$107 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Feb 12, 2015 Check-out: Feb 14, 2015

Candlewood Suites JERSEY CITY

2 stars
21 Second Street, Jersey City, NJ 07302
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
54 reviews
Great value.

We stayed here three nights for a typical 3-day NYC trip. The location is great - walking distance... See full review

  • hzhang
  • Jun 8, 2014
Across the River

Hotel was perfect for what we needed. It is located near the light rail (Hoboken) and the Path... See full review

  • Vacation Chick
  • Mar 13, 2014
All-suites hotel with free parking and a shuttle to mass transit

Set along the Hudson River, Candlewood Suites JERSEY CITY offers easy access to downtown Manhattan with an atmosphere far removed from the hectic city pace. Large rooms at the only all-suites hotel in the heart of the Jersey City financial district appeal to extended-stay travelers and weekend guests with fully equipped kitchens and living areas. Reasonable rates include free parking, complimentary shuttle to nearby stations, and an on-site fitness center. Stop by the 24-hour Candlewood convenience market for snacks, beverages and easy-prep meals.

Highlights

  • All -suites hotel in the Jersey City financial district
  • Pet-friendly accommodations available (fees apply)
  • Complimentary guest parking and free shuttle to train and subway stations
  • 24-hour on-site convenience store
  • Rooms have kitchens and living areas

Rooms

The 214 suites at Candlewood Suites JERSEY CITY may be plain on the eyes, but each offers plenty of space and a well-equipped kitchen complete with microwave and full-size refrigerator. Stock up on snacks from the on-site convenience market or pick up groceries nearby to cook in your room. In the living area, relax in the recliner and make use of the cable television, CD player or VCR. An oversized executive desk offers free high-speed Internet access and two phone lines. 

Features
The central Jersey City location offers a short walk or free shuttle ride to several nearby train and subway stations. Reach New York City attractions within minutes then return to the hotel anytime to rest or freshen up. Free laundry facilities offer convenience to families and business travelers on an extended stay. Check out the pet policy at Candlewood Suites JERSEY CITY if the family dog is in tow (fees apply).
Transportation

  • Newark Liberty International Airport (11 mi/17.7 km)
  • John F. Kennedy International Airport (25 mi/40.2 km)
  • La Guardia Airport (27 mi/43.4 km)
  • Complimentary shuttle to nearby train and subway stations with service to New York City

Attractions

  • Newport Centre Mall (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Wall Street (4.3 mi/6.9 km)
  • Historic Hoboken (2.5 mi/4 km)
  • Liberty Science Center (2.6 mi/4.2 km)
  • South Street Seaport (4.5 mi/7.2 km)
  • Times Square (5.9 mi/9.5 km)
  • Madison Square Garden (5.4 mi/8.7 km)
  • IZOD Center (9.5 mi/15.3 km)
  • Jersey Gardens Outlets (13.3 mi/21.4 km)

Business

  • Free high-speed Internet access in guest rooms
  • Copy and fax services available (fees apply)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Candlewood Suites JERSEY CITY also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Amenities

  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
Services
Business center
Maid service
Guest laundromat
ATM/Cash machine
In-Room Safe
Car rental desk
FAX
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
Kitchen
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Ironing board

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (54)

Ratings and reviews for Candlewood Suites JERSEY CITY

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
54 out of 54
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.3
Value:
4

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Candlewood Suites JERSEY CITY

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
49 Symphony road, Apt#11, Boston, MA
Mar 21, 2010

Fantastic friend getaway

I really like this trip to NYC. And my friends and I do like this Candle Wood Suite a lot.But for one thing I want to mention is that it does near Manhattan however it is not good price to take a taxi from Manhattan to Jersey city because we took a taxi for the first day when we arrived at NYC. It took us $58 for taxi. Fortunately, when we arrived at Hotel, I asked the front desk. They told us that we can take a subway from our hotel to NYC. It is cheaper and faster. That's a great recommendation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Candlewood Suites JERSEY CITY

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Son at NYU
Business
Kirtland, OH
Mar 15, 2010

Paper walls

We stayed here to visit our son who is studying at NYU. Access to NYC and back was very easy via Holland Tunnel. Room was noisy from the heating/AC unit to paper thin walls, to fridge running and rain coming off the roof hitting the window. We stayed Friday to Sunday and they do not provide any maid service during our stay. Beds were uncomfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Candlewood Suites JERSEY CITY

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Arlington, VA
Aug 7, 2009

Nice hotel for a family trip

I stayed this hotel for the second time. Must say the hotel is not very special when it comes to the service or facilities compared with other hotels similarly rated but very nice ones for a family trip esp. you're having a trip with very young kids and hate the hustle bustle of New York. Conveniently located to the transit services and near to Holland Tunnel. Most of all, we could enjoy beautiful scenery of Manhattan at night just by walking less than 10 minutes from the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Candlewood Suites JERSEY CITY

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Jun 22, 2009

average hotel stay, but convenient

small rooms, but convenient with a kitchenette and refrigerator. Good for longer-term stays. Not close to any stores or supermarkets, so the kitchenette isn't that useful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Short (10 minute) walk from the NJ PATH trains into downtown NYC, and the subway ride itself is only another 10 minutes.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Candlewood Suites JERSEY CITY

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Grand Rapids, MI
Jun 2, 2009

Excellent VAlue

Outstanding value! Close to the PATH trains to NYC. Clean rooms. Well worth the price. A great place to stay if you want to visit New York.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Close to PATH stations to NYC

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Candlewood Suites JERSEY CITY

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Horseheads, NY
May 26, 2009

Close to Transit

Candlewood was in a very convenient location in between both the light rail and PATH train, which made it easy to get to Manhattan in just a few minutes. The staff were wonderful and the room was very clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The PATH train & light rail are so close that there is no need to cab it anywhere. The rides are very cheap as well!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Candlewood Suites JERSEY CITY

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Houston, TX
May 24, 2009

Great place to live near Manhattan

Great location if you want to be close to Manhattan and dont want to pay the Manhattan price. Located just a few minutes walk from the exchange station for Path trains. Felt safe walking at nights to the hotel. Has a goos shuttle service as well. They do not change sheets and towels everyday and they tell you that up front. It is done only once a week.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Candlewood Suites JERSEY CITY

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Houston, TX
May 10, 2009

Perfectly serene

I am thinking of moving to NY because I work there a lot and I love the city. A friend suggested that I check out the up and coming Harborside district in Jersey City as an alternative to living in the five boroughs. In the end I was not disappointed. I commuted to midtown Manhattan daily and it took me forty minutes to an hour. This was fine because it gave me an opportunity to ease into the day. The hotel was perfect with everything I needed and more. The only thing that was missing was a broom. The shuttle or light rail gets you to the PATH within minutes and I didn't feel like I was missing anything not being in NYC.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The ferry from Exchange Place takes you across the river in seven minutes. This is great if you are working late.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Candlewood Suites JERSEY CITY

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Pompano Beach, FL
May 5, 2009

Great location, excellent price

Staying at this hotel is the simplest way to find out how good it is.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Candlewood Suites JERSEY CITY

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
OH
Mar 24, 2009

Great Value!

This hotel was the best I have ever stayed so far. At the begining, I was kind of nervous about the super low price till I saw the skyline of Manhattan from my window! The room was clean and spacious. To my great suprise, it also had a nice little kitchen and all the cooking appliances. My trip was a really busy one and I did not even get the chance to experiense them, but I think for people who wants to live there for longer time and does not wanna dining out every day, this small kitchen would be ideal! To sum up, this place was fantastic and I would absolutely recommend it to other people.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top