$139 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Nov 22, 2014 Check-out: Nov 24, 2014

Candlewood Suites JERSEY CITY

2 stars
21 Second Street, Jersey City, NJ 07302
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
54 reviews
Great value.

We stayed here three nights for a typical 3-day NYC trip. The location is great - walking distance... See full review

  • hzhang
  • Jun 8, 2014
Across the River

Hotel was perfect for what we needed. It is located near the light rail (Hoboken) and the Path... See full review

  • Vacation Chick
  • Mar 13, 2014
All-suites hotel with free parking and a shuttle to mass transit

Set along the Hudson River, Candlewood Suites JERSEY CITY offers easy access to downtown Manhattan with an atmosphere far removed from the hectic city pace. Large rooms at the only all-suites hotel in the heart of the Jersey City financial district appeal to extended-stay travelers and weekend guests with fully equipped kitchens and living areas. Reasonable rates include free parking, complimentary shuttle to nearby stations, and an on-site fitness center. Stop by the 24-hour Candlewood convenience market for snacks, beverages and easy-prep meals.

Highlights

  • All -suites hotel in the Jersey City financial district
  • Pet-friendly accommodations available (fees apply)
  • Complimentary guest parking and free shuttle to train and subway stations
  • 24-hour on-site convenience store
  • Rooms have kitchens and living areas

Rooms

The 214 suites at Candlewood Suites JERSEY CITY may be plain on the eyes, but each offers plenty of space and a well-equipped kitchen complete with microwave and full-size refrigerator. Stock up on snacks from the on-site convenience market or pick up groceries nearby to cook in your room. In the living area, relax in the recliner and make use of the cable television, CD player or VCR. An oversized executive desk offers free high-speed Internet access and two phone lines. 

Features
The central Jersey City location offers a short walk or free shuttle ride to several nearby train and subway stations. Reach New York City attractions within minutes then return to the hotel anytime to rest or freshen up. Free laundry facilities offer convenience to families and business travelers on an extended stay. Check out the pet policy at Candlewood Suites JERSEY CITY if the family dog is in tow (fees apply).
Transportation

  • Newark Liberty International Airport (11 mi/17.7 km)
  • John F. Kennedy International Airport (25 mi/40.2 km)
  • La Guardia Airport (27 mi/43.4 km)
  • Complimentary shuttle to nearby train and subway stations with service to New York City

Attractions

  • Newport Centre Mall (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Wall Street (4.3 mi/6.9 km)
  • Historic Hoboken (2.5 mi/4 km)
  • Liberty Science Center (2.6 mi/4.2 km)
  • South Street Seaport (4.5 mi/7.2 km)
  • Times Square (5.9 mi/9.5 km)
  • Madison Square Garden (5.4 mi/8.7 km)
  • IZOD Center (9.5 mi/15.3 km)
  • Jersey Gardens Outlets (13.3 mi/21.4 km)

Business

  • Free high-speed Internet access in guest rooms
  • Copy and fax services available (fees apply)

Hotel Map

40.722 -74.0376
Nearby airports
John F. Kennedy International Airport, (JFK), 25.00, MI, E; La Guardia International Airport, (LGA), 27.00, MI, E; Newark Liberty International Airport, (EWR), 11.00, MI, SE;
Area description
Downtown, downtown

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Candlewood Suites JERSEY CITY also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

Amenities

  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
Services
Business center
Maid service
Guest laundromat
ATM/Cash machine
In-Room Safe
Car rental desk
FAX
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
Kitchen
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Ironing board

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (54)

Ratings and reviews for Candlewood Suites JERSEY CITY

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
54 out of 54
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.3
Value:
4

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Candlewood Suites JERSEY CITY

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Davidredwa
Business
Seattle, WA
Apr 7, 2014

Horrible Experience

They were painting the hotel and painted my door in the Am,so when I opened the door I got paint on my new sweater and ruined it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Candlewood Suites JERSEY CITY

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Kelly Event Planner
Business
CA
Apr 23, 2014

Bed Bugs

Had bites from head to toe. They moved me to a new room, but pretty bad!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Candlewood Suites JERSEY CITY

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Galistar
Business
la
Sep 7, 2013

expected better

Everything was clean and nice except for some weird smell in the room. Did not have time to request a different one however.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Candlewood Suites JERSEY CITY

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Sep 25, 2008

Staff issues

It seemed that guests were typically ignored. Just not very customer centric.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Candlewood Suites JERSEY CITY

