$149 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Dec 19, 2014 Check-out: Dec 20, 2014

Candlewood Suites JERSEY CITY

2 stars
21 Second Street, Jersey City, NJ 07302
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
54 reviews
Great value.

We stayed here three nights for a typical 3-day NYC trip. The location is great - walking distance... See full review

  • hzhang
  • Jun 8, 2014
Across the River

Hotel was perfect for what we needed. It is located near the light rail (Hoboken) and the Path... See full review

  • Vacation Chick
  • Mar 13, 2014
All-suites hotel with free parking and a shuttle to mass transit

Set along the Hudson River, Candlewood Suites JERSEY CITY offers easy access to downtown Manhattan with an atmosphere far removed from the hectic city pace. Large rooms at the only all-suites hotel in the heart of the Jersey City financial district appeal to extended-stay travelers and weekend guests with fully equipped kitchens and living areas. Reasonable rates include free parking, complimentary shuttle to nearby stations, and an on-site fitness center. Stop by the 24-hour Candlewood convenience market for snacks, beverages and easy-prep meals.

Highlights

  • All -suites hotel in the Jersey City financial district
  • Pet-friendly accommodations available (fees apply)
  • Complimentary guest parking and free shuttle to train and subway stations
  • 24-hour on-site convenience store
  • Rooms have kitchens and living areas

Rooms

The 214 suites at Candlewood Suites JERSEY CITY may be plain on the eyes, but each offers plenty of space and a well-equipped kitchen complete with microwave and full-size refrigerator. Stock up on snacks from the on-site convenience market or pick up groceries nearby to cook in your room. In the living area, relax in the recliner and make use of the cable television, CD player or VCR. An oversized executive desk offers free high-speed Internet access and two phone lines. 

Features
The central Jersey City location offers a short walk or free shuttle ride to several nearby train and subway stations. Reach New York City attractions within minutes then return to the hotel anytime to rest or freshen up. Free laundry facilities offer convenience to families and business travelers on an extended stay. Check out the pet policy at Candlewood Suites JERSEY CITY if the family dog is in tow (fees apply).
Transportation

  • Newark Liberty International Airport (11 mi/17.7 km)
  • John F. Kennedy International Airport (25 mi/40.2 km)
  • La Guardia Airport (27 mi/43.4 km)
  • Complimentary shuttle to nearby train and subway stations with service to New York City

Attractions

  • Newport Centre Mall (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Wall Street (4.3 mi/6.9 km)
  • Historic Hoboken (2.5 mi/4 km)
  • Liberty Science Center (2.6 mi/4.2 km)
  • South Street Seaport (4.5 mi/7.2 km)
  • Times Square (5.9 mi/9.5 km)
  • Madison Square Garden (5.4 mi/8.7 km)
  • IZOD Center (9.5 mi/15.3 km)
  • Jersey Gardens Outlets (13.3 mi/21.4 km)

Business

  • Free high-speed Internet access in guest rooms
  • Copy and fax services available (fees apply)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Candlewood Suites JERSEY CITY also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

Amenities

  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
Services
Business center
Maid service
Guest laundromat
ATM/Cash machine
In-Room Safe
Car rental desk
FAX
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
Kitchen
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Ironing board

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (54)

Ratings and reviews for Candlewood Suites JERSEY CITY

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
11 out of 54
Amenities:
3.4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.1

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Candlewood Suites JERSEY CITY

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
hzhang
Business
Worcester, MA
Jun 8, 2014

Great value.

We stayed here three nights for a typical 3-day NYC trip. The location is great - walking distance to both PATH train stations to midtown and downtown Manhattan. Gorgeous view of the lower Manhattan. A little con is the noise from the light rail. But you get what you pay. The room is typical but the microwave in room is extremely useful! The staff is helpful also - especially Ruth. She is very nice and patient and very willing to help me change my room for some mistake I made for the reservation. Very lucky to have her at the front desk! Great experience. Perfect choice for tight budget.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Candlewood Suites JERSEY CITY

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Davidredwa
Business
Seattle, WA
Apr 7, 2014

Horrible Experience

They were painting the hotel and painted my door in the Am,so when I opened the door I got paint on my new sweater and ruined it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Candlewood Suites JERSEY CITY

