and inviting Half Moon Lobby Lounge also invites for after-hours cocktails. Choose self or valet parking (fees apply). 

Transportation

  • Newark Liberty International Airport (11.1 mi/17.8 km)
  • La Guardia Airport (14 mi/22.5 km)
  • John F. Kennedy International Airport (21.9 mi/35.2 km)
  • Limited free shuttle service within surrounding area
  • One block to the PATH train station into New York City

Attractions

  • Newport Centre Mall (across the street)
  • Wall Street (1.7 mi/2.7 km)
  • Historic Hoboken (2.2 mi/3.5 km)
  • Liberty Science Center (2.7 mi/4.3 km)
  • South Street Seaport (4 mi/6.4 km)
  • Madison Square Garden (5 mi/8 km)
  • Times Square (5.6 mi/9 km)
  • IZOD Center (8.8 mi/14.1 km)
  • Jersey Gardens Outlets (13.3 mi/21.4 km)

Business

  • Wireless access in rooms and public areas (fees apply)
  • 24-hour business center
  • 20,500 square feet of contemporary meeting space in 23 rooms

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Westin Jersey City Newport also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5

The Westin Jersey City Newport Rooms

Standard
The Amenities listed in this description represent the amenities available in all guest rooms in the hotel

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Activities
Pool
Exercise gym
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Services
Business center
Concierge desk
Security
Wake-up service
Multilingual
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Porters
Doorman
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Room
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Turndown service
Cribs available
Iron
Smoke detectors

Dining

Fire & Oak
Fire & Oak is an American grill boasting modern flare and an original spin on timeless classics. From burgers and mac n' cheese to sushi, everything is made from the freshest ingredients and served alongside great wines in a cozy, stylish setting.
Half Moon Restaurant & Lounge
Half Moon Restaurant & Lounge offers a full American breakfast amidst sunlight and rich wood and leather décor. Reenergize with delicious traditional fare and nourishing SuperFoodsRx™, plus food and drinks in the Lounge each afternoon and evening.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (85)

Ratings and reviews for The Westin Jersey City Newport

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
85 out of 85
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.3
Value:
4

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Westin Jersey City Newport

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
DavidFPP
Business
Madison, WI
Aug 10, 2012

FPP Meeting

Great accommodations. I enjoyed NY even more during the week

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Jersey City Newport

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cycle guy
Business
Foster City CA
Nov 30, 2014

Clean, nice, easy access to NY

Just stayed here for a night on a business trip. It was very nice, easy to find and all was as expected.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Jersey City Newport

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sarck
Business
Philly
Aug 20, 2014

Torn Between Three and Four Stars

If I brought earplugs, I'd give it a four, no questions. It's new, clean, has amazing views of Manhattan, is comfortable, and the shower is better than home. Problem was, the noise. The AC cut on and off abruptly and loudly, and clanked when on. Additionally, from my room on the west side of the hotel, I was able to hear the garbage being picked up at 5 AM. So my sleep was less than awesome. I mentioned it to the lady at check out and she said I could have called and gotten earplugs. So be forewarned... but enjoy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Jersey City Newport

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Lauren48
Business
Washington, DC
Aug 11, 2014

Could be better

I think the front desk staff could stand to use some training in customer service. I realize when you come off a sold-out night, you're stressed, but you should never make a loyal customer feel that. When I checked in, I was not greeted with a smile, nor was I appreciated as a customer. First impressions are everything, and I was unimpressed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Jersey City Newport

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Arun traveler
Business
West Palm beach, Florida
Jun 29, 2014

FOR ALL TRAVELS

We had a very good time during our stay. the location of hotel is closed to Newark EWR, shopping mall, good eating places.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

This hotel is located within short walking distance for shopping, dinning and park.,

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Jersey City Newport

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Girls Take Over NY
Business
Maryland
Jun 17, 2014

Good enough for "not NYC"

I was just there for one night. My first time staying across the river rather than in the city. It was convenient for a quick trip over to the city as well as for driving further south the next morning. Didn't get a chance to enjoy the hotel amenities but the bar was a great spot to have lunch and watch the game after check-out.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Having a car is great if going out late, but parking is somewhat pricey and the train is a short walk away.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Jersey City Newport

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
CONNECTDS
Business
BOSTON
Apr 17, 2014

Downtown Jersey City Hotel

FOOD is WAY over priced. Selection was limited . Restaurant was extremely noisy. I would recommend staying at the hotel and finding another place to eat.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Jersey City Newport

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
rodolph
Business
Washington, DC, USA
Apr 17, 2014

Very comfortable!

My family and I really enjoyed the pool and Jacuzzi in the morning. The beds were comfortable and the bathrooms beautifully appointed. We had a plentiful supply of towels and extra toiletries upon request. Starbucks filtered coffee in the room was definitely a plus! I found the whole experience refreshing, relaxing and comfortable. Thanks!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Wonderful Indian restaurant nearby called Raaz (which happens to mean Secret)! The staff were so accommodating when my son asked for a special dish. There's also a Starbucks on the boardwalk which faces the marvelous view of New York over the Hudson River. Breathtaking.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Jersey City Newport

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kukdai
Business
Falls Church,VA
Dec 1, 2013

Was a nice place Except the view

I loved the hotel and its services. But was hoping for the Manhattan view room which i did not got. The hotel is nice, staffs are nice and the place is perfect with very close access to path trains....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Jersey City Newport

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mom to K and K
Business
Scotch Plains, NJ
Jul 15, 2013

Nice, Clean hotel in a good location.

We stayed in this hotel for a Saturday night local wedding. The room was a good size, clean, and comfortable for under $200. However, parking was rather pricey at $33 and change after taxes. Also, it took us over 15 minutes to get a cab to the wedding reception. Then, when the cab pulled up and we told the valet/greeter from the hotel we were going to a well-known restaurant (the Chart House) in Weehawken (a couple towns over), he asked if we had the exact address??? Fortunately, the cab driver was more knowledgeable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Jersey City Newport

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
RMK1
Business
New York, NY
Apr 15, 2013

Good hotel, Awful parking situation

We enjoyed our stay at the Westin, Jersey City, but we had a difficult time with the parking situation. I had 3 rooms with 10 people for one night. With a total of 6 cars in the parking lot. The hotel says that it has onsite parking, but that's not exactly true. Parking is across the street and upstairs... not connected to the hotel. You have to walk outside and across the street to get to the hotel from the parking garage, which is difficult with bags and luggage. Also, the parking attendant was rude and not helpful when I told her that the machine to pay for my parking was BROKEN. With 6 cars, all at $22 each, I thought I deserved at least a little courtesy and respect from the parking attendant. All in all, the hotel is very nice, but the Double Tree or the Marriott down the road both have better parking situations that would have made my entire stay much easier, more convenient, and worthy of its price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top