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Oct 18, 2008

Inconvenience abounds

It was located facing a parking lot where a floodlight blazed into my window all night, and the curtains in my room were designed for decoration, not to cover the window and increase the comfortability of the room. I heard people dragging luggage and slamming car doors all morning (starting at 3 a.m., I figured, because of so many nearby airports). Then, at 5 a.m., a neighbor two suites down the hallway (NOT my immediate neighbor) turned on the television as loud as possible. I called the front desk to ask for them to solve this problem, but they didn't do anything. I walked down the hall and figured out which suite the noise was coming from, and banged on the door but nothing happened. I returned to my room, called the front desk to tell them the specific room number, but they didn't do anything. I called the room, but nobody picked up. Finally the front desk had me change rooms to sleep soundly, and let the person continue to run their television at maximum volume at 5 a.m.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Candlewood Suites JERSEY CITY

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Son at NYU
Business
Kirtland, OH
Mar 15, 2010

Paper walls

We stayed here to visit our son who is studying at NYU. Access to NYC and back was very easy via Holland Tunnel. Room was noisy from the heating/AC unit to paper thin walls, to fridge running and rain coming off the roof hitting the window. We stayed Friday to Sunday and they do not provide any maid service during our stay. Beds were uncomfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Candlewood Suites JERSEY CITY

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Insomniac
Business
Leicester
Mar 25, 2011

Recommended

The product would best suit relatively self-sufficient business and independent travelers looking for a well maintained, secure and quiet spot with quick and easy access to Manhattan, Hoboken, public transport links and Newark International. A good selling point is the 'normality' on offer; pleasant staff, no packs of loud guests in the corridors, short wait times for the lifts, and none of the 'tourist trap' nonsense you'll find at the large midtown Manhattan hotels. On the other hand, there is no grandeur, ceremony or sense of luxury - the room was well equipped, the stuff in in could have been quieter and newer, but everything was in order and there was no sense of being chiseled or duped. Comfort level was good. Sleep was easy. Space was sufficient for up to 2 people. Self-catering is very possible using the fully equipped kitchen area. I've stayed in bigger and better but when you open the door you won't think, 'What have I done now?'. So I liked the place and I'd recommend it with the caveats mentioned above (we're talking about a no service hotel otherwise on a par with a UK 3 star). What works best is the location. This part of Jersey City is virtually on the Hudson. Hundreds of millions of dollars have been poured into the redevelopment of that waterside, so your immediate environment is not just secure but actually quite enviable. You cross the road from the hotel to get to the new boardwalk, which gives you a postcard view of Manhattan. It is a whole minute to get to the LRT (tram); do go to Washington Street, Hoboken (it only takes 10 minutes to get to what in tourist terms is an unspoilt historic gem). 5 minutes along the boardwalk gets you to Exchange Place. The PATH train will have you at WTC soon thereafter. Or walk a couple more minutes to Paulus Hook ferry (unmissable) and make the tourist free ride up to 37th Street. You don't get these options if you're stuck in Times Square. I haven't mentioned Newport Mall (large and generic, 4 department stores and a big food court for all you hardened shoppers). That's a quick tram ride or a 10 minute walk. Grove Street is the close-by shopping neighbourhood with a good choice of independent stores and food. And downtown Jersey City is another lo-rise older neighbourhood that balances out time spent on 5th Avenue nicely. Is at all wonderful? No. The waterside scheme includes a mini mall, bars and restaurants, but only opens Monday to Friday. While a train journey from Newark airport is cheap and fairly quick, you have three transfers, and you're on your own pretty much tackling the tickets, route and local geography. It's about $39 for a cab against $15 on the train so 2 people should get the cab and save energy. The hotel is fine. The location is great. There are several new hotels in the area and I'd certainly recommend looking at these as well. Or call the Candlewood direct and haggle!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Grove Street, cafes, food, and an off-license to die for

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Candlewood Suites JERSEY CITY

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Scotch On Da Rocks
Business
Jersey City, NJ
May 7, 2012

Great for the price!

Staff was helpful. Rooms were clean. Location was perfect for NYC....just 15 mins.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Candlewood Suites JERSEY CITY

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Minivanman
Business
Wisconsin
Nov 20, 2012

Great location

Generally a good experience and a good value, The main negative was a noisy party next door that kept us up

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

use the PATH for going to NYC

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Candlewood Suites JERSEY CITY

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New Jersey
Dec 1, 2010

Just fine

The room was fine, with all the accoutrements of home. Some of the furniture was a little worn, and the hotplates gave off a strange odor when turned on, but otherwise my stay there went smoothly. I enjoyed the food area and the workout room. The staff was very nice, kindly, and attentive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

This hotel is very near two light rail stations and the PATH to WTC.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top