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kurt Vonnegut
Business
Louisville, Ky
Aug 19, 2013

Perfect location

Visiting a new grandson in Jersey City; my son's condo was too small for 5. This was the perfect location, just 8 blocks from him. There were restaurants close by and we felt safe in the neighborhood. The "Honor System" store in the lobby was convenient for breakfast or late night snacks. The staff were helpful and, over all, we had a wonderful experience. Another visit planned in October and we will return to this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Hopscotch; reasonable and good food.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Candlewood Suites JERSEY CITY

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MikeS
Business
Malvern, UK
Jul 25, 2013

Family Stay - July 2013

We (daughter, wife and I) stayed at the Candlewood Suites for a week. First impressions were average but the place grew on us over time. It can be best described as a self catering hotel. There is no restaurant on site, but the room has a small kitchen. Ours had a microwave, two hot plates, a big fridge and a dishwasher.Pots, pans and cutlery are also provided. Some basic groceries are available at the hotel, but the great thing about the hotel is what is available within a five minute walk - supermarket (Shoprite), shopping mall (Newport) with a good range of shops and eateries and a choice of PATH stations (Exchange Place or Newport) to get to NY. Getting there from Newark Airport was easy. Also near the hotel were other places to eat - we had a fantastic breakfast at the City Diner which was a short walk away. TIP: Go to the Hudson River Walk nearby after dark - it's quite busy and safe - and take in the Manhattan skyline from the George Washington Bridge down to Staten Island. Its spectacular, and not something you will see staying in Manhattan. CONS: The only problem we had was that the air conditioning struggled to keep the room cool, but it was in the middle of a heatwave. SUMMARY: It may not be Manhattan but it was a very convenient and safe location and a great base from which to explore the Big Apple.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

See the Manhattan skyline at night.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Candlewood Suites JERSEY CITY

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
IIrina
Business
Exton
Jul 8, 2013

Perfect getaway to Manhattan

Clean and spacious suites, well-equipped kitchen. Fenced territory with parking lot. Quiet and friendly. Fast and easy access to Manhattan which was a priority for us. Would love to return back and definately recommend to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

easy access to manhattan via PATH

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Candlewood Suites JERSEY CITY

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jhojhet
Business
Illinois
Mar 29, 2013

Our stay experience

First off, we came from Illinois to visit Jersey city and New York. It's four of us in the road trip and first time visiting the East coast. We arrived at the hotel at 12noon and we immidiately get the accommodation and early check in. The stuff was very friendly and gave us a room in the 4th floor. Our first impression was very good, the room has a modern style living from the kitchen to the bathroom. My kids was all exited and with the price we pay is all worth it. There's also a view of the big apple and the Hudson river. The Path train is just a 5min walk. This is the train going to WTC in NYC. It was a great experience and we will definitely book here again the next time we visit. Clean and quite environment and it's very family friendly! I recommend this place if you want to relax and escape a city life in your vacation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Candlewood Suites JERSEY CITY

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Minivanman
Business
Wisconsin
Nov 20, 2012

Great location

Generally a good experience and a good value, The main negative was a noisy party next door that kept us up

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

use the PATH for going to NYC

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Candlewood Suites JERSEY CITY

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Scotch On Da Rocks
Business
Jersey City, NJ
May 7, 2012

Great for the price!

Staff was helpful. Rooms were clean. Location was perfect for NYC....just 15 mins.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Candlewood Suites JERSEY CITY

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jeetesh
Business
Minneapolis
Jun 2, 2010

Excellent for everything....

Very good hotel. Friendly staff. Great location. In hotel convenience store. Free parking and shuttle. 24 hrs staff. Bathroom wasn't so good I was expecting. Room furniture requires updating.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

close to Pavonia/new port and Exchange place PATH station.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Candlewood Suites JERSEY CITY

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Arlington, VA
Aug 7, 2009

Nice hotel for a family trip

I stayed this hotel for the second time. Must say the hotel is not very special when it comes to the service or facilities compared with other hotels similarly rated but very nice ones for a family trip esp. you're having a trip with very young kids and hate the hustle bustle of New York. Conveniently located to the transit services and near to Holland Tunnel. Most of all, we could enjoy beautiful scenery of Manhattan at night just by walking less than 10 minutes from the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top